Transplantation: Pulmonary Medicine / Thoracic Surgery

Cardiopulmonary Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support by Maziar Khorsandi; Steven Tsui; John Dark et al, 2022 Cardiopulmonary Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support provides a comprehensive review of the field. Written for all tiers of healthcare professionals managing such complex patients. The handbook tackles all topics within this field, including heart failure, heart transplantation, lung transplantation, and all tiers of mechanical circulatory support in adults and paediatric patients. The chapters are written by prominent and globally respected experts in Europe and North America, providing their evidence base as well as personal, practical hints and tips for all practitioners.

Essentials in Lung Transplantation by Allan R. Glanville, 2019 This book presents a clear and concise summary of the clinical tenets of lung transplantation with an update on recent developments in the field. It examines the operational principles which underpin successful lung transplantation and shows how an evidenced based approach combined with wisdom borne of experience leads to better outcomes in day-to-day management. Focused on simplicity and elegance of style with ample visual images, this book provides a unique overview of trends and strategies for the best outcomes in lung transplantation. Approachable and easily digested, this book will be a go-to resource for professionals seeking a succinct and well-illustrated guide to this growing area of surgical transplantation.

Lung Transplantation

Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease by Yaron D. Barac; Scott C. Silvestry; Mani A. Daneshmand et al, 2024 Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease Comprehensive textbook covering all aspects of the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease is the most comprehensive and contemporary textbook available that addresses the medical and surgical treatment options for patients with end-stage heart and lung disease. All facets of these complex and resource-intensive therapies are covered by leading experts -- including the basics of transplant immunology, databases, regulatory and ethical aspects of transplantation and conventional and new modalities of donor organ harvest. Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease includes further information on topics such as: Historical developments that facilitated heart and lung transplantation; engineering advances in continuous flow technologies Transplant organizations, oversight, structure, process, databases and registries in the thoracic transplants and MCS field Current strategies in immune modulation, desensitization protocols and mechanisms of allograft rejection and tolerance/immunosenescence Detailed descriptions of donor and recipient surgical procedures as well as comprehensive implantation techniques for all available short- and long-term mechanical circulatory support devices, including ECMO Organ allocation and prioritization, donor evaluation, high risk donors, marginal donors, and risk assessment Richly enhanced with summary tables and color illustrations to provide an engaging and supportive learning experience, the book will serve as a highly valuable source of contemporary knowledge for medical students, residents, nurses, perfusionists, physicians and surgeons involved in the care of these desperately ill group of patients. "This comprehensive book covers all aspects of advanced heart and lung failure treatment, including shock, short-term and durable mechanical assistance, as well as transplantation. The in-depth information will be welcome by newcomers in the field as well as seasoned veterans." --Andreas Zuckermann, M.D Vice-Chair, Department of Cardiac Surgery, Director of Cardiac Transplantation Program, Medical University of Vienna, Vienna General Hospital "This comprehensive tour-de-force compendium covers practical issues of clinical administration, program development, care pathways, ongoing challenges and opportunities in each treatment area as a must go-to reference for guidance in the rapidly evolving fields of mechanical circulatory support and transplantation." --Mandeep R. Mehra, MBBS, MSc, FRCP Executive Director, Center for Advanced Heart Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School "This unique textbook authored by key opinion leaders is a refreshing 'wind of change' in our field, one that will well serve all professionals involved in the care of end-stage heart and lung patients for many years to come." --Marcelo Cypel MD, MSc, FACS, FRCSC Surgical Director Ajmera Transplant Centre at UHN , University of Toronto