eBooks
Current and Future Advances in Male Infertility : A Compendium for Clinicians and Researchers by
Infertility is an important health problem affecting around 15% of couples worldwide, with profound psycho-social consequences and impairment of patients' quality of life. It has been shown that the male factor is solely and partially implicated in 20-50% of the cases of infertility. Male infertility is a complex issue that can be related to a variety of congenital or acquired factors that lead to a decline in the quantity and/or the quality of semen. Over the recent years, there have been major advances in basic understanding of the factors that regulate male fertility, the diagnostic tests for assessment of male fertility potential, and the therapeutic options for the management of male subfertility/infertility. However, despite advances in technologies and diagnostic methods in the field of andrology, there remains a significant subset of these subfertile men who are classified as having unexplained or idiopathic male infertility. In addition, there are ongoing debates and controversies on the clinical management of infertile men under certain conditions like varicocele, genital tract inflammation/infection or non-obstructive azoospermia. This book discusses advances in cellular, molecular, and genetic aspects of spermatogenesis and sperm evaluation in the context of clinical scenarios. It also addresses clinical dilemmas and controversies through a discussion of the basic science underlying these conditions. The authors form an impressive international collaboration to provide a unique perspective that specializes in all key areas of andrology. Current and Future Advances in Male Infertility provides insights into strategies to reduce the burden of male gonadotoxins, to enhance men's fecundity and to help optimize the care of infertile men. It aims to bridge the gap between researchers and clinicians by integrating basic science and clinical application.
ISBN: 9783031626487
Effects of Lifestyle on Men's Health by
Effects of Lifestyle on Men's Health provides an evidence-based review of the effects of modifiable risk factors such as sleep, diet, stress and exercise on various elements of men's health, notably sexual function, urinary function and cancer prevention and detection. Content highlights the most up-to-date basic and clinical information available, along with future research directions. Each chapter provides an easy to reference bullet point style summary to highlight the salient take-home messages from each section. Researchers and clinicians alike can use this book as a reference point for all matters related to lifestyle and men's health.
ISBN: 9780128166659Publication Date: 2019-08-16
Endoscopic Diagnosis and Treatment in Prostate Pathology by
Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Each volume is easily accessible through eBook format. Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology. All chapters describe the most recent techniques, review the latest results, and analyze the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides quick references and over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows as well as those teaching in the field.
Endoscopic Diagnosis and Treatment in Urethral Pathology by
Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Each volume is easily accessible through eBook format.Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology. All chapters describe the most recent techniques, review the latest results, and analyze the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides quick references and over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows as well as those teaching in the field.
Endoscopic Diagnosis and Treatment in Urinary Bladder Pathology by
Endoscopic Diagnosis and Treatment in Urinary Bladder Pathology: Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology. All chapters describe the most recent techniques, review the latest results, and analyze the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides quick references and over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows and those teaching in the field.
Evidence-Based Urology by
An updated and revised resource to evidence-based urology information and a guide for clinical practice The revised and updated second edition of Evidence-Based Urology offers the most current information on the suitability of both medical and surgical treatment options for a broad spectrum of urological conditions based on the best evidence available. The text covers each of the main urologic areas in specific sections such as general urology, oncology, female urology, trauma/reconstruction, pediatric urology, etc. All the evidence presented is rated for quality using the respected GRADE framework. Throughout the text, the authors highlight the most patient-important, clinical questions likely to be encountered by urologists in day-to-day practice. A key title in the "Evidence-Based" series, this revised and expanded edition of Evidence-Based Urology contains new chapters on a variety of topics including: quality improvement, seminoma, nonseminomatous germ cell tumor, penile cancer, medical prophylaxis, vesicoureteral reflux disease, cryptorchidism, prenatal hydronephrosis, and myelodysplasia. This updated resource: Offers a guide that centers on 100% evidence approach to medical and surgical approaches Provides practical recommendations for the care of individual patients Includes nine new chapters on the most recently trending topics Contains information for effective patient management regimes that are supported by evidence Puts the focus on the most important patient and clinical questions that are commonly encountered in day-to-day practice Written for urologists of all levels of practice, Evidence-Based Urology offers an invaluable treasure-trove of evidence-based information that is distilled into guidance for clinical practice.
Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships by
Human sexuality touches us all, pun intended. We all either enjoy it, struggle with it, or may have been victims of it. Sexuality is not just about sex, but about human sexual function, the physiology of sex, the hormones involved and how they affect us, and the cultural norms related to it. Sexual function and dysfunction are closely tied to one's self-esteem, self-respect, and to relationships with intimate partners. Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships, explores the interplay of intimacy and sexuality; how it can enhance relationships, and how it can negatively affect them, or be affected by them. When individuals or partners encounter sexual problems or dysfunctions it can have a long-lasting affect both biologically and psychologically. Dr. Rokach explores the causes and the reasons that these dysfunctions are maintained, and successful treatment methods. Chapters on sexual offenses and paraphilias and what treatment options are available to sexual offenders are also included. This book is the first book to place sexuality where it belongs, within the context of relationships demonstrating how sexuality relates to intimacy by both enhancing and negatively affecting it.
ISBN: 9780128191743Publication Date: 2021-01-29
Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia by
Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia: From Research to Bedside offers full acknowledgment of the basic research of lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) and benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), also connecting the clinical and practice management of the disease. It provides a full comprehension of LUTS and BPH from several aspects, allowing for a schematic interpretation of the disease and subsequent medical management. Going beyond the guidelines in the field, this title enhances the knowledge of BPH onset, allowing for the advancement of research, beneficial clinical implication and treatment. Perfect for researchers, urologists, pathologists and endocrinologists, this must-have reference provides what is needed to understand LUTS and BPH in one easy to reference place.
Male Infertility: Management of Infertile Men in Reproductive Medicine by
Infertility affects approximately 15% of couples worldwide and negatively impacts the quality of life of the affected couples. Male factors, alone or in combination with female factors, account for at least 50% of all cases of infertility. Starting in the late 20th century, scientists have expressed concerns about the declining semen quality in males. In 1992, a study of males who had never suffered from infertility showed that the amount of sperm in semen had declined by 1% per year since 1938. Male infertility has been attributed to a variety of problems such as varicocele, genetic disorders, genital tract inflammation/infections, advanced paternal age, and environmental/lifestyle factors.
In 30% to 45% of infertility cases, the cause of abnormal semen parameters is not identified; hence a diagnosis of idiopathic male infertility is applied. Despite the fact that about half of infertility problems stem from male factors, gynecologists are often the first healthcare providers to perform the initial assessment of an infertile heterosexual couple. Therefore it is crucial that they remain updated on the main conditions that cause male infertility, as well as current diagnostic tools and treatment options in the contexts of natural and assisted conception.
The idea of this book was an offshoot of a series of webinars organized by Professor Ashok Agarwal during the COVID pandemic in 2020–21. These webinars covered various facets of infertility, male and female, in which infertility specialists from over 100 countries participated. Based on the feedback received from these webinars, we realized that it was time to produce an easy-to-read text that would summarize what has been achieved so far in the context of male infertility and what is still in the pipeline. Also, it was time to present the state-of-the-art knowledge and recent guidelines in the clinical andrology field in a concise, modern, and palatable text, compatible with the 21st century, that is suitable for both the beginner and the expert. Additionally, we need to remove barriers between both groups of subspecialties dealing with infertile couples and include gynecologists working in the field of reproductive medicine, next to the andrologists. Furthermore, the comprehensive information provided in this book makes it very interesting to all reproductive professionals, including embryologists, endocrinologists, biologists, and researchers.
The book starts with an introductory section on the definition and epidemiology of male infertility and its implications on the quality of life of the affected couple. This is followed by a section with a series of chapters detailing the causes of male infertility and laying the groundwork for the subsequent chapters. A third section on the diagnostic aspects of male infertility, including clinical, laboratory, and imaging methods necessary for proper diagnosis of male infertility, is presented. The fourth section of the book deals with different therapeutic options for treating infertile males, while the fifth section discusses the details of the classical and advanced surgical procedures available. The next section is dedicated to state-of-the-art information on various assisted reproductive techniques. The seventh section summarizes the most recent guidelines of male infertility management that are set by professional societies working in the reproductive field. Finally, the book ends with a visionary section that provides insights on the future of the ever-evolving field of male infertility.
The book is written by 68 world-renowned infertility experts from 21 countries representing 6 continents, offering their knowledge and experience in an easy-to-read manner. Each chapter starts with the key points discussed by the authors and ends with clinical scenarios offering real-life problems and their solutions, with a structured text in between. A nonexhaustive list of references follows and includes the most relevant papers published on a particular topic.
ISBN: 9780323930475
eBooks
The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, 7th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Now with additional review content and a larger page size, The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, Seventh Edition, focuses on multidisciplinary, cooperative management approaches to issues confronting today's surgical oncologist. Lead editor Dr. Barry W. Feig is joined by recently graduated surgical oncology fellows Michael G. White, Cameron E. Gaskill, Anai N. Kothari, and Sandra R. DiBrito to bring you comprehensive yet concise information on the complete range of oncologic considerations needed to effectively understand cancer and all aspects of its treatment. Walks you through epidemiology and etiology, pathology, staging, clinical presentation and diagnosis, surgical treatment, and adjuvant therapies for each disease site or system Includes new case studies with multiple choice review questions at the end of each chapter Features a new, larger page size, up-to-date information on the latest staging and protocols, and well-written, easy-to-read content throughout Written by current and former MD Anderson surgical oncology fellows Ideal for fellows in surgical oncology, general surgery residents, medical students facing a surgical/oncology rotation, and practicing surgeons Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
With 600 photos and illustrations--this highly visual, concise guide provides everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas The kidney is are the most commonly transplanted organ, and the liver is the second most-common (80% of pancreas transplantations are done in combination with kidneys). Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.
Percutaneous Surgery of the Upper Urinary Tract by
Percutaneous Surgery of the Upper Urinary Tract: Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Each volume is easily accessible through eBook format. Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology. All chapters describe the most recent techniques, review the latest results, and analyze the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic minimally invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides quick references and over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows as well as those teaching in the field.
Principles and Practice of Robotic Surgery by
lt has been a long time in its coming, a textbook focused entirely on robotic surgery. This magnificent work created and curated by the world-renowned robotic surgeon and educator Anthony J. Costello, MD, contains chapters covering the use of robotic surgery in adult and pediatric patients. The author list is a Who’s Who among the best robotic surgeons worldwide. This book covers all contemporary aspects of foundational and robotic surgery, taking an anatomic approach to these important areas.
The first 11 chapters, the Foundations section, cover the history of robotic surgery and the important aspects of robotic training. Topics such as robotic anesthesia, the operating room prep, and positioning of the equipment are discussed in great detail. Likewise, certification for robotic training, the use of artificial intelligence and virtual reality in the present, and the potential future use of robotic surgery are covered.
Urology was the first discipline to fully embrace robotic surgery. There is a large section devoted to all urologic procedures that are now performed robotically. Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14, Chapter 15, Chapter 16, Chapter 17 delve into every aspect of robotic surgery for the prostate both for benign and malignant conditions. Careful attention to patient selection, port placement for a particular procedure, and tips, tricks, and nuances associated with a specific operation are clearly explained with excellent illustration and video. The specialist authors offer guidance for management of all routine and complex renal and adrenal robotic surgeries. Novel topics such as renal transplantation with the robot and robotic microsurgery are covered. The use of a new single port da Vinci platform is also well described.
To my knowledge, this is the first compilation for comprehensive access to all present robotic surgeries in all the various disciplines.
Prostate Cancer by
Prostate Cancer, Science and Clinical Practice, Second Edition, continues to be an important translational reference that bridges the gap between science and clinical medicine. It reviews the biological processes that can be implicated in the disease, reviews current treatments, highlights the pitfalls where relevant, and examines the scientific developments that might result in future treatments. Key chapters from the previous edition have been updated, and a plethora of new chapters describe new concepts of prostate cancer biology and newly developed therapeutics. Each chapter has been written by internationally recognized specialists on prostate cancer epidemiology, genetic susceptibility, cancer metastases, prostate physiology, proteomics, new therapeutics, and clinical trials.
Retrograde Ureteroscopy by
Retrograde Ureteroscopy: Handbook of Endourology contains five focused, review-oriented volumes that are ideal for students and clinicians looking for a comprehensive review rather than a whole course. Topics covered review both the endourological diagnosis and treatment of prostate, urethral, urinary bladder, upper urinary tract, and renal pathology, with all chapters describing the most recent techniques, reviewing the latest results, and analyzing the most modern technologies. In the past ten years, the field of endourology has expanded beyond the urinary tract to include all urologic, minimally-invasive surgical procedures. Recent advancements in robotic and laparoscopic bladder surgery make this one of the fastest moving fields in medicine. As current textbooks are too time-consuming for busy urologists or trainees who also need to learn other areas of urology, this collection provides a quick references with over 4000 images that are appropriate for fellows and those teaching in the field.
Single-Port Robotic Surgery in Urology by
Single-Port Robotic Surgery in Urology: The New Beginning After the Advent of Dedicated Platforms describes the novel field of robotic single-port urologic surgery. Recent advances in surgical robotics combined with the pursuit to reduce the invasiveness of laparoscopic surgery have led to the development of novel robotic platforms specifically designed for single-port surgery. This reference summarizes the state-of-the-art of robotic single-port urologic surgery. Coverage takes a three-part approach, providing a description of the technological evolution which led to the advent of novel platforms specifically designed for single-port surgery, describing the urological procedures that can be performed, and outcomes and potential drawbacks.
Telehealth in Urology by
Offering significant benefits to both healthcare providers and patients, telehealth is a key component in the future of urology and patient care.Telehealth in Urology is a step-by-step, illustrated guide for clinicians who are beginning a telehealth offering or are interested in adopting new digital technologies-all specific and relevant to today's urology practice. It covers the key information you need to know-from necessary equipment to the practice team-with clear explanations of how you can best use telemedicine to provide timely, effective care to every patient. Explains how to establish and conduct telehealth consultations and describes the growing number of options in telehealth diagnostics, patient monitoring, and digital therapeutics. Offers practical examples of conducting telehealth visits for common adult and pediatric urological complaints, for both benign and malignant conditions.Guides readers step by step through the many practical challenges of telemedicine for clinicians, patients, and practices, and describes the opportunities that lay ahead for the field. Covers regulatory, compliance, and technical principles of telehealth devices and applications for use in urology, including key topics such as data protection, patient privacy, e-prescribing, remote diagnostics and monitoring, and much more.
