Mobile Device Apps for Smartphones & Tablets: Library Licensed Resources

App

Description

McGraw Hill Access App

McGraw Hill Medical provides app-based access to many of their products, including:

• Access Anesthesiology
• Access DermatologyDXRX
• Access Emergency Medicine
• Access Medicine
• Access Pediatrics
• Access Physiotherapy
• Access Surgery
• F.A. Davis PT Collection
• JAMAevidence
• OMMBID

To use this app, follow these steps:

1. Visit McGraw Hill Medical | McGraw Hill Medical (mhmedical.com) from a computer connected to the Mayo Clinic network. 
2. Follow the steps to create a Free Access Profile.
3. Download the Access app on your device, and then login with the profile you created above.  

Complete instructions and troubleshooting help can be found on the McGraw Hill site.

NOTE: In order to keep the app active, you must login to the McGraw Hill website from a computer connected to Mayo's network at least once every 90 days.

BrowZine

BrowZine delivers thousands of academic journals to your iOS or Android device or your desktop computer (http://browzine.com). Select "Mayo Clinic Libraries" as your home institution, and you'll have access to over 3,000 full-text journals that the libraries subscribe to. You can read and save articles across devices, arrange your journals on a bookshelf, and receive alerts. Watch the introductory video.

ClinicalKey

To access ClinicalKey on your own device, follow these steps:

Create an account:

1. Go to www.ClinicalKey.com on a computer connected to the Mayo network.
2. Click "Register" in the top right corner.
3. Create an account using your Mayo Clinic email address.

Enable Remote Access

1. Use this link to login to your ClinicalKey account
2. Click the Menu in the upper right corner. 

3. Choose the "Remote Access" option in the menu.

4. Enter your Mayo email address.  ClinicalKey will send you an email with a confirmation link.  Click this link to confirm your Remote Access request.

Install the ClinicalKey app​: (Apple or Android)

1. Open the App Store on your mobile device
2. Search for “ClinicalKey” and install.  The app is free.
3. Once in the app, two options will appear – Click on ClinicalKey.
4. Enter your ClinicalKey username and password.

Note: Your remote access will remain active for 180 days.  To keep your account activated, login to ClinicalKey on a Mayo computer at least once every 180 days.

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost provides access to Academic Search Premiere, CINAHL, Health Source, Business Source Premier and EBSCO MegaFile databases. You can save searches and articles, download full text, and email results to yourself. The mobile access version does not sync with your desktop workstation account.

For iOS and Android users, you need to fill out an application to use the Mayo Libraries EBSCOhost license.

1. From your desktop computer, go to the library web page,
2. Under Databases, click on the link for CINAHL
3. At the bottom of the CINAHL page, you'll see a link for "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications."
4. When prompted, enter your Mayo.edu email address to receive instructions and a link from EBSCO.

For other mobile devices, go to: http://m.ebscohost.com

Facts and Comparisons

The Facts & Comparisons Mobile website (http://fco.factsandcomparisons.com/action/home) has been fully optimized only for the iPhone and iPod Touch. However, the mobile site may be usable with other mobile devices.

IEEEXplore

A digital library providing full text access to technical literature in engineering, computer science, and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings and standards. Offers free search of all IEEE Xplore documents directly on your mobile device. You can view up to [only] TEN (10) article abstracts per search. To view full-text articles, send the article links to your e-mail address

Libby is a mobile device app and a website where you can check out e-books and audiobooks using your Mayo Clinic LANID. 

Visit https://libby.mayo.edu or install the "Libby" app from the app store to try it now. If prompted to sign in with your library card, use your Microsoft Authenticator login.

This collection of over 2,500 titles supports the needs of staff working both on campus and remotely with seamless access to library materials, no matter where you are. With topics ranging from AI to Leadership, and Business to Parenting, there is sure to be something to spark your interest. 

For complete details, see our guide for Libby: https://libraryguides.mayo.edu/libby.

Lippincott Procedures

Lippincott Procedures is a point-of-care evidence-based guidance tool with over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. This tool also includes Mayo site-specific policies. In addition to the main website, Apple and Android apps are available.

For more information on installing the Lippincott Procedures App, see these pages:

https://mynursing.mayo.edu/resources-text/lippincott-procedures-mobile-device-apps/

https://mynursing.mayo.edu/resources-text/lippincott-procedure-toolkit/

Micromedex

Free Android and  Apple apps of the drug database and and separate apps for the interactions and IV compatibility databases available from the Apple Apps and Google Play stores. Note: To activate your subscription, visit this page on the Micromedex site while connected to the Mayo network. Click "Mobile Application Access" in the upper right corner, then select "Micromedex Native Apps" and follow the steps there to retrieve the password for the apps  This password changes every 3 months.

OvidToday

Read  by Qx MD

Read by Qx MD is a free app for iOS and Android that allows you to follow specific journal titles and keywords across journal titles.  You will receive alerts when new articles are published in your selected journals or matching your keyword searches.  Read by Qx MD covers journals indexed in PubMed.  The app is free, and you can access Mayo Clinic Libraries holdings by selecting "Mayo Clinic Libraries" in the Institutional Access menu during setup. This will automatically route your journal requests through the library's proxy service, which works both on- and off-campus.

Visit the Read by Qx MD website

Download Read by Qx MD from the Apple App Store

Download Read by Qx MD from the Google Play Store

ScienceDirect and Scopus

You'll need to have an account set up using your Mayo email address. Create accounts: Scopus or ScienceDirect

Users of SciVerse, ScienceDirect, and Scopus can now search for and download peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters from their devices.

Search the App stores based on your device-- iOS, Android, Blackberry

FAQs from SciVerse.

UpToDate

Follow these steps to create an UpToDate account and associate it with Mayo Clinic's subscription:

1. Open UpToDate from a computer connected to the Mayo Clinic network.
2. Create an UpToDate account by registering on the UTD website.
3. Download the app from iTunes or Google Play
4. Login with your UpToDate username/password (not your Mayo Clinic login)

• If you have an existing UpToDate username and password, please make sure you have logged in at least once to a computer on the Mayo network before downloading the App. 
• To maintain access to the UpToDate app, you must log into a your UpToDate account from a networked Mayo computer once every 90 days.  

The Vaccine Handbook App

Gary S. Marshall, MD

The Vaccine Handbook: A Practical Guide for Clinicians, also known as “The Purple Book,” draws together the latest vaccine science and guidance into a concise, user-friendly, practical resource for the private office, public health clinic, academic medical center, hospital, and classroom.

• Download from the Apple App Store
• Download from the Google Play Store

VisualDX

Follow these steps to create a VisualDX account and associate it with Mayo Clinic's subscription:

1. Open this link from a computer connected to Mayo Clinic's network. Then, click the button to "Create a Personal Account" at the bottom center of the page. Follow the instructions to create a personal VisualDX account.
2. Once you have a username and password, download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the  Apple App Store or Google Play
3. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created in step 1 above.

Web of Science

(Web of Knowledge) 

Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) now has a mobile site (http://m.webofknowledge.com). Mobile devices will automatically be redirected to the mobile site. If you are accessing the Web of Science over the Mayo wifi network, you don't need to enter a user name/password. If you're off campus, use this link to ensure you'll be recognized as a Mayo staff member.  For more information read the Web of Knowledge FAQ.