eBooks
Atlas of Frontal Sinus Surgery : A Comprehensive Surgical Guide by
The atlas offers a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of frontal sinus surgery. In recent years there have been great advances in endoscopic nasosinusal surgery but they have been particularly prominent in frontal sinus surgery. The book provides complete instructions for a gradual learning of the different surgical techniques and includes surgical pearls. It is enriched with videos presenting real-time guidance for frontal sinus endoscopic procedures. The book will meet the needs of both trainees and more experienced practitioners, and will enable them to make steady progress in endoscopic surgery and to adopt a more complete and safe approach to the frontal sinus. It will be of interest also for ophthalmologists, maxillofacial surgeons and neurosurgeons.
ISBN: 9783030981280
Bailey's Head and Neck Surgery, 5th ed. by
Completely revised, this fifth edition of Bailey's Head and Neck Surgery - Otolaryngology offers the most current and useful evidence-based information available for the practicing otolaryngologist and otolaryngology resident. Written to increase the reader's understanding, retention, and ability to successfully apply the information learned, this easy-to-read text contains concise, practical content on all areas of head and neck surgery in Otolaryngology. With 207 concise chapters, over 3,000 four-color illustrations, and helpful summary tables everything about this two-volume reference is designed to enhance the learning experience. FEATURES: * NEW! Contemporary Issues in Medical Practice * NEW! Preferred treatment sections * NEW! Pearls and pitfalls in all treatment sections * NEW! Airway, Swallowing, and Voice content all in one Section: Laryngology * NEW! Section on Sleep Medicine
ISBN: 9781609136024Publication Date: 2013-06-29
Computer-Assisted Planning in Craniofacial Surgery by
Recent advances in both scanning instruments and supporting software have made intraoperative 3D imaging a reality in today’s plastic and reconstructive surgery. Computer-Assisted Planning in Craniofacial Surgery provides authoritative, state-of-the-art information on when and how to apply technologies such as virtual planning, stereolithography, and navigation in the practice of craniofacial surgery. This unique, clinically focused title discusses the history and evolution of current techniques, extensively covers the application of current technologies, and includes multidisciplinary perspectives throughout, providing a comprehensive, holistic view of this important topic.
Follows a standard format in each chapter: history of the topic, current literature and applications, key steps and techniques of virtual planning and navigation (with video), and pearls/pitfalls shared by a master surgeon with expertise in each particular area.
Includes preoperative photographs and postoperative results, radiological and computerized imaging, and clinical photos throughout.
Covers potential complications to be aware of in the postoperative period.
Offers expert perspectives on computer-assisted planning from surgeons, physicists, engineers, and other industry leaders.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
ISBN: 9780323826686
Controversies in Skull Base Surgery by
State-of-the-art approaches and insightful discussions on challenging topics in skull base surgery Advances in endoscopic, microsurgical, radiosurgical, and pharmacotherapeutic strategies have revolutionized the treatment of skull base pathologies. Controversies in Skull Base Surgery, edited by Andrew Little and Michael Mooney and authored by esteemed multidisciplinary contributors, focuses on management strategies and treatment options for a wide range of tumors affecting the skull base, while addressing the most urgent and challenging questions facing skull base surgeons today. Throughout nine sections and 46 chapters, experts describe the treatment of neoplasms such as vestibular schwannoma, meningioma, pituitary adenoma, craniopharyngioma, chordoma, cranial nerve schwannoma, sinonasal malignancies, and others. In many chapters, authors provide instructional case studies and suggestions for future studies to help clarify areas of controversy. This textbook is unique in that it tackles problems typically minimized or ignored by other texts that impact a patient's quality of life and recovery. Key Highlights Reader-friendly tables feature concise summaries, author pearls, and levels of available evidence Pearls and insights on hotly debated issues such as the role of radiosurgery, surgery vs. medical management, radical resection vs. subtotal resection, and proton-beam vs. photon therapy for various pathologic conditions Controversies not frequently discussed in depth, including the use of lumbar drains, postoperative antibiotics, and cerebral revascularization in skull base surgery; multidisciplinary collaboration in endoscopic endonasal surgery; skull base reconstruction techniques; and the future of robotics in skull base surgery This stellar resource will benefit all residents and advanced practice providers who evaluate and treat patients with sk
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by
Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons * Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum * Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries
Ear Surgery Illustrated: A Comprehensive Atlas of Otologic Microsurgical Techniques by
This richly illustrated ear microsurgery atlas shows a picture is worth a thousand words! In order to envision a three-dimensional picture of the surgical space and ultimately to master surgery, surgeons need thorough visual and clinical knowledge of anatomy. Ear Surgery Illustrated: A Comprehensive Atlas of Otologic Microsurgical Techniques by renowned surgeon Robert Jackler and illustrator Christine Gralapp reflects more than three decades of collaboration. The color illustrations herein communicate a wealth of surgical anatomy and technique with exceptional clarity and precision. Succinct, insightful text paired with the drawings delineate key landmarks, define crucial relationships, and elucidate complex concepts. Fifteen chapters encompass the broad spectrum of modern otological surgery practice -- from commonplace procedures to complex tertiary-quaternary operative care. The appendix features helpful educational handouts surgeons can give to patients. Key Features More than 1,100 precise full-color illustrations with explanatory text cover a broad range of microsurgical approaches A wide range of surgical procedures including stapes surgery, tympanoplasty, ossiculoplasty, mastoidectomy, vestibular surgery, cochlear implants, temporal bone resection, and petrous apicectomy Management of various diseases and conditions such as cholesteatoma, facial nerve issues, temporal bone fractures, hearing loss, encephaloceles, cerebrospinal fluid leaks, and pulsatile tinnitus Stepwise procedural guidance throughout the atlas enables novice otolaryngologists and subspecialty otologists to achieve optimal surgical outcomes. Experienced surgeons will find insightful tips and helpful tricks to refine skills and tackle more complex technical challenges encountered in practice. Paired with Robert Jackler's and Christine Gralapp's Atlas of Skull Bas
Publication Date: 2019-09-27
Exoscope-Assisted Surgery in Otorhinolaryngology by
Offering a practical, clinically focused approach to the use of the three-dimensional exoscope in the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, Exoscope Assisted Surgery in Otorhinolaryngology is an up-to-date, expert guide to the optimal use of this new technology. Written by surgeons with extensive experience in this fast-changing area, this title is an excellent resource for otolaryngologists and oral and maxillofacial surgeons who need a better understanding of the advantages of exoscope technology and its use in various surgical procedures. Synthesizes current evidence-based literature and personal experience regarding the use of exoscopes in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. Offers a practical approach focused on clinical decision making.
ISBN: 9780323831680Publication Date: 2021-07-22
eBooks
Gray's Surgical Anatomy by
Written and edited by expert surgeons in collaboration with a world-renowned anatomist, this exquisitely illustrated reference consolidates surgical, anatomical and technical knowledge for the entire human body in a single volume. Part of the highly respected Gray's 'family,' this new resource brings to life the applied anatomical knowledge that is critically important in the operating room, with a high level of detail to ensure safe and effective surgical practice. Gray's Surgical Anatomy is unique in the field: effectively a textbook of regional anatomy, a dissection manual, and an atlas of operative procedures - making it an invaluable resource for surgeons and surgical trainees at all levels of experience, as well as students, radiologists, and anatomists. Brings you expert content written by surgeons for surgeons, with all anatomical detail quality assured by Lead Co-Editor and Gray's Anatomy Editor-in-Chief, Professor Susan Standring. Features superb colour photographs from the operating room, accompanied by detailed explanatory artwork and figures from the latest imaging modalities - plus summary tables, online videos (intra-operative and cadaveric), self-assessment questions, and case-based scenarios - making it an ideal reference and learning package for surgeons at all levels. Reflects contemporary practice with chapters logically organized by anatomical region, designed for relevance to surgeons across a wide range of subspecialties, practice types, and clinical settings - and aligned to the requirements of current trainee curricula. Maximizes day-to-day practical application with references to core surgical procedures throughout, as well as the 'Tips and Anatomical Hazards' from leading international surgeons. Demonstrates key anatomical features and relationships that are essential for safe surgical practice - using brand-new illustrations, supplemented by carefully selected contemporary artwork from the most recent edition of Gray's Anatomy and other leading publications. Integrates essential anatomy for robotic and minimal access approaches, including laparoscopic and endoscopic techniques. Features dedicated chapters describing anatomy of lumbar puncture, epidural anaesthesia, peripheral nerve blocks, echocardiographic anatomy of the heart, and endoscopic anatomy of the gastrointestinal tract - as well as a unique overview of human factors and minimizing error in the operating room, essential non-technical skills for improving patient outcomes and safety. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices - PLUS a wealth of BONUS content not found in the printed book.
Jatin Shah's Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology, 5th ed. by
Providing practical, multidisciplinary coverage of the latest diagnostic and multidisciplinary therapeutic approaches for head and neck cancer, the 5th Edition of this award-winning text helps you achieve the best possible surgical outcomes and preserve and restore form and function. Internationally renowned surgeon Dr. Jatin P. Shah, joined by colleagues Snehal G. Patel, Bhuvanesh Singh, and Richard Wong, guides you step by step through every aspect of this challenging field, helping you take advantage of every multidisciplinary management approach available for your patients. Offers complete coverage of the scalp, skull base, paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, cervical lymph nodes, thyroid, salivary glands, and soft tissue and bone tumors - from incidence, diagnosis, and work up through treatment planning, operative techniques, rehabilitation, and outcomes. Features new diagnostic approaches, staging, algorithmic thought processes for therapy selection, and outcomes of treatment for head and neck tumors, allowing for a better overall understanding of head and neck oncology. Includes new information on multimodal management of head and neck cancer; a new Radiation Therapy Glossary; and hundreds of new surgical photographs presented in sequential order from the surgeon's point of view. Provides outcomes of therapy data from the NCDB, institutional data from MSKCC, and evidence-based information throughout. Covers key topics such as radiation oncology, medical oncology including targeted therapies, and maxillofacial prosthodontics and dental oncology. Addresses the day-to-day, practical care of patients with basic operating room techniques and technology, intraoperative decisions, and post-operative care for patients undergoing head and neck surgery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Otolaryngology, 3rd ed. by
Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Oral, Head and Neck Oncology and Reconstructive Surgery by
Oral, Head and Neck Oncology and Reconstructive Surgery is the first multidisciplinary text to provide readers with a system for managing adult head and neck cancers based upon stage. Using an evidence-based approach to the management and treatment of a wide variety of clinical conditions, the extensive experience of the author and contributors in head and neck surgery and oncology are highlighted throughout the text. This includes computer aided surgical simulation, intraoperative navigation, robotic surgery, endoscopic surgery, microvascular reconstructive surgery, molecular science, and tumor immunology. In addition, high quality photos and illustrations are included, which are easily accessible on mobile devices. Management protocols and outcomes assessment provide clear guidelines for managing problems related to adult head and neck oncology and reconstructive surgery. State-of-the art guidance by recognized experts details current techniques as well as technological advances in head and neck/cranio-maxillofacial surgery and oncology. Evidence-based content details the latest diagnostic and therapeutic options for treating a wide-variety of clinical problems with an emphasis on surgical technique and outcomes. Multidisciplinary approach reflects best practices in managing head and neck oncology and cranio-maxillofacial surgery. 900 highly detailed images clearly demonstrate pathologies and procedures. Designed for the modern classroom which lets you access important information anywhere through mobile tablets and smart phones.
ISBN: 9780323265683Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Otologic Surgery, 5th ed. by
With its step-by-step approach and brilliant full-color design, Otologic Surgery, 5th Edition, provides the authoritative guidance you need to hone your surgical skills and ensure optimal outcomes for your patients. Renowned leaders in the field, led by Drs. Derald Brackmann, Clough Shelton, Moises Arriaga, and Richard K. Gurgel , cover surgical approaches to the ear and skull base, techniques, alternate approaches, and controversial issues. Hundreds of crisp line drawings, high-quality photographs, and more than 60 procedural videos provide detailed visual guidance. Covers key procedures such as tympanoplasty and mastoidectomy, stapedectomy, and skull base surgery-everything from eardrum repair to complex skull base tumor removal. Provides step-by-step coverage of each procedure, including patient evaluation, patient selection, and patient counseling. Offers fully updated content throughout, with new content on endoscopic ear procedures, implantable hearing devices, and much more. Includes pediatric sections and revision surgery sections in each relevant chapter. Features an expanded video library covering facial reanimation, endoscopic techniques, infratemporal fossa approach, laser stapedotomy, exostosis repair, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323694278Publication Date: 2022-03-21
