eBooks
Chronic Pain : Out-of-the-box Treatments that Cure by
The book will reassure those suffering from chronic pain and readers that pains can be treated, and not just be 'managed'. Contemporary pain management comprises some very sophisticated treatments, which address various parts of the nervous system that have been historically assumed to be responsible for pain. The author's approach is that all neuropathic pains are neuromyopathic with a major muscle pain component where the muscles are the final common factor in all chronic pains. This premise led to the innovation of a new system of pain management, which has been gratifyingly effective, providing cures for many complicated conditions. The book is about the discovery that many types of chronic pain are curable and others easily manageable. The novel concepts developed by the author and her research on pain management are described in this book. These are unique, and will be of interest to doctors, researchers, students, and patients.
ISBN: 9781040027943
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations by
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations: A Guide for Effective Dosing, has long been the go-to guide for learning how to calculate opioid conversions. Now in its second edition, this reference is a must-have for clinicians involved in pain management at all levels. Written by pain management expert Mary Lynn McPherson, PharmD, Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations focuses on the calculations that practitioners use in actual practice, providing realistic scenarios for decision making. The revised edition covers the entire spectrum of opioid analgesics used to manage patients with moderate to severe pain and serious life¬limiting illnesses. Inside this updated and expanded guide you'll find: Learning objectives and practice problems with solutions in each chapter New clinical cases throughout, including a baker's dozen of opioid conversion MIScalculation cases with detailed explanations Expanded information on less commonly used opioids, including levorphanol and nalbuphine Important summary points at the end of each chapter Updated pearls, pitfalls, and fast facts Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations is designed to help practitioners including pharmacists, physicians, nurses and others develop a high level of skill in performing the required mathematical calculations associated with opioid conversions, plus the confidence to safely and effectively manage their patients' needs for pain relief.
Essentials of Interventional Techniques in Managing Chronic Pain, 2nd ed. by
This comprehensive review covers the full and latest array of interventional techniques for managing chronic pain. Chapters are grouped by specific treatment modalities that include spinal interventional techniques, non-spinal and peripheral nerve blocks, sympathetic interventional techniques, soft tissue and joint injections, and implantables. This second edition features new chapters covering challenges with opioid therapy, impact of COVID-19, and spinal interventional techniques. Practical step-by-step and evidence-based guidance is given to each approach in order to improve the clinician's understanding. Innovative and timely, Essentials of Interventional Techniques in Managing Chronic Pain is a critical resource for anesthesiologists, neurologists, and rehabilitation and pain physicians.
ISBN: 9783031462177
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th ed. by
Packed with practical, up-to-date guidance, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, by Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD; Julie K. Silver, MD; and Thomas D. Rizzo, Jr., MD, helps you prevent, diagnose, and treat a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders, pain syndromes, and chronic disabling conditions in day-to-day patient care. This easy-to-use reference provides the information you need to improve patient function and performance by using both traditional and cutting-edge therapies, designing effective treatment plans, and working with interdisciplinary teams that meet your patients' current and changing needs. An easy-to-navigate format provides quick access to concise, well-illustrated coverage of every essential topic in the field. Presents each topic in a consistent, quick-reference format that includes a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery. Contains new technology sections in every treatment area where recently developed technologies or devices have been added to the therapeutic and rehabilitation strategies, including robotic exoskeletons, wearable sensors, and more. Provides extensive coverage of hot topics in regenerative medicine, such as stem cells and platelet rich plasma (PRP), as well as a new chapter on abdominal wall pain. Delivers the knowledge and insights of several new, expert authors for innovative perspectives in challenging areas. Offers a clinically-focused, affordable, and focused reference for busy clinicians, as well as residents in need of a more accessible and targeted resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323549479Publication Date: 2018-12-04
Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2d ed. by
Using a practical, question-and-answer approach, Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2nd Edition, helps you provide optimal care for patients and families who are dealing with serious illness. This unique reference focuses on patient and family/caregiver-centered care, highlighting the benefits of palliative care and best practices for delivery. The highly practical, user-friendly format sets it apart from other texts in the field, with concise, readable chapters organized around clinical questions that you're most likely to encounter in everyday care. Uniquely organized using a question-and-answer approach, making it easy to find answers to common questions asked by practitioners and patients. Up-to-date, reader-friendly chapters explore interventions, assessment techniques, treatment modalities, recommendations and guidelines, communication techniques, and available resources for palliative care. Expanded discussions on hospice in every chapter, and a new emphasis on pediatrics, with increased material on pediatric malignancies, developmental delays, cystic fibrosis, and perinatal palliative care. New chapters on wellness of the palliative care practitioner, patients with opioid use disorders, telehealth in palliative care, health disparities, rural palliative care, caring for people with hematologic malignancies, integrative and alternative therapies, LGBTQ+ populations, mobile health technologies, and national palliative care implementation strategies. High-quality evidence gathered and reviewed by leading experts in palliative medicine, including clinicians, educators, and researchers across a broad range of disciplines. Numerous algorithms throughout help you make informed decisions, and "take-home" points in every chapter provide a quick summary of key content. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5th ed. by
n our perennial search for a less up-close and personal way to come up with what’s wrong with the patient, we are again and again constantly reminded that “some things never change”………and that one thing that never changes is the amazing clinical utility of the properly taken history and properly performed physical examination. Yes, we actually have to touch the patient. Yes, we actually have to exert some effort. But can you think of anything that has a higher yield for the patient and physician alike? I certainly can’t.
In reviewing the Prefaces for the first and second editions of this text, I was struck by the spot-on accuracy of the musing of the great baseball player Yogi Berra when he said “ It’s like déjà vu all over again!” Put another way, when all else fails……………..EXAMINE THE PATIENT!
ISBN: 9780443118036
Understanding End of Life Practices: Perspectives on Communication, Religion and Culture by
This book is an exploration of issues that are essential in end of life care. Understanding end of life practices across cultures and religions is important in the delivery of patient centered end of life care. This book helps clinicians and non-clinicians understand the various end of life practices in their vast patient populations, further contributing to providing empathetic and compassionate end of life care to patients. With the advent of many new options at the end of life, this book also explores the modern day approaches to end of life often sought by patients when faced with disease progression and adversity.
ISBN: 9783031299223Publication Date: 2023-10-19
The Pain Phenomenon, 3rd ed. by
Introducing the latest edition of The Phenomenon of Pain: A Comprehensive Exploration of Pain Mechanisms and Therapeutic Approaches. In recent decades, pain has emerged as a focal point in both basic and clinical research, reflecting its profound impact on individuals' lives. The rapid advancement of knowledge has deepened our understanding of the complex neurophysiological and psychological mechanisms underlying pain, shedding light on its multifaceted nature. Clinicians grapple daily with the daunting reality of human suffering, navigating its intricate web of causes and manifestations. This continuous engagement with pain presents significant and stressful challenges from the relentless pursuit of understanding and alleviating it. This book transcends mere discourse on the physiological and psychological underpinnings of pain; it delves into the intricate factors contributing to its persistence. Furthermore, it meticulously examines pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatment modalities, forging a crucial link between the mechanisms of pain and therapeutic interventions. By bridging the gap between pain mechanisms and treatment strategies, this edition equips clinicians with invaluable insights to augment their clinical acumen. Armed with this knowledge, clinicians can tailor interventions to effectively address the diverse array of pain presentations encountered in their practice.
ISBN: 9783031565410
Primary Care Pain Management by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Authored by experts in pain medicine and internal medicine at the University of California, Davis, Primary Care Pain Management delivers just the right amount of clinically relevant information for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Addressing safe and effective pain management in the primary care setting, it follows a user-friendly, high-yield format for quick reference at the point of care, helping you understand the full range of options for treating patients with chronic and acute pain. Presents information in a highly templated, full-color format, with an abundance of tables and algorithms throughout. Covers opioid consent, agreement, and prescribing; nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; neuropathic pain medications; interventional pain management; physical therapy; complementary modalities; integrative medicine, and more. Includes a "When to Refer" section in every chapter, providing you with a list of questions and key points that could indicate a need for referral to a specialist or surgeon. Emphasizes compassionate care and continuity of care - both key issues in an area that is often emotionally difficult for patients and caregivers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496378804Publication Date: 2019-09-18
