eBookx
Advancing Healthcare Through Personalized Medicine, 2d ed. by
This book provides a unique perspective on the biomedical and societal implications of personalized medicine and how it helps to mitigate the healthcare crisis and rein in ever-growing expenditure. It introduces the reader to the underlying concepts at the heart of personalized medicine. An innovative second edition, this book functions as an update to the successful first edition to include new, state-of-the-art information and advancements in the fast-paced field of personalized medicine. Chapters examine pharmacogenomics, targeted therapies, individualized diagnosis and treatment, and cancer immunotherapies. The book also features an essential discussion on how the advent of genomic technologies gives clinicians the capability to predict and diagnose disease more efficiently and offers a detailed up-to-date compilation of clinical trials in cancer leading to breakthrough therapies. The book also addresses the impact of Big Data on personalized medicine and the newfound applications of digital health and artificial intelligence. A work that advocates for a patient-centered approach, Advancing Healthcare Through Personalized Medicine, Second Edition is an invaluable text for clinicians, healthcare providers, and patients.
ISBN: 9783030800994Publication Date: 2021-09-28
Artificial Intelligence and Precision Oncology by
This book highlights the use of artificial intelligence (AI), big data and precision oncology for medical decision making in cancer screening, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment. Precision oncology has long been thought of as ideal for the management and treatment of cancer. This strategy promises to revolutionize the treatment, control, and prevention of cancer by tailoring tests, treatments and predictions to specific individuals or population groups. In order to accomplish these goals, vast amounts of patient or population group specific data needs to be integrated and analysed to be able to identify key patterns or features which can be used to define or characterize the disease or the response to the disease in these individuals. These patterns or features can be as varied as molecular patterns or features in medical images. This level of data analysis and integration can only be achieved through the use of AI. The book is divided into three parts starting with a section on the use of artificial intelligence for screening, diagnosis and monitoring in precision oncology. The second part: Artificial intelligence and Omics in precision oncology, highlights the use of AI and epigenetics, metabolomics, microbiomics in precision oncology. The third part covers artificial intelligence in cancer therapy and its clinical applications. It also highlights the use of AI tools for risk prediction, early detection, diagnosis and accurate prognosis. This book, written by experts in the field from academia and industry, will appeal to cancer researchers, clinical oncologists, pathologists, medical students, academic teaching staff and medical residents interested in cancer research as well as those specialising as clinical oncologists.
ISBN: 9783031215063
Biomarkers in Cancer Detection and Monitoring of Therapeutics, Volume 1 by
Biomarkers in Cancer Detection and Monitoring of Therapeutics, Volume One, Discovery and Technologies discusses how molecular biomarkers are used to determine predisposition, facilitate detection, improve treatment and offer prevention guidelines for different cancer types. This first volume in the series focuses on techniques and approaches recently developed to assist in the decision of which biomarker to use for specific conditions. Topics covered include circulating tumor cells and circulating tumor DNA, exomes, tumor microenvironment, gene editing, artificial intelligence and robotics. In addition, the book discusses the development and applications of organoids and precision medicine.This book will be a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students and members of the biomedical field who are interested in the potential of biomarkers in cancer research.
ISBN: 9780323951166Publication Date: 2023-11-17
Biomarkers in Cancer Detection and Monitoring of Therapeutics, Volume 2 by
Molecular Biomarkers in Cancer Detection and Monitoring of Therapeutics: Volume Two: Diagnostic and Therapeutic Applications discusses how molecular biomarkers are used to determine predisposition, facilitate detection, improve treatment and offer prevention guidelines for different cancers. It focuses on novel diagnostic techniques based on molecular biomarkers and their impact on treatment, covering different cancer types such as tumors in the nervous system, head and neck, oral and GI tractor, lung, breast, gastric system, leukemia and urogenital tract cancers. For each type, the book discusses the best diagnostic techniques and therapeutic approaches, thus helping readers easily identify the best solution for each case. This is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students and other members of the biomedical field who are interested in the potential of biomarkers in cancer research.
ISBN: 9780323951142Publication Date: 2023-11-28
Cancer Epigenetics and Nanomedicine by
Cancer Epigenetics and Nanomedicine: Targeting the Right Player via Nanotechnology is a complete package that provides a comprehensive and thorough understanding of the key players that modulate the various steps of carcinogenesis and malignant progression of the disease and the critical targets to be exploited for developing novel modalities of diagnosis and therapeutics. Since epigenetic aberrations can be potentially reversed and restored to their normal state through epigenetic therapy, the book also discusses the challenges and the future of the field with the cutting-edge revelations and limitations that this research endeavor can offer, thereby helping the readers to enhance their critical thinking and adopt strategies of therapeutic importance.
ISBN: 9780443132094Publication Date: 2024-07-02
Cancer Genetics: a Clinical Approach by
The ultimate guide to caring for and communicating with patients suffering with hereditary cancer syndromes Providing the essential tools needed to understand clinical cancer genetics, Cancer Genetics: A Clinical Approach builds your mastery of differential diagnosis formulation, all the available genetic testing options at your disposal, interpreting results logically and accurately, and educating patients and their families about effective cancer prevention methods. This unparalleled resource walks you through the process of effectively and thoughtfully counseling patients--from pre-test counseling and relaying test results to navigating the legal implications of hereditary conditions and coping with the resulting psychological challenges. Cancer Genetics: A Clinical Approach is ideal for both specialized cancer genetics clinics or any healthcare professional seeking to improve their skills in identifying patients with possible hereditary cancer syndromes and recognizing which ones should be referred to a high-risk/clinical genetics specialty program.
ISBN: 9781260440270Publication Date: 2021-10-20
Clinical Applications of Noncoding RNAs in Cancer by
Clinical Applications of Noncoding RNAs in Cancer summarizes the existing strategies, advances, and future opportunities on the role of noncoding RNAs in cancer patients. Established clinicians and researchers from all around the world share their views and expertise and provide readers with invaluable knowledge on the subject. This book provides a comprehensive collection of information on the utility of noncoding RNAs in the diagnosis, prognosis, and therapy of cancer. It also discusses the evolutionary significance of noncoding RNAs and how the molecular tools such as RNA-seq, RNA-FISH, ic-SHAPE, and quantitative real-time PCR help in the detection and elucidation of the functions of noncoding RNAs. Additionally, the challenges associated with noncoding RNA approaches and future developments are discussed. It is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, clinicians, and other biomedical field members who want to learn more about noninvasive ways to diagnose and efficiently treat diverse cancer types.
ISBN: 9780128245507Publication Date: 2022-01-24
Colorectal Neoplasia and the Colorectal Microbiome by
Colorectal Neoplasia and the Microbiome: Dysplasia, Probiotics, and Fusobacteria provides foundational knowledge on the gut microbiome and evidence for an association with colorectal neoplasia. It covers the role of microbiota in causing adenomatous polyps and colorectal cancer as well as the modulatory effect of diet and probiotics. Chapters explain a foundational history of microbiology in the colon, the epidemiology of colon polyps and cancer, dysbiosis, the role of immunology and bacteria, and the diet. The book combines medical and scientific aspects to show mechanistic aspects between microbiota and hosts, clearly presenting the association between microbiota, colonic lesions and possible causal links. The book is essential reading for everyone working with human microbiota including basic scientists, physiologists of the intestine, experts in intestinal microbiota, gastroenterologists, oncologists and surgeon.
ISBN: 9780128196724Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Companion Diagnostics (CDx) in Precision Medicine by
There is a new trend in anti-cancer therapeutics development: a targeted therapy and precision medicine that targets a subgroup of patients with specific biomarkers. An in vitro diagnostic (IVD) assay is required to identify a subgroup of cancer patients who would benefit from the targeted therapy, or not likely benefit, or have a high risk of side effects from the specific drug treatment. This IVD or medical device is called a companion diagnostic (CDx) assay. It is key to have a robust CDx assay or device for the success of targeted therapy and precision medicine. This book covers the technical, historical, clinical, and regulatory aspects of CDx in precision medicine. Clearly, more and more newly developed oncology drugs will require accompanying CDx assays, and this book, with chapters contributed by renowned oncologists, provides a comprehensive foundation for the knowledge and application of CDx for precision medicine.
ISBN: 9781000000382Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Diagnosis and Management of Hereditary Cancer by
Many hereditary cancer syndromes are linked to alterations in single genes. Detection and clinical interpretation of these alterations can guide cancer risk reduction for patients and their families through screening, prophylactic measures, and other strategies. Diagnosis and Management of Hereditary Cancer summarizes hereditary syndromes and their associated cancers and genes. The information is presented in 50 practice-enhancing tables that relate clinical, genetic, diagnostic, and management aspects in a manner that has previously not been available in a single reference. Intended to guide the specialist as well the novice, this volume will elevate the care of hereditary cancer patients and their families.
ISBN: 9780323907460Publication Date: 2021-07-05
DNA Repair in Cancer Therapy, 2nd ed. by
DNA Repair and Cancer Therapy: Molecular Targets and Clinical Applications, Second Edition provides a comprehensive and timely reference that focuses on the translational and clinical use of DNA repair as a target area for the development of diagnostic biomarkers and the enhancement of cancer treatment. Experts on DNA repair proteins from all areas of cancer biology research take readers from bench research to new therapeutic approaches. This book provides a detailed discussion of combination therapies, in other words, how the inhibition of repair pathways can be coupled with chemotherapy, radiation, or DNA damaging drugs. Newer areas in this edition include the role of DNA repair in chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy, radiation DNA damage, Fanconi anemia cross-link repair, translesion DNA polymerases, BRCA1-BRCA2 pathway for HR and synthetic lethality, and mechanisms of resistance to clinical PARP inhibitors.
ISBN: 9780128035825Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Hematologic, Renal, and Immunologic Disorders, 7th ed. by
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Hematologic, Renal, and Immunologic Disorders, Seventh Edition thoroughly examines medical genetics and genomics as applied to hematologic, immunologic and endocrinologic disorders, with an emphasis on understanding the genetic mechanisms underlying these conditions, diagnostic approaches, and treatment methods. Here, genetic researchers, students and health professionals will find new and fully revised chapters on the genetics of red blood cell diseases, rhesus and other fetomaternal incompatibilities, immunodeficiency disorders, inherited complement deficiencies, celiac disease, and diabetes mellitus, as well as thyroid, parathyroid and gonad disorders, among other conditions. With regular advances in genomic technologies propelling precision medicine into the clinic, this book, which has served as the ultimate resource for clinicians integrating genetics into medical practice, continues to provide the most important information. With nearly 5,000 pages of detailed coverage, contributions from over 250 of the world's most trusted authorities in medical genetics, and a series of 11 volumes available for individual sale, this updated edition includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies.
ISBN: 9780128125342Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Encyclopedia of Hereditary Cancer by
Encyclopedia of Hereditary Cancer: A Desktop Reference gives insights into this young and rapidly expanding field that combines oncology and genetics to achieve risk reduction, early detection, family risk management, and identification targeted treatments. While genetics and oncology are both well-developed knowledge areas, their combination in hereditary cancer yields an opportunity for new works that systemize knowledge for current researchers, practitioners, and students. The book exams 371 topics through the lens of hereditary cancer. There are no similar books that presents information in this manner. This reference work contains a complete list of terms and definitions which can be easily reference by researchers and clinicians working in this field.
ISBN: 9780443135750Publication Date: 2024-06-13
eBooks
Epigenetic Cancer Therapy, 2d ed. by
Epigenetic Cancer Therapy, Second Edition provides a comprehensive discussion of healthy and aberrant epigenetic biology, along with new discoveries to improve our understanding of cancer epigenetics and therapeutics. The book encompasses large-scale intergovernmental initiatives, as well as recent findings across cancer stem cells, rational drug design, clinical trials, and chemopreventative strategies. As a whole, the work articulates and raises the profile of epigenetics as a therapeutic option in the future management of cancer. Since the publication of the first edition of this book, the field of epigenetics has undergone significant change. New epigenetic therapies have been designed and approved for clinical use. Our knowledge of the plasticity of the epigenome in cancer and disease has expanded dramatically, with increasing evidence linking pollution to epigenetic changes in cancer development. This second edition has been fully updated to address these changes, along with promising therapeutic programs such as CRISPR/Cas9 mediated approaches, CAR-T based therapies, epigenetic priming, histone modifications, and similar, transformative advances across synthetic biology and cellular engineering.
ISBN: 9780323913676Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Familial Cancer Syndromes by
Cancer Syndromes is a comprehensive multimedia resource for selected single gene cancer syndromes. Syndromes currently included are Peutz-Jeghers syndrome, juvenile polyposis, Birt-Hogg-Dubé syndrome, multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 and familial atypical multiple mole melanoma syndrome. For each syndrome the history, epidemiology, natural history and management are reviewed. If possible the initial report in the literature of each syndrome is included as an appendix. Chapters are extensively annotated with figures and movie clips.
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, 3rd ed. by
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, Third Edition focuses on the applications of genome discovery as research points to personalized cancer therapies. Each chapter is organized to cover the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies to a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field.
ISBN: 9780128006849Publication Date: 2022-04-14
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy by
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of the molecular methodologies in the neuro-oncology field. There have been profound changes in the landscape of approaches to brain tumor therapy since the first edition--mainly in the areas of molecular biology and molecular therapeutics, as well as in the maturation of immunotherapy approaches (e.g., vaccines). This updated edition has a new, primary focus on multidisciplinary molecular methods, and is broadened to include the latest cutting-edge molecular biology, therapeutics, immunobiology and immunotherapy approaches. As the first comprehensive book to address the molecular research into these concepts, users will find it to be an invaluable resource on the topics discussed.
Liquid Biopsy by
Liquid Biopsy: New Challenges in the era of Immunotherapy and Precision Oncology aims to describe links between cancer, precision oncology, and liquid biopsy, focusing on their participation to immunotherapy management. The book provides updated information on the main applications of liquid biopsy and immunotherapy as well as interesting aspects useful for planning basic and translational research activities. It helps readers understand the central aspects of precision medicine in oncology, including the use of new generation technologies for translational and diagnostic settings and the main clinical trials in this area that may be useful during their research.The book is a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and other members of the medical and biomedical field who are interested in learning more about recent developments in liquid biopsy and its relationship with precision medicine and immunotherapy. Presents a "highlights section" in every chapter to help readers summarize the main aspects discussed Encompasses case reports to guide the reader on applying what they read in their clinical practice Includes several tables and figures specially created for the book to illustrate the meaning of what is expressed in the text
ISBN: 9780128227114Publication Date: 2022-11-03
Precision Medicine in Oncology by
A FRESH EXAMINATION OF PRECISION MEDICINE'S INCREASINGLY PROMINENT ROLE IN THE FIELD OF ONCOLOGY Precision medicine takes into account each patient's specific characteristics and requirements to arrive at treatment plans that are optimized towards the best possible outcome. As the field of oncology continues to advance, this tailored approach is becoming more and more prevalent, channelling data on genomics, proteomics, metabolomics and other areas into new and innovative methods of practice. Precision Medicine in Oncology draws together the essential research driving the field forward, providing oncology clinicians and trainees alike with an illuminating overview of the technology and thinking behind the breakthroughs currently being made. Topics covered include: Biologically-guided radiation therapy Informatics for precision medicine Molecular imaging Biomarkers for treatment assessment Big data Nanoplatforms Casting a spotlight on this emerging knowledge base and its impact upon the management of tumors, Precision Medicine in Oncology opens up new possibilities and ways of working - not only for oncologists, but also for molecular biologists, radiologists, medical geneticists, and others.
ISBN: 9781119432494Publication Date: 2020-08-11
Stem Cell Therapy by
Stem cell therapy is a fast-growing field of medicine with remarkable prospects in a broad spectrum of diseases. Stem Cell Therapy: Practical Considerations addresses the biological properties of stem cells, mechanisms of action; as well as actual therapeutic decisions such as cell type, source, dose, manipulation, and route of injection. After discussing all this data, the book will illustrate how to travel through the idea from abstract question to laboratory experiment, animal experiment and then on to design a clinical trial throughout all its phases. Written for scientists and postgraduate students in the field of stem cell research and therapy. The authors will cover practical therapeutic issues they have long experienced in the field. Provides readers the basics and clinical practice of stem cell therapy Helps to debunk controversies regarding data fabrication in the field Guides the reader through the mechanisms of the regenerative function of stem cells; as well as the therapeutic decisions such as delivery route, delivery timing, cell doses, and follow-up
ISBN: 9780128215708Publication Date: 2022-11-13
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers by
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers provides information regarding ongoing research and clinical data surrounding female specific cancers (breast, cervical, ovarian and endometrial cancers). The book encompasses detailed descriptions about diagnostics and therapeutic options for easy understanding, focusing on the subject matter with a broader range of treatment options. In addition, it explores new theranostics, i.e., diagnostic, therapeutic and precision medicine strategies currently being developed for FSCs. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, clinicians, graduate students and other members of biomedical field who need to understand the most recent and promising approaches to manage FSCs.
ISBN: 9780128220092Publication Date: 2020-11-11
