Pediatrics: Adolescent Medicine

Adolescent Addiction: Epidemiology, Assessment, and Treatment, 2nd ed. by Cecilia A. Essau; Paul Delfabbro, 2020 Adolescent Addiction, Second Edition, offers researchers and clinicians a single-volume resource on the nature, extent and treatment of addictive problems in adolescents. The book is divided into three main parts. Part one addresses the foundations of addictive problems, including developmental, social, and neurobiologicl factors. Part two addresses common addictions among adolescents. New chapters include e-cigarette, smartphone, social networking, and exercise addiction. Part three discusses challenges and recommendations for future research in adolescent addiction. All chapters in part two follow a similar format to introduction and clinical characteristics, screening and clinical assessment methods, epidemiology, cormorbidity, course and outcome, protective and risk factors, evidence-based clinical strategies for prevention and treatment, and a concise summary of key clinical points.

Adolescent Cannabis Use

Adolescent Health in the Covid-19 Post-Pandemic

Adolescent Psychosis by Ingrid Agartz; Runar E. Smelror, 2023 Adolescent Psychosis: Clinical and Scientific Perspectives presents new methodologies and novel scientific findings, with a comprehensive orientation into the genetics, phenomenology, nosology, and long-term outcome of adolescent early-onset psychosis research. This volume discusses recent epidemiological studies, along with co-morbid aspects associated with other neurodevelopmental syndromes and somatic diseases. The book also provides suggestions for future research using a translational perspective, from genes to the clinic to and relevant phenotypes, biomarkers, treatment options and etiological aspects. Topics discussed bring together expert researchers in the field to represent different perspectives and future possibilities.

Brief Interventions for Adolescent Alcohol and Substance Abuse by Peter M. Monti; Suzanne M. Colby; Tracy O'Leary Tevyaw, 2018 Bringing together leading experts, this book demonstrates the unique value of brief motivational interventions for addressing adolescent alcohol and other substance use in a range of clinical contexts. It presents cutting-edge knowledge on the etiology and developmental context of adolescent addictive behaviors and reviews exemplary treatment approaches. Effective strategies are described for intervening with diverse populations, such as college students, youth in the justice system and in foster care, those with co-occurring substance abuse and psychiatric problems, LGBT youth, and Latino and American Indian adolescents. This book replaces the editors' influential earlier work, Adolescents, Alcohol, and Substance Abuse, with an expanded focus on practical applications. Most of the chapters are completely new.

Child and Adolescent Drug and Substance Abuse by Louis A. Pagliaro; Ann Marie Pagliaro, 2020 By offering unique analysis and synthesis of theory, empirical research, and clinical guidance in an up-to-date and unbiased context, this book assists health and social care professionals in understanding the use of drugs and substances of abuse by children and adolescents. A comprehensive reference for health and social care professionals, the book identifies and corrects related false narratives and, with the use of the authors' combined experience of over 70 years of clinical and academic experience in drug and substance abuse, provides current pharmacotherapeutic and psychotherapeutic approaches for the treatment of alcohol or other dependence or use disorders among children and adolescents. The book also provides a useful reference for identifying brand/trade and street names of the drugs and substances of abuse commonly used by children and adolescents. Also included is a comprehensive, cross-referenced subject index. Clear, comprehensive, accessible, and fully referenced, this book will be an invaluable resource for professionals and students who aim to treat children and adolescents. Child and Adolescent Drug and Substance Abuse is the 19th clinical pharmacology and therapeutic text that the Pagliaros have written over the past 40 years and is the sixth that deals exclusively with drug and substance abuse.

Clinical Allergy and Asthma Management in Adolescents and Young Adults by Ravindran Chetambath; Venugopal Panicker, 2022 Covers allergic diseases in general and asthma in detail, providing a comprehensive coverage of clinical features, diagnosis and management, using a case-based approach * Creates awareness of the fundamentals of clinical allergy, helping physicians make wise choices of medical and surgical management, especially in resource limited settings * Features insight from international authors with clinical experience in diagnosis and treatment of asthma in the specific age group of adolescents and young adults.

Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 3rd ed. by Mina K. Dulcan, 2022 Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.

Eating Disorders and Obesity in Children and Adolescents by Johannes Hebebrand; Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann, 2019 Get a quick, expert overview of best practices for diagnosis and treatment of eating disorders in children and adolescents. This concise resource by Drs. Johannes Hebebrand and Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann provides psychiatrists and pediatricians with current information in this increasingly important field, including practical sections on developmental aspects of eating disorders, symptomology, epidemiology, etiology and pathyphysiology, treatment and outcomes, and prevention. Discusses general concepts for feeding, eating, and weight disorders; body weight and composition, appetite regulation, and the emergence of body perception and image. Covers genetics of eating and weight disorders, influence of hormones, intergenerational effects, and food addiction. Includes information on cognitive behavioral therapy, family-based therapies, early intervention, pharmacotherapy, bariatric surgery, and other treatments. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.

Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Health, 3 Volumes by Bonnie Halpern-Felsher, 2023 Informed by the Biopsychosocial Model, this Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Health examines multiple aspects of child and adolescent development and physical and mental health. According to the Biopsychosocial Model, health is determined by the reciprocal interactions between biological (e.g., genetics, physical development, family health history), psychological (e.g., mental health, identity developmental, attitudes), and social (e.g., family, peers, school, social supports) factors. This theory posits that each one of these factors alone is not sufficient to understand health; instead, it is important to understand how these interactive components ultimately influence health outcomes.In addition to the Biopsychosocial Model, this Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Health has a translational approach. Each section and all applicable entries include a discussion of prevention or intervention efforts that can inform health and health promotion, and prevent health risks.- Presents a comprehensive review of current child and adolescent research, along with critical insights into the future direction of the field, including translation and prevention- Includes concise, authoritative chapters that are expertly authored make this an easy-to-read, reliable reference resource- Provides a clear thematic structure that allows for easy exploration across the discipline's different sub-fields.- Helps readers find their topics of interest, all of which are contextualized and linked to relevant literature

Home and Community Based Services for Youth and Families in Crisis

Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence: Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing, and Communicating, 5th ed. by Rhea Paul; Courtenay Norbury; Carolyn Gosse, 2018 Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention

NASPAG Essentials of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology by Nirupama K. DeSilva; Nichole Tyson, 2025 Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (PAG) is a unique specialty that focuses on the care of the youngest patients in the field of Gynecology. The North American Society of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG) was founded in 1986 in response to the growing need and development of this specialty. NASPAG has been dedicated to providing vital resources to support PAG providers in delivering the highest-quality, evidence-based care to our patients. Its mission is to provide multidisciplinary leadership in education, research, and gynecologic care to improve the reproductive health of youth. PAG providers are experts in educating our young patients, as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. To date, training opportunities have expanded; there are now 20 PAG fellowships across the United States and Canada. Despite the significant growth of the specialty, the availability of PAG providers remains scarce both in the United States and globally, highlighting the continued need for more specialized care for PAG patients. Organizations such as International Federation of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (FIGIJ) and European Association of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (EUROPAG) unite PAG providers from all over the world to collaborate, train, optimize, and standardize PAG health care. This aligned mission is a goal and mandate for numerous global organizations, including Healthy People 2030 ( Health.gov ). As our field has expanded, we have recognized the absence of a comprehensive collaborative text tailored to educate learners of today in the realm of PAG. Hence, our purpose in creating this book is to equip PAG learners with the knowledge necessary to address the entire range of gynecologic needs in young patients and to empower them to advocate for these patients effectively. The scope of diseases within our field is extensive, and our aim is to comprehensively educate learners on the entire spectrum. Therefore you will find chapters covering a wide array of topics, including müllerian anomalies, adnexal masses, prepubertal and postpubertal vaginal issues, sexually transmitted infections, contraception, fertility preservation, transgender patient care, and various other gynecologic issues relevant to young women. Additionally, we address common menstrual concerns, such as heavy vaginal bleeding, amenorrhea, and polycystic ovarian syndrome.

Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health Care, 7th ed. by Debra K. Katzman; Catherine Gordon; Todd Callahan et al, 2023 Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health: A Practical Guide, 7th Edition is your go-to resource for practical, authoritative guidance. The fully updated seventh edition, edited by Drs. Debra K. Katzman, Catherine M. Gordon, S. Todd Callahan, Richard J. Chung, Alain Joffe, Susan L. Rosenthal, and Maria E. Trent, offers a comprehensive view of the interdisciplinary nature of the field and is inclusive of the wide variety of health professionals who care for adolescents and young adults. This award-winning text features a full-color design, several new chapters, numerous algorithms, bulleted text throughout for quick reference at the point of care, and fresh perspectives from new editors--making it ideal for daily practice or certification examination preparation.  Features significant revisions and new content on opioid use, vaping, gun violence, survivors of childhood cancer and other chronic illnesses, COVID, and more.  Includes new chapters on Palliative Care and End of Life, Quality Improvement, Research, and Healthcare for Minoritized, Disenfranchised, and Marginalized Adolescents and Young Adults.   Includes key topics such as technology use, the care of transgender adolescents and young adults, reproductive health, sports medicine, college health, and more  Features a globally diverse editorial  team and authors who are experts in their respective areas and who reflect the demographics of this wide-ranging field  Offers comprehensive, evidence-based content from cover to cover, as well as numerous resources and websites on nearly every topic, where professionals, adolescents and young adults, and parents can find up-to-date information  Continues to be a highly useful resource for pediatricians, family practitioners, gynecologists, internists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, residents, medical students, and fellows practicing in traditional primary care and specialty settings serving adolescents and young adults, as well as in school-based and college health centers, juvenile detention centers, emergency departments, urgent care centers and any other facility that provides care to this population."    Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience  Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. 

Pediatric Endocrinology: : Management of Endocrine Disorders in Children and Adolescents by Mehul Dattani; Mohamad Maghnie, 2024 Pediatric Endocrinology covers all of the main aspects of translational endocrinology and clinical practice, making it an ideal resource for both paediatricians and endocrinologists. The book emphasizes the newer translational aspects of the topics covered, as well as molecular advances in diagnosis and therapy, although clinical relevance, with a particular focus on evidence-based clinical management, remains paramount. Further, transitions from childhood to adolescence and adulthood are discussed wherever appropriate. Written by a combination of respected and emerging experts in the field, this book is intended to serve as a major reference work for pediatric endocrinologists at all stages of their careers, as well as general pediatricians with an interest in endocrinology and diabetes, and endocrinologists in adult practice who may also treat children and adolescents. The book is part of the SpringerReference program, which provides access to 'living editions' thatare constantly updated using a dynamic peer-review publishing process.

Pediatric Nutrition for Toddlers, School-aged Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults: A Clinical Support Chart by American Academy of Pediatrics, 2024 This new point-of-care pediatric nutrition resource provides practitioners with a valuable and easy-to-use reference when evaluating and managing a pediatric patient’s nutritional intake and habits. In-depth tables and charts provide specific metrics to assist the clinician, broken out by age-group, activity level, biochemical value, specific nutrient, food group, and more. The chart can be kept on hand throughout the clinical day to support the assessment of toddlers, school-aged children, adolescents, and young adults.

Pediatric Obesity: Causes, Prevention, and Treatment

A Practical Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental Health Screening, Evidence-Based Assessment, Intervention, and Health Promotion, 3rd ed. by Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Pamela Lusk, 2022 "This book is a thorough and relevant first step for health professionals to learn about mental health disorders among children and adolescents, from diagnosis to treatment to resources and prevention." -Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS 17th Surgeon General of the United States (From the Foreword) Updated with new research findings and best evidence-based practices, the third edition of this quick-access guide aids practitioners in preventing, screening, diagnosing, and managing children and adolescents who present with mental health symptoms and disorders. This new edition describes key changes in the field with an emphasis on trauma and stressor-related disorders, cognitive behavioral therapy/skills building, suicidal and self-harming behaviors, substance abuse disorders, prescribing antidepressants to youth, and promoting mental health in schools. New and updated screening tools, instruments, and interventions add to the therapeutic arsenal, along with diagnostic criteria, case studies, and risk factors. In addition, this guide delivers new information on care for the caregiver and new technologies to enhance life balance. The third edition continues to deliver the essential "nuts and bolts" of evidence-based content in a practical and user-friendly format. Grounded in DSM-V criteria and diagnoses, with a holistic view of the patient, this guide contains a wealth of resources, including screening tools, parent/patient handouts, and other resources to educate families about mental health disorders and ways to foster patient wellness. New to the Third Edition: Describes new evidence-based programs to enhance mental health and well-being Presents updated educational materials for families and caregivers Featured chapters: Evidence-based Assessment and Management of Trauma and Stressor Related Disorders Evidence-based Assessment and Management of Adverse Childhood Experiences Evidence-based Assessment and Management of Substance Abuse and Addiction Spectrum Evidence-based Assessment and Management of Anxiety Disorders Evidence-based Assessment and Management of Depressive Disorders Promoting Mental Health in Schools Self-Care for Clinicians Who Care for Children and Adolescents with Mental Health Problems Key Features: Provides a tool kit for healthcare professionals to enhance care and improve outcomes Contains a variety of valid and reliable screening tools for mental health disorders in children and teens Addresses concise, evidence-based assessment and management guidelines Includes downloadable access to patient education handouts, resources, and a variety of other resources for children, teens, and parents

Sanfilippo's Textbook of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology, 2nd ed. by Joseph S. Sanfilippo; Eduardo Lara-Torre; Veronica Gomez-Lobo, 2020 This textbook provides a comprehensive review of all the common and less often encountered pediatric and adolescent gynecology problems in daily practice, both in the ambulatory as well as in the surgical setting. This new edition has been updated to keep it closely aligned to what general gynecologists or family physicians will want to know when dealing with a paediatric or adolescent patient, with accompanying videos.

Social Media and Adolescent Health by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice; Committee on the Impact of Social Media on Adolescent Health; Alexis Wojtowicz; Gillian J. Buckley; Sandro Galea, 2024 Social media has been fully integrated into the lives of most adolescents in the U.S., raising concerns among parents, physicians, public health officials, and others about its effect on mental and physical health. Over the past year, an ad hoc committee of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine examined the research and produced this detailed report exploring that effect and laying out recommendations for policymakers, regulators, industry, and others in an effort to maximize the good and minimize the bad. Focus areas include platform design, transparency and accountability, digital media literacy among young people and adults, online harassment, and supporting researchers.

Transgender and Gender Diverse Children and Adolescents