Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Gastroenterology and Hepatology | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overviews
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyGastrointestinal
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Gastrointestinal Cancer
- GuidelineCentralHepatology
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Education
Mayo Clinic Gastroenterology and Hepatology Board Review, 6th ed. by
Mayo Clinic Gastroenterology and Hepatology Board Review, Sixth Edition, has been thoroughly revised to review the core essential knowledge in gastroenterology, hepatology, and relevant related areas of radiology, pathology, endoscopy, and nutrition for physicians, trainees, gastroenterology fellows in training, medical residents, medical students, gastrointestinal assistants, nurses, allied health care personnel, and other persons caring for patients. This edition has been edited by a new team of Mayo Clinic gastroenterologists and hepatologists, under the stewardship of Dr. Stephen C. Hauser, the editor-in-chief of the previous fifth edition. The faculty who authored this edition are all Mayo Clinic physicians who spend their time caring for patients and teaching in an academic medical center. Accordingly, the emphasis of this edition is on clinical knowledge to enhance patient management. Case-based presentations and numerous board examination-type, single best-answer questions with annotated answers facilitate self-testing and studying. New to This Edition? New chapters on complications after Roux-en-Y surgery and endoscopy for the gastroenterology board examination? Features such as key facts and key definitions are included in each chapter? More figures and tables to support the text
ISBN: 9780197679777
Gastrointestinal and Liver Secrets, 6th ed. by
To practice the art of medicine, one must learn the secrets of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and therapy. In this text, you will find the answers to many questions about hepatic and digestive diseases. We hope that medical students, residents, fellows, and, yes, even attending physicians will find the sixth edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Secrets instructive and insightful.
ISBN: 9780323936378
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review by
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is the only source you will need to pass the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) transplant hepatology examination. Written by two highly experienced hepatologists, this indispensable study guide covers all the main topics tested on the exam: pre-transplant, perioperative, post-transplant, and transplant immunology. 261 multiple-choice questions with answers, including questions based on the authors' real-life cases, are designed to mimic the clinical scenarios you will encounter in hepatology practice. Questions testing your medical knowledge, clinical insight, and management skills are supported by brief topic overviews, key references, high-quality images, pathology slides, and cholangiograms. Throughout the book, "Pearls" and "Must-Know Facts" sections emphasize testable points that are likely to appear on the ABIM board examination. The first hepatology-specific study aid of its kind, Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is a must-have for medical professionals preparing for the hepatology boards, as well as practicing gastroenterologists and hepatologists who want to refresh their knowledge and test their proficiency in both fundamental and advanced hepatology topics.
ISBN: 9781119853527Publication Date: 2023-01-18
Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets, 2d ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more.Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323810470Publication Date: 2023-02-01
Clinical Trials
- Centerwatch ClinicalTrials Listing ServiceGastroenterology
- Centerwatch Clinical Trials Listing ServiceHepatology (Liver, Pancreatic, Gall Bladder)
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Core eBooks
Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th ed. by
Balancing basic science with information on everyday clinical practice, Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th Edition, provides you with expert guidance and advances in the field so you can offer patients the most optimal diagnostic and surgical care. In two convenient volumes, Dr. William Jarnagin and his team of internationally recognized surgeons cover exactly what you need to know, including advances in diagnostic and surgical techniques, minimally invasive surgeries, new interventional diagnostic techniques, and all relevant diseases. This comprehensive, practical reference is designed to help you choose and perform the most appropriate procedures that will minimize inpatient hospital time, curtail costs, and reduce overall recovery time for your patients. Presents cutting-edge guidance on pathology, diagnostics, surgery and non-operative intervention of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas in one highly regarded, authoritative reference. Covers all surgical approaches, both open and minimally invasive. Considers all worldwide opinions and approaches to management, and includes key data on surgical outcomes to better inform clinical decision-making. Contains 161 chapters with updated references and additional figures-more than 1,500 illustrations in all. The imaging section has been reorganized to reflect a disease-based approach. Includes new and expanded sections on advances in molecular characterization of benign and malignant HPB diseases, perioperative management, interventional techniques, minimally invasive surgery and robotics, and therapeutic advances for malignant disease. Features a section dedicated entirely to operative technique, plus a new historical chapter authored by Professor Jacques Belghitti: "Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery: Historical Perspective." Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary and Pancreatic Surgery, 2nd ed. by
During his years at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Dr. Leslie H. Blumgart developed an extensive video library of high-quality, narrated and captioned video of his personal techniques used to train surgeons worldwide. These videos present history, radiologic evidence, and operative procedures - from major and minor resectional procedures to biliary and pancreatic anastomotic techniques. Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary & Pancreatic Surgery, 2nd Edition, compiles these outstanding videos, along with laparoscopic alternatives to these landmark surgeries from Dr. Carlos U. Corvera, into one outstanding multimedia resource that brings you fully up to date with innovative and advanced techniques in hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery. Covers diseases of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas, both in print and on more than 120 videos. Offers step-by-step discussion of open surgical procedures by world renowned surgeon Dr. Les Blumgart, allowing you to see clearly how an expert handles a difficult case. Includes an expanded number of minimally invasive laparoscopic techniques for the management of liver disease and pancreatic tumors, contributed by Dr. Carlos Corvera. Features a new chapter on laparoscopic hepatectomy techniques, as well as several new videos that showcase totally laparoscopic approaches to major hepatectomy, and the benefits of a hand-assisted laparoscopic approach. Details recent advances in laparoscopic liver and pancreatic surgery, modifications to open right hepatectomy (a "bottom-up" approach), right hepatectomy for donor liver transplant, and management of rare complications of gallstones disease. Includes both conceptual and imaging anatomy in print, including new cadaver dissections, allowing you to better understand surgeries preoperatively and consider the impact of anatomy and disease on the surgical procedure. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery and Liver Transplantation: A Comprehensive Guide, with Video Clips by
This book describes and illustrates surgical procedures in the field of hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery and liver transplantation, including important cutting-edge techniques. Written by master surgeons from the Korean Association of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery, it will be invaluable for all who are embarking on a career in this field or are seeking to improve their surgical skills. The three sections of the book focus on liver surgery, gallbladder and biliary surgery, and pancreatic surgery. A wide range of operative procedures are covered, including different techniques of hepatectomy, deceased and living donor liver transplantation, cholecystectomy, resection of choledochal cysts, procedures appropriate in the contexts of hilar and extrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma, pancreatectomy, and pancreaticoduodenectomy. Attention is drawn to essential tips and tricks, and each chapter includes video clips of the described procedures in addition to high-quality surgical photos and illustrations.
ISBN: 9789811619960
Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management, 2nd ed. by
Explore this practical and step-by-step guide to managing liver transplant patients from leading international clinicians in Hepatology; The newly revised Second Edition of Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management delivers expert clinical guidance on best practices in managing the care of liver transplant patients. Authors are all experts in their field and cover a world-wide perspective. Organized in an accessible, stepwise fashion and packed with text features such as key points, the book covers all critical areas of each stage of the liver transplant journey, from assessment, to management on the list, to long term care. Readers will learn when to refer a patient for liver transplantation, how to assess a potential liver transplant recipient, learn the principles of the procedure and the long term management of the transplant recipient. Liver Transplantation provides the entire hepatology and surgical team the information required for a sound understanding of the entire procedure, from pre- to post-operative care and management. Clinically oriented and management-focused, the book is far more accessible than the liver transplant sections in traditional hepatology textbooks. Readers will also enjoy: A thorough discussion of when to refer a patient for liver transplantation, including general considerations and the use and abuse of prognostic models An exploration of the selection, assessment, and management of patients on the transplant list, including how to manage a patient with chronic liver disease while on the waiting list A treatment of liver transplantation for acute liver failure (ALF), including assessment and management of ALF patients on the transplant waiting list A discussion of care of the liver transplant recipient after the procedure in the short and long term Perfect for gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and surgeons and other health care professionals managing patients with liver disease who are awaiting, undergoing and following liver transplantation, Liver Transplantation: Clinical Assessment and Management will also earn a place in the libraries of medical students, residents, internal medicine physicians, and GI/Hepatology trainees and all health care professionals providing clinical care to people with liver disease, before, during and after transplantation.
Publication Date: 2021-02-25
Liver Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
A concise, illustrated guide to the operative techniques and medical management of liver transplantation Filled with more than 1,000 images, illustrations, and bulleted text, this invaluable book provides a highly visual approach to liver transplantations for surgeons, gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and other healthcare professionals who treat patients with acute and chronic liver failure that requires full or partial transplantation.;You'll find coverage of all the topics relevant to liver transplantation, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. This book will serve as a guide to residents, fellows, and senior physicians. It is easy to read, simple, and practical; FEATURES. Over 1,000 high quality images and illustrations Ethical considerations of organ transplantation Essentials of liver disease Pre- and post-operative patient management Donor considerations Quality of life issues Operative techniques Pathology and imaging, and more
The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery by
The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Fifty-one chapters cover topics including General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Biliary Surgery, Adrenal Surgery, Hernia Surgery, Transplant Surgery and Additional Procedures (including principles of Single Port Robotic Surgery). Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes, and each of these steps is a unit/block that needs to be sequentially acquired to become proficient in that specific procedure. Packed with 900+ photos and 900+ detailed anatomical and surgical drawings with also quick and easy access to 200+ surgical videos (including video clips of the most important steps and longer videos of full-procedures), The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery provides clear, concise and hands-on description of the instruments requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed and step-wise description of the operative steps. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery guides the reader through the processes of using robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Benefits to the surgeon include improved control over the instruments, better views of the surgical field, reduced fatigue, and decreased hand tremors, which are filtered out by the robot's software. Quick access to 200+ videos/video clips is available through the book in addition to boxed text highlighted tips and tricks, anatomical variations, common pitfalls, and average timeframes. Features 900+ photos 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers. Clear, concise presentation of the instruments/tools/material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps. Access to instructive videos clips (of the main steps and of the full procedures) appearing alongside numerous photos and anatomical illustrations. Boxed text highlight tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames. Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and Single Port Robotic Surgery principles are also covered.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery, Volume 1 - Breast, Lung, Pancreas, Colon by
Presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the first comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and techniques that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Key Features Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature, gathered here to create the highest quality standards in four key disease sites: breast, colon, lung, and pancreas. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these four cancer types. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 3 - Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary - by
TThe Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery manuals provide evidence-based recommendations for the proper technical conduct of cancer surgery. Presented by the American College of Surgeons, Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary helps surgeons distill the latest evidence into best practices and techniques that lead to improved outcomes. Focused on the steps between skin incision and skin closure, this manual is an invaluable resource for surgical oncologists and general surgeons alike.
Quickly grasp the proper technical conduct of cancer operations through clear, practical text and more than 150 illustrations.
Benefit from expert analysis of the best-available evidence
Gain insight into areas of controversy in surgical oncology
Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, and multiple national surgical and oncology societies.
Pancreas by
Over the last two decades, there have been major advances in imaging, endoscopy, and laparoscopy in the field of gastrointestinal (GI) surgery. GI surgery is the newest sub-specialty branch of general surgery, where enhanced expertise and high-volume centres have made a difference to the outcomes of complex operations. Surgeons can now perform difficult procedures with low morbidity and mortality rates, and greatly improved overall results. This volume provides detailed and comprehensive information on diseases of the pancreas. The pancreas continues to fascinate clinicians and researchers worldwide, due to its anatomical location deep inside the abdominal cavity and the various functions of the gland, some of which are well understood but others remaining ill-defined. Last but certainly not least, pancreatic surgery, along with liver surgery, remains the final frontier for the vast majority of GI and hepato-pancreato-biliary surgeons. The information explosion in this era has resulted in cutting-edge developments in acute pancreatitis, chronic pancreatitis, and pancreatic cancer. Comprising evidence-based contributions from recognized leaders in pancreatology, this book covers contemporary issues in acute and chronic pancreatitis and pancreatic cancer to help practicing surgeons and pancreatologists with the most up to date concepts in management. It will be a valuable resource for pancreas specialists, general surgeons with an interest in pancreatic diseases, researchers, and medical students.
ISBN: 9780192674319
Recent Innovations in Surgical Procedures of Pancreatic Neoplasms by
Our understanding of pancreatic tumors is changing thanks to recent advances in the field. New diagnostic techniques and imaging tests have improved the early diagnosis of these lesions, and as a result, the growing number of R0 surgical resections has meant a better prognosis for patients. Further, minimally invasive laparoscopic approaches have increased postoperative comfort. Presenting the latest research in the field, this book will appeal to clinicians in a wide range of medical specialities, including gastroenterologists, general physicians, and abdominal and biliopancreatic surgeons.
ISBN: 9783031213519
eBooks
Fundamentals of Bile Duct Injuries by
Bile duct injuries (BDI) are considered the most serious surgical complication associated with cholecystectomy. According to different reports, its incidence has remained constant over the years, ranging from 0.1% to 0.9%. BDI is associated with a greater risk of perioperative morbidity and mortality, a reduction in the quality of life, and a decrease in long-term survival. Also, this complication is a concern to surgeons since its progression is uncertain and may lead to demands on professional responsibility ("malpractice") and emotional and physical consequences ("second victim"). Given that injuries in a high percentage of patients are initially unsuspected, the postoperative recovery may be prolonged, and the possibility of a successful repair reduced. Several surgical, endoscopic, and percutaneous procedures may be necessary to manage the lesions and to treat coexisting complications. BDI patients often undergo several repair attempts before successful resolution. This affects their quality of life and has a high psychological, physical, and mental impact due to the prolonged, complex, and unexpected nature of the injury. This currently represents a frequent problem in specialized referral centers or hepatobilopancreatic surgery units, where patients arrive with the sequelae of previous inadequate treatments. Usually, these patients require more elaborate procedures such as reoperations, liver resections and liver transplantation. The prevention, early diagnosis, and adequate treatment in the first approach is of crucial importance to ensure good long-term results. Therefore, this book is an essential resource for surgeons who perform cholecystectomy or treat BDI patients. It provides practical information and a comprehensive review on prevention and proper management, including complex cases. Readers will find contributions by experienced authors from a multidisciplinary and reference team in the management of BDI patients.
ISBN: 9783031133824Publication Date: 2022-11-28
Greenberger's Current Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Fourth Edition by
From a Harvard Medical School dream team--the most important insights on managing digestive and hepatic diseases in the palm of your hand Presented in a streamlined, templated style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endoscopy, Fourth Edition offers authoritative insights for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating digestive tract and liver disorders. This peerless guide delivers authoritative coverage of the entire spectrum of gastroenterology and hepatology conditions, from stomach and esophageal to pancreatic and liver disorders, with very chapter outlining the essentials of diagnosis for each condition. Logically organized, the book begins with a section on general concerns, such as acute abdominal pain, and progresses to specific disease categories. High-yield overview of an effective treatment approach for chronic hepatitis C provides key perspectives on improving patient outcomes. Features 90+ full-color endoscopic and radiographic images enhance clinical decision-making and clarify imaging techniques Essentials of Diagnosis provide at-a-glance review of both common and rare digestive disorder Updated references to recently-published clinically relevant articles Includes continued coverage of the revised national guidelines
Handbook of Liver Disease, 4th ed. by
Well-organized and vibrantly illustrated throughout, Handbook of Liver Disease is a comprehensive yet concise handbook providing authoritative guidance on key clinical issues in liver disease. The quick-reference outline format ensures that you'll find answers when you need them, and cover-to-cover updates keep you abreast of the recent rapid changes in the field. Written by leading international experts in hepatology, this reference is ideal for hepatologists, gastroenterologists, internists, family practitioners, trainees, and others who diagnose and manage patients with liver disorders. Uses a highly templated outline format, key points in each chapter, alert symbols, and highlighted review points to provide a "just the facts" approach to daily clinical questions on liver disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features expanded hepatitis chapters, including completely updated coverage of new, safe, and effective oral regimens for the treatment of hepatitis C. Provides completely updated coverage of: alcoholic liver disease * autoimmune hepatitis * portal hypertension * primary biliary cholangitis * hepatic tumors * cirrhosis * nonalcoholic liver disease * liver transplantation * and more. Includes the latest information on adolescents with liver disease moving into adult care. Covers the revised criteria for prioritizing liver transplantation using the MELDNa score, new options for the treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma, and improved management of hepatorenal syndrome.
The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology, 6th ed. by
Bridging the gap between basic scientific advances and the understanding of liver disease -- the extensively revised new edition of the premier text in the field. The latest edition of The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology remains a definitive volume in the field of hepatology, relating advances in biomedical sciences and engineering to understanding of liver structure, function, and disease pathology and treatment. Contributions from leading researchers examine the cell biology of the liver, the pathobiology of liver disease, the liver's growth, regeneration, metabolic functions, and more. Now in its sixth edition, this classic text has been exhaustively revised to reflect new discoveries in biology and their influence on diagnosing, managing, and preventing liver disease. Seventy new chapters -- including substantial original sections on liver cancer and groundbreaking advances that will have significant impact on hepatology -- provide comprehensive, fully up-to-date coverage of both the current state and future direction of hepatology. Topics include liver RNA structure and function, gene editing, single-cell and single-molecule genomic analyses, the molecular biology of hepatitis, drug interactions and engineered drug design, and liver disease mechanisms and therapies. Edited by globally-recognized experts in the field, this authoritative volume: Relates molecular physiology to understanding disease pathology and treatment Links the science and pathology of the liver to practical clinical applications Features 16 new "Horizons" chapters that explore new and emerging science and technology Includes plentiful full-color illustrations and figures The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology, Sixth Edition is an indispensable resource for practicing and trainee hepatologists, gastroenterologists, hepatobiliary and liver transplant surgeons, and researchers and scientists in areas including hepatology, cell and molecular biology, virology, and drug metabolism.
ISBN: 9781119436836Publication Date: 2020-01-22
Liver Transplantation and Hepatobiliary Surgery: Interplay of Technical and Theoretical Aspects by
In the past, liver resections and liver transplantations were performed by different surgical teams, with very little interplay between the two. However, the evolution toward more complex operations called for an increasingly intense interaction between these surgical techniques: split liver and living donor liver transplantation have become popular in the transplant community, utilizing the Coinaud segmental anatomy in a very sophisticated way, while portal and arterial resection and reconstruction have become indispensable methods for treating Klatskin tumors infiltrating the hepatic hilum. This book offers a complete overview of the connections between liver transplantation and hepatobiliary surgery. It focuses on ex situ techniques for resection of tumors at the suprahepatic confluence, with or without venous reconstruction, and on total vascular exclusion of the liver with the aid of a venovenous bypass that should be a surgical option for referral centers in hepatopancreatobiliary surgery. By taking into consideration the development of minimally invasive liver surgery, it will introduce readers to a variety of new perspectives such as: vascular exclusion techniques with or without extracorporeal circulation, hemodynamic implications and lessons learned from liver transplant surgery, and technical details on pediatric transplantation and its informative role in modern biliary tract surgery.
ISBN: 9783030197629
Schiff's Diseases of the Liver, 12th ed. by
The most important and reliable resource for treating diseases of the liver For more than 55 years, "Schiff" has been acclaimed as the most outstanding liver book in the world. This new 12th edition brings the field completely up to date and includes a companion website that features a wide-variety of accessory materials. The text is evidence-based to offer hepatologists and gastroenterologists treating patients with liver disease a comprehensive and essential resource. The text highlights clinical practice and covers anatomy, pathology, testing, imaging, and the effects of liver disease on other organs. The book is written in clear and accessible terms and key features include: Treatment guidelines and management algorithms for every disease Full-color attractive design throughout the text Informative section overviews for each section Concise key concepts box in every chapter A full liver transplant section This 12th edition is thoroughly revised with the latest clinical information. The new edition offers: Information on acute and chronic liver failure and infections in cirrhosis Over 100 MCQs Downloads for Powerpoint(tm) making the content ideal for presentations Schiff's Diseases of the Liver is designed to be a first-stop reference for dealing with today's demanding clinical situations.
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 11th ed. by
For nearly 50 years, Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease has been the go-to reference for gastroenterology and hepatology residents, fellows, physicians, and the entire GI caregiving team. Now in a fully revised 11th Edition, this two-volume masterwork brings together the knowledge and expertise of hundreds of global experts who keep you up to date with the newest techniques, technologies, and treatments for every clinical challenge you face in gastroenterology and hepatology. A logical organization, more than 1,100 full-color illustrations, and easy-to-use algorithms ensure that you'll quickly and easily find the information you need. Features new and expanded discussions of chronic hepatitis B and C, Helicobacter pylori infection, colorectal cancer prevention through screening and surveillance, biologic agents and novel small molecules to treat and prevent recurrences of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), gastrointestinal immune and autoimmune diseases, and more. Offers reliable coverage of key topics such as Barrett's esophagus, gut microbiome, enteric microbiota and probiotics, fecal microbiota transplantation, and hepatic, pancreatic, and small bowel transplantation. Provides more quick-reference algorithms that summarize clinical decision making and practical approaches to patient management. Employs a consistent, templated, format throughout for quick retrieval of information. Includes monthly updates online, as well as more than 20 procedural videos. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology, 7th ed. by
YAMADA'S Textbook of Gastroenterology For over 25 years, Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology has been the most comprehensive gastroenterology reference book, combining an encyclopedic basic science approach to GI and liver disease with the latest clinical thinking, especially in diagnostic and therapeutic developments. It is universally respected across the globe. The original outstanding editorial team was led by Tadataka Yamada, MD, one of the world's leading figures in GI research. This seventh edition of the Textbook features a new set of Editors-in-Chief and a new team of Associate Editors. This new editorial team has made substantial changes and updates to the Textbook, with a greater focus on the human microbiome, obesity, bariatric endoscopy and aging, along with consolidation of many older chapters. Led by Professor Michael Camilleri and Professor Timothy C. Wang, a stellar group of associate editors have once again combined with authors in their respective fields to communicate their vast fund of knowledge and experience to make the 7th edition of this iconic textbook the most comprehensive ever published.
Zakim and Boyer's Hepatology, 7th ed. by
Get the authoritative, up-to-date information you need on liver disease from the 7th Edition of the most trusted reference worldwide. Covering both basic science and recent clinical developments, this revised edition by Drs. Arun J. Sanyal, Thomas D. Boyer, Norah A. Terrault, and Keith D. Lindor, provides an in-depth, comprehensive look at the pathophysiology, diagnostic, and treatment information related to the liver. More than 1,100 figures and tables, many new and in full color, highlight completely updated content throughout. Expert, international authorship and comprehensive, easy-to-access information makes this edition the gold standard in the field of hepatology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes new information on the rapid changes in treatment paradigms for acute liver failure, the latest treatments for primary biliary cholangitis, full coverage of the gut microbiome and its role in liver disease, the newest developments in drug-induced liver injury, and changes in hepatitis C virus treatment and hot-button concerns about access to care. New summary boxes at the end of each chapter and a newly streamlined table of contents make it easier to find and understand the information you're looking for. Hundreds of brand-new illustrations clearly present key aspects of liver disease.
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: