Pain Medicine: Anesthesiology / Perioperative Medicine

Bonica's Management of Pain, 5th ed. by Jane C. Ballantyne; Scott M. Fishman; James P. Rathmell, 2019 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain , first published 65 years ago, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago. Broad authorship by researchers and practitioners from the many disciplines that participate in pain medicine, including anesthesiology, neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative care, psychology, social sciences, and more. Addresses the economic, political, legal, ethical, and sociological considerations of pain; evaluation of the pain patient; pain conditions; methods for symptomatic control; and provision of pain treatment. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Features and Assessments of Pain, Anesthesia, and Analgesia by Rajkumar Rajendram; Victor R. Preed; Vinood B. Patel et al, 2021 Features and Assessments of Pain, Anaesthesia and Analgesia examines the syndromes of pain and how they interlink with anesthesia and analgesics. The book covers assessments, screening and resources, and provides applications to related areas of medicine. It explores how the perception of pain results from a multifaceted interaction between illness beliefs, age, gender, time of onset, stress, socioeconomic status, and any number of other factors. In addition, the book scrutinizes how the neuroscience of pain in one condition may be relevant to understanding pain observed in other conditions.

Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2nd ed. by Admir Hadzic, 2017 The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019 Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound

Practical Management of Pain, 6th ed. by Christopher L. Wu; Dennis Turk; Charles E. Argoff, 2023 For more than 30 years, Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. Edited by a team of renowned pain clinicians led by Dr. Honorio Benzon, this authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. Presents a wealth of information in a clearly written, easily accessible manner, enabling you to effectively assess and draw up an optimal treatment plan for patients with acute or chronic pain.  Takes a practical, multidisciplinary approach, making key concepts and techniques easier to apply to everyday practice.  Shares the knowledge and expertise of global contributors on all facets of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques.   Discusses the latest, best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents such as topical analgesics.  Covers recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular based pain.  Includes current information on the use of cannabinoids in pain management and related regulatory, professional, and legal considerations.  Includes the latest guidelines on facet injections and safety of contrast agents.  Provides new, evidence-based critical analysis on treatment modality outcomes and the latest information on chronic pain as a result of surgical interventions.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by Nabil Elkassabany; Eman Nada; Magdalena Anitescu, 2023 Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine: A Problem-Based Learning Approach provides a comprehensive review of regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine for medical learners to integrate theoretical knowledge into clinical practice. Its problem-based format incorporates a pool of multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Each of its 50 case-based chapters is accompanied by questions and answers accessible online in a full practice exam. These chapters cover several areas such as pharmacology, obstetric and pediatric regional anesthesia, complex acute pain problems, anticoagulation, and regional anesthesia and complicated nerve blocks. The cases presented are also unique, as each chapter starts with a case description, usually a compilation of several actual cases, which branches out through case-based questions to increasingly complex situations. This structure is designed to create an authentic experience mirroring the nuances of a complicated clinical scenario. The discussion sections that follow offer a comprehensive approach to the chapter's subject matter, thus creating a modern, complete, and up-to-date medical review of the topic.

Anesthesiology, 3rd ed. by Sean Mackey; David E. Longnecker; Mark F. Newman et al, 2018 The gold-standard text in anesthesiology - from the field's brightest, most respected minds Doody's Core Titles for 2022! Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, Third Edition provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine. Presented in full color and updated to capture the latest breakthroughs and advances, Anesthesiology is designed to provide the practitioner with an authoritative single-source reference that spans the full spectrum of anesthesia practice. Much more than a how-to manual of anesthetic techniques, Anesthesiology, Third Edition presents an accessible compilation of concepts and principles that affirms its status as the cornerstone text in anesthesiology. This edition emphasizes important trends in both the specialty and healthcare in general. These trends include team-based anesthesia care, the remarkable growth of pain medicine practice, and the expanded need for clinicians who are skilled in the practice of critical care medicine. Features: Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease Key Points and Key References encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research Balanced presentations present clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice Essential for residents and students preparing for initial certification, and for practitioners preparing for recertification

Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7th ed. by Ehab Farag; Loran Mounir-Soliman; Vicente Roqués-Escolar, 2025 It is with great pleasure and enthusiasm that we present this latest edition of Brown’s Atlas for Regional Anesthesia . In crafting this iteration, we have undertaken a significant transformation, marked by the integration of novel blocks, the enlistment of fresh perspectives through new authorship, and a comprehensive reimagining of the multimedia components within the atlas. This edition stands as a testament to our unwavering commitment to the advancement of regional anesthesia knowledge and practice. A hallmark of this edition is the incorporation of innovative block techniques, including but not limited to the PENG block, cervical interfacial plane blocks, and axillary nerve blocks, each enhancing the breadth and depth of our coverage. Notably, we have expanded our purview to encompass the intricacies of nerve supply within the shoulder and knee, a distinctive feature that sets this edition apart. Breaking new ground, this atlas pioneers the inclusion of ultrasound techniques for upper airway blocks, notably addressing the superior laryngeal nerve, recurrent laryngeal nerve, and glossopharyngeal nerve blocks. Furthermore, we embrace a holistic approach by introducing chronic pain blocks, equipping acute pain physicians to perform procedures such as occipital nerve blocks and sacroiliac joint injections with confidence. In recognition of the symbiotic relationship between dentistry and anesthesia, dental blocks have been authored meticulously by dental professionals, enriching this edition’s value for both dentists and physicians engaged in dental anesthesia procedures. Acknowledging the pivotal role of foundational anatomy knowledge in mastering regional anesthesia, we are privileged to have engaged Dr. Richard Drake, esteemed chief editor of Gray’s Anatomy for Students , to meticulously rearticulate the anatomy chapters. His specialized expertise has endowed these chapters with a level of clarity and insight unparalleled in the field. To ensure the currency and relevance of this edition, we have updated existing chapters meticulously, removing unused traditional landmark techniques. The atlas retains its hallmark clarity, ensuring that techniques are not just comprehensible but eminently practicable. Integral to the multimedia narrative, the videos in this edition have been reenvisioned under the masterful direction of Dr. Escolar from Spain. His artistic acumen has redefined our visual pedagogy, imbuing each video with instructional depth while preserving the accessibility that has defined our atlas. Aspiring to be more than a reference, this edition transforms into a virtual workshop. Through a synergy of textual elucidation and visual demonstration, it cultivates a comprehensive learning experience, nurturing proficiency from every angle.

Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals, 2nd ed. by Sam R. Sharar; Bruce F. Cullen; M. Christine Stock et al, 2022 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Part of the popular and well-regarded Clinical Anesthesia family of titles, and founded by Drs. Paul G. Barash, Bruce F. Cullen, and Robert K. Stoelting, Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals, Second Edition, is a concise, highly visual resource covering the core concepts in anesthesiology. The editorial board comprised of Drs. Bruce F. Cullen, M. Christine Stock, Rafael Ortega, Sam R. Sharar, Natalie F. Holt, Christopher W. Connor, and Naveen Nathan, and their team of expert contributors clearly and simply present the information you need on key aspects of anesthesia for every specialty area and key organ systems. From physiology and pharmacology to anatomy and system-based anesthesia, it uses full-color graphics, easy-to-read tables, and clear, concise text to convey the essential principles of the field. Presents material in a highly visual manner, including "Did You Know" boxes that highlight key points, as well as video boxes that reference more than 120 short, to-the-point tutorial videos in the eBook, in addition to end of chapter multiple choice questions, answers, and explanations. New features include: a chapter on anesthesia for the older patient as well as 31 chapter-based infographics that provide "At a Glance" or "A Closer Look" at topical content. The ebook also comes with access to question-based interactive versions of the infographics, as well as dozens of video lectures covering every chapter in the book, including 500integrated review questions throughout. Includes an introductory section covering scientific and technical foundations, pharmacology, and technology. Features helpful appendices with handy formulas; an electrocardiography atlas; numerous key protocols, guidelines, and standards; algorithms, and more. Ideal for medical students, residents, SRNAs, CRNAs, and practitioners studying for board exams--anyone who needs a quick overview of the essential elements of clinical anesthesia in an easily accessible format. , Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. , ,

Complications in Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by Lee A. Fleisher; Stanley H. Rosenbaum, 2018 Using a unique, problem-solving approach, Complications in Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, walks you through effective solutions to common complications in anesthesia and critical care. This practical reference uses a highly structured, clearly illustrated format to bring you up to date with what's new in the field, help you anticipate potential challenges, and guide you through life-saving solutions. Presents content in an updated, logical organization covering various types of complications (drugs, testing, intubation, line insertion, surgical procedures, etc.) followed by differential diagnosis and treatment of signs of complications (intraoperative, such as hypoxia or hypotension; and postoperative, such as MI). Follows a problem-based, practice-oriented approach throughout; case synopses are followed by concise coverage of recognition, risk assessment, implications, management, and prevention. Allows you to review the case reports, contemplate the implications, then check your response against what the experts have to say. Includes numerous photographs, diagrams, flow charts, and tables that illustrate key concepts. Ideal as a clinical reference and as a study tool when preparing for oral boards. Brings you up to date with new safety standards and the latest ASA guidelines. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Essence of Anesthesia Practice, 4th ed. by Lee A. Fleisher; Michael F. Roizen; Jeffrey Roizen, 2018 Highly regarded by anesthesiologists, residents, and nurse anesthetists, Essence of Anesthesia Practice, 4th Edition by Drs. Lee A. Fleisher, Michael F. Roizen, and Jeffrey Roizen, is a trusted resource for point-of-care anesthesia management. Concise, easy-to-find summaries cover a single clinical topic for both common and rare conditions. A renewed focus on diseases and drugs makes this edition even more useful when formulating anesthesia plans and mastering the core knowledge of anesthesia practice. Features a unique, easy-to-follow, consistent format that covers a single clinical topic on each page, with a review of its problems, causes, comorbidities, and anesthesia implications. Helps you understand the interactions of common drugs and alternative medicine so that you can develop effective anesthesia plans. Includes more than 105 new disease topics (with more coverage of rarer diseases) and new drug information featuring 20 new drugs that patients take on an outpatient basis. Offers fresh insights on nearly 550 topics - many authored by new contributors to this edition. Keeps you current with the latest perioperative anesthetic implications including anticipated problems, drug interactions, and special concerns. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Miller's Anesthesia, 10th ed. by Michael A. Gropper; Neal H. Cohen; Lars I. Eriksson et al, 2025 Since 1981, Miller’s Anesthesia has been the preeminent international textbook for the specialty of anesthesiology. The 9th edition marked a transition as the first edition not edited by its founding editor, Ronald Miller, MD. For this edition Michael A. Gropper, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care at the University of California, San Francisco, continues as editor-in-chief position. The co-editors of the 10th edition are a group of internationally known experts and academic leaders. Neal H. Cohen MD, MPH, MS, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care and Medicine and Vice Dean at UCSF; Lars I. Eriksson MD, PhD, FRCA, Professor and Academic Chair at Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm; Lee A. Fleisher MD, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia; and Kate Leslie MBBS, MD, MEpid, MHlthServMt, FANZCA, Professor and Head of Research at Royal Melbourne Hospital in Australia, all stayed on for the 10th edition. Oluwaseun Johnson-Akeju MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston joined the team. While the 9th edition represented the next stage in the evolution of the editorial oversight of the book, the 10th edition reflects many of the changes in the practice of anesthesiology over the past five years and, most notably, considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on anesthesia practice. It is difficult to imagine any event as impactful on the specialty as the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to countless lives lost due to the pandemic, the impact on health care workers, general anesthesiologists, critical care anesthesiologists, and other anesthesia subspecialists who were essential providers on the front lines was profound. There was no specialty more able to manage these critically ill patients in the operating room, intensive care units, and emergency departments than anesthesiology. This edition is dedicated to those clinicians who heroically provided care to patients impacted the most by COVID-19 as we all continue to recover from the worldwide impact of the pandemic. To address the changes taking place in the practice of anesthesia, we have reorganized the table of contents and, in some cases, integrated chapters to more effectively cover the diverse topics relevant to the current practice of anesthesiology. The 9th edition had 90 chapters; the 10th has 87. This reduction in the number of chapters does not represent a limitation on topics representing the scope of current anesthesia practice. For example, some chapters were eliminated, such as the chapters on Nonopioid Pain Medications and Anesthetic Implications of Complementary and Alternative Therapies, and these topics are now integrated into other chapters. Additional chapters were combined to create a deeper emphasis on specific topics (e.g., the chapters Avoiding Patient Harm in Anesthesia: Human Performance and Patient Safety and Patient Simulation were combined into one chapter titled Human Behavior and Simulation in Anesthesia; the chapters Gastrointestinal Physiology and Pathophysiology and Hepatic Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Anesthetic Considerations were combined into one chapter titled Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Anesthetic Considerations; and the chapters Pharmacology of Neuromuscular Blocking Drugs and Reversal (Antagonism) of Neuromuscular Blockade were combined into one chapter titled Pharmacology of Neuromuscular Blocking Drugs and Antagonists (Reversal Agents). We added two completely new chapters (Immune Implications of Anesthesia Care and Practice and Emergency Preparedness in Health Care), highlighting further how current events have shaped anesthetic practice and the content of this book. Miller’s Anesthesia remains relevant and successful largely due to its focus on the science and practice of anesthesia across the world. In this 10th edition, we have continued to offer an international perspective, with certain chapters written entirely by international authors, and other chapters where international authors collaborated with American ones. Ten authors from around the world worked together on Chapter 2, Anesthesia and Global Health Equity, which offers important perspectives on preparing anesthesia providers with the knowledge and skills needed to address global health equity challenges in anesthesia and the importance of expanding access to safe and affordable anesthesia and critical care around the world. Finally, the editors wish to express our appreciation to all of the authors and associate editors and acknowledge the authors of previous versions of chapters that were updated for the 10th edition. We also want to acknowledge the publisher, Elsevier, and the expert guidance provided by Ann Anderson, Kayla Wolfe, and Joanna Souch. We also want to thank Hannah Fairbanks, whose thoughtful editing and coordination between the editors, authors, and publishers has been invaluable. We hope practicing anesthesiologists as well as trainees who are beginning their careers in anesthesiology will find this definitive textbook a valuable resource.

Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8th ed. by Manuel Pardo, 2023 Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th ed. by John F. Butterworth; David C. Mackey; John D. Wasnick, 2022 The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia."  This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time, it has retained its value for coursework, review, and as a clinical refresher. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: *Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember *Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice *Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty *Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall *Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care

Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia, Seventh Edition by Jonathan Thompson; Iain Moppett; Matthew Wiles, 2019 This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMA Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, a generation of anaesthetists have found the textbook invaluable during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for the FRCA and similar professional examinations. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.

Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th ed. by Roberta L. Hines; Stephanie B. Jones, 2022 A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapter on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by Steve Yentis; Nicholas P. Hirsch; James Ip, 2019 For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.

Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital, 10th ed. by Richard M. Pino, 2022 Written by residents and attendings at the world-renownedmMassachusetts General Hospital Department of Anesthesia, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital, Tenth Edition, offers current, comprehensive, and concise guidelines on all facets of anesthesia, perioperative care, critical care, and pain management. Emphasizing the clinical fundamentals necessary for patient safety and optimal outcomes, this trusted guide provides fast answers to the most frequent problems encountered in daily anesthetic practice, making it an invaluable resource for practicing anesthesiologists and residents as well as nurse anesthetist trainees and practitioners. Focuses on the clinical fundamentals needed for the safe delivery of anesthesia and perioperative care in day-to-day practice. Uses an easy-to-scan outline format that progresses intuitively from preoperative evaluation through administration of anesthesia to perioperative issues for each subject. Updated and reorganized table of contents in addition to chapters on evaluating the patient, anesthesia for pediatric surgery and care of the neonate, non-operating room anesthesia and pain management. Includes new chapters on the basics of echocardiography, anesthesia for orthopedic surgery, anesthesia for transplant surgery and vascular access.Features appendices covering drugs and intravenous antibiotics. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, 2nd Edition by Steven L. Cohn, 2025 This concise high-yield clinical reference guides physicians and their clinical teams through the decision-making process of assessing patient risk prior to surgery Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls, Second Edition focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities before undergoing surgical procedures. The book provides validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for frequently encountered comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written, updated resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and complex perioperative cases. Features: NEW chapters on cardiac biomarkers, postoperative nausea and vomiting, and postoperative urinary retention Reflects the most current guidelines and recommendations from the European Society of Cardiology and the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Highlights the most impactful references for each topical area; Tables throughout convey massive amounts of information for quick access Provides need-to-know evidence-based information that can immediately be applied in clinical practice Key takeaways on preoperative evaluation, testing, anesthesia, and medication management

Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by Admir Hadzic, 2021 The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks - updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives INCLUDES THREE ATLASES Hadzic's is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy. *A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures *Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures *Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy

Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4th ed. by Orlando Hung and Michael F. Murphy, 2024 A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-color, this trusted guide covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Fourth Edition encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. This new edition includes the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions reinforce learning Dozens of airway management vignettes New: 15 additional chapters New: Coverage on managing COVID-19 patients New: Content focused on standard of care in a global crisis in critical care Full-color illustrations

Interventional Management of Pelvic Pain by Alaa Abd-Elsayed, 2026 Procedures-based and easy to follow, Interventional Management of Pelvic Pain is a unique and practical guide to the treatment of chronic pelvic pain (CPP). Written by pain management specialists, this hands-on reference provides clear instructions on how to use interventional techniques to deliver pain relief for this common and often debilitating condition. It's an ideal resource for pain medicine practitioners and fellows, anesthesiologists, neurologists, PM&R specialists, gynecologists, orthopedic surgeons, and rheumatologists. Provides up-to-date, expert guidance on pain management for gender affirmation surgery, pelvic interventions, hypogastric plexus block, neuromodulation, and much more Presents each nerve block chapter in a concise, templated format for quick and easy access to key information Covers indications, contraindications, precautions, complications, step-by-step procedural descriptions, and medications used Features full-color anatomic drawings, clinical photographs, and relevant imaging, including radiographs, ultrasound, and CT Offers clear guidance on the risks and benefits of each procedure or technique, and highlights potential pitfalls and how to avoid them An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date

Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by Richard Urman; Patricia T. LaMontagne, 2024 A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine  Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A

Perioperative Medicine: Managing for Outcome, 2nd ed. by Mark F. Newman; Lee A. Fleisher; Clifford Ko et al, 2022 Based on the most current evidence and best practices, Perioperative Medicine: Managing for Outcome, 2nd Edition, is an easy-to-follow, authoritative guide to achieving optimal outcomes in perioperative care. Written and edited by recognized authorities in anesthesiology and surgical critical care, this fully updated edition helps you think critically about complex, long-term issues surrounding the care of the surgical patient, providing decision trees that define strategies to enhance the medical outcome of care. Focuses on what anesthesiologists, surgeons, and intensivists need to know in order to improve outcomes through evidence- and outcome-based approaches. Provides practical guidance on potential risks to all major organ systems, the etiology of particular organ dysfunctions, preoperative and intraoperative risk factors, and perioperative protection strategies to minimize potential complications. Features a consistent chapter format - with even more color-coded algorithms, summary tables, and boxes - that enables you to quickly explore and determine the best management approaches. Includes six all-new chapters: Perioperative Fluid Management; Delirium and POCD; Role of Palliative Care/ICU; Value-Based Care: The UK Model; CFO Perspective on Value; Hospital to Home (Perioperative Transitions of Care) Discusses timely topics such as quality improvement, pay-for-performance, preexisting disease and comorbid conditions in anesthesiology, and the team-based model of care. Features two new editors, surgeon Clifford Ko, MD, and Perioperative Summit leader, Michael (Monty) Mythen, MD. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.