Academic Medical Education: Tools & Resources

The BEME Collaboration sponsors reviews and provides other resources on the best evidence in medical education

Curriculum Management and Information Tool from AAMC

University of Leeds sponsored database of the full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature which supports educational research, policy and practice

Full text listing provided by the American Education Research Association

peer-reviewed teaching materials, case studies, etc from AAMC

also available in print at the Plummer Library

annual report

2007 to present

Central repository for statistical information on postgraduate medical education in Canada. CAPER maintains individual-level data for all postgraduate medical residents and fellows

interactive charts

medical school applicant data from 1982/3; other data varies in dates available. Use left-hand navigation to find more data tables

database of graduate medical education programs. search by specialty, location, or other criteria

GME Track® is a resident database and tracking system that was introduced in March 2000 to assist GME administrators and program directors in the collection and management of GME data.

2006 to present

2008 to present

The Medical Education Taxonomy Research Organisation is developing a thesaurus of descriptors for topics in medical education. METRO 2 is specifically about assessment terminology.

also available in print at the Learning Resource Center (most current year only)

The AAMC Organizational Characteristics Database provides information on a number of salient dimensions about the organizational characteristics of medical schools and their affiliated teaching hospitals.

The SRS also has reports that provide the AAMC, constituents and other researchers with statistical information on such things as enrollment profiles, student retention patterns, and graduation rates. Custom reports are available on request.

2009 to present