eBooks
Eyelid & Periorbital Surgery, 2nd ed. by
Eyelid & Periorbital Surgery offers expansive coverage of aesthetic and reconstructive procedures in oculoplastic surgery. Oculoplastic and plastic surgeons combine their talents in this unique two-volume clinical resource that features comprehensive guidance for solving both common and rare eyelid and periorbital problems.
With more than 2,900 photos and color illustrations, this edition has 26 rewritten first edition chapters and expands on an additional 13 new chapters, including topics ranging from nonsurgical periorbital rejuvenation to male blepharoplasty. Best of all, there are more than 30 new surgical videos demonstrating the latest surgical techniques. Also included is a complimentary eBook.
Divided into 5 sections, the book begins by covering the fundamentals including periorbital and eyelid anatomy, eyelid function, innervation, biomechanics, and tissue grafts. The following section discusses aesthetic surgery including procedures such as brow lift, upper and lower blepharoplasty, midface lift, treatment of malar bags and festoons, lateral canthal dysfunction, and management of chemosis.
A new section has been added on aesthetic nonsurgical state-of-the-art periorbital treatments with an update on injectable fillers, botulinum toxin injections, and fat grafting. The reconstructive surgery section covers ptosis surgery, upper and lower eyelid reconstruction, entropion and ectropion reconstruction, surgery for facial paralysis, malignant eyelid tumors, Graves' disease, and the treatment of pediatric patients.
The new final section covers orbital and lacrimal surgery including blowout fracture of the orbital floor, neuroophthalmologic injuries, evisceration and enucleation, late repair of orbital fractures, and management of the lacrimal system. Step-by-step descriptions and detailed videos provide a wide variety of tips, clinical pearls, and personal insights from the authors making this an invaluable resource for surgeons interested in the topic.
Oculoplastic Surgery, 3rd ed. by
Oculoplastic Surgery, Third Edition, by Brian Leatherbarrow, reflects more than 25 years of experience and multidisciplinary collaboration in treating patients with a wide spectrum of oculoplastic, orbital, and lacrimal conditions. The third edition builds on the highly acclaimed prior editions, with expanded coverage of oculofacial surgery procedures and management of complications.
The book is pragmatically organized in seven sections and 29 chapters, starting with basic and applied anatomy, followed by procedure-specific sections on eyelid surgery, cosmetic surgery, orbital surgery, lacrimal surgery, anophthalmic socket surgery, and trauma. Updates include an expanded applied anatomy chapter, prevention and management of dermal filler complications, a new approach to the management of patients with acquired blepharoptosis, and the surgical approaches to optic nerve sheath fenestration.
Key Features
A focus on periocular anatomy and adjacent structures, with in-depth descriptions of applied anatomy for each procedure
Discussion of pertinent clinical signs, investigations, surgical indications, important technical considerations, and complications
Lavishly illustrated with more than 800 color photos and exceptional computer-generated artist drawings
Numerous surgical videos enhance understanding of procedures such as Müller's muscle resection, levator advancement, upper and lower lid blepharoplasty, entropion and ectropion surgery, enucleation of the eye, dermis fat graft harvesting, structural fat grafting, endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy, Lester Jones tube insertion, temporal direct brow lift, and more
Pragmatic and visually stunning, this is a must-have oculoplastic surgery resource for ophthalmologists. Residents and practitioners in plastic surgery, maxillofacial surgery, ENT surgery, dermatology, radiology, and neurosurgery will also greatly benefit from this remarkable resource.
Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery of the Upper Face: Eyelid Ptosis, Dermatochalasis, and Eyebrow Ptosis, 1st ed. by
The definitive resource on cutting-edge oculoplastic surgery of the upper face, eyelids, and eyebrows While an estimated 1.5 million brow and upper eyelid surgery procedures are performed worldwide each year, this book is the first published ophthalmologic text with detailed coverage focused solely on this topic. Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery of the Upper Face: Eyelid Ptosis, Dermatochalasis, and Eyebrow Ptosis by distinguished oculofacial plastic surgeons and educators Michael A. Burnstine, Steven C. Dresner, David B. Samimi, Helen A. Merritt, and an impressive group of international experts fills a void in the literature. The succinct, richly illustrated text covers classification, anatomy, evaluation, and a wide spectrum of surgical approaches for each condition. Surgical videos are included. Organized by 7 sections and 39 chapters, the book begins with clinical assessment of patients who present with upper eyelid and eyebrow conditions, followed by evidenced-based treatment protocols. All procedural chapters follow a consistent format, enabling readers to classify problems, review surgical steps, and consider key issues associated with each condition and corrective procedure. Mechanical, involutional, neurogenic, myogenic, and syndromic blepharoptoses detailed in Sections 2 to 6 include etiology, diagnosis, management, and diverse state-of-the-art resection, repair, lift, fill, and augmentation techniques. Key Features Each procedural chapter includes an introduction, risks, benefits, informed consent, indications, relative contraindications, a preoperative checklist, required instrumentation, a step-by-step approach for surgeons beginning their career, and refined tips for more experienced surgeons. High quality full-color operative photographs enhance knowledge of the most salient operative steps, while before and after photos demonstrate the evidence-based efficacy of eac
ISBN: 9781626239210Publication Date: 2019-10-04
eBooks
Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery: Tricks of the Trade, 1st ed. by
A step-by-step guide to performing a wide range of ophthalmic plastic surgery procedures featuring author pearls and tricks of the trade
Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery: Tricks of the Trade by renowned expert Suzanne Freitag and esteemed coeditors N. Grace Lee, Daniel Lefebvre, and Michael Yoon is a concise ophthalmic plastic surgery procedures reference ideal for residents and fellows, as well as more accomplished surgeons who wish to improve techniques and outcomes. Divided into 10 major sections and 46 separate topics, the book provides essential understanding of the basic principles and steps of each procedure, making it a perfect resource to consult prior to performing surgery.
The first two sections include a detailed overview of the anatomy of the eyelids, orbit, and lacrimal system and discussion of fundamental principles of periorbital surgery. The subsequent eight sections cover eyelid trauma, lower eyelid, upper eyelid, eye brow, eyelid reconstruction, lacrimal, orbital surgery, and anophthalmic socket. The final section covers temporal artery biopsy, aberrant eyelash management, and tarsorrhaphy. Each chapter topic is formatted consistently – encompassing goals, advantages, expectations, key principles, indications, contraindications, preoperative preparation, operative technique, complications/bailout, postoperative care, and references.
Key Features
A distinguished group of national and international contributors share advanced tips, insightful pearls, and pitfalls to avoid, based on years of experience performing each procedure
Numerous figures, color illustrations, photographs, and surgical videos demonstrate salient points
Procedures are presented in a step-by-step manner, thereby enhancing reader comprehension and knowledge retention
This a must-have resource for ophthalmic plastic surgeons. Ophthalmologists, otolaryngologists, facial plastic surgeons, plastic surgeons, dermatologists, and maxillofacial surgeons who perform procedures in the periorbital area will also find it beneficial.
Techniques in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery, 2nd ed. by
The long-anticipated 2nd Edition of Techniques in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery: A Personal Tutorial presents a unique tutorial-style approach to the information beginners and experts alike need to establish or enhance their oculofacial surgery practice. Superbly illustrated, this book contains over 600 illustrations and clinical photos and follows a step-by-step approach to explaining both the diagnostic and procedural aspects of practice, foundational concepts, and state-of-the art advancements. Whether your background is Ophthalmology, ENT, Plastic Surgery or Dermatology, Dr. Nerad's "over the shoulder" approach to teaching and clinical pearls learned over years of practice make this a "must read" surgical reference. Offers a unique, conversational approach to complex topics. Dr. Nerad's writing style mimics a "one-on-one" tutorial, helping you learn even the most intimidating oculoplastic surgical techniques. Reflects current practice with significant updates throughout, including updated coverage of both cosmetic and functional procedures to improve "how you see and how you look". Features the latest aesthetic eyelid and facelift procedures and new filler and botulinum toxin techniques in addition to functional procedures that are aimed at restoring vision. Outlines important anatomy and diagnostic considerations alongside step-by-step procedural guidance. Provides clear visual guidance with an outstanding combination of over 600 high-quality artworks and surgical photos. Includes access to over 90 video clips that depict select procedures, showing you Dr. Nerad's techniques and tips in real time. Features checkpoint boxes and major point reviews in each chapter as a quick reminder of critical points in addition to comprehensive suggested reading lists for further study. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323393164Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 2nd ed. by
Ideal for oculofacial, facial/cosmetic plastic, and dermatologic surgeons, the updated Video Atlas of Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery brings together high-definition quality video and accompanying color atlas to help you master the latest reconstructive and cosmetic surgical procedures of the eyelid, lacrimal system, orbit, and face. Superb illustrations combined with expanded coverage of over 70 techniques deliver a complete multimedia resource to help perfect your surgical skills. This Second Edition features all video online with a 590 page print atlas. Professionally edited high-definition video clips with author narration, labels, freeze frames, and digital overlays explain the key steps of each technique. Includes high-resolution screen grabs throughout the text to pinpoint key stages of the procedures. Includes 40 new and revised chapters covering the hottest procedures: aesthetic and revisional eyelid surgery; complex periocular reconstructions; Asian eyelid surgery; periocular fat transfer; and minimally invasive brow- and face-lift surgery. Features over 70 professionally captured, high-definition surgical online videos with 5 hours running time. Expertly edited footage with narration provides the nuances and pearls of every technique, and unique freeze frames with digital overlays enhance specific areas of interest. Comprehensively covers the essential procedures in the field, such as upper and lower blepharoplasty, ptosis repair, endoscopic brow lifting, botulinum toxin, oculofacial reconstruction, eyelid malposition repairs, endoscopic lacrimal surgery, and advanced orbital surgery techniques. Over 1,600 illustrations in the atlas include intra-operative photos taken directly from the high-definition video, as well as new "before and after" patient images. A consistent chapter format with indications, preoperative evaluations, surgical techniques, complications and consumables used during surgery allows you to grasp the key points of every procedure. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the videos, text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323297554Publication Date: 2016-05-25
