Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition by Jonathan Kantor, 2022
This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring Understanding the subtleties of suture choice and placement often makes the difference between positive and negative patient outcomes. The Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition provides the information and insight readers need to surgically treat a range of wounds and surgical defects--from simple lacerations to complex reconstructive surgery--with the utmost expertise. Presented in an at-a-glance format and packed with 450 photos and illustrations, this guide kicks off with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, then describes equipment, positioning, key principles, and 75 suture techniques--complete with step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, it covers each area of anatomy, guiding the practitioner in which suture to use when and how to modify certain sutures in specific locations. Techniques are diagrammatically illustrated and supplemented by the online videos, and the author includes tips and pearls for each technique, as well as caveats, drawbacks and cautions. This updated edition includes new sections on: Laceration repair Pin-point pexing sutures Leveling sutures Three-dimensional continuous suturing Basting sutures And more
Cutaneous Malignancies: A Surgical Perspective, 1st ed. by Brian Gastman, 2017
The treatment of skin cancer has become an increasingly multispecialty practice. Ongoing surgical and postsurgical advances and emergent factors that predispose patients to these tumors have changed the treatment paradigm. Having a keen understanding of diagnostic, surgical, and nonsurgical treatment options is key to identifying, treating, or referring patients with potential cutaneous malignancies.
While Brian R. Gastman's Cutaneous Malignancies: A Surgical Perspective is the first of its kind to emphasize surgical management of skin cancer, several sections are devoted to systemic nonsurgical therapies affecting patient care and surgical intervention. Topics encompassed include prevention, diagnosis, medication management, appropriate margin size, reconstruction methods, and the importance of stellar dermatopathology.
Key Highlights
The role of Mohs micrographic surgery and radiation in skin cancer treatment
Treatment approaches for the two most common forms of skin cancer respectively, basal cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma
Surgical treatment of cutaneous malignant melanoma and other high-risk malignancies
Clinical insights on completion lymphadenectomy and sentinel node biopsy for melanoma, two topics rarely addressed in context with skin cancer
Diagnosis and treatment of rare malignancies including Merkel cell carcinoma, dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans, cutaneous angiosarcoma, and cutaneous leiomyosarcoma
More than 400 high-quality illustrations further delineate surgical modalities
Edited by an esteemed dual board certified plastic surgeon and otolaryngologist, this definitive book is the most complete guide to surgical management of skin cancer. It is essential reading for plastic surgeons, dermatologists, otolaryngologists, and all clinicians who treat or refer patients with suspected skin cancer.
Dermatologic Surgery by Jonathan Kantor, 2018
Introducing a comprehensive, encyclopedic text dedicated to cutaneous surgery and reconstruction - valuable to both specialists and non-specialists Dermatologic Surgery is the first book to combine the benefits of an authoritative, evidence-based, multi-authored textbook with a practical, well-illustrated, step-by-step procedural guide complete with photographs, pearls, and pitfalls. Chapters follow a strict format that includes an introduction, evidence-based discussion, step-by-step guidance through a procedure, including numerous high-quality photographs demonstrating every critical step of the procedure, along with pearls and pitfalls. The experience of reading these chapters is more akin to attending a detailed clinical hands-on workshop, rather than simply reading a staid text. More than 150 online videos offer step-by-step procedural guidance. Dermatologic Surgery is the first skin surgery text to fully address the important topic of billing and financial considerations. This material underscores the practical utility of the book, proving it is not simply an academic outline of skin surgery, but, is a true primer for real-world skin surgery practice.
Dermatologic Surgery and Cosmetic Procedures in Primary Care Practice by Jonathan Kantor, 2021
The complete guide to skin surgery and cosmetic procedures—from surgery fundamentals to cosmetic procedures
Written for non-specialists in dermatology—from family and emergency physicians to physician assistants and nurse practitioners—Dermatologic Surgery and Cosmetic Procedures in Primary Care Practice includes state-of-the-art procedures that will benefit any clinical practice. With practical tips and tricks used by leading dermatologic surgeons, this peerless resource covers a broad range of the techniques, skills, and issues you need to know, including:
Excisions and repairs, from basic to advanced techniques
Surgical instrument selection
Wound dressing
Local anesthesia
Incision and drainage
Nail surgery
Photodynamic therapy
Sclerotherapy
Neurotoxin injections and fillers
Anatomy
Suturing techniques
Ethics
Billing and financial considerations
Dermatologic Surgery and Cosmetic Procedures in Primary Care Practice is organized into three thematic sections—the fundamentals of dermatologic surgery; procedures for diagnosis, therapy, and reconstruction; and cosmetic procedures—to make finding what you need quick and easy. Each chapter kicks off with an infographic summarizing key points, including beginner tips, expert clinical pearls, and words of warning.
Indispensable for any primary care practice, this one-of-a-kind resource provides the knowledge and insight you need to perform virtually any dermatologic procedure safely and effectively.
Flaps and Grafts in Dermatologic Surgery, 2nd ed. by Thomas E. Rohrer; Jonathan L. Cook; Andrew Kaufman, 2018
Achieve optimal results in reconstructive surgery involving flaps and grafts with this up-to-date reference written by leading dermatologic surgeons. Using a systematic approach, Flaps and Grafts in Dermatologic Surgery, Second Edition, by Drs. Thomas E. Rohrer, Jonathan L. Cook, and Andrew J. Kaufman, offers practical, easily accessible guidance in this challenging area, including anatomical considerations, the delicate nature of tissue movement, principles of aesthetic surgical closures, relevant tissue biomechanics, and much more. Covering everything from the basic linear and arciform closures, to the more challenging V-Y advancement flaps, and complex staged interpolation flaps, this text clearly presents not just the "how to do it" but more importantly the thought processes behind the selection and execution of each reconstructive procedure. Describes which flap or graft to choose in specific clinical situations, how to execute each repair (with a multitude of images and diagrams), and how to minimize the risks as well as manage potential complications. Provides algorithms to assist with flap and graft choices, as well as hundreds of superb full-color illustrations throughout. Includes an all-new chapter on Surgical Complications and Scar Revisions. Includes access to high-quality videos showing exactly how the flap/graft is incised, moved, and sutured. New videos include the Rhomboid Transposition Flap for Defect on the Lower Lid, the Island Pedicle Flap with Canthal Suspension, and the Primary Lid Repair with Diagonal Tarsal Suture Sine Marginal Sutures. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Margin Control Surgery of the Skin: Concepts, Histopathology, and Applications by Patrick Emanuel; Mark Izzard, 2023
This first-of-its-kind multidisciplinary approach to margin control cutaneous surgery highlights practical concepts and provides copious illustrations and photos paired with text Outlining basic techniques for safe, effective surgery, Margin Control Surgery of the Skin explains how to handle common difficulties in completely excising common skin tumors, as well as more advanced cancers not usually dealt with by Mohs surgeons. The combination of illustrations, photographs, and concise text make complex topics easy to understand, and concepts are outlined in both traditional chapter format and case-based format so that practitioners will be engaged in a more practical context. Traditional chapters cover all technical aspects of the procedure and how these techniques are applied to the treatment of cutaneous malignancies.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 2 - Esophagus, Melanoma, Rectum, Stomach, Thyroid by American College Of Surgeons Cancer Research Program; Matthews Hg Katz, 2019
First presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology in 2015, the comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and procedures that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature; gathered here to create the highest quality standards in cancers of the esophagus, stomach, thyroid, rectum, and melanoma. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups, including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these five cancer types. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Surgical Lifting by Hooman Khorasani, 2024
Offering a step-by-step, practical approach to increasingly requested cosmetic procedures, Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology: Surgical Lifting, enables you to master the up-to-date cosmetic techniques that produce the superior results your patients expect. Edited by expert surgeons Drs. Hooman Khorasani and Eyal Levit, along with hand-selected experts in each individual area, it covers minimally invasive surgical lifting techniques that can be performed by dermatologic surgeons―all abundantly illustrated and evidence based. A substantial video library demonstrating surgical lifting techniques helps you successfully incorporate the latest procedures into your practice.
Provides complete, clear descriptions and rationales for the evaluation, management, and execution of surgical and advanced non-surgical rejuvenation of the face and neck.
Covers brow and forehead lifting, upper and lower eyelid blepharoplasty, the Asian eyelid lift, facelift, modern neck lift, thread lifting, face contouring procedures, and skin resurfacing and tightening.
Features high-quality images and approximately 50 procedural videos demonstrating exactly how to perform facelift, thread lift, browlift, and blepharoplasty procedures.
Presents real visual aging to identify the festoon formations―one of the most difficult areas to handle in the rejuvenation of the lower eyelids and face.
Includes a detailed chapter on accrediting and building a state-approved operating room and photography room, and includes information on how to reduce the risk of COVID transmission through proven air system UVC devices.
Shares the knowledge and expertise of a leading cosmetic dermatological surgeon in every chapter, along with other specialists (facial plastic, plastic, oculoplastic, and oral maxillofacial surgery) who are proficient in each technique and have reviewed and added their pearls to the procedure.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
Venous Insufficiency by Raymond E. Phillips, 2021
This accessible text offers clear cut explanations of the causes of venous insufficiency and of the symptoms and findings that point to the diagnosis. It is designed to ease the labor-intensive burden of managing the results of venous insufficiency in office practice while describing interventions that the patient and/or caregiver can apply at home. This is an essential reference for physicians, healthcare providers, and individuals dealing with this debilitating disorder.
Venous Insufficiency provides in-depth coverage of: Diagnosis and management of venous insufficiency, Symptoms and causes of venous disease, How venous disease affects individuals in various life situations, including youth, pregnancy, old age, and obesity, Medical conditions that complicate the management of venous insufficiency, and
Approaches for treatment and management, and more
Treatment of Scars from Burns and Trauma by Murad Alam; Jill Waibel; Nathan Uebelhoer; Kenneth A. Arndt; Jeffrey Dover; Matthias Donelan; John Kim; Rodney Chan, 2021
From a team of pioneers in dermatology and laser medicine, Treatment of Scars from Burns and Trauma provides the latest, most innovative methods for treating scars. It provides the essential information you need to know about how scarring occurs, how it affects patients, and how to design and implement the best possible treatment plan. This unparalleled resource covers every angle of scar treatment. First, it explains the fundamentals, including all the clinically relevant elements of wound care, pain, range of motion, and patient selection, along with treatment. It then focuses on treatment--both new and traditional techniques. Finally, it provides best practices for pain, infection, and ulceration management.
