Transcultural Patient Care
This guide contains library resources related to cultural competency for patient care.
Recently Added Books
Want a book delivered to your work location? Contact the Library!
Transcultural nursing : assessment and intervention by Call Number: RT86.54 .T73 2025
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Recipient of the 2019 AJN Book of the Year Award: Nursing Management and Leadership! Focusing on what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice, this text uses a unique framework to help nurses develop and apply these critical skills and provides numerous techniques for cultural self-assessment and cultural patient assessment. The third edition---imbued with lessons learned from the devastation wrought by COVID-19 and the death of George Floyd and their impact on nurses as frontline workers---is updated to reflect present-day dynamics. It includes three new chapters along with new case studies addressing the changing environment of diversity and inclusion. The third edition also expands on the development of critical thinking skills, aligning with the new format for the Next Generation NCLEX-RN exam. Focusing primarily on developing nurses' skills in providing care for diverse patients and populations, the text also identifies the inequities and disparities in healthcare access and clinical outcomes experienced by some groups along with strategies for their mitigation. A key element culturally competent practice is enlightened, personal insight of the nurse. The book addresses the application of a self-assessment model (the Staircase Model), enabling nurses to explore their personal biases and limitations and to develop skills in overcoming them. The book explores the use of culturally competent practice in a variety of health care scenarios, considering both nurse-patient encounters and the relationships between health care professionals that can be challenged by differences in race, gender, ethnicity, or language barriers. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: New chapter: Cultural Considerations When Caring for the Elderly New chapter: Cultural Considerations for Advanced Practice Nurses New chapter: Caring for Victims of Human Trafficking New case studies addressing ways to achieve culturally competent practice Expands on the development of critical thinking skills aligning with the new format for Next Generation NCLEX-RN Key Features: Emphasizes self-reflection as a first step in developing cultural competence Guides readers in using the Staircase Model to promote cultural competence when working with diverse patients Considers the wide variety of populations at risk in contemporary society with strategies for change Highlights critical aspects of case scenarios at the end of each chapter Includes Next Generation NCLEX-RN type questions Examines nurses' roles in addressing health care disparities
Call Number: RT86.54 .K47 2025x
Addressing Cultural Complexities in Counseling and Clinical Practice by
Hays's popular bestseller invites readers to move beyond a one-dimensional view of identity to a nuanced understanding of the overlapping cultural influences that affect us all. This fourth edition's new chapters feature culturally adapted cognitive behavioral tools and techniques, and trauma due to racism and other systemic forms of oppression. It remains richly illustrated with case material, with many new vignettes and examples demonstrating the ADDRESSING framework in both counseling and clinical practice. Other new material includes updated discussion of gender identity, with attention to clinically relevant research regarding transgender and nonbinary people, more on people with disabilities (the largest minority group in the U.S.), the latest terminology and language regarding diverse minority groups, and a special section on social justice and its relationship to therapeutic practice. In an increasingly diverse society, mental health providers must be able to work effectively with a wide variety of clients. The ADDRESSING framework shows clinicians and counselors how to take into account age and generational influences, developmental or other disability, religion and spirituality, ethnic and racial identity, Indigenous heritage, national origin, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, and gender. Each chapter includes Key Ideas summaries and practice exercises, making this book ideal for personal, educational, or group use.
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 H39 2022
Applying Multiculturalism by
This book expands on APA's 2017 Multicultural Guidelines by exploring additional research and providing students and professionals with practical applications for clinical practice, teaching and training, research, and consultation. As codevelopers of the guidelines, the authors provide their unique expertise in multicultural psychology, explaining how to develop cultural responsiveness and humility and become attuned to the diversity of human needs and experiences. They also describe how to create constructive dialogues about social identity and build fruitful bidirectional relationships with clients, students, and organizations, among others. This book takes an intersectional and ecological approach that considers a variety of cultural factors at multiple levels, ranging from small to large groups, to societal and cultural forces, and to historical changes. Within this layered ecological model, each of the ten guidelines is explored in depth in its own chapter, including illustrative case examples and discussion questions. The book concludes with a comprehensive review that ties the ten multicultural guidelines together and highlights key takeaways, as well as providing future considerations for how multicultural psychology will evolve.
Call Number: HM1271 .C583 2024
Caring for the Vulnerable Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Call Number: RT86.5 .C376 2020
Cultural Competence and Healing Culturally Based Trauma with EMDR Therapy
Praise for the first edition: This book is on the cutting edge--it shows us the vast potential of EMDR in healing culturally based traumas that persist today and the traumas that are endemic to our cultural histories. The topics targeted could not be timelier . . . Few works have the scope, breadth, and depth of information and practical tools provided to extend cultural competence that we see in [this book]. --Sandra S. Lee and Kimberly Molfetto (2017). Cultural Competence, Cultural Trauma, and Social Justice With EMDR [Review of Cultural Competence and Healing Culturally Based Trauma With EMDR Therapy: Innovative Strategies and Protocols]. PsycCRITIQUES, 62(43). Now in its second edition, this groundbreaking text continues to offer guiding direction on the frontiers of culturally informed EMDR therapy and the treatment of culturally based trauma and adversity Over twenty-five authors combine to address a diverse range of current and emerging topics. Ten new second edition chapters include a call for broader recognition of culturally based trauma and adversity within the trauma field, the core human need for connection and belonging, and strategies for clinician self-reflection in developing a culturally competent clinical practice that is multicultural inclusive, actively anti-oppressive, and grounded in cultural humility. Other new chapters offer considerations in working with Black, American Indian, Asian-American, and Latinx clients; immigration challenges; and social class identity. Overall, this book provides graspable conceptual frameworks, useful language and terminology, in-depth knowledge about specific cultural populations, clinical examples, practical intervention protocols and strategies, research citations, and additional references. This text speaks not only to EMDR practitioners but has been recognized as a groundbreaking work for therapists in clinical practice. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Second Edition: Ten new chapters addressing timely topics A framework for defining and depicting different themes of Culturally Based Trauma and Adversity (CBTA) Specific considerations for working with Black, American Indian, Asian-American, Latinx clients, and other racial/ethnic populations Exploration of social class related experiences and identities as well as additional coverage of challenges related to immigration and acculturation Key Features: Twenty-eight contributing authors with diverse professional and lived experiences Best-practice methods for cultural competence integrated into EMDR therapy Culturally attuned clinical assessment and case formulation Innovative protocols and strategies for treating socially based trauma and adversity Enriches the adaptive information processing model with research-based knowledge of social information processing Specific chapters devoted to LGBTQIA+ issues and transgenerational cultural trauma including antisemitism Strategies and a protocol for dismantling social prejudice and discrimination Combines conceptual theory with practical application examples and methods
Call Number: RC506 .C85 2023
Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion by
Learn to manage cultural and ethnic diversity and deliver health education results with this leading resource Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion, 3rd Edition extensively covers a host of crucial topics on the subject of health education and promotion to various cultural and ethnic groups. The authors provide concrete strategies and practical advice for those seeking to maximize the health-related results they achieve from their education efforts. The significant updates in this newest edition of Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion include: Updated and expanded demographic information on select groups based on the most up-to-date census data The use of universal design for diverse populations Examples of programs to increase health literacy among diverse groups Including updated case scenarios and new, innovative health programs, the 3rd edition of Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion represents an unprecedented leap forward for this already celebrated series. It's perfect for any health educator who deals with an ethnically or culturally diverse population.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 C853 2021
Developing Cultural Humility by
In Developing Cultural Humility: Embracing Race, Privilege, and Power, Editor Miguel Gallardo invites a group of psychologists who represent various cultural backgrounds but identify as "White" to share their individual journeys toward recognizing, understanding, and embracing their unique cultural identities and experiences. Contributing authors discuss the challenges and triumphs involved in the pursuit of integration of multicultural and social justice concerns in their personal and professional lives. They share how they remain engaged in the continual practice of self-discovery while remaining culturally responsive and humble. Each chapter centers on a journey of self-discovery by a White psychologist with a reflective commentary from a BIPOC psychologist. The commentaries give voice to the personal journeys of individuals from historically dehumanized communities and also offer them the opportunity to react to and comment on the stories of White psychologists. Together, the chapters provide a model for pushing discussions, re-centering dialogues, and building stronger, more respectful relationships. An exemplary resource to stimulate meaningful dialogue about race, privilege, power, and intentional self-reflection, Developing Cultural Humility is well suited for graduate-level courses in psychology, especially those with emphasis on multiculturalism and culturally responsive practice. Check out the accompanying video! Hosted by Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company, the Developing Cultural Humility: Understanding How to Engage in Difficult Dialogues video demonstrates how to generate more authentic and genuine multicultural conversations and relationships. Preview a sample of the video.
Call Number: HM753 .D49 2022
Diversity and Cultural Awareness in Nursing Practice by
As a nurse responsible for providing person-centred care it is vital that you understand how culture and diversity affect patients' experience of health care. This book provides you with the knowledge, awareness and skills needed to successfully support, communicate and work with, individuals and families from a diverse range of backgrounds, religions, cultures, ethnicities and disabilities as well as from the LGBTQ community. Ensuring that you are able to work effectively as a nurse with people from across the social spectrum and tailor your nursing practice to the needs of the individual. Key theory will be carefully explained and then applied to the UK nursing context, and all content is up to date with the latest NMC standards, leaving you better prepared to thrive on your practice placements and in your nursing career.
Call Number: RT86.54 .D58 2023x
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Compe by
Fills a crucial need in helping nurses to provide safe, culturally-competent care to LGBTQ+ patientsThis pivotal resource-the first written specifically for nurses-focuses on the unique health needs and inequities affecting LGBTQ+ patients and discusses how to provide them with safe, respectful, and holistic care. Written in an easy-access bulleted format with concise paragraphs, this book sets the stage by examining the background and history of the LGBTQ+ population and focusing on the health disparities that set them apart. It addresses the nursing implications and care of LGBTQ+ patients in all practice settings, highlighting transgender medical, surgical, and mental health. To help nurses create inclusive environments, chapters cover best practices and strategies for appropriate communication and define key terms nurses should know when obtaining patient history, performing an assessment, and delivering overall care. Fast Facts About LGBTQ+ Care delivers resources to help nurses create and sustain changes within their practice and beyond. A multitude of case studies demonstrate the importance of collecting gender identity in the electronic health record and span a variety of scenarios nurses are likely to encounter. Key Features: Fills a critical need in the nursing literature on providing safe and culturally competent care for LGBTQ+ patients Illuminates communication best practices and terminology to help nurses feel comfortable caring for LGBTQ+ patients Features "Fast Facts" boxes and abundant case studies that highlight essential information Covers developing and integrating LGBTQ+ content into nursing education Includes tips and guides to promote advocacy for the LBGTQ+ population
Call Number: RT83.3 .T73 2022
Health Equity by
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach is a comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice.The book is divided into three sections, with Section One focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section Two addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latino and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section Three then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice. Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equity Solutions Focus - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programs Diverse Population Focus - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussed Intersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity, and interventions that build from this perspective Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrate how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contexts eBook access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus
Call Number: RA427.8 .H435 2021
Health Equity and Nursing by
Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice.Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, the text discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes. Highlighting the importance of interprofessional collaboration, it surveys timely initiatives, programs, and professionals-within and outside of the health sciences-who are important partners in efforts toward achieving health equity. Chapters are highly templated to include objectives, key concepts, critical-thinking questions, discussion questions, and resources. Key Features: Focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations Examines principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity Discusses economic, environmental, personal, social, and structural factors that impact health status and outcomes Highlights the importance of interprofessional collaboration in achieving health equity Addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice Demonstrates key concepts and stimulates reflection through critical-thinking and discussion questions Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT51 .H43 2021
Lgbtq Mental Health by
LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities in the Majority World. Increased globalization and migration has highlighted the need for mental health clinicians to better understand these communities' experiences and needs. This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature. Chapters focus on the cultural, social, legal, political, and psychological experiences of various LGBTQ subpopulations in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Russia, Mongolia, India, Malaysia, Thailand, and sub-Saharan Africa. Contributors summarize existing research on mental health outcomes for LGBTQ individuals in these countries or regions; offer key insights that challenge culturally-specific conceptions of normative, LGBTQ mental health and behavior; and offer recommendations for further research and mental health practice with these populations.
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 L485 2020
The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health by
This edition is updated to include new research and clinical material for practitioners working with mental health patients of diverse backgrounds. Written by experts in cultural sensitivity, the text begins by establishing innovative approaches to understanding diversity, tools for diversity educational training for health care providers, clinical interviewing techniques and effective strategies in having difficult conversations. Indirect approaches to understanding diversity and mental health come from unique chapters that range from the ways that journalists process and discuss mental health competency to the business model for cultural competency in health care. The second section of the book moves from the broader subjects to the needs of specific populations, including Native Americans, Latinos, Asians, African American, Middle Eastern, Refugee and LGBQT communities. The discussion includes understanding the complexities of making mental health diagnoses and the various meanings these diagnoses have for the socio-cultural group described. Each chapter also details biopsychosocial treatment options and challenges. The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health, Second Edition, is an excellent resource for all clinicians working with diverse populations, including psychiatrists, primary care physicians, emergency room physicians, early career physicians and trainees, psychologists, nurses, social workers, researchers, and medical educators.
Call Number: RA790.5 .M37 2019x
Multicultural Counseling by
Employs the framework of anti-oppressive "Liberation CounselingThe first multicultural counseling book to use a strengths-based perspective, this innovative text emphasizes culture and diversity as an asset to be nurtured and approached with humility, empathy, and culturally responsive interventions. The book is also unique in its consideration of marginalized experiences not limited to ethnicity, race, or poverty, but those that also include polyamory, gamers, immigrants, refugees, people with disabilities, and other marginalized populations. Separate sections consider the particular situations of more than 20 distinct populations to foster treatment that is imbued with sensitivity and understanding. The book calls for counselors to deeply examine their own beliefs, attitudes, and judgments to ensure they have productive work with diverse clients. Distinct chapters explore the counselor's worldview, the client's worldview, and include demonstrations of how to apply multicultural counseling by addressing race and culture; providing culturally responsive assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning; and designing a culturally sensitive workplace. Content is enhanced by self-reflection questions, end-of-chapter discussion questions, and multifaceted clinical case scenarios providing an in-depth look at the lived reality of marginalized people. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Emphasizes cultural considerations in treating more than 20 different marginalized populations Engages counselors to deeply examine their own values and beliefs so they don't adversely impact treatment of different populations Written by counselor educators and other subject matter experts with expertise in treating varied populations Uses multifaceted case studies to illustrate content and apply concepts Provides podcast interviews with members of diverse groups Each chapter includes learning objectives, key terms, chapter summary, and discussion questions Delivers robust instructor ancillaries, including an Instructor's Manual that maps to CACREP standards
Call Number: BF175.4.C68 S86 2023
Multicultural Perspectives in Working with Families by
Features a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment and interweaves the perspectives of psychologists.Focusing on critical emerging issues in regard to multicultural families, the fourth edition of this popular book reflects fundamental issues surrounding assessment and treatment of families from diverse cultural backgrounds. The most effective treatment methods for working with culturally diverse families across the life cycle are covered in detail. Individual chapters focus on a variety of distinct ethnic groups including African American, Hispanics, Asian-American, Native American, and Arab American, as well as the needs of LGBTQ multicultural families and the role of spirituality. The text underlines the importance of an intersectional approach to working with families that, in addition to culture and ethnicity, also considers socioeconomic class, gender, age, religion, immigration status, and sexual orientation as important factors. Additionally, the text expands its direct-practice view with the addition of four new chapters written by psychologists, plus a new chapter on health issues in multicultural families and access to health services. The text is updated with the latest knowledge and research, along with new and revised case vignettes demonstrating culturally competent practice. New to the Fourth Edition: Provides a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment Adds the perspectives of psychologists in four completely new chapters Includes a new chapter on DSM5 from a multicultural perspective, plus new chapters on health and access to health services Offers the most up-to-date knowledge and research Provides new and updated case vignettes Reflects changes in the family unit over the last quarter century and how it impacts treatment Addresses distinct sociopolitical issues affecting immigrants and undocumented families Key Features:Focuses on the most important emerging issues of multicultural families Covers multicultural mental health across the lifespan Encompasses the distinct perspectives of different ethnic and racial groups, and those of LGBTQ families Discusses domestic violence and substance abuse in regard to multicultural families Delineates the most effective treatment methods Examines the culturagram as a useful assessment and treatment planning modality Addresses ethical issues including the NASW code of ethics
Call Number: HV699 .M85 2021
A Practice Beyond Cultural Humility by
A Practice Beyond Cultural Humility offers specific guidance to support students and practitioners in providing on-going, culturally-attuned professional care. The book introduces a multicultural diversity-training model named the ORCA-Stance, an intentional practice which brings together four core components: Openness, Respect, Curiosity, and Accountability. Drawing from an array of influences, it showcases work with common clinical populations in a variety of contexts, from private practice to international organizations. Each clinical chapter offers a brief review of information relevant to the population discussed, followed by a case study using the ORCA-Stance, and a summary of recommended best practices. In each case, the practice of the ORCA-Stance is shown to allow relationships to become more culturally sensitive and, therefore, more effective. A Practice Beyond Cultural Humility provides practical examples, research, and wisdom that can be applied in day-to-day clinical work and will be valuable reading for a wide-range of mental health students and clinicians who seek to continue their professional development.
Call Number: RC480.5 .P66 2020
The Psychiatric Evaluation and Treatment of Refugees by
The Psychiatric Evaluation and Treatment of Refugees is designed to provide mental health clinicians with the foundational knowledge and skills they need to diagnose and treat refugees, who are disproportionately likely to suffer from posttraumatic stress disorder and psychosis in the short term and depression and anxiety in the long term. According to a report by the United Nations, as of 2018, there were 22 million refugees, forcibly displaced and unable to return to their country of origin based on their well-founded fear of persecution due to race, religion, nationality, political opinions, or membership in a specific social group. Refugees in the United States tend to share common characteristics, including the experience of forced migration from their homeland; multiple episodes of abusive and traumatic treatment prior to, during, and postmigration (including death of family members, torture, starvation, and prolonged periods living in unsafe refugee camps); and the bureaucratic nightmare of obtaining housing, medical care, and so forth. Providing these patients with mental healthcare can be both grueling and challenging, and this guide--written by experts in intercultural psychiatry--offers support and counsel to help clinicians understand and provide care to their patients, while caring for themselves and avoiding burnout. The book's content is compelling and timely: * Absolutely indispensable is the chapter on children and adolescents, who have borne the brunt of recent policy changes mandating family separation. The complex issue of acculturative stress for immigrant, refugee, and asylum-seeking children, youth, and families in the face of negative stereotyping and economic and educational disadvantage is addressed, as is mitigating the risk of long-term developmental trauma.* The Oregon Model, developed and launched by the editors and explained in depth in the book, is a research-grounded, team-based treatment model that accommodates the language of refugees, shows respect for their cultural traditions and behaviors, understands the traumas and tragedies of their life experience, and above all demonstrates empathy. * Psychiatric assessment and both biological and psychological treatment of individuals and families are covered in several chapters, which include techniques involved in adapting individual, group, and family psychotherapy. Each chapter includes clinical case examples to effectively illustrate diverse issues in assessment and treatment.* The psychiatric assessment and treatment of traumatized refugees raises a wide range of ethical issues, which are examined in a thoughtful and nuanced chapter, in which the author points out that the nature of the refugee experience invariably results in a blurring between the considerations of clinical ethics, which focuses primarily on the doctor-patient relationship, and the broader human rights domain which extends to the relationship of the individual and group to the state. The Psychiatric Evaluation and Treatment of Refugees will help mental healthcare providers deliver culturally and psychologically sensitive care to patients and clients grappling with past and present trauma and the trials of adjustment in a landscape that can be ethically challenging and emotionally overwhelming.
Call Number: RC451.4.R43 P79 2020
Socioculturally Attuned Family Therapy by
Socioculturally Attuned Family Therapy, 2nd edition, is a fully updated and essential textbook that addresses the need for marriage and family therapists to engage in socially responsible practice by infusing diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout theory and clinical practice. Written accessibly by leaders in the field, this new edition explores why sociocultural attunement and equity matter, providing students and clinicians with integrative, equity-based family therapy guidelines and case illustrations that clinicians can apply to their practice. The authors integrate principles of societal context, power, and equity into the core concepts and practice of ten major family therapy models, such as structural family therapy, narrative family therapy, and Bowen family systems, with this new edition including a chapter on socio-emotional relationship therapy. Paying close attention to the "how to's" of change processes, updates include the use of more diverse voices that describe the creative application of this framework, the use of reflexive questions that can be used in class, and further content on supervision. It shows how the authors have moved their thinking forward, such as in clinical thinking, change, and ethics infused in everyday practice from a third order perspective, and the limits and applicability of SCAFT as a transtheoretical, transnational approach. Fitting COAMFTE, CACREP, APA, and CSWE requirements for social justice and cultural diversity, this new edition is revised to include current cultural and societal changes, such as Black Lives Matter, other social movements, and environmental justice. It is an essential textbook for students of marriage, couple, and family therapy and important reading for family therapists, supervisors, counselors, and any practitioner wanting to apply a critical consciousness to their work.
Call Number: RA395.A3 M65 2022x
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by
This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 T73 2021
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care, 8th Edition Margaret M. Andrews, PhD, RN, FAAN; Joyceen S. Boyle, PhD, RN, FAAN; and John W. Collins, MSHE, BSN, BBA Ensure Culturally Competent, Contextually Meaningful Care for Every Patient Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care is your key to ensuring safe, ethical and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps you master transcultural theories, models and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment. Updated content familiarizes you with changes in the healthcare delivery system, new research studies and theoretical advances. Evidence-Based Practice boxes ground concepts in the latest research studies and highlight clinical implications for effective practice. Case Studies , based on the authors' actual clinical experiences and research findings, help you translate concepts to clinical applications across diverse healthcare settings. Review questions and learning activities in each chapter inspire critical thinking and allow you to apply your knowledge. Chapter objectives and key terms keep you focused on each chapter's most important concepts.
Call Number: RT86.54 .A53 2020
Transcultural Nursing by
Provide quality care for clients from culturally diverse backgrounds! Transcultural Nursing, 8th Edition shows you how to apply assessment and intervention strategies to individuals from a variety of different cultures. Based on Giger and Davidhizer's unique transcultural model, this text helps you design culturally sensitive care with use of the six key aspects of cultural assessment: communication, time, space, social organization, environmental control, and biologic variations. Written by nursing educators Joyce Newman Giger and Linda G. Haddad, Transcultural Nursing shows how an understanding of cultural variations and individual patient needs will help you provide safe and effective care. UNIQUE! The six key aspects of cultural assessment each receive a full chapter of coverage, allowing you to also apply the Transcultural Assessment Model to cultures not covered in the text. Case studies and critical decision-making questions help you apply the assessment framework to practice. 23 chapters on specific cultural groups apply this assessment model to the clients most commonly encountered in United States health care settings, with nearly all chapters written by contributors who are part of that ethnic group. Client care plans in culture-specific chapters show how to apply principles to the needs of individuals. Review questions reinforce your understanding of cultural principles, with answers found in the back of the book. Discussions of spirituality throughout the text provide a holistic, integrated approach to culture, beliefs, and assessment. NEW co-author Dr. Linda Haddad is an internationally recognized cultural scholar who has taught nursing around the globe, has acted as an advisor and coordinator for the World Health Organization, and has published over 30 scholarly articles on nursing with a focus on understanding the cultural implication to care. UPDATED! Cultural chapters are completely revised to reflect the shifting experiences of cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: RT86.54 .T73 2021
World Religions for Healthcare Professionals by
"This third edition of a popular text introduces healthcare students and professionals to a wide range of health beliefs and practices in world religions. Chapters on various religions are written to offer an insiders view on the religions historical development, key beliefs and practices, including ideas of health, sickness, death, and dying. The chapters include case studies, advice on what to do and what to avoid when caring for patients. Undoubtedly, the sensitivity with which clinicians communicate with patients and make decisions regarding appropriate medical intervention can be greatly increased by an understanding of religious and cultural diversity. This is a core textbook for students studying healthcare, religion and culture, and an invaluable reference for healthcare professionals"--
Call Number: BL65.M4 W67 2024
Additional Resources
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 P876 2019
Handbook of Cultural Psychology, Second Edition by
Now completely revised (over 90% new), this handbook offers the authoritative presentation of theories, methods, and applications in the dynamic field of cultural psychology. Leading scholars review state-of-the-art empirical research on how culture affects nearly every aspect of human functioning. The volume examines how topics fundamental to psychology--such as cognition, emotion, motivation, development, and mental health--are influenced by cultural meanings and practices. It also addresses the psychological and evolutionary underpinnings of cultural stability and change. The second edition reflects important advances in cultural neuroscience and an increasing emphasis on application, among many other changes. As a special bonus, purchasers of the second edition can download a supplemental e-book featuring several notable, highly cited chapters from the first edition. New to This Edition: *Most chapters are new, reflecting nearly a decade of theoretical and methodological developments. *Cutting-edge perspectives on culture and biology, including innovative neuroscientific and biopsychological research. *Section on economic behavior, with new topics including money, negotiation, consumer behavior, and innovation. *Section on the expansion of cultural approaches into religion, social class, subcultures, and race. *Reflects the growth of real-world applications in such areas as cultural learning and adjustment, health and well-being, and terrorism.
Call Number: GN502 .H3615 2019
Fast Facts about Religion for Nurses by
The only concise reference about spiritual belief systems that is clinically relevant to nursing care Distilling the religious and spiritual practices of more than 30 distinct belief systems, this unique nursing reference provides quick access to essential information. The invaluable resource spells out clinically relevant information from each tradition and provides nursing implications for each religion or denomination. Written by an internationally known scholar on spirituality, religion, and nursing care, the book was also reviewed by experts on each tradition and belief system. Individual chapters focus on a religious tradition or group of related traditions and includes a brief socio-historical context of the religion, beliefs and practices pertinent to health and health care, and bulleted information about nursing implications for obstetric, perinatal and pediatric care. Acute and chronic care, hospital and community-based care, and end-of-life care are also covered. The resource provides useful assessment tips, comforting messages, resources for further support, and additional guidance to help nurses practice religiously sensitive care. Key Features: Written in consistent, bulleted format for speedy access to informationCovers more than 30 religions, denominations, and cultures encountered by nurses in North AmericaProvides religious information specific to nursing careIncludes assessment tips, comforting messages, and resources for additional supportServes as a text for undergraduate and advanced practice nursing students
Call Number: RT85.2 .T38 2019x
Ethical Challenges in Multi-Cultural Patient Care: by
This book provides an up-to-date description of cross-cultural aspects of end-of-life decision-making. The work places this discussion in the context of developments in the United States such as the emphasis on patient informed consent, "right to die" legal cases, and the federal Patient Self-Determination Act. With the globalization of health care and increased immigration from developing to developed countries, health care professionals are experiencing unique challenges in communicating with seriously ill patients and their families about treatment options as well as counselling all patients about advance medical care planning. While many Western countries emphasize individual autonomy and patient-centered decision-making, cultures with a greater collectivist orientation have, historically, often protected patients from negative health information and emphasized family-centered decision-making. In order to place these issues in context, the history of informed consent in medicine is reviewed. Additionally, cross-cultural issues in health care decision-making are analysed from the perspective of multiple philosophical theories including deontology, utilitarianism, virtues, principlism, and communitarian ethics. This book is a valuable addition to courses on end-of-life care, death and dying, cross-cultural health, medical anthropology, and medical ethics and an indispensable guide for healthcare workers dealing with patients coming from various cultural backgrounds.
Call Number: R726 .S437 2019x
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 K47 2019x
Counseling the Culturally Diverse by
A brand new, fully updated edition of the most widely-used, frequently-cited, and critically acclaimed multicultural text in the mental health field This fully revised, 8th edition of the market-leading textbook on multicultural counseling comprehensively covers the most recent research and theoretical formulations that introduce and analyze emerging important multicultural topical developments. It examines the concept of "cultural humility" as part of the major characteristics of cultural competence in counselor education and practice; roles of white allies in multicultural counseling and in social justice counseling; and the concept of "minority stress" and its implications in work with marginalized populations. The book also reviews and introduces the most recent research on LGBTQ issues, and looks at major research developments in the manifestation, dynamics, and impact of microaggressions. Chapters in Counseling the Culturally Diverse, 8th Edition have been rewritten so that instructors can use them sequentially or in any order that best suits their course goals. Each begins with an outline of objectives, followed by a real life counseling case vignette, narrative, or contemporary incident that introduces the major themes of the chapter. In-depth discussions of the theory, research, and practice in multicultural counseling follow. Completely updated with all new research, critical incidents, and case examples Chapters feature an integrative section on "Implications for Clinical Practice," ending "Summary," and numerous "Reflection and Discussion Questions" Presented in a Vital Source Enhanced format that contains chapter-correlated counseling videos/analysis of cross-racial dyads to facilitate teaching and learning Supplemented with an instructor's website that offers a power point deck, exam questions, sample syllabi, and links to other learning resources Written with two new coauthors who bring fresh and first-hand innovative approaches to CCD Counseling the Culturally Diverse, 8th Edition is appropriate for scholars and practitioners who work in the mental health field related to race, ethnicity, culture, and other sociodemographic variables. It is also relevant to social workers and psychiatrists, and for graduate courses in counseling and clinical psychology related to working with culturally diverse populations.
Call Number: BF637.C6 S85 2019
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice, Fourth Edition by
The Most Comprehensive Presentation of Transcultural Nursing Concepts Featuring the Newly Revised Sunrise Enabler! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance on the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Transcultural nursing is a vital, holistic approach that allows nurses and other healthcare providers to provide culturally congruent care for individuals, families, groups, and organizations within a context that is meaningful, beneficial, and inclusive of their healthcare values, beliefs, practices, traditions, communication styles, diverse roles,dietary preferences, and more. The text presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the future direction of transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture care of homeless mothers and children. The book chapters cover such topics as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan as well as translational research, globalization,conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research, and Practices was edited by two experts in the field and uses Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality and the Ethnonursing Research Method to provide a useful blend of theory and practical clinical information.
Call Number: RT86.54 .L44 2018
Culturally Competent Compassion by
Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Call Number: RT62 .P37 2018
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. 　 Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
Call Number: RT86.54 .H64 2018
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by
For courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs. Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds The ninth edition of Cultural Diversity in Health and Wellness examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system, consumers, and examples of traditional health beliefs and practices among selected populations. An essential for any health-care professional, this book sets the standard for cultural perspectives and more importantly HEALTH--the balance of the person, both within one's being--physical, mental, and spiritual--and in the outside world--natural, communal, and metaphysical. (Terms such as HEALTH are written this way to emphasize holistic meaning.) An emphasis on the influences of recent social, political, and demographic changes helps to explore the issues and perceptions of health and illness today, while introductory and capstone chapters help place material within perspective.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 S64 2017
Providing Health Care in the Context of Language Barriers by
Global migration continues to increase, and with it comes increasing linguistic diversity. This presents obvious challenges for both healthcare provider and patient, and the chapters in this volume represent a range of international perspectives on language barriers in health care. A variety of factors influence the best ways of approaching and overcoming these language barriers, including cultural, geographical, political and practical considerations, and as a result a range of approaches and solutions are suggested and discussed. The authors in this volume discuss a wide range of countries and languages, and cover issues that will be familiar to all healthcare practitioners, including the role of informal interpreters, interpreting in a clinical setting, bilingual healthcare practitioners and working with languages with comparatively small numbers of speakers.
Call Number: R119.5 .P76 2017
Multicultural Health by
Fully updated and expanded, the Second Edition of Multicultural Health serves as a comprehensive guide for healthcare workers in any cultural community. Focusing on differences in cultural beliefs about health and illness, and models for cross-cultural health and communication, this text helps students and professionals learn effective ways to implement health promotion programs and program evaluation across cultures.- NEW! - Full color design and art program- NEW! - A Student Activity added to each chapter to challenge student comprehension.- NEW! - Two new Feature Boxes Added to each chapter titled, What do you think? and Did you Know?, to engage readers and enhance critical thinking.- NEW! - Chapter 3, Worldview and Health Decisions provides information about the ways that worldview and communication impacts health, the provision of health services, health care decisions, and communication
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 R58 2017
American Indian Health and Nursing by
" A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
Call Number: RT86.54 .A43 2016x
Healthy Places, Healthy People by
At the clinic, in the classroom, and across the globe, nurses are at the forefront of leading change and promoting social justice in healthcare. To provide the best possible patient care and effectively improve a community's future health, nurses need practical advice, realistic strategies, and the core public health leadership competencies-community relationship-building, inquiry, assessment, analysis, planning, action, evaluation, and persuasion-that transcend categorical public health concerns. Healthy Places, Healthy People, Third Edition, provides everything that current and future nurses need to prepare, gather, organize, and analyze basic community information to create a public health strategy. Includes coverage on: A public health strategy that can be applied to any community, at any time, to achieve public health and social justice, NEW: Information and strengths-based assessments to help meet The Joint Commission requirements to provide culturally sensitive care, NEW: Practical steps, tools, and activities to help students bridge concepts to application, assessment, action, and evaluation, NEW: A juxtaposition of ethnography and epidemiology to illustrate the differences and complementarities between the two scientific orientations in community/public health nursing, NEW: Information reflecting the updated Healthy People 2020 national agenda from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Book jacket.
Call Number: RT98 .D74 2016
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care by
How do you perceive your cultural identity? All of us are shaped by the cultures we interact with and the cultural backgrounds and ethnicities that are part of our heritage. Take a dynamic approach to the study of culture and health care relationships. Dr. Marilyn A. Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today's world. She integrates theory, practice, and evidence of transcultural caring to show you how to apply transcultural awareness to your clinical decision making. Go beyond common stereotypes using a framework that can positively impact the nurse-patient relationship and the decision-making process. You'll learn how to deliver culturally competent care through the selection and application of transcultural assessment, planning and negotiation tools for interventions.
Call Number: RT86.54 .R39 2016
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations by
Edited by Robert M. Huff, Michael V. Kline, and Darleen V. Peterson, the Third Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations offers both students and practitioners an indispensable resource on assessment and implementation guidelines for promoting health and enhancing behaviors that optimize health in any cultural community. Leading experts explore a wide range of topics, including the context of culture, cross-cultural perceptions of health, conceptual approaches to multicultural health promotion, health disparities, and the contributions of multicultural populations. Using the Cultural Assessment Framework (CAF), this proven handbook includes a focus on six specific populations (Hispanic/Latino, African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, Pacific Islanders, and Arab Americans).The text concludes with a set of tips for working cross-culturally and a discussion about where the field is heading with respect to research and practice in the 21st century.
Call Number: RA427.8 .H43 2015
Transcultural Nursing Education Strategies by
... written by one of] the world's foremost experts in transcultural nursing. This...much-anticipated comprehensive compendium of evidence-based and best practices...contains exceptionally useful...material for nurse educators in academic and staff development settings and...their students. √>= Margaret M. Andrews, PhD, RN, FAAN, CTN Director and Professor of Nursing School of Health Professions and Studies University of Michigan√ Flint Editor, Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare ...a valuable new resource to support efforts...to provide high-quality care that is culturally appropriate... gives the professional nurse a road map for engaging in culturally appropriate, patient-centered, and high-quality care." √>=Geraldine (Polly) Bednash, PhD, RN, FAAN Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director American Association of Colleges of Nursing This ambitious book is a must-read synthesis of the existing knowledge related to transcultural nursing education... builds cultural competence in individuals and in organizations...Dr. Sagar makes an exceptional contribution to...the delivery of culturally competent care in all settings." √>=Patti Ludwig-Beymer, PhD, RN, CTN, NEA-BC, FAAN Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer Edward Hospital and Health Services, Naperville, IL Associate Editor, Journal of Transcultural Nursing This comprehensive guide to integrating transcultural nursing education (TCN) strategies in academic and in-service institutions is the only text to fulfill the NLN and AACN mandates for promoting cultural diversity and competencies in these settings. Incorporating evidence-based, best-practice protocols, it provides course syllabi and a wealth of additional teaching aids for all education arenas from foundation classes through in-service domains. The text provides a variety of creative strategies for integrating TCN into academia and practice as a separate course or across existing courses (foundation and life span courses, mental health, pharmacology, nutrition, research, community health, critical care, and transcultural concepts in simulation). Pedagogical tools include cultural assessment instruments, self-learning modules, role plays, unfolding case scenarios, continuing education, lesson plans, course syllabi, critical thinking exercises, and evidence-based practice information. The book will be of value to nursing students, faculty, educators in staff development settings, and all other professional nurses who wish to provide culturally competent care for their patients. It is a companion volume to the author's text Transcultural Health Care Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration. Key Features: Comprises the first text to fulfill NLN/AACN mandates on cultural competencies in education and practice Presents a wealth of pedagogical strategies and teaching aids for academic and in-service settings Includes self-learning modules, case studies, role-playing scenarios, critical thinking exercises, continuing education lesson plans, and course syllabi Incorporates evidence-based, best-practice protocols Covers international partnerships and collaborations
Call Number: RT86.54 .S243 2014
Cultural Competencies for Nurses by
By compiling the history and theory behind cultural competency in nursing and health care, this text offers key information regarding health beliefs and the impact of culture on health and illness. This new edition contains an overview of the predominant cultural competency nursing theories, impact of diversity on health disparities, information on the health beliefs of several minority groups, and case studies to enhance student learning. This text is an excellent resource for courses that emphasize health promotion and disease prevention.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 D39 2014
