eBooks
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476744Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Berek & Hacker's Gynecologic Oncology, Seventh ed. by
Evidence-based, superbly illustrated, and easy to read, Berek & Hacker's Gynecologic Oncology, Seventh Edition, remains your reference of choice for authoritative information on every aspect of gynecologic malignancies. Templated chapters provide quick access to guidance on everything from general principles through diagnosis and medical and surgical management. This fully revised edition offers the practical, state-of-the-art coverage you need when caring for women with preinvasive disease; ovarian, breast, uterine, cervical, vulvar, and vaginal cancers; and gestational trophoblastic disease.
ISBN: 9781975142650
Breast Cancer: Multidisciplinary Pathways for Cancer Care in the Community by
Because most cancer care is delivered in the community setting, Breast Cancer, edited by Dr. James L. Weese, looks at the management of breast cancer through the lens of multidisciplinary pathways focused on evidence-based, real-world care of breast cancer patients in the community. A multidisciplinary team of expert authors provides state-of-the-art guidance from the perspective of community practitioners using an evidence-based model, clearly showing the thought processes used to make treatment decisions in today’s breast cancer management.
Discusses all the latest breakthrough therapies for breast cancer, including chemotherapeutic, molecular, and immunologic agents, as well as new developments in precision-based medicine, pharmacology, breast cancer surgery, breast and lymphatic reconstruction, radiation therapy, and more.
Provides strategies for targeted radiation therapy and conservative breast surgery for contemporary breast cancer treatment
Features more than 200 high-quality figures throughout, including pathways, anatomic, radiographic, and graphic images.
Models a consistent, team-based thought process used at leading academic institutions to foster consistent decision making applied to the community setting.
Includes key points at the beginning of each chapter that highlight essential concepts and topics
Breast Cancer and Gynecologic Cancer Rehabilitation by
Breast Cancer and Gynecological Cancer Rehabilitation, edited by Adrian Cristian, MD, MHCM, provides today's clinicians with a concise, accessible resource covering the holistic rehabilitation of breast cancer patients. Beginning with a review of epidemiology, genetics, and pathophysiology of breast cancer, it then covers clinical assessment and treatment options before providing comprehensive coverage of rehabilitation. Containing practical information, best practices, and the latest advances and research, this book is a valuable reference for physical medicine and rehabilitation physicians and residents, as well as occupational and physical therapists. Provides a clear understanding of the current medical, surgical, and radiation treatments for breast cancer. Covers the whole spectrum of breast cancer rehabilitation, including the role of physical and occupational therapy, treatment of anxiety and depression, pain syndromes, integrative care, nutritional rehabilitation, palliative care, and more. Offers a timely and convenient resource written by leading experts in breast cancer and rehabilitation.
Breast Diseases: Guidelines for Management by
This book incorporates all aspects of breast diseases starting from basic science, benign breast diseases, malignant neoplasms, diagnostics and multidisciplinary therapeutic options to molecular biology research. It focuses on information useful for trainees, medical students and practicing breast surgeons and oncologists.
ISBN: 9780367609696Publication Date: 2024-06-01
Cancer Treatment and the Ovary by
Cancer Treatment and the Ovary: Clinical and Laboratory Analysis of Ovarian Toxicity provides the reader with a basic understanding on how the ovary is adversely impacted by cancer treatment, an essential foundational knowledge for this rapidly-developing field. The book describes both the clinical and laboratory approaches to discovering the potentially adverse effects of cancer treatment on the ovary, also laying out possible preventative approaches and future directions for the field. Clinicians working in the field of reproductive biology and oncology will find an essential reference that provides the necessary tools to assess the reproductive toxicological effects of cancer treatments.
ISBN: 9780128015919Publication Date: 2015-10-21
Clinical Gynecologic Oncology, 9th ed. by
The most readable, most comprehensive book in its field, Clinical Gynecologic Oncology, 9th Edition is the leading reference for diagnosis and treatment of gynecologic cancers - a must-have reference for improving outcomes and providing effective care. A "who's who" list of contributing authors, under the editorial direction of Drs. Philip DiSaia and William Creasman, provides expert guidance on clinical presentations and management, now fully up to date with a brand-new design for faster, easier reference. Contains useful appendices covering staging, screening, nutritional therapy, toxicity criteria, blood component therapy, and radiation therapy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Covers hot topics such as multi-panel genetic testing, target therapies, sentinel node concept in endometrial cancer and vulvar cancer, and robotic surgery. Updates include new quick-reference features such as key point boxes with bulleted lists, highlighted key text, enhanced chapter outlines, and a brand-new design throughout. Includes up-to-date references and algorithms, making this text a comprehensive resource for clinical practice, personal study, and exam review. Helps you take advantage of the latest advances in early detection and improved treatment options for gynecologic cancers, especially uterine and cervical cancers.
ISBN: 9780323400671Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Diagnosis and Treatment of Rare Gynecologic Cancers by
Offering a one-stop guide to recognition and therapeutic decision making, Diagnosis and Treatment of Rare Gynecologic Cancers fills a gap in the medical literature on uncommon ovarian, uterine, cervical, and vulvovaginal cancers and trophoblastic diseases. This authoritative text, edited by Drs. Michael Frumovitz, Mario Leitao, and Preetha Ramalingam, has been authored by internationally recognized experts from top institutions such as MD Anderson Cancer Center and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Each chapter covers different cancer subtypes and has been reviewed by an oncologist and a pathologist.
Provides up-to-date clinical guidance on assessment and therapeutic options for patients with rare gynecologic malignancies.
Presents information in a templated, easy-to-read format. Each chapter includes an introductory clinical case followed by epidemiology of disease, pathologic assessment, basic science/molecular/translational research, work-up of newly diagnosed disease, staging, treatment of newly diagnosed disease, treatment of recurrent disease, potential therapeutic targets, and a case resolution.
Includes diagnostic and treatment algorithms for each form of cancer.
Contains numerous anatomical figures, radiographs, photographs, and tables for quick visual reference.
DiSaia and Creasman Clinical Gynecologic Oncology, 10th ed. by
For more than 40 years, DiSaia and Creasman Clinical Gynecologic Oncology has been the leading reference for diagnosis and treatment of gynecologic cancers, providing physicians and trainees alike with expert guidance on clinical presentations and management. The fully revised 10th Edition remains the most readable, most comprehensive text in the field. Under outstanding editorial leadership from Dr. William Creasman and featuring a “who’s who list of expert contributing authors, this authoritative reference is a must-have resource for improving outcomes and providing effective patient care.
Emphasizes practical clinical presentations and management of commonly seen problems, making this text an excellent resource for daily decision making.
Provides in-depth explanations of major topics supplemented with up-to-date references.
Features a new chapter on Immunotherapy in Gynecologic Malignancies, updated information on invasive cervical cancer, and significantly revised content on vulvar cancer, with new guidance on micro-staging for sentinels.
Covers key topics such as precision medicine and new biomarker-driven targeted therapies, cancer staging, targeted therapy, and immunotherapy.
Includes quick-reference features such as key point boxes with bulleted lists, highlighted key text, enhanced chapter outlines, clinical algorithms that review recommended treatment and management options, and additional references online.
Contains useful appendices covering staging, screening, nutritional therapy, toxicity criteria, blood component therapy, and radiation therapy.
Gynecologic Oncology: Clinical Practice and Surgical Atlas by
Introducing the definitive gynecologic oncology reference and surgical atlas--in one essential text. A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Gynecologic Oncology: Clinical Practice and Surgical Atlas brings together a skill-sharpening reference and full-color atlas to deliver an unmatched introduction to the field. As the most comprehensive, evidence-based gynecologic oncology resource available, this all-in-one resource offers high-yield coverage of the discipline's underlying principles and proven management strategies. Each topic is written by experts and is presented in an easily accessible, consistent presentation that highlights clinical practice guidelines, along with the diagnosis and treatment of specific malignancies. This authoritative coverage is reinforced by the state-of-the-art surgical atlas, which offers a richly illustrated, overview of essential procedures designed to build your knowledge and confidence. FEATURES Consistent, streamlined presentation for each disease consists of: Epidemiology, Pathology, Clinical Presentation, Diagnosis, Staging, Treatment, Survival, Key management strategies Thorough examination of basic gynecological oncology topics, including epidemiology, clinical trial design, biostatistics, genetics and biology of gynecologic cancers, and diagnostic modalities Instructive, A-to-Z coverage of disease sites--from cervical cancer and gestational trophoblastic disease, to epithelial ovarian cancers and breast cancer--emphasizes evidence-based practice guidelines and critical supporting data In-depth, hands-on look at clinical management topics provides an up-to-date survey of perioperative and critical care; the principles of chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and immunotherapies; and quality of care and quality of life Full-color design filled with more than 600 figures, tables, algorithms, color photos, and illustrations Key points helpfully review the main topics to be covered in specific chapters, while chapter conclusions offer convenient summaries of each chapter's core concepts Chapter-ending references underscore the book's evidence-based approach
ISBN: 9780071749268Publication Date: 2012-07-13
eBooks
Gynecologic Oncology Handbook: An Evidence-Based Clinical Guide, 3rd ed. by
The Gynecologic Oncology Handbook: An Evidence-Based Clinical Guide is an invaluable resource for fellows, residents, and clinicians in the diagnosis and management of gynecologic cancers. Retaining the format and features that have made it a leading practical reference, this new edition has been thoroughly updated and reflects the latest advances in surgical techniques, chemotherapy protocols, breakthroughs in immunotherapies and targeted therapies, and much more.
The handbook covers the full scope of disease management in a concise and accessible format. Its compact size allows it to be easily taken with the busy practitioner on the ward or in the clinic. Clear illustrations that reinforce key concepts and essential algorithms for diagnostic techniques help clinicians to a quick and accurate diagnosis. Evidence-based practices for managing gynecologic cancers are emphasized throughout the handbook including for surgical care, and for all adjuvant therapies including chemotherapy, biologics, targeted therapies, immunotherapies, and combination radiation therapy. Detailed sections on survivorship care, palliative care, and management of reproductive function and other comorbid medical conditions round out the book’s comprehensive scope.
ISBN: 9780826155979
Oncoplastic Surgery of the Breast, 2nd ed. by
The dynamic field of oncoplastic breast surgery seeks to combine the goals of both oncology and plastic surgery, utilizing recent innovations and new techniques to provide patients with the best possible outcomes. Oncoplastic Surgery of the Breast, 2nd Edition, offers fully revised content, new expert contributors, and up-to-date instructional videos to keep you current with today's best approaches to aesthetic closure of the breast after tumor removal. International authorities in breast and plastic surgery cover everything from indications and patient selection to the techniques and allied issues related to breast tumor surgery, including oncoplastic reduction, mammaplasty, mastectomy with nipple areolar preservation, perforator flaps, and effects of radiation therapy, as well as complications and controversies. Contains sections on Getting Started, Surgical Techniques, and Outcomes, written by authors who have made significant contributions to the field. Includes new instructional videos of step-by-step procedures narrated in real time. Procedures include thoraco-dorsal artery perforator flap (TDAP flap), oncoplastic breast augmentation technique, split reduction with intraoperative radiation therapy (IORT), and more. Offers clear visual guidance with hundreds of full-color clinical photographs and line drawings. Includes all-new chapters and fully updated content on breast augmentation technique (bi-planar approach to oncoplasty), the breast surgeon's approach to oncoplastic breast surgery, extreme oncoplasty, local recurrence and survival following oncoplastic breast surgery, lipofilling and oncoplasty, the plastic surgeon's approach to oncoplastic breast surgery, local and free flap techniques, and surveillance and imaging following oncoplastic breast surgery. Follows a consistent chapter format with summary information highlighted in key point boxes and clinical pearls for quick and easy access. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702076800Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Peritoneal Tumor Microenvironment of Cancers on Cancer Hallmarks by
Peritoneal Tumor Microenvironment of Cancers on Cancer Hallmarks: Perspectives of Translational Medicine provides readers with cutting-edge knowledge on tumor microenvironment. By exploring multiple aspects on tumor microenvironment, it gives an integrative insight on cancer diseases ranging from diagnosis to prediction of prognosis and individualized treatment. The book discusses topics such as clinical significance of tumor microenvironment, tumorigenesis and cancer progression, histopathological features of cancer in peritoneum, immune cells in tumor, exosomal cell-to-cell interactions, and therapeutic approaches to target tumor microenvironment. In addition, it discusses tumor evolution during chemotherapy and metastasis and future perspectives on identification and validation of biomarkers using liquid biopsy. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, medical doctors, and several members of biomedical field who want to understand the complex microenvironment of peritoneal tumors.
ISBN: 9780128240403Publication Date: 2024-07-04
Principles of Gynecologic Oncology Surgery, 2d ed. by
After the successful publication of the first edition of Principles of Gynecologic Oncology Surgery in 2019, the second edition is now available. This not only reflects the fast development of surgical techniques and indications in gynecologic cancers in recent years but also the continued progress made in the management of perioperative complications and improved processes for patient care. It is also a highlight to see that two world renowned gynecologic oncologists, Dr Pedro T. Ramirez and Dr Michael Frumovitz, were able to work on a successor of the first edition within such a short time. This successor to the first edition includes multiple aspects of gynecologic oncology surgery, starting with the principles of surgery and anatomy to routine and ultra-radical procedures in gynecologic oncology. These include standard techniques such as sentinel lymph node biopsy in endometrial and cervical cancers, and indications and techniques of fertility-sparing surgery, which have become more and more important in recent years, reflecting the increasing aim of fertility preservation in many more patients compared to earlier years. In addition, there is also a focus on radical and ultra-radical procedures like exenterations, bowel resection, and upper abdominal surgery, which are regularly indicated in gynecologic oncology and very well described in this latest edition. A further major strength of Principles of Gynecologic Oncology Surgery , 2 nd Edition is the inclusion of several chapters offering new information that focuses on relevant topics such as surgery in pregnant patients with gynecologic cancers, perioperative analgesic management, as well as information on perioperative nutritional management. Similarly, readers will also appreciate topics such as gastro-intestinal surgery, urinary tract surgery, techniques of reconstructive surgery, as well as the management of complications. Lastly, this edition includes chapters on truly innovative techniques by world renowned surgeons such as uterine transposition and uterine transplantation.
Principles of Gynecologic Oncology Surgery , 2 nd Edition is the up-to-date standard book for gynecologic cancer surgery for all gynecologic oncologists, irrespective of whether they are in training or already experienced practitioners.
ISBN: 9780323935340
Radical and Reconstructive Gynecologic Cancer Surgery by
Learn how to perform the full range of radical pelvic procedures with this comprehensive text and atlas. A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Radical and Reconstructive Gynecologic Cancer Surgery is the first text to encompass the full range of extirpative and reconstructive surgical procedures required to treat locally advanced and recurrent pelvic cancers. It is a unique blend of clinical best practices and a detailed surgical atlas with numerous high-quality photographs and illustrations. The book reflects the integrated multidisciplinary team approach necessary for the effective management of these cancers. The surgical chapters follow a consistent presentation that includes background, indications and clinical applications, anatomical considerations, preoperative preparation, surgical procedure, postoperative care, and long-term outcomes. Radical and Reconstructive Gynecologic Cancer Surgery is divided into three main parts: PART 1 covers the historical evolution of radical pelvic surgical procedures and provides an anatomical review of pertinent pelvic and abdominal visceral,vascular, and bony structures as a foundation for the detailed descriptions and illustrations of the surgical procedures that follow. PART 2 consists of the extirpative procedures organized by system, physiology, and anatomic region in a text and atlas format. The detailed illustrations are complemented by operative photographs that emphasizethe practical or "how-to" aspects of each procedure. PART 3 includes comprehensive coverage of the full range of reconstructive procedures and surgical options available to optimize patient outcomes, as well as a chapter on rehabilitation, quality of life issues, and symptom management.
ISBN: 9780071808095Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Strategies for Overcoming Chemotherapy Resistance in Cervical Cancer: From Molecular Insights to Precision Solutions by
Strategies for Overcoming Chemotherapy Resistance in Cervical Cancer: From Molecular Insights to Precision Solutions, Volume 21 highlights different strategies to reverse chemotherapy resistance in cervical cancer. The book puts a strong focus on strategies to reverse chemotherapy resistance as well as strategies for early detection of the resistance, enhancing precision oncology in terms of patient care and maximizing patient management. The book also looks at virally induced resistance to chemotherapy and recommends combination therapies that can maximize the reversal of this resistance. In 10 chapters, the book not only gives an overview of cervical cancer and chemotherapy as treatment, but also investigates resistance to chemotherapy and treatment for resistance. It defines treatment mechanisms, options, and limitations to beat chemotherapy resistance and the reversal of the resistance mechanisms. It gives insights into future directions of cervical cancer treatment using epigenetic silencing, chemotherapy splicing, the involvement of MicroRNAs to chemotherapy resistance, and the application of Artificial Intelligence.
ISBN: 9780443289859Publication Date: 2024-01-24
Surgery for Ovarian Cancer, 4th ed. by
This acclaimed text continues to focus on the essential techniques for effective surgical management of patients with ovarian cancer and related peritoneal surface malignancies. With a wealth of accompanying illustrations and operative videos; this fourth edition reflects the evolution - and controversies - in the use of minimally invasive and robotic surgery and the introduction of HIPEC treatment options.
ISBN: 9780429623523Publication Date: 2022-11-30
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers by
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers provides information regarding ongoing research and clinical data surrounding female specific cancers (breast, cervical, ovarian and endometrial cancers). The book encompasses detailed descriptions about diagnostics and therapeutic options for easy understanding, focusing on the subject matter with a broader range of treatment options. In addition, it explores new theranostics, i.e., diagnostic, therapeutic and precision medicine strategies currently being developed for FSCs. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, clinicians, graduate students and other members of biomedical field who need to understand the most recent and promising approaches to manage FSCs.
ISBN: 9780128220092Publication Date: 2020-11-11
