Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Accident and Emergency Radiology: a Survival Guide by Nigel Raby; Laurence Berman; Simon Morley; Gerald de Lacey, 2015
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis by Kathryn L. Butler; Mukesh Harisinghani, 2015
Improve your imaging interpretation skills for the most commonly encountered surgical conditions A Doody's Core Title for 2021! The goal of Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis is to help acute care surgeons, general surgeons, and surgical trainees develop the skills necessary to efficiently work up and diagnose critical surgical disease. This unique text opens with practical guidelines for understanding and interpreting the key imaging modalities employed in acute care surgery. In-depth discussions of acute surgical conditions follow, with emphasis on workup, diagnosis, and imaging pattern recognition. Each clinical chapter opens with a case scenario, followed by detailed discussion of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management, and includes multiple annotated examples of ultrasound, plain film, CT, and MRI findings. Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis follows a logical systems-based organization, consisting of: Radiology Basics Abdomen Chest Soft Tissue Trauma Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis also provides expert guidance on how to select the correct imaging modality for the most efficient diagnosis and treatment. This text will aid trainees and surgeons to hone the skills they need to manage acute surgical patients when expediency matters most.
Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging by Yang Tang,2020
Ischemic and hemorrhagic strokes are common neurological emergencies. In recent years, endovascular intervention has become a standard of care in treating acute ischemic stroke, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. As a result, noninvasive CT- and MRI-based techniques have been increasingly used in emergency settings. In this context, neurovascular imaging has become an essential part of the curriculum for training emergency radiologists, stroke neurologists, and vascular neurosurgeons. This book provides a comprehensive review of the entire spectrum of emergent neurovascular imaging, with the emphasis on noninvasive CT angiography (CTA), MR angiography (MRA), and perfusion techniques. It is organized into 11 chapters. The first three chapters address the topics of acute stroke imaging, including algorithms based on recent clinical trials and updated American Heart Association stroke guideline, vascular territories, and stroke mimics. These are followed by discussions of cerebrovenous thrombosis, vasculopathies, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. Remaining chapters are devoted to the traumatic neurovascular injury, as well as the relatively rare albeit important topics of head and neck vascular emergencies and spinal vascular diseases. The book has an image-rich format, including more than 300 selected CT, MRI, or digital subtraction angiography (DSA) images. Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, and fellows in emergency medicine, neuroradiology, emergency imaging, neurology, and vascular neurosurgery and can successfully serve as a primary learning tool or a quick reference guide.
ISBN: 9783030436544
Atlas of Emergency Radiology by Jake Block; Martin Ivanov Jordanov; Lawrence B. Stack, 2013
The first atlas of emergency diagnostic imaging that brings together every must-know radiographic method and technique Includes nearly 1,500 clinical images! Whether it's a CT, MRI, ultrasound, or x-ray, this comprehensive, hands-on resource helps you read and understand any imaging study--and guides you step-by-step through the process of making a proper diagnosis based on radiographic results. The Atlas of Emergency Radiology is filled with diagnostic images for the full spectrum of acute conditions and emergencies. Filled with 1,484 figures that demonstrate clinical findings Concise text solidifies your grasp of clinical and imaging correlations and includes: Radiographic summary Clinical implications Radiographic pearls Unique, up-to-date chapter on pediatric problems reviews the full range of medical issues associated with children
Emergency Chest Radiology by Tae Jung Kim; Kyung Hee Lee; Yeon Hyeon Choe et al, 2021
This book provides an up-to-date, comprehensive review of every aspect of emergency chest radiology in patients who are admitted to emergency departments with chest trauma or chest pain. The aim is to offer an unsurpassed source of practical information on imaging diagnosis of acutely ill and injured patients with this symptomatology. To this end, the wide spectrum of chest and cardiovascular emergencies are systematically categorized and typical imaging manifestations of these emergent conditions are illustrated in superb detail, with particular attention to the role of state of the art imaging techniques. The book will be an ideal resource for all members of the emergency team, general and emergency radiologists, radiology residents, and medical students.
ISBN: 9789813343962
Emergency Imaging of At-Risk Patients by Michael N. Patlas, 2023
Radiologists in emergency department settings are uniquely positioned to identify and provide effective, appropriate care to vulnerable patient populations. Emergency Imaging of At-Risk Patients fills a void in the literature by illustrating challenges in emergency and trauma imaging of vulnerable patients using a head-to-toe approach. Drawing on the vast clinical experience of emergency and trauma radiologists from the largest academic medical centers across North America, this reference presents basic and advanced emergency imaging concepts, relevant case studies, current controversies and protocols, and subtle imaging findings that help guide clinicians to efficient and accurate diagnoses and treatments. Provides a comprehensive, evidence-based approach to imaging of non-traumatic and traumatic emergencies in at-risk patients. Covers acute brain, thoracic, abdominal, and musculoskeletal conditions, including the unique challenges of imaging pregnant, geriatric, bariatric, cancer, immunocompromised, and pediatric patients, as well as patients using recreational drugs. Describes specific applications of ultrasound, MRI, radiography, and multidetector computed tomography (MDCT). Reviews recent imaging-related clinical literature and appropriate criteria and guidelines. A valuable tool for emergency and general radiologists, as well as pediatricians, obstetricians, gynecologists, orthopedic, trauma surgeons, and trainees in all specialties. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Emergency Imaging of Pregnant Patients by Michael N. Patlas; Douglas S. Katz; Mariano Scaglione, 2020
This book presents a comprehensive and modern approach to the imaging of nontraumatic and traumatic emergencies in pregnant patients. Readers will find a careful review of the relevant imaging-related clinical literature, explanation of imaging appropriateness criteria and guidelines, and enlightening discussion of current controversies in the emergency imaging of obstetric patients. The opening chapter discusses general principles of emergency imaging during pregnancy and offers an overview of an evidence-based approach to imaging interpretation. The remainder of the book describes specific applications of ultrasound, MRI, radiography, and MDCT for the imaging of common as well as less common acute brain, spine, thoracic, abdominal, and pelvic conditions during pregnancy. Clear guidance is offered on the unique challenges that may be encountered during such imaging. Emergency Imaging of Pregnant Patients is written by a group of leading North American and Europeanemergency and trauma radiology experts. It will be of value to emergency and general radiologists, to emergency department physicians and related personnel, to obstetricians and gynecologists, to general and trauma surgeons, and to trainees in all of these specialties.
ISBN: 9783030427221
Emergency Radiology: Case Studies by David T. Schwartz, 2008
Effectively and confidently interpret even the most challenging radiographic study A Doody's Core Title! "...should be a part of every emergency medicine resident's personal library. In addition to residents, I would highly recommend this book to medical students, midlevel providers and any other physician who is interested in improving their ability to interpret radiographic studies necessary to diagnose common emergency medicine patient complaints."--Annals of Emergency Medicine 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "The purpose is to help improve the reader's skills in ordering and interpreting radiographs. The focus is on conventional radiographs, as well as noncontrast head CT. For emergency physicians this is a vital skill, which can greatly aid in making difficult diagnoses. The book is well written and thorough in addressing how to read radiographs, as well as covering easy to miss findings. The numerous pictures and radiographs are invaluable in demonstrating the author's teaching points and in engaging the reader in the clinical cases....This well written book will be extremely useful for practicing emergency physicians. The clinical cases are interesting and help challenge the reader to improve their skills at evaluating radiographs more thoroughly."--Doody's Review Service Emergency Radiology: Case Studies is a one-of-a-kind text specifically designed to help you fine-tune your emergency radiographic interpretation and problem-solving skills. Illustrated with hundreds of high-resolution images, this reference covers the full range of clinical problems in which radiographic studies play a key role.Dr. David Schwartz, a leading educator, takes you step-by-step through the radiographic analysis of medical, surgical, and traumatic disorders, giving you an unparalleled review of the use and interpretation of radiographic studies in emergency diagnosis. Features 55 cases studies that highlight challenging areas in emergency diagnosis, including imaging studies with subtle, equivocal, or potentially misleading findings Detailed coverage of the broad spectrum of disorders for which radiographs are utilized in emergency practice Coverage of chest and abdominal radiology, the extremities, cervical spine and facial radiology, and head CT Cohesive template for each chapter, beginning with a case presentation, followed by a comprehensive discussion of the disorder under consideration Sections begin with an overview of the pertinent radiographic technique, anatomy, and method of radiographic interpretation Diagnosis-accelerating radiographs, ultrasound images, CT scans, and MR images Invaluable "pearls and pitfalls" of radiographic interpretation
Emergency Radiology: the Requisites by Jorge A. Soto; Brian C. Lucey, 2017
Get the essential tools you need to make an accurate diagnosis in the emergency department! Part of the popular Requisites series, Emergency Radiology: The Requisites delivers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need for effective clinical practice in emergency radiology, as well certification and recertification review. Master core knowledge the easy and affordable way with clear, concise text enhanced by at-a-glance illustrations, boxes, and tables - all revised and enhanced with digital content to bring you up to date with today's state of the art knowledge. Presents emergent findings and differential diagnosis tables so that important content is identified clearly within the text. Divides the contents of the book into two sections - trauma and non-trauma - to mirror the way you practice. Organizes the material in structured, consistent chapter layouts for efficient and effective review. Provides clinical material on radiology procedures that define your role in managing a patient with an emergent condition. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Prepare for written exams or clinical practice with critical information on CTA in the ED on coronary, aorta, brain, and visceral arteries, plus new protocols for trauma and non-traumatic injuries. Stay up to date on what's new in the field with thoroughly revised content and new, high-quality images obtained with today's best technology. Get optimal results from today's most often-used approaches, including the increase in routine use of "panscan" for trauma patients. Gain a practical, visual understanding of emergency radiology thanks to more than 900 multi-modality images and easy access to the eBook version. Study and review in the most efficient way, with structured, consistent chapter layouts for time-saving and effective exam preparation.
Emergency Radiology of the Head and Spine by Mariano Scaglione; Çalli, Mario Muto; Stefan Wirth, 2022
This book provides an up-to-date, systematic review of all facets of emergency radiology in patients with head and spine injuries. The aim is to equip readers with a detailed knowledge of the various radiological patterns that may be encountered, thereby facilitating prompt diagnosis under circumstances in which time is of crucial importance. The indications, value, and results of the various emergency imaging modalities, including interventional radiology, are described and illustrated in the full range of traumatic and nontraumatic head and spine emergencies. In addition, basic management principles and technological aspects are fully explained, and protocols tailored to the mechanism of injury are presented. Emergency Radiology of the Head and Spine will be of value to neuroradiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, neurosurgeons, emergency radiologists, emergency physicians, radiology residents, radiology technicians, and all physicians and surgeons who work in emergency care.
ISBN: 9783030910471
eBooks
Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound by John P. McGahan; Michael A. Schick; Lisa Mills, 2020
Written by a multidisciplinary group of contributors, including radiologists, emergency physicians, critical care specialists, anesthesiologists, and surgeons, Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound is a first-of-its-kind reference that clearly explains the many technical nuances and diagnostic skills necessary for optimal use of ultrasound in emergency settings. This concise, easy-to-read resource covers both non-invasive and invasive ultrasound-guided procedures for a wide range of adult and pediatric trauma and non-trauma conditions. A practical emphasis on differential diagnosis helps facilitate rapid diagnosis, triage, and disposition decisions in emergency situations where ultrasound can be used. Provides a depth of understanding and interpretation from a multidisciplinary group of chapter authors, with step-by-step details on anatomy, equipment considerations, positioning, technique, normal and abnormal findings, and common pitfalls. Covers invasive procedures and ultrasound-guided injections such as thoracentesis, paracentesis, nerve blocks, and central and peripheral venous access. Includes correlative CT, MR, and Doppler images to enhance ultrasound visualization, in addition to more than 500+ high-quality ultrasound images and 75+ line drawings. Offers up-to-date coverage on the e-FAST, trans-thoracic and trans-esophageal echocardiography, pulmonary, and cranial sonography, among other emergency modalities. Features more than 150 ultrasound video clips that show the many nuances of ultrasound use. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound by Kristin A. Carmody; Christopher L. Moore; David Feller-Kopman, 2011
A quick-access practical handbook for the use of ultrasound in critical care and emergency department settings Point-of-care ultrasound offers a readily available, noninvasive, reproducible modality that can expedite and improve care in the critical care and the emergency setting. This handy guide clarifies basic concepts and provides the hands-on guidance necessary for clinicians to arrive at better therapeutic decisions and perform safer procedures with the use of ultrasound. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound opens with important chapters on ultrasound basics, ultrasound orientation, and probe selection, machine controls, and equipment. 22 additional chapters cover organ or system-specific procedural applications and approaches to the trauma patient. You will also find algorithms for the patient with undifferentiated chest pain, dyspnea, hypotension, and abdominal pain. 259 drawings and photographs support the text, illustrating patient positioning, basic views, anatomy, and common pathology. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound is the perfect resource for critical care and emergency providers who wish to deepen their knowledge of sonography and broaden their use of ultrasound in the care of their patient.
Ma and Mateers' Emergency Ultrasound, 4th ed. by O. John Ma; James R. Mateer; Robert F. Reardon, 2021
The pioneering text in emergency ultrasound--the only guide you will need Ma and Mateer's Emergency Ultrasound has been the definitive text for clinicians since it was first published. Now updated with new chapters, expanded coverage, and new video, this generously illustrated guide covers the training, techniques, and skills for successfully applying point-of-care ultrasound, with a special emphasis on clinical issues commonly encountered in the emergency or acute care settings. Features Well-organized chapters address: Clinical considerations and indications Anatomical considerations Techniques Common abnormalities Pitfalls Video cases Coverage of trauma, cardiac, critical care, pulmonary, hepatobiliary, renal, testicular, and other ultrasound applications Expanded chapters on cardiac and musculoskeletal ultrasound Useful measurements and quantitative references throughout Side-by-side comparisons of normal and abnormal scans New chapters on resuscitation of the critically ill and regional anesthesia Videos easily accessed via QR codes More than 800 photos and illustrations With consistent chapter organization that makes it easy to find the answers you need, this peerless text serves as an essential roadmap and reference to point-of-care ultrasound.
Pediatric Emergency Radiology by Ann M. Dietrich; Gayathri Sreedher, 2023
Part of the "What Do I Do Now?: Emergency Medicine" series, Pediatric Emergency Radiology uses a case-based approach to cover common and important topics in radiology imaging for pediatric emergency care. Each chapter provides a discussion of the diagnosis, key points to remember, and selected references for further reading. Areas of controversy are clearly delineated with a discussion regarding evidence-based options and a balanced view of treatment and disposition decisions. The book addresses a wide range of topics including neonatal respiratory distress, foreign body ingestion, Bronchiolitis, and related radiology issues faced by emergency medicine providers and pediatricians. Pediatric Emergency Radiology is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which clinicians can utilize for effective imaging of pediatric patients. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"
ISBN: 9780197628577
Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by Robert Vezzetti; Jestin Carlson; Debra Pennington, 2022
Children and infants comprise up to 20% of emergency department visits, and emergency physicians must be knowledgeable in choosing the most appropriate imaging modality to arrive at an accurate diagnosis and provide optimal patient care. Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited pediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of pediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI. Identifies key radiographic findings for various pediatric conditions including congenital heart lesions, surgical entities, infectious disease processes, and traumatic injuries. Accompanies images with clear, concise text that makes it easy to grasp the most clinically significant points of each case. Provides expert guidance on best practices in important areas of pediatric imaging such as sedation, ionizing radiation exposure reduction, and imaging modality selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Problem Solving in Emergency Radiology by Wayne S. Kubal; Stuart E. Mirvis; Jorge A. Soto; Kathirkamanathan Shanmuganathan; Joseph Yu, 2015
Optimize diagnostic accuracy in the emergency department with Problem Solving in Radiology: Emergency Radiology, a new addition to the popular Problem Solving in Radiology series. Published in association with the American Society of Emergency Radiology, the medical reference book is designed to help experienced radiologists, residents, or emergency medicine practitioners accurately address problematic conditions and reach the most accurate diagnosis. "This book will have broad appeal to many audiences. It will prove an invaluable resource to any practicing radiologist providing coverage of emergency department imaging, regardless of whether or not the radiologist self-identifies as an emergency radiologist." Foreword by Stephen Ledbetter, Chief of Radiology Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital, May 2015 Access problem-oriented content that helps you quickly and accurately diagnose patients. Focus on the core knowledge needed for successful results with templated, concise chapters containing both traditional and unusual presentations of pathology. Each chapter will include: Typical Presentation; Variants; Mimickers (what looks like this pathology, but isn't); and Pitfalls (how a diagnosis can be missed and how to avoid it). Stay up to date on today's hot topics in radiology, including radiation concerns when using total body CT for trauma assessment; trauma in the pregnant patient; imaging pediatric craniocerebral trauma; and penetrating trauma to the torso and chest. Access the full text online at Expert Consult.
