eBooks
Cancer Immunology: Bench to Bedside Immunotherapy of Cancers, 2nd ed. by
This translational, clinically oriented book describes in detail novel approaches to cancer immunotherapy, current strategies to target tumor immunosuppression, and prognostic biomarkers for personalized cancer treatments. Since the first, very successful edition of the book was published in 2015, the original chapters have been significantly updated and entirely new chapters are included on, for example, cancer immunoprevention, aptamer-mediated cancer gene therapy, haploidentical bone marrow transplantation for pediatric malignancies, and nanoimmunotherapy. The book is published as part of the three-volume Springer series Cancer Immunology, which aims to provide an up-to-date, clinically relevant review of cancer immunology and immunotherapy. Other volumes in the series address the translational medicine context and cancer immunotherapy for organ-specific tumors. Cancer Immunology: Bench to Bedside Immunotherapy of Cancers will be of special value to clinical immunologists, hematologists, and oncologists.
ISBN: 9783030502867Publication Date: 2020-09-25
Cancer Immunotherapy by
Cancer Immunotherapy, Volume 165 in the Progress in Molecular Biology and Translational Science series, provides informative monographs on a variety of research topics related to different approaches to cancer immunotherapy, with this release focusing on TNFR2 in cancer immunology and immunotherapy, From the Hellstrom paradox towards cancer cure, CAR T-cell treatment of T-cell malignancy , Immunotherapy of pancreatic cancer, Cancer stem cell immunology/immunotherapy, Cytokine release syndrome, Tumor cell-based mechanisms of resistance to immune attack, and Mushroom compounds in cancer immunotherapy.
ISBN: 9780128165751Publication Date: 2019-08-04
Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-Cell Therapies for Cancer by
From patient referral to post-therapy management, Chimeric Antigen Receptor (CAR) T-Cell Therapies for Cancer: A Practical Guide presents a comprehensive view of CAR modified T-cells in a concise and practical format. Providing authoritative guidance on the implementation and management of CAR T-cell therapy from Drs. Daniel W. Lee and Nirali N. Shah, this clinical resource keeps you up to date on the latest developments in this rapidly evolving area. Covers all clinical aspects, including patient referral, toxicities management, comorbidities, bridging therapy, post-CAR monitoring, and multidisciplinary approaches to supportive care. Includes key topics on associated toxicities such as predictive biomarkers, infections, and multidisciplinary approaches to supportive care. Presents current knowledge on FDA approved CAR T-cell products as well as developments on the horizon. Editors and authors represent leading investigators in academia and worldwide pioneers of CAR therapy.
ISBN: 9780323661812Publication Date: 2019-12-02
Clinical Immuno-Oncology by
There is no other more rapidly advancing and therefore promising field in cancer treatment than immuno-oncology. Today, we have a much greater and, in fact, continually expanding understanding of the complex relationships existing between the host’s tissues, the host immune system, the tumor, and the tumor microenvironment as these entities relate to the process of tumor initiation and tumor progression. The goal of this book is to enable its readers—those caring for patients with cancer no matter their specialty—to achieve a greater in-depth understanding of these relationships and how they can be engineered to drive the immune system to effectively treat the cancer. It is hoped that this text will enable the trainee and the practicing oncologist to acquire the language of immunology and, in so doing, facilitate the more purposeful reading of the rapidly evolving clinical immuno-oncology literature. Empowered by this knowledge, it is hoped that practitioners will be optimally prepared to discuss and apply immunotherapies in translational research and in the actual care of their patients.
ISBN: 9780323877633
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Hematologic, Renal, and Immunologic Disorders, 7th ed. by
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Hematologic, Renal, and Immunologic Disorders, Seventh Edition thoroughly examines medical genetics and genomics as applied to hematologic, immunologic and endocrinologic disorders, with an emphasis on understanding the genetic mechanisms underlying these conditions, diagnostic approaches, and treatment methods. Here, genetic researchers, students and health professionals will find new and fully revised chapters on the genetics of red blood cell diseases, rhesus and other fetomaternal incompatibilities, immunodeficiency disorders, inherited complement deficiencies, celiac disease, and diabetes mellitus, as well as thyroid, parathyroid and gonad disorders, among other conditions. With regular advances in genomic technologies propelling precision medicine into the clinic, this book, which has served as the ultimate resource for clinicians integrating genetics into medical practice, continues to provide the most important information. With nearly 5,000 pages of detailed coverage, contributions from over 250 of the world's most trusted authorities in medical genetics, and a series of 11 volumes available for individual sale, this updated edition includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies.
ISBN: 9780128125342Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy by
Handbook of Brain Tumor Chemotherapy, Molecular Therapeutics, and Immunotherapy, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of the molecular methodologies in the neuro-oncology field. There have been profound changes in the landscape of approaches to brain tumor therapy since the first edition--mainly in the areas of molecular biology and molecular therapeutics, as well as in the maturation of immunotherapy approaches (e.g., vaccines). This updated edition has a new, primary focus on multidisciplinary molecular methods, and is broadened to include the latest cutting-edge molecular biology, therapeutics, immunobiology and immunotherapy approaches. As the first comprehensive book to address the molecular research into these concepts, users will find it to be an invaluable resource on the topics discussed.
Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities by
Early recognition and management of adverse effects of cancer treatments are essential for optimal care of patients with cancer, and drastically different approaches are required for different physiologic reactions. Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities is a focused, one-stop resource that enables clinicians to quickly find up-to-date, reliable information needed at the point of care. The high-yield approach prioritizes the most common toxicities associated with cancer treatment, and concise, templated chapters offer fast access to information needed in day-to-day practice. Presents a user-friendly overview of cancer treatment-related symptoms and toxicities management in a practical, easy-to-use format, allowing you to quickly find information in one convenient, concise resource. Covers systemic and radiation therapies, including chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted therapies, and radiation therapy, detailing symptoms of each toxicity to confirm your diagnosis. Overviews pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic approaches to symptom management. Offers recommendations for mitigating toxicities in high-risk patients. Discusses key topics such as management of infusion reactions, when the need for biopsy is warranted, and the unique challenges posed by novel immunotherapies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323672412Publication Date: 2021-02-22
eBooks
Immune Landscape of Pancreatic Cancer Development and Drug Resistance by
Immune Landscape of Pancreatic Cancer Development and Drug Resistance explores advances in immune-based therapies aimed at harnessing the power of the immune system against pancreatic cancer and rewiring tumor microenvironments to eradicate pancreatic cells. With a strong focus on the development of therapeutic methods to improve the survival rates of pancreatic cancer, this book also shows the latest trends in immune targeted approaches for pancreatic cancer treatment. In 12 chapters, the book discusses our current understanding of PC development and its various mutational and immune features and explore some of the new immune-based therapies aimed at targeting pancreatic cancer. This book is a valuable resource for health professionals, scientists and researchers, students, and all those who wish to broaden their knowledge of advances in immunotherapy in pancreatic cancer.
ISBN: 9780443235238Publication Date: 2024-06-14
Liquid Biopsy by
Liquid Biopsy: New Challenges in the era of Immunotherapy and Precision Oncology aims to describe links between cancer, precision oncology, and liquid biopsy, focusing on their participation to immunotherapy management. The book provides updated information on the main applications of liquid biopsy and immunotherapy as well as interesting aspects useful for planning basic and translational research activities. It helps readers understand the central aspects of precision medicine in oncology, including the use of new generation technologies for translational and diagnostic settings and the main clinical trials in this area that may be useful during their research.The book is a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and other members of the medical and biomedical field who are interested in learning more about recent developments in liquid biopsy and its relationship with precision medicine and immunotherapy. Presents a "highlights section" in every chapter to help readers summarize the main aspects discussed Encompasses case reports to guide the reader on applying what they read in their clinical practice Includes several tables and figures specially created for the book to illustrate the meaning of what is expressed in the text
ISBN: 9780128227114Publication Date: 2022-11-03
Multifaceted Role of il-1 in Cancer and Inflammation by
Multifaceted Role of IL-1 in Cancer and Inflammation summarizes the existing literature and discusses future perspectives about the role of IL-1 in immune suppression, cancer progression, angiogenesis, and resistance to immunotherapies. The book presents mechanisms to overcome IL-1 mediated immune suppression in tumor microenvironment and covers topics on the source of IL-1 in the tumor microenvironment, IL-1 mediated downstream pathway, mechanism of IL-1 mediated immune suppression in cancer, and its effect on immunotherapy of cancer. Those topics help readers understand the effect of IL-1 on cancer immunopathology and immunotherapy, and provide them with broader concepts to develop therapies for IL-1 enrichment tumors. This is a valuable source for cancer researchers, clinicians and other members of the biomedical field who wants to learn more about mechanisms to improve outcome of cancer immunotherapies.
ISBN: 9780128242735Publication Date: 2023-06-09
Resistance to Anti-CD20 Antibodies and Approaches for Their Reversal by
Resistance to Anti-CD20 Antibodies and Approaches for Their Reversal presents in-depth content written by international experts in the study of resistance to anti-CD20 antibodies and approaches for their reversal. Anti-CD20 antibodies are used to achieve B cell depletion and are developed to treat B cell proliferative disorders, including non-Hodgkin's lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia. In the past two decades, anti-CD20 antibodies have revolutionized the treatment of all B cell malignancies, however, there are patients that fail to respond to initial therapy or relapse sooner. This book explores new and existing avenues surrounding Anti-CD20 antibodies. In recent years, several next-generation anti-CD20 therapies have been developed but predicting and reversing resistance is still a challenging task. These areas are being actively studied as they represent a potential to improve anti-CD20 therapies and are discussed thoroughly in the book. It is a valuable resource for researchers, students and member of the biomedical and medical fields who want to learn more about resistance to anti-CD20 antibodies and their reversal.
ISBN: 9780443192005Publication Date: 2023-09-07
Translational Immunotherapy of Brain Tumors by
Translational Immunotherapy of Brain Tumors gives researchers and practitioners an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of the field. Chapters include adoptive immunotherapy, immunosuppression, CAR therapy of brain tumors, and dendritic cell therapy for brain tumors. Very few agents have been shown to be efficacious in the treatment of malignant gliomas. Recently, there have been a number of studies demonstrating the potential success of immunotherapy for brain tumors. Immunotherapeutics are becoming the most frequent drugs to be used in cancer therapy. These new breakthroughs, now approved by the FDA, are a part of multiple phase III international trials and ongoing research in malignant glioma, meaning that the information in this cutting-edge book will be of great importance to practitioners and researchers alike. 2018 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Oncology
ISBN: 9780128024201Publication Date: 2017-03-02
