Immunology and Allergy: Laboratory Medicine / Pathology

Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th ed. by Abul Abbas; Andrew Lichtman; Shiv Pillai, 2022 Well-written, readable, and superbly illustrated, Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th Edition, continues the tradition of excellence established through multiple editions of this bestselling text. Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. It's an ideal resource for medical, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as a trusted reference for physicians and scientists. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Employs a highly accessible writing style that makes difficult concepts easier to understand, and provides clear implications of immunologic science to the management of human disease and clinical practice. Features updates from cover to cover, including new information on intracellular sensors of innate immunity, therapeutic use of monoclonal antibodies, regulation of migration events during T cell-B cell interactions, regulatory and transcriptional events in germinal center formation, immunology of infectious diseases including coronaviruses, human immunodeficiency disorders, and immunology of HIV. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program, including many new and extensively revised illustrations. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access multiple-choice questions that correspond to each chapter, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry by David J. Dabbs, 2022 Through five well-regarded editions, Dr. David Dabbs' Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry has set the standard for concise, complete, guidance on the use and interpretation of immunohistochemical stains. The 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence, bringing you fully up to date with all aspects of this dynamic field. Easy to use and understand, this practical resource distills the large body of information on immunohistochemistry into single, convenient reference that is invaluable for today's surgical pathologists. Covers all aspects of the field, with an emphasis on the role of genomics in diagnosis and theranostic applications that will better inform treatment options. Includes the latest grading schemes in several organs along with new antibodies to cover more genomic immunohistochemistry applications. Contains current biomarker guidelines and up-to-date references throughout. Offers a systematic approach to the diagnostic entities of each organ system, including detailed differential diagnoses, diagnostic algorithms, and immunohistograms that depict immunostaining patterns of tumors. Contains numerous charts and tables, as well as 1,500 high-quality color histologic images that assist in making a definitive diagnosis. Discusses diagnostic pitfalls through immunohistologic differential diagnosis wherever appropriate so you can provide the most accurate diagnoses. Covers many more antigens than other texts, and discusses antibody specifications with tables that convey information on uses, clones, vendors, sources, antibody titers, and types of antigen retrieval. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Hematopathology, 3rd ed. by Elaine S. Jaffe; Daniel A. Arber; Lisa M. Rimsza et al, 2025 The first edition of Hematopathology was published in 2011, shortly after the introduction of the fourth edition of the WHO Classification of Tumours of Haematopoietic and Lymphoid Tissues . The second edition was coordinated with the release of the revised fourth edition Bluebook in 2017. The third edition is being released at a critical time in the evolution of the classification of hematolymphoid neoplasms, as for the first time in nearly 30 years the field has seen the publication of two major classifications in 2022. Most of the principal editors of the 3rd and 4th edition WHO Classifications collaborated to produce the International Consensus Classification (ICC) in 2022, under the auspices of the Society for Hematopathology and the European Association for Haematopathology. The classification was developed following a Clinical Advisory Committee meeting, with the participation of more than 200 pathologists, clinicians, and scientists from 24 countries in September 2021, and published in a series of articles in Blood in 2022. 1234 Concurrent with these events, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) invited a panel of editors and authors to develop the 5th edition of the WHO Classification, published in draft form in Leukemia in 2022. 5 , 6 The third edition of Hematopathology has adopted the ICC system to present the basic framework for the discussion of neoplastic disorders of lymphoid, myeloid, and histiocytic neoplasms. However, each chapter will present key synonyms, where appropriate, for the WHO 5th edition, and importantly discuss the rationale for the preferred terminology adopted in the book. The reader will find not only the most current terminology, but also a discussion of key changes in the classification of lymphomas and leukemias and of histiocytic disorders. Thus this book will be a valuable resource for the pathologist trying to keep up with this rapidly changing field. Hematopathology is a discipline in which traditional methods of clinical and morphologic analysis are interwoven with newer, biologically based studies to achieve an accurate diagnosis. Scientific advances are proceeding at a rapid pace, with a greater emphasis today on the integration of newer genomic studies as a basis for diagnosis, and, in many cases, treatment. Studies of hematologic malignancies have been at the forefront in applying the principles of basic research to the understanding of human disease. All cancers are increasingly recognized as genetic diseases, with precise genetic alterations often defining entities. Advances in immunologic and molecular genetic technology have rapidly migrated to the clinical laboratory, where they play a role in routine diagnosis, and the introduction of next-generation sequencing is changing the face of molecular diagnostics. The reader will find valuable guidance in how to integrate these new advances in daily practice. The discussion of each disease includes a description of morphologic, immunophenotypic, and clinical features, along with relevant genetic findings. These data inform our understanding of disease pathogenesis and provide valuable and often critical adjuncts to diagnosis and treatment. The goal is to provide concise, up-to-date, and practical information that is easily accessed by the reader. Equally relevant to the diagnostic pathologist is an appreciation of the spectrum of reactive and inflammatory lesions of hematolymphoid tissues occurring in immunocompetent patients and in those with altered immune states. Thus the reader will find a discussion of reactive lymphadenopathies and primary and iatrogenic immunodeficiency disorders. Additional chapters deal with the bone marrow response to inflammatory, infectious, and metabolic diseases; germline changes impacting hematopoiesis myeloid neoplasia; and the impact of therapy on bone marrow morphology. The book offers a comprehensive guide to benign and malignant hematopathology that will be a valued resource for the practicing pathologist, hematologist, and oncologist. It is increasingly important that clinicians be aware of basic principles of hematopathology diagnosis; hematologists and hematopathologists must work as a team to achieve the correct diagnosis. Just as the pathologist must use clinical data to make an accurate diagnosis, the clinician should have sufficient knowledge of diagnostic principles to appreciate when the pathologic diagnosis just does not quite fit.

Immunopathology of Celiac Disease by Lorenzo Galluzzi; Ainara Castellanos, 2021 Immunopathology of Celiac Disease, Volume 359 presents the latest release in this ongoing series on novel and widely studied aspects of celiac disease pathogenesis. Topics covered in this new volume include Omics of Celiac Disease, Implication of HLA genes in Celiac Disease, Macrophages & Dendritic Cells in Celiac Disease, Tight junction disruption in the development of celiac disease, Implication of epithelial cell dysfunction in CeD, Involvement of p31-p43 gluten peptide in the celiac disease related immune/inflammatory response, The biology of refractory celiac disease, Involvement of lncRNAs in Celiac disease pathogenesis, and more.

Hematopathology: Foundations of Diagnostic Pathology , 3rd ed. by Eric D. Hsi, 2018 With its highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, the third edition of Hematopathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential text for residents and pathologists. Throughout this practical reference, traditional morphologic diagnostic pathology is supplemented with clinical, immunohistochemical, and molecular genetic information. Fully revised to include recent advances in the field, this affordable resource by Dr. Eric D. Hsi is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. A highly templated format that includes clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and selected bibliography. A focus on the specific features of various entities, including differential diagnoses. Clinical features, pathologic features, and key facts summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast retrieval of information. Hundreds of full-color photomicrographs and gross photographs depict important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New information on the pathology of hematological disease and the latest World Health Organization update on classification of hematologic malignancies. New chapter on the essentials of hemostasis. Completely revised chapter on platelets. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Liquid Biopsy by Antonio Russo; Ettore Capoluongo; Antonio Galvano et al, 2023 Liquid Biopsy: New Challenges in the era of Immunotherapy and Precision Oncology aims to describe links between cancer, precision oncology, and liquid biopsy, focusing on their participation to immunotherapy management. The book provides updated information on the main applications of liquid biopsy and immunotherapy as well as interesting aspects useful for planning basic and translational research activities. It helps readers understand the central aspects of precision medicine in oncology, including the use of new generation technologies for translational and diagnostic settings and the main clinical trials in this area that may be useful during their research.The book is a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and other members of the medical and biomedical field who are interested in learning more about recent developments in liquid biopsy and its relationship with precision medicine and immunotherapy. Presents a "highlights section" in every chapter to help readers summarize the main aspects discussed Encompasses case reports to guide the reader on applying what they read in their clinical practice Includes several tables and figures specially created for the book to illustrate the meaning of what is expressed in the text

Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology by John L. Schmitz; Barbara Detrick; Maurice R. G. O'Gorman, 2024 THE authoritative guide for clinical laboratory immunology For nearly 50 years, the Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology has been the premier resource for laboratories, students, and professionals involved in the clinical and technical details of diagnostic immunology testing. The 9th Edition continues its tradition of providing comprehensive clinical and technical information on the latest technologies used in medical and diagnostic immunology. Led by a world-renowned group of authors and editors, this new edition reflects substantial changes aimed at improving and updating the Manual's utility while reflecting the significant transformations that have occurred since the last edition, including the revolution of gene editing and the widespread adoption of molecularly engineered cellular therapies. Topical highlights include: Laboratory Management: three new chapters cover essential aspects of quality assurance, quality improvement, and quality management, aligning with the increasingly stringent and demanding regulatory environment. Inborn Errors of Immunity: the primary immunodeficiency section has been completely updated to align with the latest International Union of Immunological Societies' classifications of inborn errors of immunity. Functional Cellular Assays: expanded content includes detailed discussions on various functional assays critical for modern immunologic testing. Autoimmune Diseases: expanded chapters on systemic and organ-specific autoimmune disorders, including new chapters on Sjögren's syndrome and deficiency of ADA2, as well as significant updates on organ-specific autoimmune diseases. Transplantation Immunology: updated chapters detail the assessment of immune reconstitution and ABO testing, reflecting latest practices. The 9th Edition of the Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology serves as an invaluable resource for laboratory directors, clinicians, laboratory managers, technologists, and students. It provides critical insights into the selection, application, and interpretation of immunologic tests, offering practical guidance on troubleshooting, clinical application, and an understanding of test limitations. This comprehensive and up-to-date manual remains an essential tool for anyone involved in the diagnosis, evaluation, and management of immune-mediated and immune system-related disorders.