Otolaryngology / Head and Neck Surgery: Audiology

Acoustic Signals and Hearing by Mikio Tohyama, 2020 Understanding acoustics - the science of sound -- is essential for audio and communications engineers working in media technology. It is also extremely important for engineers to understand what allows a sound to be heard in the way it is, what makes speech intelligible, and how a particular sound is recognized within a multitude of sounds. Acoustic Signals and Hearing: A Time-Envelope and Phase Spectral Approach is unique in presenting the principles of sound and sound fields from the perspective of hearing, particularly through the use of speech and musical sounds. Acoustic Signals and Hearing: A Time-Envelope and Phase Spectral Approach is an ideal resource for researchers and acoustic engineers working in today's environment of media technology, and graduate students studying acoustics, audio engineering, and signal processing.

Audiology: Science to Practice, 4th ed. by Steven Kramer; David K. Brown, 2023 With two new chapters, improved artwork, and significant updates made throughout, the fourth edition of Audiology: Science to Practice continues to be the most comprehensive textbook for audiology and hearing science courses, as well as for health care professionals wanting a better understanding of hearing science and audiology practices. It is written in a style that makes new or difficult concepts relatively easy to understand, while still providing more coverage of hearing and vestibular science and clinical audiology than other introductory texts. Topics include information about the profession of audiology, acoustics, anatomy and physiology of the auditory and vestibular systems, preparing for the patient, otoscopy, pure-tone audiometry and speech measures, audiogram interpretations, masking, tympanometry, acoustic reflexes, wideband acoustic immittance, otoacoustic emissions, auditory brainstem responses, hearing screening, hearing aids, assistive listening aides, cochlear and other implantable devices, vestibular evaluation, descriptions of auditory and vestibular disorders, and aural rehabilitation. There is also a chapter on the roles of speech-language pathologists related to understanding and caring for persons with hearing and balance concerns. Where relevant, the material includes evidence-based practice. New to the Fourth Edition Two new chapters: Role of the Speech-Language Pathologist and Other Treatments and (Re)habilitation of Hearing and Balance Disorders Many new beautifully drawn two-color anatomy and physiology illustrations Black and white figures have been color-enhanced  Several chapters were reorganized and updated to include vestibular anatomy, physiology, and vestibular disorders within the relevant auditory chapters A separate chapter on vestibular evaluation and bedside screening Many chapters expanded to provide information on environmental factors that affect the transmission of sound, signal-to-noise ratio, preparation for testing, cerumen management, assistive listening technology systems (HATS), and status of over-the-counter hearing aids  Updated references and standards throughout Key Features Many illustrations to help clarify and expand on key concepts Chapters begin with a list of learning objectives and end with key references Punctuated with historical and informational set-aside boxes An easy-to-read writing style to help students understand scientific concepts  Key terms highlighted throughout with a comprehensive end-of-book glossary 

The Auditory System in Sleep by Ricardo Velluti, 2018 The Auditory System in Sleep, Second Edition presents a view of a sensory system working in a different state, that of the sleeping brain. This updated edition contains new chapters on topics such as implanted deaf patients and sleep and tinnitus treatments. It is written for basic auditory system and sleep researchers, as well as practitioners and clinicians in the Auditory/Sensory Neurosciences and Sleep Medicine. As the auditory system is always "open", thus receiving information from the environment and the body itself (conscious and unconscious data), the incoming sensory information may alter sleep and waking physiology, and conversely, the sleeping brain. This book draws information from evoked potentials, fMRI, PET, SPECT, lesions, and more.

Brain Oscillations, Synchrony and Plasticity: Basic Principles and Application to Auditory-Related Disorders by Jos J. Eggermont, 2021 Brain Oscillations, Synchrony and Plasticity: Basic Principles and Application to Auditory-Related Disorders discusses the role of brain oscillations, especially with respect to the auditory system and how those oscillations are measured, change over the lifespan, and falter leading to a variety of psychiatric and neurological disorders. The book begins with a description of these cortical rhythm oscillations and how they function in both the normal and pathological brain. It explains how these oscillations are important to auditory, executive and attention brain networks and how they relate to the development, production and deterioration of speech and language. In addition, treatment of malfunctioning cortical rhythms are reviewed using neuromodulation, such as transcranial magnetic, direct current, random noise, and alternating current stimulation, as well as focused ultrasound. The book concludes by describing the potential role of oscillations in dyslexia, autism, schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease.

Essentials of Audiology, 5th ed. by Stanley A. Gelfand; Lauren Calandruccio, 2023 The quintessential core textbook for audiology and speech-language pathology students Essentials of Audiology, Fifth Edition by renowned audiology and hearing science experts Stanley A. Gelfand and Lauren Calandruccio has been updated to incorporate advances and changes in the field of audiology that have occurred since the publication of the prior edition. These include advances in audiological diagnosis and intervention in such areas as electrophysiological assessment, pediatric evaluation, cochlear implants, speech perception, hearing aids, and related technologies. The text has also been updated to reflect revised clinical guidelines, expert position papers, current systematic reviews, and standards and regulations that affect clinical practice. In addition to the reader-friendly text for which the book is well-known, the new edition actively embraces diversity with features such as non-gendered language (e.g., singular they) and more inclusive photographs and drawings. This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of audiology at the introductory level with discussions on acoustics, anatomy and physiology, sound perception, auditory disorders and the nature of hearing impairment, methods of measurement, screening, clinical assessment, and clinical management. The book includes 17 chapters, starting with Acoustics and Sound Measurement and concluding with Effects of Noise and Hearing Conservation. As with the prior editions, the text is highly relevant and conducive to learning, thanks to the input of a distinguished group of audiologists involved in clinical practice, research, teaching, and student supervision, along with insightful advice from recent audiology students. Key Highlights Co-authored by renowned clinician-scientists, educators, and Fellows of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and the American Academy of Audiology Extensively updated and expanded content encompasses current standards and clinical guidelines State-of-the-art hearing science, audiology, and related disciplines provide a firm foundation for evidence-based audiological best practices Clear and informative classroom-tested illustrations, figures, tables, explanations, and examples enhance understanding This comprehensive introductory text is essential reading for undergraduate students of speech, language, and hearing and will also benefit first-level graduate students who need to learn or review fundamentals. This print book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Children, Adults, and Their Family Membersm 6th ed. by Nancy Tye-Murray, 2024 Thoroughly updated with three new chapters, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Children, Adults, and Their Family Members, Sixth Edition introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing-related communication disorders in children and adults. The book includes case studies, and general demographic, medical, and pop-cultural trends are considered in parallel with corresponding developments in aural rehabilitation. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, diagnostics, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, language and speech acquisition, and literacy. New to the Sixth Edition Reorganization of chapters combine shared themes and streamline learning: Audiological Examination and Listening Devices chapters have been combined into Chapter 2 Assessing Conversational Fluency and Communication chapters are now combined into Chapter 6 New chapters on: Auditory training for children, with detailed guidance for developing training objectives and activities (Chapter 13) Language development and language therapy (Chapter 14) Speech and literacy acquisition, along with practical examples of lessons (Chapter 15) Inclusion or expansion of special topics, including auditory processing disorder, hidden hearing loss, unilateral hearing loss, and cultural competency Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features Focus on evidence-based approaches to aural rehabilitation  Written in an engaging and clear style  Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Case studies in each chapter Numerous illustrations, tables, sidebars, and text boxes enrich the presentation of concepts Bolded key terms throughout with definitions in the margins and a comprehensive glossary make for easy review  Chapter Key Resources and Appendices provide tools that can be used in clinical practice

Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, 3rd ed. by Deborah R. Welling and Carol A. Ukstins, 2023 Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition is specifically written to provide the speech language pathologist with a knowledge base to work with individuals who are hard of hearing, deaf and diagnosed with (central) auditory processing disorder. Serving as a guide to the management of hearing loss, this unique resource presents basic audiological concepts in a clear, concise, easy to understand format, eliminating extensive technical jargon. This comprehensive text covers various types and degrees of hearing loss and the resulting auditory, speech, and language difficulties. Moving away from an exclusively diagnostic format of audiology practices, this text also focuses on the rehabilitative aspects of hearing loss and empowering students to collaborate with audiologists throughout their career. Unlike other texts, Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition presents detailed information on all audiometric testing procedures and how to read and interpret audiometric results. The text covers programmatic planning from early intervention through geriatrics while also providing a thorough review of normal hearing development from birth through eight years of age. Each chapter of the text is organized into these helpful sections: What You Need to Know, How it Works, Technically Speaking, Methodologies. This approach breaks down each concept in a way that facilitates student comprehension and retention. Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos and animations, resource tool kit, flashcards, and more! New chapter providing an overview of listening and spoken language therapy certification and training Includes examples of aural rehabilitation goals Provides guidance on how to counsel patients and their families regarding the impact of hearing loss Checklists and patient questionnaires that benefit students once in practice Provides the latest information about the constantly evolving world of hearing assistance technology, including progress made in hearing aids and cochlear implants

Hearing Loss by Jos J. Eggermont, 2017 Hearing Loss: Causes, Prevention, and Treatment covers hearing loss, causes and prevention, treatments, and future directions in the field, also looking at the cognitive problems that can develop. To avoid the "silent epidemic" of hearing loss, it is necessary to promote early screening, use hearing protection, and change public attitudes toward noise. Successful treatments of hearing loss deal with restoring hearing sensitivity via hearing aids, including cochlear, brainstem, or midbrain implants. Both the technical aspects and effects on the quality of life of these devices are discussed. The integration of all aspects of hearing, hearing loss, prevention, and treatment make this a perfect one-volume course in audiology at the graduate student level. However, it is also a great reference for established audiologists, ear surgeons, neurologists, and pediatric and geriatric professionals.

Hearing Loss, 5th ed. by Robert Thayer Sataloff; Pamela C. Roehm, 2025 Covering all aspects of the anatomy, physiology, diagnosis, and treatment of hearing loss, this is an accessible and comprehensive text for all clinicians interested in expanding their knowledge of hearing loss. There have been many exciting developments in the nearly two decades since the fourth edition was published. This revised edition includes new material on cochlear biology, synaptopathy, regenerative therapy for sensorineural hearing loss, systemic causes of hearing loss such as autoimmune inner ear disease, advances in audiometry and aural rehabilitation, and many other topics. In addition, it contains expanded chapters on tinnitus, dizziness, and facial paralysis, as well as updated material on otoacoustic emissions, sudden hearing loss, hearing protection devices, temporal bone tumors, nutraceutical research, and hearing in dogs. The book is extensively augmented with case reports that illustrate important principles. The book is of value to otolaryngologists, general practitioners, pediatricians, residents, medical students, audiologists, nurses, audiometric technicians, attorneys, and other professionals with an interest in the ear and hearing.