Skip to Main Content
eBoooks
Comparative Management of Spine Pathology by Kaisorn Chaichana; Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, 2023
Unique in the field, Comparative Management of Spine Pathology presents commonly encountered spinal cases with side-by-side, case-by-case comparisons that clearly show how various experts would handle the same case. This second volume in the Neurosurgery: Case Management Comparison Series offers multiple opinions from international experts in both neurosurgery and orthopaedics, each of whom explains their preferred approach and management style for the same case. This format allows for quick and helpful comparisons of different ways to approach a lesion, advantages and disadvantages of each approach, and what each expert is looking for in how they would manage a particular case. Offers 4 expert opinions on each case in a templated format designed to help you quickly make side-by-side comparisons-an ideal learning tool for both trainee and practicing neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons for board review and case preparation. Helps you easily grasp different approaches to spine management with different expert approaches to the same case and summaries from the editors on the advantages and disadvantages to each approach. Features a wide variety of management decisions, from preoperative studies to surgical approach, surgical adjuncts, and postoperative care, from experts in the field who specialize in different aspects of spine surgery. Presents 70 cases in the areas of degenerative spine, traumatic spine, spinal deformity, spinal oncology, and miscellaneous topics such as epidural abscess, osteomyelitis, and post-instrumentation infection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Cranial Nerves: Anatomy, Pathology, Imaging by Devin K. Binder; D. Christian Sonne; Nancy J. Fischbein, 2010
A single-volume resource for detailed coverage of the anatomy, function, and pathology of the cranial nerves with CT and MRI correlation This beautifully illustrated book combines a detailed exposition of the anatomy and function of the cranial nerves with practical coverage of clinical concepts for the assessment and differential diagnosis of cranial nerve dysfunction. An introductory chapter provides a brief overview of cranial nerve anatomy and function, skull base anatomy, classification of pathologies, and imaging approaches. Each of the twelve chapters that follow is devoted to in-depth coverage of a different cranial nerve. These chapters open with detailed discussion of the various functions of each nerve and normal anatomy. The authors then describe common lesions and present a series of cases that are complemented by CT images and MRIs to illustrate disease entities that result in cranial nerve dysfunction. Features Concise descriptions in a bulleted outline format enable rapid reading and review Tables synthesize key information related to anatomy, function, pathology, and imaging More than 300 high-quality illustrations and state-of-the-art CT and MR images demonstrate important anatomic concepts and pathologic findings Pearls emphasize clinical information and key imaging findings for diagnosis and treatment Appendices include detailed information on brainstem anatomy, pupil and eye movement control, parasympathetic ganglia, and cranial nerve reflexes This book is an indispensable reference for practicing physicians and trainees in neurosurgery, neurology, neuroradiology, radiology, and otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. It will also serve as a valuable resource for students seeking to gain a solid understanding of the anatomy, function, and pathology of the cranial nerves.
The Craniovertebral Junction by Atul Goel; Francesco Cacciola, 2011
The latest management strategies for complex lesions of the craniovertebral junction Written by masters in the field, The Craniovertebral Junction: Diagnosis, Pathology, Surgical Techniques provides in-depth coverage of up-to-date management principles for this delicate anatomic region. After a brief introduction to anatomy, biomedical considerations, and embryology, the multidisciplinary team of authors, led by Professor Goel, discusses in detail the most innovative fixation and stabilization techniques for atlantoaxial dislocation, as well as congenital,infective, and acquired anomalies in the craniovertebral junction region. Each concise chapter focuses on a single pathology to guide readers through the nuances of these intricate and demanding surgical procedures. Features: Discusses in detail Professor Goel's groundbreaking treatment methods - now accepted as standards in the field Covers state-of-the-art protocols and techniques, including alternative treatment protocols for irreducible and rotatory atlantoaxial dislocation and more Introduces a novel concept of craniovertebral realignment Over 1,000 high-quality drawings, radiographs, and full-color photographs demonstrate surgery and anatomy and enhance the text Contains a full section Casebook featuring 22 well-illustrated cases displaying a wealth of pathology Text is rounded out by practical advice on how to manage trauma, degenerative disorders, infections, and tumors This fully illustrated manual fills the current gap in craniovertebral junction literature with the clear, accessible information every neurosurgeon, orthopedic surgeon, and spine surgeon needs.
The Molecular and Clinical Pathology of Neurodegenerative Disease by Patrick A. Lewis; Jennifer E. Spillane, 2018
The Molecular and Clinical Pathology of Neurodegenerative Disease brings together in one volume our current understanding of the molecular basis of neurodegeneration in humans, targeted at neuroscientists and graduate students in neuroscience, and the biomedical and biological sciences. Bringing together up-to-date molecular biology data with clinical evidence, this book sheds a light on common molecular mechanisms that underlie many different neurodegenerative diseases and addresses the molecular pathologies in each. The combined research and clinical background of the authors provides a unique perspective in relating clinical experiences with the molecular understanding needed to examine these diseases and is a must-read for anyone who wants to learn more about neurodegeneration.
eBooks
Neuropathology by Richard A. Prayson; Gabrielle A., 2023
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Neuropathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, pathologic features (gross and microscopic), ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Review of normal histology before examining abnormal findings, enabling you to conveniently compare their characteristics in one place at one time. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 600 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems.
Neuropathology by Anthony T. Yachnis; Marie L. Rivera-Zengotita, 2014
Save time diagnosing neuropathology specimens with Neuropathology, part of the growing High-Yield Pathology Series. Dr. Anthony Yachnis and Dr. Marie Rivera-Zengotita help you review the key features of neuropathology specimens, recognize the classic look of each disease, and quickly confirm your diagnosis. A logical format, excellent color photographs, concise bulleted text, and authoritative content will help you accurately identify hundreds of discrete disease entities. Find information quickly and easily with a templated, easy-to-reference format and concise, bulleted text. Confirm your diagnoses with superb color photographs that demonstrate the classic appearance of each disease. Depend on authoritative information from leading experts in the field. Access the full text online, perform quick searches, and download all the images at www.expertconsult.com.
Practical Surgical Neuropathology: a Diagnostic Approach by Arie Perry; Daniel J. Brat, 2018
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Surgical Neuropathology, 2nd Edition, by Drs. Arie Perry and Daniel J. Brat, helps you arrive at an accurate CNS diagnosis by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in neuropathology guide you from a histological (and/or clinical, radiologic, and molecular) pattern, through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. Almost 2,000 high-quality illustrations capture key neuropathological patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding pulmonary hypertension, pediatric lung disease, and all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung. A new chapter on Pulmonary Function Testing for Pathologists brings you up to date with relevant aspects of these key tests. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Sweeping content updates. Patterns call-outs throughout. The patterns described initially in the text will be better linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for further understanding.
