eBooks
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476744Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Colorectal Cancer by
Colorectal Cancer: Disease and Advanced Drug Delivery Strategies examines the combined impact of basic clinical and medical treatments as well as recent advances in the field of colorectal cancer. With a strong focus towards colorectal cancer diagnosis, disease drug delivery, and diagnosis, the book also examines the Tumor microenvironment-responsive and site-specific nanoparticles for cancer theragnostics. Sections provide the opportunity to understand and diagnose the disease, describes screening methods, and update on drugs, including nano- and immunotherapy. Content includes clinical trials in colorectal cancer research and disease models that help better direct researchers and clinicians on how to diagnose and treat colorectal cancer.
ISBN: 9780443138706Publication Date: 2023-11-20
Colorectal Cancer: From Pathogenesis to Precision Medicine by
This concise text examines the contribution of genetic research to clinical practice in colorectal cancer. It delves into the underlying molecular mechanisms and the genetic and environmental factors contributing to colorectal cancer, as well as into advances in personalized therapies, targeted interventions, and biomarker-based approaches. By providing a comprehensive overview of the subject, the book aims to bridge the gap between scientific research and clinical practice, offering valuable insights to researchers, clinicians, and healthcare professionals dedicated to combating colorectal cancer and improving patient outcomes. Unites scientific discovery to clinical practice Offers a practical resource for the multidisciplinary team treating colorectal cancer patients Presents the state of the art in clinical management
ISBN: 9781032699653Publication Date: 2025-05-08
Colorectal Neoplasia and the Colorectal Microbiome by
Colorectal Neoplasia and the Microbiome: Dysplasia, Probiotics, and Fusobacteria provides foundational knowledge on the gut microbiome and evidence for an association with colorectal neoplasia. It covers the role of microbiota in causing adenomatous polyps and colorectal cancer as well as the modulatory effect of diet and probiotics. Chapters explain a foundational history of microbiology in the colon, the epidemiology of colon polyps and cancer, dysbiosis, the role of immunology and bacteria, and the diet. The book combines medical and scientific aspects to show mechanistic aspects between microbiota and hosts, clearly presenting the association between microbiota, colonic lesions and possible causal links. The book is essential reading for everyone working with human microbiota including basic scientists, physiologists of the intestine, experts in intestinal microbiota, gastroenterologists, oncologists and surgeon.
ISBN: 9780128196724Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Contemporary Management of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer by
Contemporary Management of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: A Precision Medicine Approach summarizes current knowledge and provides evidenced-based practice recommendations on how to treat patients with metastatic colorectal cancer. The book presents topics such as pre-operating imaging, the use of molecular markers in treatment decisions, neoadjuvant therapy, synchronous colorectal liver metastasis, and minimally invasive approaches. In addition, it discusses immunotherapy, targeted therapies and survivorship. This is a valuable resource for practitioners, cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students and members of biomedical research who need to understand more about novel treatments for colorectal cancer metastasis.
ISBN: 9780323917063Publication Date: 2022-06-27
Digestive System Malignancies by
Digestive System Malignancies provides an up-to-date overview on the most relevant diagnostic techniques, staging of malignancies, and current therapeutic modalities for digestive system malignancies. With coverage from esophageal, gastric and pancreatic cancers, to colon, anal and peritoneal surface, this reference offers a wide-ranging guide to malignancies throughout the digestive system. The use of engaging infographics provides an "at-a-glace" perspective on the subject, allowing users to retain a large amount of information without scrolling through large text or complex algorithms. This is an important reference for clinicians, surgeons, medical students and scientists that need a quick reference on digestive system malignancies.
ISBN: 9780323983693Publication Date: 2022-02-17
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies by
Drug Resistance in Colorectal Cancer: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies, Volume Eight, summarizes the molecular mechanisms of drug resistance in colorectal cancer, along with the most up-to-date therapeutic strategies available. The book discusses reasons why colorectal tumors become refractory during the progression of the disease, but also explains how drug resistance occurs during chemotherapy. In addition, users will find the current therapeutic strategies used by clinicians in their practice in treating colorectal cancer. The combination of conventional anticancer drugs with chemotherapy-sensitizing agents plays a pivotal role in improving the outcome of colorectal cancer patients, in particular those with drug-resistant cancer cells. From a clinical point-of-view, the content of this book provides clinicians with updated therapeutic strategies for a better choice of drugs for drug-resistant colorectal cancer patients. It will be a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and several members of biomedical field who are dedicated to better treat patients with colorectal cancer.
ISBN: 9780128199374Publication Date: 2020-05-27
Dysphagia: Diagnosis and Treatment of Esophageal Motility Disorders by
Dysphagia: Diagnosis and Treatment of Esophageal Motility Disorders provides a interdisciplinary overview of the diagnosis and management of dysphagia and other esophageal symptoms. All aspects of dysphagia are covered, with detailed consideration of both physiology and evaluation methods. Hot topics include coverage on the pharmacological causes of dysphagia, the physiology of normal swallowing, ambulatory pH monitoring as well as recurrent dysphagia after treatments. The content is grounded in evidence-based medicine that is the result of clinical outcome research, both prospective and randomized, making this the perfect reference for clinical researchers and a go-to for general surgeons, foreguts surgeons, thoracic surgeons and gastroenterologists.
ISBN: 9780323998659Publication Date: 2023-01-11
Foundations of Colorectal Cancer by
Foundations of Colorectal Cancer provides a holistic and comprehensive dive into colorectal cancer, discussing the contributions of each discipline that studies it, allowing its understanding from the most demographic and ethical facts, to the treatment process, its varieties and genetic background. Written by experts in diverse areas such as cancer research, oncology, genetics, biochemistry, psychology, social sciences, bioinformatics and palliative care, the book brings real-world experiences to help readers with any challenge they may face when dealing with patients or during their research workflow. The content is split into nine sections: Clinical manifestations and disease detection, covering primary and secondary prevention, and the role of primary care; Diagnosis and staging, discussing endoscopy, colonoscopy, molecular pathology, and anatomopathological diagnosis; Treatment, including endoscopic, surgical, radiological, and postoperative approaches; Molecular and biological mechanisms, with the role of intestinal microbiota, stem cells and signaling pathways; New diagnostic methods, encompassing biomarkers and bioinformatics tools for research; Biobanks, with an overview of their regulations and importance in the research; Epidemiological studies, focusing on incidence and mortality globally and by regions; Hereditary colorectal cancer, differentiating nonpolyposis and polyposis types; and Addressing the consequences of colorectal cancer, covering psychological effects, nutrition and ethical issues.
ISBN: 9780323900553Publication Date: 2021-10-28
Hepatobiliary Cancers: Translational Advances and Molecular Medicine by
Hepatobiliary cancer refers to primary malignant tumors originating in cells of the liver, bile ducts, and gallbladder. Globally, primary liver cancer, which includes hepatocellular carcinoma (~75 % of all cases) and intrahepatic biliary cancer or cholangiocarcinoma (~10-15 % 0f all cases) is the 6th most commonly diagnosed cancer and 3rd leading cause of cancer deaths worldwide. The vast majority of these highly malignant cancers are diagnosed at an advanced stage where treatment options are limited and patient survival outcomes are poor. The biological and therapeutic challenges posed by hepatobililiary cancers such as hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) and cholangiocarcinoma (CCA) are daunting, emphasizing a critical need to review and assess current and evolving basic, translational, and clinical research focused on addressing the critical obstacles that continue to limit progress towards achieving significant improvements in HCC and CCA clinical management and patient survival outcomes. Towards this goal, this special edition of Advances in Cancer Research is focused on providing a comprehensive, timely and authoritative reviews covering such topics of significant scientific and clinical relevance, including hepatobiliary cancer risk mechanisms and risk-predictive molecular biomarkers; causes and functional intricacies of inter- and intratumor heterogeneity; novel insights into the role of tumor microenvironment and key signaling pathways in promoting hepatobiliary cancer progression, therapeutic resistance and immunosuppression; emerging biomarkers of HCC and CCA prognosis; advances in molecular genomics for personalizing tumor classification and targeted therapies; innovative preclinical cell culture modeling for hepatobiliary cancer drug discovery; and current and emerging trends in hepatobiliary cancer molecular therapeutic targeting and immunotherapies.
ISBN: 9780323983921Publication Date: 2022-08-18
Immune Landscape of Pancreatic Cancer Development and Drug Resistance by
Immune Landscape of Pancreatic Cancer Development and Drug Resistance explores advances in immune-based therapies aimed at harnessing the power of the immune system against pancreatic cancer and rewiring tumor microenvironments to eradicate pancreatic cells. With a strong focus on the development of therapeutic methods to improve the survival rates of pancreatic cancer, this book also shows the latest trends in immune targeted approaches for pancreatic cancer treatment. In 12 chapters, the book discusses our current understanding of PC development and its various mutational and immune features and explore some of the new immune-based therapies aimed at targeting pancreatic cancer. This book is a valuable resource for health professionals, scientists and researchers, students, and all those who wish to broaden their knowledge of advances in immunotherapy in pancreatic cancer.
ISBN: 9780443235238Publication Date: 2024-06-14
Liver Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
A concise, illustrated guide to the operative techniques and medical management of liver transplantation Filled with more than 1,000 images, illustrations, and bulleted text, this invaluable book provides a highly visual approach to liver transplantations for surgeons, gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and other healthcare professionals who treat patients with acute and chronic liver failure that requires full or partial transplantation.;You'll find coverage of all the topics relevant to liver transplantation, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. This book will serve as a guide to residents, fellows, and senior physicians. It is easy to read, simple, and practical; FEATURES. Over 1,000 high quality images and illustrations Ethical considerations of organ transplantation Essentials of liver disease Pre- and post-operative patient management Donor considerations Quality of life issues Operative techniques Pathology and imaging, and more
eBooks
The Lymphatic System in Colorectal Cancer by
The Lymphatic System in Colorectal Cancer: Basic Concepts, Pathology, Imaging, and Treatment Perspectives provides an in-depth overview on the role of the lymphatic system in the pathogenesis and treatment of colorectal cancer. This is the first book to provide a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the lymphatic system in colorectal cancer, with topics ranging from cancer biology and mathematical modeling to surgical approaches and novel imaging techniques. This book is valuable for cancer researchers, oncologists and anyone interested in the biology and treatment of colorectal cancer. Bringing together internationally renowned experts, the book's chapters encompass relevant content to help readers understand complex subjects. Lymphatic spread is one of the hallmarks of locally advanced colorectal cancer that adversely affects prognosis. Nevertheless, the molecular pathogenesis, dynamics and prognostic significance of lymphatic spread remain poorly understood. At the same time, novel surgical approaches such as complete mesocolic excision and sentinel node identification are being introduced, but their value remains uncertain.
ISBN: 9780128242971Publication Date: 2022-02-16
Mechanisms and Therapy of Liver Cancer by
Mechanisms and Therapy of Liver Cancer, Volume 149, presents the latest information on the incidence and mortality of liver cancer research and how it has gained significant momentum because of its direct causative association with obesity-induced fatty liver disease. The literature on liver cancer is moving fast with exciting, novel findings, providing new insights reflected in the following updated chapters: Introduction and molecular classification of HCC, Signaling Pathways in Liver Cancer, HCV and HCC, NASH and HCC, Microbiome and Metabolic Abnormalities in HCC, Systemic Therapy of Liver Cancer, Immunotherapy of Liver Cancer, and Desmoplastic Tumor Microenvironment and Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma Progression: Mechanisms and Therapeutic Implications.
ISBN: 9780128240304Publication Date: 2021-02-11
Minimally Invasive Surgical Techniques for Cancers of the Gastrointestinal Tract, 2nd ed. by
Similar to the 1st edition, the 2nd edition of Minimally Invasive Surgical Techniques for Cancers of the Gastrointestinal Tract provides different approaches for various organs of the gastrointestinal tract. This book provides an updated resource of advanced minimally invasive surgical techniques for patients with GI cancers. It is primarily designed to provide a step-by-step approach of surgical techniques, highlighting key learning points and potential operative pitfalls. The text is largely focused on minimally invasive surgical techniques (laparoscopic and robotic), with new chapters on innovations in gastric cancer surgery including middle gastrectomy, pylorus preserving gastrectomy, and sentinel lymph node dissection. In addition, the text also includes new chapters on single incision surgery for cancers of the GI tract, on advanced instrumentation for trans-anal procedures, and on refined robotic approaches to total mesorectal excision. Chapters are written by experts with extensive experience in new techniques, and are accompanied by companion videos in almost every chapter. The 2nd edition of Minimally Invasive Surgical Techniques for Cancers of the Gastrointestinal Tract proves to be a valuable resource for surgeons at all levels of training that are interested in learning new techniques to improve patient satisfaction and cancer outcomes.
ISBN: 9783030187408
Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer by
Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer, Volume 151 in the Advances in Cancer Research series, is composed of 11 reviews covering state-of-the-art research relating to the etiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of colorectal cancer. The book's chapters were written by recognized experts in the field, and include sections on molecular biomarkers in diagnosis and therapy, the interplay of diet, lifestyle, and the microbiome, early-age onset disease, mutational signature analysis, challenges in early detection, immunotherapy, organoid technology, the role of epigenetic alterations, disparities in minority populations, field carcinogenesis, and cancer as an evolutionary process. Each of these topics provides novel insights and concepts on various aspects of the nature of colorectal cancer, offering new opportunities for the management of a major source of cancer incidence and mortality.
ISBN: 9780128240786Publication Date: 2021-06-18
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery, Volume 1 - Breast, Lung, Pancreas, Colon by
Presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the first comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and techniques that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Key Features Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature, gathered here to create the highest quality standards in four key disease sites: breast, colon, lung, and pancreas. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these four cancer types. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 2 - Esophagus, Melanoma, Rectum, Stomach, Thyroid by
First presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology in 2015, the comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and procedures that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature; gathered here to create the highest quality standards in cancers of the esophagus, stomach, thyroid, rectum, and melanoma. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups, including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these five cancer types. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 3 - Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary - by
TThe Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery manuals provide evidence-based recommendations for the proper technical conduct of cancer surgery. Presented by the American College of Surgeons, Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary helps surgeons distill the latest evidence into best practices and techniques that lead to improved outcomes. Focused on the steps between skin incision and skin closure, this manual is an invaluable resource for surgical oncologists and general surgeons alike.
Quickly grasp the proper technical conduct of cancer operations through clear, practical text and more than 150 illustrations.
Benefit from expert analysis of the best-available evidence
Gain insight into areas of controversy in surgical oncology
Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, and multiple national surgical and oncology societies.
Pancreatic Cancer: Basic Mechanisms and Therapies by
Pancreatic Cancer: Basic Mechanisms and Therapies, Volume 159 in the Advances in Cancer Research, presents the latest release in this ongoing, well-regarded serial with invaluable information on the exciting and fast-moving field of cancer research. Pancreatic cancer (PC) is the third leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States. Greater than 90% PCs are Pancreatic ductal adenocarcinomas (PDAC) which have a dismal estimated 5-year overall survival of only 11%. PDAC is predicted to become the second leading cause of mortality in the United States by 2030. In the clinic, the PDAC patients often present with incurable disease at the time of first diagnosis. This cancer is particularly lethal because of its propensity to spread quickly to distant organs including the lymphatic system. PDAC metastasis occurs shortly after tumor initiation and is caused by a complex interaction between autonomous tumor cells and cellular elements of the tumor microenvironment. Although PDAC remains a challenging disease to treat and a leading cause of cancer-related deaths, progress is being made in disease etiology and pathogenesis, and intensive research is focused on developing optimal treatment approaches for patients. Considering the continuous progress being made in understanding PDAC pathogenesis and designing new therapies, it was considered timely to develop an up-to-date thematic issue of Advances in Cancer Research (ACR) focused on PDAC. In this thematic issue, we have included ten review articles by experts that cover cancer disparities, PDAC pathobiology, the roles of the tumor microenvironment, tumor heterogeneity, PC stem cells, genetic and signaling events critical for PDAC pathogenesis, Immunotherapy and chemoresistance in PDAC, and different PDAC mouse models. This special issue highlights recent research progress in PDAC, which bridges the gap between basic and clinical research. The recent overview of Racial Disparities in Pancreatic Cancer Clinical Trials; Overview the evolution of in vivo models for PDAC Up-to-date discussion of diverse genetic and molecular signaling changes in PDAC; Role of tumor heterogeneity in therapy resistance in PDAC; Chemoresistance in PDAC and how to overcome this challenge; Current and emerging approaches and strategies for advancing targeted therapy and immunotherapy for PDAC New insights into the role of epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition, tumor microenvironment (TME) and interactions of TME with cancer stem cells in PDAC pathogenesis, progression and therapeutic resistance
ISBN: 9780443133558Publication Date: 2023-05-31
