Would you like assistance?
Please use this form (opens a new tab) if you would like to checkout any of these print books. Select Item Loan Request.
Select Books in the Library!
Would you like a book sent to your work location? Please e-mail the library!
Evidence-Based Practice Improvement: merging evidence-based practice and quality improvement
Describes a superior model to guide empirical practice improvement projects This unique text provides the academic and clinical healthcare communities with a tested, practical, and successful model (EBPI+) to steer evidence-based practice improvement projects. The model--tested in multiple clinical settings--is distinguished from similar prototypes by its integration of the best EBP and quality/performance improvement principles (QI), resulting in a highly practical and comprehensible model for guiding students' and clinicians' work to improve quality outcomes in healthcare. The book emphasizes the need for collaboration among all stakeholders, particularly those in different disciplines with different perspectives, to provide greater clarity and enhance improvement work in a clinical agency. It features a blueprint for guiding healthcare improvements based on evidence that incorporates potential changes of direction midstream. The book also introduces tools for the evaluation of organizational commitment, stakeholder choice, and sustainability of improvement projects. Section One of the text focuses on the background and development of the original EBPI model, followed by, in Section Two, an elaboration of the components of the new enhanced model, EBPI+. Chapter authors in Section Three describe how they used the components of the EBPI model, discussing lessons learned from its use. This section, connecting the theoretical basis for this work with real-world applications, includes a template that readers can use to facilitate their own projects. The final section investigates future approaches to improvement work. Comprehensive appendices provide useful tools for students and clinicians to use in developing, implementing, and evaluating any EBPI+ projects. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Describes a practical and successful model incorporating the best of EBP and QI approaches (EPBI+) for improving quality outcomes in healthcare Incorporates a strong focus on how to determine and engage project stakeholders and provides tools for effective decision making Delineates specific methods to develop protocols for a small test of change prior to larger pilot studies Delivers approaches/strategies for monitoring and evaluating sustainability Discusses how to assess organizational commitment and conduct stakeholder analyses Creates examples that use each component of EBPI+ as a template for readers Emphasizes the "how to" of implementation more than other competitive models
Call Number: R723.7 .E83 2025x
Improving Quality in Healthcare: questioning the work for effective change
This book is for anyone who is interested in improving quality in healthcare. It will appeal to those who are traditionally responsible for quality matters, as well as practicing clinicians and leaders. Unusually, it will also be as relevant to those who have the keenest interest in the quality of care - interested citizens. It is a deliberate antidote to the anti-intellectual, QI tool driven, mechanistic approach that still dominates much of healthcare quality improvement work. The authors - both of whom have extensive experience of working in and around quality issues in healthcare at a national, regional and local level - challenge such approaches, which they believe fail to take account of patient and organisational context and invite reductionism, cherry picking, atomisation of complex issues, leading ultimately to simplistic and unsustainable outcomes. Key features of the book: · An exploration of some of the often-overlooked and misunderstood core concepts of quality; their history and meaning in a contemporary context. · A framework to "question the work" using four interconnected conceptual domains as a valuable framework to consider improving quality and reducing failure demand. · Critical re-examination of the dominant approaches to change that are frequently adopted in "quality" work, many of which have been rooted in scientific management that have failed to live up to their promise - particularly transformational. · Exploring how an inter-disciplinary perspective can reframe aspects of quality thinking.
Call Number: RA410.53 .A53 2024xHQ Solutions: resource for the healthcare quality professional Written by Healthcare Quality experts and applicable to all practice settings across the continuum of care, HQ Solutions: Resource for the Healthcare Quality Professional, Fifth Edition is an essential resource that offers healthcare quality professionals the theoretical and practical basis for safe, reliable, cost-effective care, including the use of state-of-the-art tools for measuring, monitoring, selecting, and managing data. Offering comprehensive guidance on creating quality structures that support patient/provider collaboration, cost-effective solutions, and safe, efficient care, this official publication of the National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ), is an invaluable resource for preparing for the Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality® (CPHQ) certification exam.- Comprehensive CPHQ exam prep resource, covering critical topics for healthcare quality, practice, skill development, and knowledge growth. - New sections speak to important and evolving topics in health care quality, including quality review and accountability, regulatory and accreditation, and population health and care transitions.- Key points summarize important content in each section, while suggested readings and online resources point the learner to helpful resources for daily practice.- Numerous tables and figures illustrate and clarify models, frameworks, concepts, and principles.- Extensive glossary and list of acronyms that provide a brief dictionary for important terms.HQ Solutions, Fifth Edition can be used for CPHQ exam preparation, which is critical to earning the credential. For other learners, this resource is designed to serve as a source of information about leadership, organizational strategy for healthcare quality, data analytics, performance improvement approaches, patient safety principles and more. Those who will benefit from this body of knowledge include but are not limited to: - Undergraduate and graduate students in academic programs focusing on areas such as healthcare quality, patient safety, health data analytics, public health, and administration.- Healthcare professionals including college instructors, policy and practice researchers, leaders and managers in healthcare organizations, Board of Directors, and clinicians in a wide range of practice settings (including home care, hospices, skilled nursing facilities, rehab, and ambulatory care).
Call Number: RA399.A3 Q25 2024
Lean Six-Sigma Study Guide 2024-2025: Complete Review
Newstone Test Prep provides a study guide to achieve great scores on the Lean Six Sigma Exam. 300 Questions and answer explanations for the ASQ Yellow, Green and Black Belt Exams.
Call Number: TS156 .L43 2024x
Why Care? how thriving individuals create thriving cultures of continuous improvement within organizationss
We live in a changing world in which organizations find it increasingly difficult to stay ahead of the changes needed to be successful without thriving people. The authors believe that when people are valued and respected it makes them more motivated to help meet the purpose and objectives of the organization and adapt to external drivers.
Call Number: HD58.7 .W33157 2024
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management, Fourth Edition
Healthcare quality can be a daunting subject, with its maze of regulatory requirements and plethora of approaches. Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management makes the topic approachable. It explains the fundamental principles and techniques of quality management in sufficient depth for readers to begin applying them, at an introductory level that does not overwhelm them. This updated fourth edition includes a new chapter that addresses the problem of stalled or failed improvement projects. Many case examples are included in the chapter to illustrate common causes of project failures together with guidance for achieving success. It also discusses how measurement systems can reinforce and sustain performance improvement. The sidebars, definitions, and references sprinkled throughout the chapters have been updated and expanded. Concise summaries and relatable examples from clinical, operational, and administrative settings have also been included. This updated edition of Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management is an invaluable resource that helps readers understand and apply the many complex elements of quality management in healthcare.
Call Number: RA399.A1 S64 2023
The Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools, Fifth Edition
The Healthcare Quality Book provides a framework, methodology, and practical approaches to assist healthcare professionals in championing improvement efforts. The book is divided into three sections that cover the fundamentals of healthcare quality, critical quality topics, and key strategies for effectively leading quality. The extensively revised fifth edition of this definitive text brings together healthcare thought leaders with a wide range of subject matter expertise. Chapter contributors explore the foundation of healthcare quality, share their perspectives on essential and cutting-edge topics, and offer strategies for learning the skills to lead a culture of quality. New content includes chapters on health equity and disparities in care and expanded content on quality improvement tools, the patient experience, and digital technologies. The book concludes with three well-developed case studies of quality improvement in action that incorporate the lessons learned in the preceding chapters. The Healthcare Quality Book will assist leaders at all levels in developing a solid foundation of quality leadership knowledge, skills, and tools.
Call Number: RA399.A3 H433 2023
The Patient Priority: Solve Health Care's Value Crisis by Measuring and Delivering Outcomes That Matter to Patients
From the thought leaders at Boston Consulting Group come lessons on how leading health systems around the world are delivering patient-centered, value-based care by focusing on the health outcomes that matter to patients. To address the growing crises confronting the global health sector, health systems need to deliver better health outcomes to patients for the money spent, an approach known as value-based health care. Contrary to traditional approaches to health-systems reform that emphasize cost containment, value-based health care shifts the focus to continuous improvement in the outcomes delivered to patients. Systematically measuring, tracking, and improving health outcomes over time can have a transformative effect, enabling health systems to: deliver better patient outcomes and overall population health more consistently identify and disseminate best-practice diagnoses and treatments more rapidly control total health-care costs more effectively because unnecessary procedures are eliminated, expensive complications occur less frequently, and repeat treatments are avoided rebuild the trust and motivation of health professionals by aligning system performance goals with professional purpose The only way for the health care sector to sustainably contain costs and fulfill its mission is by putting the patient and the delivery of outcomes that matter to patients at the center of the industry's efforts and by aligning incentives around the continuous improvement of health outcomes in a cost-effective manner.Designed by thought leaders at Boston Consulting Group as a practical step-by-step guide for clinicians, payers, policymakers, and other industry stakeholders, The Patient Priority features powerful case studies of leading value-based innovators --both public and private, as well as from both high- and low-income countries--that are taking the concept of value-based health care from theory to practice. The book also presents a detailed road map for the comprehensive value-based transformation of national health systems. This book is an indispensable tool to launch a new era of patient-centered innovation, unlock value in health care, and bring about step-function improvements in productivity, performance, and population health.
Call Number: RA399.A1 L37 2023
Process Improvement in Healthcare: levering Lean Six Sigma methodologies for success
Over the last two decades, healthcare has experienced the emergence of patient consumerism, commercialization, staffing shortages due to strikes and burnout, a worldwide pandemic, increased regulatory pressure, digitization of care, artificial intelligence and more. This transforms the way we provide and receive care. While navigating all this change, it's imperative to prioritize optimizing functionality of tools and workflows to ensure a solid foundation on which we can integrate future technologies. This book addresses essential concepts to consider when practicing continuous improvement in the industry.
Call Number: RA399.A1 S55 2023x
Quality for the Rest of Us: a friendly guide to healthcare quality management
Want to be a healthcare quality professional, but you're not entirely sure what the job entails? Or maybe you have been in the profession for years and want to pick up some new skills?
Quality for the Rest of Us is for you.
And I mean that sincerely. This isn't one of those books that will bog you down with technical details. The goal is to make healthcare quality approachable for beginners and introduce helpful tools for seasoned professionals.
To do that, I share what I learned during my transition from bedside nursing (with almost zero comprehension of healthcare quality) into quality leadership. which has led to over a decade of experience in healthcare quality, working with more than 100 healthcare facilities to improve their processes and patient outcomes.
This book provides simple explanations and examples of the quality cycle for improvement, practical tips on data analysis, descriptions of favorite tools and resources, and an overview of abstraction and public reporting: all to build and strengthen a foundational understanding of healthcare quality.
Call Number: RA399.A3 P67 2023
