eBooks
Atlas of Basic Liver Histology for Practicing Clinicians and Pathologists by
The book provides a visual run-through of liver pathology through high-quality images from the healthy liver through acute liver injury to chronic liver disease - stressing on common mechanisms for specific histological appearances, correlating them with clinical features and laboratory investigations to reach the diagnosis. Individual chapters in this richly illustrated atlas cover the wide gamut of liver disease, including types of liver injury, viral hepatitis, fatty liver disease and its complications, vascular and autoimmune liver diseases, pediatric liver diseases, liver tumors, and finally, pathology of the transplanted liver. This book bridges the gap by integrating basic clinical information with histopathological findings, as existing books cater primarily to the pathologist's needs and do not provide sufficient clinical background to engage the clinician. It serves as a quick guide for adult and pediatric hepatologists, liver surgery doctors, pathologists as well as trainees in gastroenterology, hepatology, gastrointestinal surgery, liver transplantation and pediatric gastroenterology.
ISBN: 9789819957613Publication Date: 2023-10-25
Atlas of Colon Pathology by
Colonoscopy is the mainstay diagnostic modality to assess a variety of gastrointestinal symptoms, as well as screen for premalignant and malignant lesions of the colon. In addition to allowing diagnostic accuracy, colonoscopy allows direct therapy for a variety of conditions, most notably endoscopic control of gastrointestinal bleeding and removal of premalignant lesions. This atlas serves to instruct medical students, and medical and surgical housestaff on commonly encountered colonoscopic findings and disorders, by providing typical colonoscopic photographs of these conditions, along with a brief narrative description of the findings.
Atlas of Liver Pathology, 4th ed. by
Highly illustrated and conveniently templated for quick reference, Atlas of Liver Pathology, 4th Edition, is a useful Atlas and text for every practicing pathologist or trainee who assesses liver biopsy specimens. From cover to cover, it contains all the information needed to identify histologic features and correlate them with clinical findings, offering a clearer understanding of the clinical implications of the disease as it relates to treatment. More than 1,200 high-quality, full-color images and illustrations provide you with a complete visual guide to the vast majority of liver diseases and assist in the diagnoses of biopsy and resected liver specimens. Provides clear, templated information for each disease: Major Morphologic Features; Special Stains; Differential Diagnoses; Clinical and Biologic Behavior; and Treatment and Prognosis. Incorporates relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytology, cytogenetics and molecular genetics), giving you the necessary tools required to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Incorporates the latest diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnoses, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Contains two new chapters on liver biopsy interpretation and autoimmune hepatitis. Features concise, bulleted text and abundant tables that cover common as well as rare diseases, differential diagnoses, and more. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, tables, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Diagnostic Pathology: Hepatobiliary and Pancreas, 3rd ed. by
This expert volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for practitioners at all levels of experience and training. Covering all areas of neoplastic and nonneoplastic diseases of the digestive tract and accessory organs such as the pancreas and liver, it incorporates the most recent clinical, pathological, and molecular knowledge in the field to provide a comprehensive overview of all key issues relevant to today's practice. Richly illustrated and easy to use, Diagnostic Pathology: Hepatobiliary and Pancreas is a one-stop reference for accurate, complete pathology reports, ideal as a day-to-day reference or as a reliable training resource. Analyzes hundreds of diagnoses, each of which include critical diagnostic information such as definitions, epidemiology, clinical presentation, macro- and microscopic features, differential diagnoses, and pathologic interpretation pearls. Features thorough updates throughout, including novel immunohistochemical markers and other ancillary techniques (such as BAP1, INSM1, Rb, albumin in situ hybridization) that play an increasingly critical role in improving diagnoses Addresses recent advances in molecular pathology--new diagnostic, immunohistochemical, molecular, and genetic techniques used for diagnosis, as well as new details about the genesis and activity of tumors in the liver, pancreas, and biliary systems Includes details from the 2019 WHO Classification of Tumors of the Digestive System regarding important changes to diagnostic techniques, identification of new variants of cancers, and immunohistochemical markers and ancillary techniques that improve diagnosis and treatment options Reflects recent WHO updates and updates from the AJCC's 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual such as new terminology, new grading of neuroendocrine tumors and neuroendocrine carcinomas, and characteristic molecular alterations in hepatocellular adenoma, cholangiocarcinoma, and other tumors Uses a templated page layout, bulleted text, and a generous number of high-quality images to help practicing and in-training pathologists reach a confident diagnosis
ISBN: 9780323776219
Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology: Pancreatic and Biliary Pathology by
New in the Differential Diagnosis in Surgical Pathology series, this abundantly illustrated title helps you systematically solve tough diagnostic challenges in pancreatic and biliary pathology. It uses select images of clinical and pathological findings, together with succinct, expert instructions and diagnostic pearls, to guide you through the decision-making process. By presenting material according to the way pathologists actually work, this user-friendly volume helps you quickly differentiate commonly confused entities that have overlapping morphologic features. Presents nearly 100 differential diagnoses in pancreatic and biliary pathology, including the most common entities as well as selected rare diseases. Provides concise, bulleted summaries of clinical and pathological findings and relevant pictorial examples on the corresponding pages. Features 1,000 high-quality, full-color images of similar-looking lesions side by side for easy comparison with respect to clinicopathologic features and ancillary tests. Includes more than 30 detailed chapters on the pancreas, as well as coverage of the ampulla, extrahepatic bile duct, and gallbladder. Ideal for practicing pathologists, pathologists in training, residents, and medical students. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s) such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975144739Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology, 3rd ed. by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editors Drs. Amitabh Srivastava and Daniela S. Allende lead a team of expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, 8th edd. by
Written and edited by an international team of renowned authorities, MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, 8th Edition, remains the field's definitive reference on liver pathology. This must-have text is ideal for surgical pathologists in practice and in training who examine liver specimens on a day-to-day basis. It provides invaluable assistance in recognizing the huge variety of appearances of the liver that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, as well as organ damage caused by drugs and toxins. With expert, comprehensive coverage of all malignant and benign hepatobiliary disorders, MacSween's is a convenient, one-stop resource for use in the reporting room as well as in personal study. Shares the knowledge and experience of a "who's who" list of experts in the field of hepatobiliary pathology, led by editors Alastair D. Burt, Linda D. Ferrell, and Stefan G. Hübscher. Features more than 1,000 high-quality, full color illustrations, providing a complete visual guide to each tumor or tumor-like lesion. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities, and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Includes relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the necessary tools required to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Provides you with all of the necessary diagnostic tools to make a complete and accurate pathologic report, including clinicopathologic background throughout. Directs you to the most recent and authoritative sources for further reading with a comprehensive reference list that highlights key articles and up-to-date citations. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780702082283Publication Date: 2023-02-01
eBooks
Odze and Goldblum Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 4th ed. by
Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues.
Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions.
Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate.
Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope.
Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies.
Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making.
Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis.
Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout.
Practical Hepatic Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach by
A volume in the popular Pattern Recognition Series, Practical Hepatic Pathology: A Diagnostic Approach features completely updated and reorganized content, resulting in a truly practical guide to understanding liver pathology. Dr. Romil Saxena presents interpretation of liver biopsies according to a pattern-based approach that begins with recognition of the predominant histological pattern of injury, followed by identification of secondary features and appropriate work-up that lead you away from pitfalls to the best diagnosis. Unique "visual index" at the beginning of the book references the exact chapter and specific page needed for in-depth diagnostic guidance. Superb, high-quality, full-color images illustrate pathognomonic features and common variations. Features comprehensive information on major adult and childhood liver diseases, hepatic neoplasms and pre-neoplastic nodules, including clinical features, laboratory tests, imaging findings and differential diagnosis. Coverage of the clinical aspects of liver transplantation allows you to understand the pathology and practice of this procedure. Virtual Microscope provides your own personal set of over 300 liver slides accessible anywhere, any time on your favorite digital device. Navigate around and zoom in and out to savor these exceptionally high quality whole slide images covering everything from the normal liver to rare challenging cases. New section on Evolving Concepts keeps you abreast of new paradigms in liver diseases such as reversal of fibrosis, heterogeneity of cirrhosis, and biphenotypic primary liver cell carcinoma. Reorganized Table of Contents is even more intuitive. Expert Consult eBook version is included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book across digital platforms.
Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation by
Trusted for more than 50 years by pathologists in practice and in training, Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation is a well-organized, superbly illustrated guide designed to help solve diagnostic problems at the microscope. Authored by renowned expert Dr. Jay Lefkowitch and reflecting the extensive experience of the late Dr. Peter Scheuer, this practical text contains technical tips, diagnostic clues, and pearls on all aspects of liver pathology diagnosis, including acute and chronic hepatitis, biliary tract diseases, childhood disorders, and hepatic neoplasms - as well as ancillary topics such as biopsy assessment, laboratory techniques, normal liver histology, and transplantation. Throughout the text, histopathologic features are correlated with clinical features, molecular genetics, and immunohistochemistry to provide a practical account of how pathology impacts the diagnosis and management of liver disease. Covers key topics such as genomic alterations in liver tumours, diagnosis of acute liver allograft rejection, scoring systems for non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and discussions of immunohistochemical features wherever relevant. Presents the latest information on next generation sequencing and drug-induced liver injury, including adverse reactions to new biologics and alternative medicines to help both the clinician and pathologist avoid diagnostic errors. Features many new illustrations, including over 300 large, full-color and fully annotated photomicrographs that illustrate a wide range of pathologic appearances and help identify each diagnostic entity under discussion. Offers coverage of cytopathology in the assessment of liver tumors to provide further clinical clues to diagnosis. Provides basic overview of major histopathologic diagnostic problems in paediatric liver biopsy, including biliary atresia and several types of progressive familial intrahepatic cholestasis Provides new and updated algorithms, tables and images highlighting key features of each diagnostic entity - ideal as a concise review during sign out or for studying and board preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
- Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 4th ed. by
Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues. Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions. Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate. Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope. Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies. Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making. Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis. Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout. Winner of the 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize Award in Pathology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access an image bank, as well as all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
