Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Surgery | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Summaries
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Integrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum, and Lab Advisor.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyGastrointestinal
- GuidelineCentralColon and Rectal Surgery
- UpToDateGastroenterology and Hepatology
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Gastrointestinal Cancer
- ClinicalKeyGastroenterology and Hepatology
- GuidelineCentralColon and Rectal Surgery
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Other eBooks
Current Therapy in Colon and Rectal Surgery by
For more than 25 years, Current Therapy in Colon and Rectal Surgery has been the go-to resource for preparing for the American Board of Surgery certification exam. Following in this tradition, the 3rd Edition offers a comprehensive, contemporary summary of treatment options for colorectal diseases, with a focus on practical clinical science and applications. In a single, portable volume, you'll find complete coverage of new diagnostic modalities, medical therapeutics, and surgical treatment options, including minimally invasive surgery. Easy to read and digest, it provides a quick consultation with experts on the essentials of colon and rectal surgery. Consult this title for a quick overview before you enter the OR, and use it as a review tool for board certification and recertification. Nearly 100 succinct chapters, just 3 or 4 pages each, written by leading experts in colorectal surgery. Five chapters devoted exclusively to different aspects of rectal cancer. Other key topics include minimally invasive surgery, reparative surgery, maturing outcomes, and managing surgical risk. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. New chapters focus on hot topics such as intestinal transplants, enhanced recovery programs, and the management of peristomal hernias. Updated information on the molecular biology of colorectal cancer and its implications for therapy. With 137 additional contributing experts
Interventional Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Endoscopic Management and Treatment of Complications by
Interventional Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: Endoscopic Management and Treatment of Complications covers the preparation, principle, techniques, and damage control of complications in endoscopic therapy, providing the ultimate guidance in endoscopic management of IBD. With contributions from a panel of international leading experts in the field, perspectives are included from GI pathologists, GI radiologists, gastroenterologists, advanced endoscopists, IBD specialists and colorectal surgeons. Recommendations from experts are also included within each chapter. By bridging medical and surgical treatment modalities for IBD, this is the perfect reference for GI researchers, medical students, therapeutic GI endoscopists, IBD specialists, surgeons and advanced health care providers.
McGraw-Hill Manual: Colorectal Surgery by
A "find-it-now" point-of-care guide to colorectal surgery--complete with ICD-9 codes A Doody's Core Title for 2011! "As a busy surgical resident who is often bombarded with information from several different resources, I found this book to be a comprehensive quick reference to refresh my memory about the diagnosis, management, and operative technique associated with colorectal diseases. It is useful when I'm on the run, particularly when faced with multiple patients in the ER and clinic. Using this book has helped me to supplement and reinforce my knowledge of colorectal diseases. Surprisingly, I have come across very few surgical subspecialty reference guides such as this. It is a rare entity to find a surgical reference guide that is concise yet all inclusive, well organized, intuitive, and worthwhile. Most other surgical handbooks are appropriate only for junior residents. Furthermore, these other books are often written in paragraph form, making it more difficult to find information. Finally, most of these handbooks include allgeneral surgery topics, not just information on one surgical subspecialty. This book is superior to other handbooks in that it can be used by all types of physicians and trainees and its outline and bulleted format make it an easy read. 3 Stars."---Doody's Review Service McGraw-Hill Manual Colorectal Surgery provides the information you need for every kind of colorectal surgery, conveniently presented in at-a-glance bulleted lists and tables. Concise chapters provide high-yield summaries of symptoms, diseases, differential diagnoses, management, and potential complications, along with step-by-step technical instructions for operations. FEATURES Brief thumbnail descriptions of symptoms and diagnosis; evaluation tools; anatomy and physiology; diseases and problems; operative techniques; adjuvant and conservative treatment; perioperative management; and more! Can be used as a guide, a resource, a refresher, or a board review Two-color design with tabbed pages facilitates on-the-spot look-up Tables of drugs with both trade and generic names, plus important dosing and safety information New medical illustrations created for this resource ICD-9 codes tagged for each relevant chapter for domestic and international reference Handy slim design and stain resistant covers Helpful appendices on medications, tumor staging, Amsterdam/Bethesda criteria, and incontinence scores
Principles and Practice of Robotic Surgery by
lt has been a long time in its coming, a textbook focused entirely on robotic surgery. This magnificent work created and curated by the world-renowned robotic surgeon and educator Anthony J. Costello, MD, contains chapters covering the use of robotic surgery in adult and pediatric patients. The author list is a Who’s Who among the best robotic surgeons worldwide. This book covers all contemporary aspects of foundational and robotic surgery, taking an anatomic approach to these important areas.
The first 11 chapters, the Foundations section, cover the history of robotic surgery and the important aspects of robotic training. Topics such as robotic anesthesia, the operating room prep, and positioning of the equipment are discussed in great detail. Likewise, certification for robotic training, the use of artificial intelligence and virtual reality in the present, and the potential future use of robotic surgery are covered.
Urology was the first discipline to fully embrace robotic surgery. There is a large section devoted to all urologic procedures that are now performed robotically. Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14, Chapter 15, Chapter 16, Chapter 17 delve into every aspect of robotic surgery for the prostate both for benign and malignant conditions. Careful attention to patient selection, port placement for a particular procedure, and tips, tricks, and nuances associated with a specific operation are clearly explained with excellent illustration and video. The specialist authors offer guidance for management of all routine and complex renal and adrenal robotic surgeries. Novel topics such as renal transplantation with the robot and robotic microsurgery are covered. The use of a new single port da Vinci platform is also well described.
To my knowledge, this is the first compilation for comprehensive access to all present robotic surgeries in all the various disciplines.
Core eBooks
The ASCRS Manual of Colon and Rectal Surgery by
Colorectal Surgery has continued to experience tremendous growth in both the community and academic settings over the past few years. The recent increase in demand for colorectal specialists has been fueled by an overwhelming number of applications to fellowship training programs, resulting in some of the most coveted and competitive positions. Furthermore, the accumulation of experience, knowledge, and wisdom from pioneers in the field, combined with major recent technological advances, has transformed the clinical management of diseases of the colon and rectum. Colorectal Surgeons have embraced advances ranging from minimally invasive approaches for complex problems to novel training methods for future generations. Additionally, we have spearheaded innovations in the management of colorectal cancer, pelvic floor disorders, diverticulitis, inflammatory bowel disease, and anorectal conditions. Despite these improvements, there remains a seemingly never-ending mixture of complex patient disease processes and complications resulting from the care of these patients. Even in cases where the technical challenges were managed successfully, complications or poor function may result in dramatic life-long consequences, reduced quality of life, as well as having economic implications. The American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) is the premiere professional organization of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. Three editions of the ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery have been published and have proved to be extremely valuable for their wealth of general information and knowledge, providing not only background information, but also specifics regarding the more complex situations that surgeons who treat patients with colorectal disease experience on a regular basis. An ASCRS manual was produced in in 2009 and 2014, each accompanying their original textbooks. This has been formed by abstracting the textbook into a bullet format; all figures and most tables were retained. The 3rd edition of the Textbook (published by Springer) included completely new chapters and authors. This 3rd edition of the Manual is indicated to conform to the new edition of the Textbook and incorporate newer information in the field of colon and rectal surgery. This Manual will serve as a very useful resource for physicians and researchers dealing with diseases of the colon and rectum. It will provide a concise yet comprehensive summary of the current status of the field that will help guide education, patient management and stimulate investigative efforts. All chapters were written and abstracted by experts in their fields and will include the most up to date scientific and clinical information.
The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery by
This book serves as a valuable resource for surgeons and health care providers at all stages of their career caring for patients with colorectal disease. This edition provides all newly written chapters, organized around the "pillars" of colorectal disease: perioperative (including endoscopy); anorectal disease; benign disease (including inflammatory bowel disease); malignancy; pelvic floor disorders; and a "miscellaneous" section that covers aspects both inside and beyond the operating room. Chapters are formatted to follow that of a "how to" manual as well as an algorithm-based guide to allow the reader to understand the thought process behind a proposed treatment strategy. By making use of evidence-based recommendations, each chapter includes not only background information and diagnostic/therapeutic guidelines, but also provides operative technical details and perioperative "tips and tricks" that are utilized in the management of these complex surgical challenges. Chapters also include the assessment of risk and methods utilized to minimize perioperative complications. In addition, the book incorporates sections covering the medical and surgical therapies for abdominal, pelvic and anorectal disease. Written by experts in the field from around the world, The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery 4th Edition exposes the many critical gaps in our knowledge base and inspires the next generation to answer them through thoughtful and high level scientific inquiry.
Coloproctology: A Practical Guide, 2nd ed. by
This book offers an up-to-date appraisal of the increasingly used neoadjuvant therapy. In many situations a multidisciplinary approach is taken to achieve high quality and successful outcomes. In addition, topics such as the management of the open abdomen, complex abdominal wall reconstruction, artificial intelligence and modern management of inflammatory bowel disease are covered.
ISBN: 9783031596292Publication Date: 2024-06-18
Colorectal Surgery: A Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice by
n this Seventh Edition we have incorporated material from the previous separate chapter on ‘investigation’ into the relevant topic chapters and updated it. A number of authors have joined the team, and as a result we have fresh chapters on rectal cancer, chemotherapy and radiotherapy for colorectal cancer, Crohn’s disease and anal fistula. The presentation of anal neoplasia has been revamped, with an entirely new chapter covering HPV, AIN and anal cancer.
There are links to videos, which will complement the written descriptions and diagrams. Multiple choice questions to enable readers to test their knowledge have been introduced in this edition.
The aim has been to be clear, concise, authoritative and contemporary, and to emphasise the underlying evidence-base. This is achieved using clearly signposted ‘expert opinion’ (one tick) and ‘strong recommendation’ (two tick) panels, together with brief descriptions of the key papers.
This volume provides more than enough information for those preparing for general and colorectal surgical examinations, and to support those in consultant practice. Each print volume gives access to the accompanying ebook version, which should enhance the overall experience and ensure that it is enjoyable to read and to use.
Gordon and Nivatvongs' Principles and Practice of Surgery for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus by
The most comprehensive and authoritative reference available today on colorectal surgery This revised fourth edition of Gordon and Nivatvongs' Principles and Practice of Surgery for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus edited by David Beck, Steven Wexner, and Janice Rafferty strikes a perfect balance between evidence-based medicine, in-depth details, and clinical pearls. The result is a highly engaging and authoritative tome in the grand tradition of Philip Gordon and Santhat Nivatvongs. Building on the widely acclaimed previous editions' reputation for superb quality and reader-friendliness, the fourth edition includes contributions from an expanded cadre of internationally known experts. Significant advances have been made in this field since the third edition was published. The latest diagnostic modalities are highlighted such as MRI, CT angiography, and enterography. The first section covers essentials such as anatomy, physiology, diagnosis, colonoscopy, and patient management. Sections two through four discuss a full spectrum of anorectal diseases, colorectal disorders, trauma, unexpected challenges, and complications. Among the additions are expanded sections on transanal total mesorectal excision, genetics, personalized medicine, "wait and watch" principles, outpatient management of anorectal surgery, and large bowel obstruction. Key Highlights Thirty-seven chapters cover a wide array of gastrointestinal disorders such as fecal incontinence, ulcerative colitis, Crohn's disease, diverticulitis, carcinomas, and other malignant lesions A multidisciplinary team approach to rectal cancer encompasses rectal cancer protocol MRI, synoptic reporting, and various neoadjuvant therapy protocols The use of cutting-edge approaches including laparoscopy, robotics, hyperbaric oxygen, and radiofrequency tissue remodeling Superb full-color plates, illustrations, photographs, diag
The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery by
A concise, full-color, step-by-step guide to performing colorectal surgery This well-illustrated new book delivers succinct guidance on performing minimally invasive (laparoscopic and robotic) colon and rectal surgery, written primarily for an audience of general surgery residents and fellows in colorectal surgery and surgical oncology. The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery takes a high-yield, bulleted approach to describe how to get started with a procedure; how to perform common surgeries of the intestine, colon, and rectum; and how to manage common intraoperative problems in colorectal surgery. Alternatives to each step are discussed, along with common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Full-color illustrations and intraoperative images alongside narrated videos take readers step-by-step through the operations most often performed by general surgeons, colorectal surgeons, and surgical oncologists. This edition includes the latest innovations and procedures in minimally invasive and robotic colorectal surgery.
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition by
The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: * Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease * Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field * Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery, Volume 1 - Breast, Lung, Pancreas, Colon by
Presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the first comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and techniques that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Key Features Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature, gathered here to create the highest quality standards in four key disease sites: breast, colon, lung, and pancreas. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these four cancer types. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 2 - Esophagus, Melanoma, Rectum, Stomach, Thyroid by
First presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology in 2015, the comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and procedures that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature; gathered here to create the highest quality standards in cancers of the esophagus, stomach, thyroid, rectum, and melanoma. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups, including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these five cancer types. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Pediatric Colorectal Surgery by
Based on 30 years of experience as a surgeon working in the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstructive surgery, author Marc Levitt shares the tips and tricks that he has developed to make operations and patient management easier and reproducible. This book teaches these skills to achieve positive results. Patients with anorectal malformations (ARMs), Hirschsprung disease (HD), fecal incontinence from a variety of conditions, colonic motility disorders, and a myriad of other conditions comprise the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstruction. Such patients require care throughout their lives from specialists across numerous fields, which may include colorectal surgery, urology, gynecology, and GI motility, as well as specialized nursing, orthopedics, neurosurgery, anesthesia, pathology, radiology, psychology, social work, and nutrition. Sometimes the field can seem chaotic and unpredictable. Reconstruction requires creativity and at times it feels that artwork is being created during the actual operation with no pre-plan in mind. Marc Levitt and his colleagues have worked very hard to counter that feeling, to be fully prepared, and to develop protocols, techniques, and processes that can be adopted by other clinicians, so that optimal results for patients can be achieved. This book reflects both this experience and this approach.
ISBN: 9781000553352Publication Date: 2022-09-14
Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract by
For more than 60 years, Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract has served as the cornerstone reference in this fast-moving field. With comprehensive coverage of all aspects of GI surgery, the 8th Edition, by Drs. Charles J. Yeo, Steven R. DeMeester, David W. McFadden, Jeffrey B. Matthews, and James W. Fleshman, offers lavishly illustrated, authoritative guidance on endoscopic, robotic, and minimally invasive procedures, as well as current medical therapies. Each section is edited by a premier authority in GI surgery; chapters reflect key topics and are written by a "who's who" of international experts in the field. It's your one-stop resource for proven, systematic approaches to all relevant adult and pediatric GI disorders and operations Features an abundance of beautifully detailed intraoperative and laparoscopic photographs, as well as radiographs and line drawings, to enhance and clarify the text. Presents essential information, such as lists of differential diagnoses, in tabular format for quick reference. Discusses recent, major advances in minimally invasive surgery and robotic surgery, personalized therapy based on genomics and proteomics, and new pharmacologic treatments of various GI diseases. Includes all-new information on laparoscopy for rectal cancer, sacral nerve stimulation for incontinence and constipation, management of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, advances in immunosuppression for transplant patients, and new therapies for inflammatory bowel disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Education
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ABSITE Review Questions by ISBN: 9781266139680
ABSITE Slayer, 2nd Edition by
Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by
Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by
A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions.
General Surgery Examination and Board Review, Second Edition by
The best cases, the best questions, the best review--the BEST way to prepare for the General Surgery Boards and ABSITE Ideal for both written and oral board prep, General Surgery Examination and Board Review is the perfect way to prepare for your certification exams. Covering the full range of exam topics, this high-yield review features an effective case-based approach that sharpens clinical decision-making skills and gives the content real-world relevance. Each of the 100+ chapters opens with a clinical case and is followed by Q&A related to that particular case. You also get detailed evidenced-based answer explanations and references to facilitate more in-depth study. Features: 175 photos and illustrations 700+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the exam blueprint to maximize the effectiveness of the study process Includes chapters on ethical/legal issues, robotic-assisted surgery, end of life care, and surgical nutrition Content reflects the latest clinical advances.
Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review by
With 500+ questions, this case-based study guide provides the hands-on practice surgeons need to ace the board exam for metabolic and bariatric surgery Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review delivers the most relevant clinical information for preparing for this rigorous test. And with hundreds of practice questions and complete explanations for each one, this unmatched case-based study guide enables you to prepare for the test before exam day--building your knowledge and confidence for when it matters most. Features 200 photos and illustrations 500+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the certification exam outline Case-based approach sharpens clinical decision-making skills.
Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery by
A combination primer on evaluating the surgical literature and summary of landmark articles in general surgery Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery is a complete primer on how to efficiently evaluate the surgical literature, conduct literature searches, and identify high-impact articles. It also delivers concise, high-yield summaries of more than 130 of the most important surgical papers of the past few decades. These carefully selected summaries help you better understand the studies that have shaped surgical specialties and continue to inform clinical practice today. Features:Articles are conveniently arranged by subspecialty fields within general surgery * Each article summary is accompanied by brief commentary explaining the paper's importance and relevance to current practice * Designed to guide you towards a practice grounded in evidence, and enhance your ability to find and evaluate new information ;Essential reading for medical students, surgical trainees, as well as practicing clinicians who want an index of cornerstone literature
Resident Readiness General Surgery by
ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: General Surgery prepares you for success during your surgical internship. Inside is a full range of scenarios you may experience during your residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to help you remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With the book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. BEYOND TREATING YOUR PATIENT, RESIDENT READINESS PREPARES YOU TO Handle inpatient problems on the floor Manage patients in the ED, including trauma Follow up with patients in the outpatient clinics post-surgery Triage multiple simultaneous admissions and/or consults.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition by
The premier exam-prep guide for surgery--with 800+ board-style practice questions with detailed answers and rationales Based on general surgery's cornerstone text, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, this unmatched study guide provides everything they need to ace your exams--whether you're a resident or a practicing surgeon seeking recertification. Developed by the top minds in modern surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition delivers the most current, authoritative perspectives on surgical practice. Each practice question is accompanied by answers and comprehension-building rationales, ensuring complete understanding of the material. Answers are keyed to the latest edition of Schwartz's Principles of Surgery providing only the studying only relevant, applicable material from the most authoritative source possible. Features *300 photos and illustrations *Updated chapters--all aligned with the latest American Board of Surgery Qualifying Board Examination blueprint *Questions reflect those most likely to appear on the American Board of Surgery in-training exam and the surgery board exam *Excellent prep for both written and oral boards
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: