eBooks
Complications in Kidney Transplantation: A Case-Based Guide to Management by
This textbook of clinical cases moves beyond the science of transplant medicine and covers important transplant nephrology concepts. This book covers the diagnosis and treatment of many typical and atypical immunological and infectious post-transplant complications, such as acute antibody-medicated rejection in early and late post-transplant period, post-transplant cytomegalovirus infections, congestive heart failure after kidney transplant, and many other typical and atypical post-transplant infections.In each chapter, a case scenario is given for important post-transplant complications. The scenario is followed by a question and answer on the best investigation, the diagnosis, and a discussion of the best treatment option and outcomes. This stepwise learning process makes this book uniquely helpful to trainees learning how to treat their complicated transplant recipients systematically. This book is an accurate and straightforward guide to assist future and current transplant physicians, as well as the primary care physicians who deal with these complicated patients every day.
ISBN: 9783031135699
Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies for Autoimmune Diseases by
This book summarizes the global progress in medical and scientific research toward converting traditionally chronic autoimmune diseases into a drug-free reversible illness using hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) and other cellular therapies such as T regulatory cells (Treg), mesenchymal stromal/stem cells, and chimeric antigen receptor T (CAR T) cells in order to reintroduce sustained immune tolerance. This title provides information on different types of stem cells and immune cells; post-transplant immune regeneration; cellular regulatory requirements; ethical and economic considerations; and the advantages and disadvantages of HSCT in the treatment of a variety of autoimmune diseases versus current conventional treatments. Arranged by disease, the text provides a comprehensive guide to HSCT for all types of autoimmune/immune disorders including monogenetic autoimmune diseases; autoimmune aplastic anemia; neurologic immune diseases including multiple sclerosis, chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, neuromyelitis optica, and stiff person syndrome; rheumatologic diseases such as systemic sclerosis and systemic lupus erythematosus; dermatologic diseases such as pemphigus; gastrointestinal disorders such as Crohn's disease and celiac disease; and immune-mediated endocrinologic disease type I diabetes mellitus. Guidance is provided on the transplantation technique, cell collection and processing, conditioning regimens, infections, and early and late complications. Key Features Outlines therapies and techniques for HSCT for autoimmune diseases Discusses the advantages of HSCT over conventional therapies Reviews the entire process of stem cell therapy from harvest and ethics to indications, efficacy, and regulatory oversight
Publication Date: 2021-11-17
Kidney Transplantation in Sensitized Patients by
This book presents state of the art knowledge on all aspects of kidney transplantation in recipients in whom desensitization strategies are necessary in order to overcome immunologic barriers such as anti-human leukocyte antigen (HLA) donor-specific antibody and ABO blood group incompatibility. Readers will find detailed, up-to-date information on the various immunomodulating therapies that may be employed in these circumstances and the outcomes that may be expected. Full guidance is provided on preoperative evaluation and management and post-transplantation care. In addition, the pathology of antibody-mediated rejection and acute cellular rejection in this context is discussed. For most patients with end-stage renal disease, kidney transplantation offers significant benefits compared with dialysis, but especially sensitization to HLAs remains a major clinical obstacle to success. Kidney Transplantation in Sensitized Patients will assist in achieving optimal results in individual patients. It will be an important resource for everyone involved in the care of kidney transplant recipients.
ISBN: 9789811070464
Manual of Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies by
Led by authors from MD Anderson's Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Department, the world's largest and highly respected program at the forefront of rapidly advancing treatments in the field, Manual of Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies is a comprehensive, focused reference covering the latest clinical developments and applications of stem cell transplant and cellular therapies for hematologic malignancies and solid tumors. This cutting-edge title, with a majority contribution from the MD Anderson Cancer Center and leading faculty from other academic institutions, covers breakthrough cell-based therapies for various diseases including lymphoma, multiple myeloma, leukemia, and select solid tumor and autoimmune diseases. This unique, definitive resource is essential for hematologists, fellows in hematology and immunotherapy, mid-level providers, pharmacists, and oncologists who refer patients for cell-based therapies. Addresses hematologic conditions including leukemia, lymphoma, and myeloma. Offers guidance on hematopoietic cell transplantation for solid tumors. Covers basic science principles, clinical aspects, pharmacology, radiation therapy, and disease-specific guidelines, including prevention and management of complications. Discusses key topics such as hematopoietic cell collection, bone marrow harvesting, umbilical cord blood transplantation, CAR T-cell therapy, and patient/donor selection and preparation of HCT. Features extensive summary boxes, bulleted content, and algorithms throughout for quick and easy reference. Offers team-based, clinically-focused coverage from world-renowned leaders in the field. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
eBooks
Supportive Care Strategies: Optimizing Transplant Care by
This book provides up-to-date, clinically relevant information on a range of complex issues relating to supportive care strategies for the recipients of hematopoietic cell transplantation. The topics addressed include the prevention, recognition, and treatment of transplant-related side effects; management of pretransplant comorbidities; supportive care for specific age groups; quality of life issues in patients who experience graft-versus-host disease; mental and spiritual health care; caregiver and healthcare provider support strategies; and important issues related to end of life care. The aim is to supply hematologists, oncologists, transplant specialists, and palliative care physicians with practical knowledge that can be immediately applied in patient care to optimize transplant-related outcomes. The book's format, which offers concise, non-exhaustive coverage of these and other unique topics, is supplemented by a wealth of working tables, algorithms, and figures, ensuring that it will also serve hematology, oncology and transplant trainees as a reliable companion during their daily work. The authors are world-renowned experts in the field of hematopoietic transplantation and palliative care medicine, and present well-reasoned opinions based on their own experiences and draw attention to relevant results from potentially high-impact clinical trial
ISBN: 9783319590141
Textbook of Kidney Transplantation by
"In this book, pertinent topics related to renal transplantation have been covered bearing in mind renal fellows, practicing physicians, immunologists, and transplant surgeon. It gives special emphasis on case-based discussions and summaries at the end of chapters. Along with renal transplantation, it covers organ transplantation also. Special emphasis has been given on cadaver transplant and how to setup cadaver transplant program in the country. The Cadaver transplantation program has immense potential in this country and has a long way to go to help the end-stage renal disease patient."--Amazon website.
ISBN: 9789354659461Publication Date: 2022-12-25
Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease by
Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease Comprehensive textbook covering all aspects of the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease is the most comprehensive and contemporary textbook available that addresses the medical and surgical treatment options for patients with end-stage heart and lung disease. All facets of these complex and resource-intensive therapies are covered by leading experts -- including the basics of transplant immunology, databases, regulatory and ethical aspects of transplantation and conventional and new modalities of donor organ harvest. Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease includes further information on topics such as: Historical developments that facilitated heart and lung transplantation; engineering advances in continuous flow technologies Transplant organizations, oversight, structure, process, databases and registries in the thoracic transplants and MCS field Current strategies in immune modulation, desensitization protocols and mechanisms of allograft rejection and tolerance/immunosenescence Detailed descriptions of donor and recipient surgical procedures as well as comprehensive implantation techniques for all available short- and long-term mechanical circulatory support devices, including ECMO Organ allocation and prioritization, donor evaluation, high risk donors, marginal donors, and risk assessment Richly enhanced with summary tables and color illustrations to provide an engaging and supportive learning experience, the book will serve as a highly valuable source of contemporary knowledge for medical students, residents, nurses, perfusionists, physicians and surgeons involved in the care of these desperately ill group of patients. "This comprehensive book covers all aspects of advanced heart and lung failure treatment, including shock, short-term and durable mechanical assistance, as well as transplantation. The in-depth information will be welcome by newcomers in the field as well as seasoned veterans." --Andreas Zuckermann, M.D Vice-Chair, Department of Cardiac Surgery, Director of Cardiac Transplantation Program, Medical University of Vienna, Vienna General Hospital "This comprehensive tour-de-force compendium covers practical issues of clinical administration, program development, care pathways, ongoing challenges and opportunities in each treatment area as a must go-to reference for guidance in the rapidly evolving fields of mechanical circulatory support and transplantation." --Mandeep R. Mehra, MBBS, MSc, FRCP Executive Director, Center for Advanced Heart Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School "This unique textbook authored by key opinion leaders is a refreshing 'wind of change' in our field, one that will well serve all professionals involved in the care of end-stage heart and lung patients for many years to come." --Marcelo Cypel MD, MSc, FACS, FRCSC Surgical Director Ajmera Transplant Centre at UHN , University of Toronto
ISBN: 9781119633853Publication Date: 2023-08-22
