Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- GuidelineCentralSurgery, General
- UpToDateGeneral Surgery
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeySurgery
- GuidelineCentralSurgery, General
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesGeneral Surgery
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Education
- Mayo Clinic Video Exchange TraumaMayo internal use only
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by
Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by
A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions.
On Call Surgery by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition by
The premier exam-prep guide for surgery--with 800+ board-style practice questions with detailed answers and rationales Based on general surgery's cornerstone text, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, this unmatched study guide provides everything they need to ace your exams--whether you're a resident or a practicing surgeon seeking recertification. Developed by the top minds in modern surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition delivers the most current, authoritative perspectives on surgical practice. Each practice question is accompanied by answers and comprehension-building rationales, ensuring complete understanding of the material. Answers are keyed to the latest edition of Schwartz's Principles of Surgery providing only the studying only relevant, applicable material from the most authoritative source possible. Features *300 photos and illustrations *Updated chapters--all aligned with the latest American Board of Surgery Qualifying Board Examination blueprint *Questions reflect those most likely to appear on the American Board of Surgery in-training exam and the surgery board exam *Excellent prep for both written and oral boards
Core eBooks
Trauma, 9th ed. by
The world's leading resource for to diagnosing and treating any injury--quickly, safely, and effectively Unparalleled in its breadth and depth of expertly crafted content, Trauma takes you through the full range of injuries you are likely to encounter. With a full-color atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more. It then reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections; delivers a clear, organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols; and shows how to handle specific challenges in trauma including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure. *500 photos and illustrations *Color atlas *Numerous X-rays, CT scans, and algorithms *High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient *A-to-Z overview of management of specific traumatic injuries *Detailed discussion of the management of complications
Acute Care Surgery and Trauma : Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd ed. by
"Remember, the critical questions in the field of Surgery never change, just the answers!" J. Bradley Aust M.D. 1926-2010 Acute Care Surgery and Trauma: Evidence-Based Practice discusses important surgical management approaches and clinical decision-making based on scientific evidence found in the published literature.Updated and fully revised, this new edition continues to support clinicians by providing the most up-to-date information and evidence on which to base their decisions across a wide range of topics in acute care surgery and trauma, thus optimizing the decision-making process for the care of individual patients. What can be better for the busy clinician than having all the answers to complex questions extensively researched by experts in the field and readily available without requiring further intensive literature searches? Featuring chapters written by specialists in acute care, trauma, and emergency surgery, with extensive references throughout. The text features tables summarizing key evidence and clinical recommendations for quick reference and easy interpretation.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by
Drawing on the experience and knowledge of master world-renowned trauma surgeons, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3rd Edition, offers a comprehensive summary of optimal treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. Ideally suited for everyday use, this practical, concise reference highlights the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, from damage control to noninvasive techniques to chemical and biological injuries. A focus on the surgical techniques required to manage even the most complex injuries makes it both an excellent resource for quick review before entering the operating room and a valuable review tool for board certification or recertification.
Critical Care Emergencies by
Written for residents and practicing community emergency physicians, this volume on critical care emergencies in the What Do I Do Now: Emergency Medicine series uses a case-based approach to cover both common and unique scenarios in critical care emergencies. Featuring chapters written by critical care and emergency medicine trained physicians, this volume provides a unique perspective on the ongoing management of critical illness with a focus on guideline-based protocol care based on national and local recommendations for common presentations such as pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, or trauma. This volume reviews frequently-encountered diagnoses, procedures, clinical recommendations, and management problems. Brief summaries included at the end of each chapter supply the practicing clinician a quick point-of-care reference during a shift. Critical Care Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which provides relevant reading for on-clinical shift trainees and for practicing EM physicians who need a refresher. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"
ISBN: 9780190082581Publication Date: 2023-10-17
Mini-Invasive Approach in Acute Care Surgery by
The minimally invasive approach in emergency and general trauma surgery is a key aspect of both scenarios. This book, the first comprehensive manual in the field, takes a global view of the subject and deals with it in depth, ranging from the historical perspective to the pathophysiological and therapeutic aspects in the various body compartments. Thanks to its user-friendly approach, this book will be a useful tool in the daily clinical practice of surgeons, doctors, anesthetists and nurses; thanks to its up-to-date review of the literature, it will remain relevant for several years. Finally, the participation of world opinion leaders in the field guarantees the comprehensive and scientific soundness of the work.
Textbook of Emergency General Surgery by
This text aims to provide a comprehensive review of general emergency surgery, the branch of medicine that treats patients presenting to the hospital with a wide variety of emergency conditions. It includes a section focusing on clinical aspects, management, logistics, patient cohorts and perioperative considerations in the context of general emergency surgery and trauma. Other sections describe various conditions and diseases in specific anatomical structures to enable readers to easily find the information they need. Written and edited by international experts and opinion leaders in the field, this book is a valuable reference resource for general and emergency surgeons, trauma surgeons, emergency physicians and nurses. It will also be of interest to residents, students and all other healthcare professionals involved in the management of emergency surgical patients.
eBooks
Blast Injury Science and Engineering: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers, 2023 by
This heavily revised second edition provides a comprehensive multi-disciplinary resource on blast injuries. It features detailed information on the basic science, engineering, and medicine associated with blast injuries. Clear, easy to understand descriptions of the basic science are accompanied by case studies of a variety of clinical problems including heterotopic ossification, hearing damage, and traumatic brain injury, enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to appropriately apply the relevant science into their clinical practice. The use of prosthetics, orthotics and osseointegration in rehabilitation is also covered. Blast Injury Science and Engineering: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers is a valuable interdisciplinary text primarily focused towards clinical medical professionals and trainees seeking to develop a thorough understanding of injury mechanisms, and the latest treatment techniques. In addition, this resource is of use to individuals in other fields whose work centres around blast injury science such as injury mitigation researchers, military scientists and engineers.
ISBN: 9783031103544Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Carbon Monoxide Poisoning: Prevention, Treatment and Outcomes by
Carbon monoxide is a colorless, odorless, tasteless, non-irritant, and environmental toxicant gas produced by the incomplete combustion of hydrocarbons, and is an invisible hazard to humans. Because of these factors, it is described as "silent death". Carbon monoxide poisoning is one of the important causes of emergency room admissions and is the leading cause of poisoning-related deaths. Humanity has had a complex relationship with carbon monoxide (CO) since the stone age. Although it is stated in historical documents about CO that Erasistratus said "coal fumes affect normal respiration" around 275 BC and that Aristotle said "coal fumes cause severe headache and death" around 350 BC, its toxic effects were first explained by Claude Bernard in 1865. Since the toxic effects of carbon monoxide gas were announced, many poisoning cases and deaths have been reported every year. A wide range of non-specific clinical manifestations are seen in CO poisoning. Clinical effects and findings of CO can be seen as acute, delayed, and chronic. The chronic effects of CO poisoning can negatively affect people throughout life. CO exposure varies according to societies, climatic conditions, development levels of countries, and occupational groups. While industrial accidents, exhaust gases, and suicide attempts are important causes in developed countries, household poisonings due to using heating equipment such as stoves and boilers are at the forefront in cold countries, especially in winter, depending on the climatic conditions. There is also a higher risk of poisoning in some professional occupations, such as firefighters, police, and industrial workers. CO poisoning is a poisoning that can be prevented by taking precautions. In cases of CO poisoning, the early interventions at the scene and the treatments in the emergency room and intensive care units in the early period reduce the negative effects of CO gas. Our aim in writing this book is to be a guide for physicians by looking at carbon monoxide poisoning from a wider perspective, and by writing the innovations in diagnosis, follow-up and treatment.
ISBN: 9798891132177Publication Date: 2024-01-02
Current Surgical Therapy, 14th ed. by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Facial Trauma Surgery by
Offering authoritative guidance and a multitude of high-quality images, Facial Trauma Surgery: From Primary Repair to Reconstruction is the first comprehensive textbook of its kind on treating primary facial trauma and delayed reconstruction of both the soft tissues and craniofacial bony skeleton. This unique volume is a practical, complete reference for clinical presentation, fracture pattern, classification, and management of patients with traumatic facial injury, helping you provide the best possible outcomes for patients' successful reintegration into work and society. Explains the basic principles and concepts of primary traumatic facial injury repair and secondary facial reconstruction. Offers expert, up-to-date guidance from global leaders in plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology and facial plastic surgery, oral maxillofacial surgery, neurosurgery, and oculoplastic surgery. Covers innovative topics such as virtual surgical planning, 3D printing, intraoperative surgical navigation, post-traumatic injury, treatment of facial pain, and the roles of microsurgery and facial transplantation in the treatment facial traumatic injuries. Includes an end commentary in every chapter provided by Dr. Paul Manson, former Chief of Plastic Surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital and a pioneer in the field of acute treatment of traumatic facial injuries. Offers videos that clarify surgical technique, including intraoperative guidance and imaging; transconjunctival approach to the orbit and reconstruction of a zygomaticomaxillary complex fracture; calvarial bone autograft splitting; dental splinting; a systematic method for reading a craniofacial CT scan; and more. Features superb photographs and illustrations throughout, as well as evidence-based summaries in current areas of controversy. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Burns Volume 1: Acute Burn Care, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this volume provides updated information on acute burn treatment. It also discusses genomic responses to burns and novel techniques in this area. Divided into four topical parts, this book provides insights into the history, epidemiology, prevention of burns, as well as initial and pre-hospital management of burns, acute burn care and therapy, and non-thermal burns. All chapters have been edited by leading world authorities on burn care and offer readers a broad overview of the techniques and outcomes in this area. Please also have a look at "Handbook of Burns Volume 2 - Reconstruction and Rehabilitation 2nd edition".
ISBN: 9783030189396Publication Date: 2019-11-14
Handbook of Burns Volume 2: Reconstruction and Rehabilitation, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this volume has been updated with chapters on scar treatment using laser, microneedling, tissue engineering, adipose tissue and lipofilling. It compiles the perspectives of a multi-author team, examining the entire spectrum of burn reconstruction and long-term treatment. Individual updated chapters cover basic aspects of wound healing and scarring, and plastic surgery relating to tissue rearrangement and the use of flaps, as well as the long-term use of skin and skin substitutes. Furthermore, it addresses topics such as rehabilitation and scar management in detail. It provides comprehensive reconstruction guidelines organized by anatomic region (e.g. face, hands, ...) as well as future trends and prospects in burn reconstruction, such as allotransplantation and bionics. Please also have a look at the volume "Handbook of Burns Volume 1 - Acute Burn Care 2nd edition"
ISBN: 9783030345105Publication Date: 2020-07-23
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-By-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.
ISBN: 9783030568122Publication Date: 2020-11-20
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 6th ed. by
Developed for the International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC), the Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 6e is ideal for training all surgeons and anaesthetists who manage trauma on an infrequent basis. The Manual is updated every 4 years and reflects the most recent developments in patient management based on new evidence-based information. Its focus is on the importance of the multidisciplinary care of the trauma surgical patient. This sixth edition has evolved, and the all-important section on the Non-Technical Skills which are required has been expanded. A significant number of the original guidelines in trauma have been archived, as they are no longer pertinent or have been superseded. The increasing (and occasionally harmful) role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognized. The 'Military Environments' and 'Austere Environments' chapters have been substantially revised to reflect current multinational combat experience, and broadened to reflect modern asymmetrical conflicts and the increased need for humanitarian intervention including military peacekeeping in which only one side wears a uniform. Military weapons are used in major cities against the civilian population. More recently, urban, non-military populations have been the targets and victims of heavy military combat including use of ultra-sophisticated weaponry. Each situation carries its own spectrum of injury and responsibility of care. Including website access to a selection of videos which provide an anatomic overview of surgical approaches, this resource provides a gold standard educational and training resource to help prepare the relatively fully trained surgeon to manage the difficult injuries that might present to a major trauma centre.
ISBN: 9781032157818Publication Date: 2024-06-07
The Shock Trauma Manual of Operative Techniques, 2nd ed. by
This book acts as a portable and easy-to-understand reference for surgical trainees or young faculty members that are interested in reviewing procedures on the way to the operating room. This second edition aims to provide a practical hands-on approach to operative trauma management. Following the success of the first edition, chapters were revised, updated, and added due to substantial changes in trauma care over the past few years. Several new experts contributed their knowledge and techniques inside this new edition. For example, chapters on fasciotomy and resuscitative endovascular balloon occlusion of the aorta (REBOA) have been added. The second edition of The Shock Trauma Manual of Operative Techniques is a valuable reference for practicing surgeons in the community and serves to aid trauma practitioners as they attempt to deal with operative challenges.
Surgical Decision Making by
Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Total Burn Care by
Recent advances in research have resulted in tremendous changes in burn management. Stay fully up to date with the new edition of Total Burn Care, by leading authority Dr. David N. Herndon. Detailed procedural guidelines and video clips walk you through every step of the process, from resuscitation through reconstruction and rehabilitation. Everyone on the burn care team, including general and plastic surgeons, intensivists, anesthestists, and nurses, will benefit from this integrated, multidisciplinary guide to safe and effective burn management. Discusses infection control, early burn coverage, occupational physical exercise, respiratory therapy, and ventilator management. Summarizes key points at the beginning of each chapter for quick reference. Uses an integrated, team approach to help you meet the clinical, physical, psychological, and social needs of every patient. Offers expert guidance on early reconstructive surgery and rehabilitation, with new content on improved surgical techniques. Provides access to 15+ procedural operative videos and PowerPoint presentations on topics ranging from alopecia and anesthesia to radiation and treatment of infection - ideal for teaching and presenting. Covers special populations such as elderly and pediatric patients, and includes a new chapter on burns in pregnancy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: