Radiology: Anesthesiology / Perioperative Medicine

Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by Manoj Karmakar, 2018 A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks. Although ultrasound images may help visualize the nerve to be blocked, the images still present a grainy and incomplete picture. Physicians looking to master US-guided nerve blocks are best served by becoming anatomical experts -- and this innovative resource is an invaluable learning tool to doing just that. In addition to 2D and 3D ultrasound images, Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine includes high-resolution CTs, MRIs, cadaver anatomy images, and anatomical illustrations to give physicians a comprehensive understanding of the anatomy of the neck, upper and lower extremity, trunk, thorax, thoracic spine, sacral spine, lumbar paravertebral region, and thoracic paravertebral region that are relevant to ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia. Features * Bulleted pearls impart how to obtain optimal ultrasound images at each site * More than 600 full-color photographs and illustrations throughout * Essential for anesthesiologists and pain physicians, and is also of value to musculoskeletal sonographers, radiologists, and emergency medicine physicians *Enables you to learn and see, through full-color illustrations, the relevant anatomy for administering successful nerve blocks * Includes CT and MRI correlations to ultrasound images, plus corresponding anatomical illustrations, cadaver anatomy, and photos of probe placement on the patient. Although other texts may provide some of the imaging information contained in this unique atlas, this is the first resource to systematically and comprehensively gather all the imaging modalities for side-by-side comparison under one cover.

Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by Andrew T. Gray, 2019 Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and coverage of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for clinical practice. Written by Andrew T. Gray, MD, PhD, one of the pioneers of the use of ultrasound to guide needle placement, Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, shows you how to safely and effectively use the latest methods and applications of this technique. Board-style review questions found on the Expert Consult eBook version test your knowledge and help you prepare for the ABA exam. Helps ensure correct needle placement with numerous 3-D and long-axis views that clearly depict surrounding structures. Includes coverage of 11 new blocks: Adductor Canal, Posterior Femoral Cutaneous, Pectoral, Quadratus Lumborum, Pudendal, Paravertebral, Transversus thoracis, Supraorbital, Transtracheal, Greater Occipital and Lesser Occipital. Features access to 20 author-narrated videos showing proper placement of needles using ultrasound guidance, including 11 new videos: Forearm (ulnar, median and radial), Ankle (tibial, saphenous, superficial peroneal, deep peroneal, sural), Paravertebral, Adductor Canal, and Catheters. Presents several new chapters, including Regional Anesthesia in Resource-Constrained Environments and Safety of Ultrasound Guided Regional Blocks. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, 3rd ed. by Joseph Mathew; Madhav Swaminathan; Chakib Ayoub, 2019 Clinical Manual and Review of Transesophageal Echocardiography, Third Edition is written to be the field's go-to resource and the standard reference textbook on the topic. It offers concise yet comprehensive coverage of the key principles, concepts, and developing practice of transesophageal echocardiography.  Completely updated, reorganized, and expanded, this Third Edition features a sectional format, each containing chapters that were reviewed and revised to provide a comprehensive discussion of physiology, pathophysiology, and echocardiographic approach for normal and common disease states. Where possible, important clinical information has been aligned with the principles of cardiovascular physiology and echocardiographic techniques.  Narrative text, charts, videos, and graphs have been effectively integrated to provide rapid access to key clinical information for the purpose of improving clinical management. Features: Addresses all the important clinical and technical issues and major exam topics Valuable appendices detailing normal chamber dimensions and volumes; wall motion and coronary perfusion; diastolic function; native valve areas, velocities, and gradients; and measurements and calculations Contributions from leading anesthesiologists, cardiologists, and cardiothoracic surgeons A complete practice exam and chapter-ending multiple choice questions make this the perfect review for board examinations in both basic and advanced perioperative echocardiography   

Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by Admir Hadzic, 2021 The complete, authoritative, and practical guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks - updated to reflect the most current NYSORA initiatives INCLUDES THREE ATLASES Hadzic's is the most comprehensive color guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Color drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice. Featuring sections that progress from the foundations of regional anesthesia to the clinical applications of nerve blocks, Hadzic's includes tips and insider perspective from the leadership of NYSORA and its academic affiliates. The book also includes three separate atlases, including a new atlas of musculoskeletal ultrasound, as well as surface anatomy, and ultrasound-guided anatomy. *A real-world emphasis on clinical utility serves as the underpinning of chapter content and drives the book's in-depth explanations of techniques and procedures *Outstanding organization begins with the foundations of peripheral nerve blocks (e.g., regional anesthesia, equipment, and monitoring and documentation) and then reviews clinical applications for both traditional procedures and ultrasound-guided procedures *Three atlases: musculoskeletal ultrasound, surface anatomy, ultrasound-guided anatomy

High-Quality Transesophageal Echocardiography by David T. Linker, 2021 High-Quality Transesophageal Echocardiography presents a step-by-step approach aimed to help readers understand how to perform a high-quality transesophageal echocardiogram. The book explains the steps, tips, tricks, and troubleshooting tactics for performing a transesophageal echocardiogram effectively and with highest diagnostic utility, while ensuring patient safety and comfort. High-Quality Transesophageal Echocardiography is suitable for a wide audience from early learners of the technique who want to accelerate their progress and boost their confidence to those already qualified in the procedure who want to pick up tips to increase the quality and effectiveness of their practice.