Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Plummer Library: Mayo Medicine Collection

Duplication Services

Need a book chapter from the
Mayo Medicine Collection?

Use the "Request Material" form (Book Chapter Request) on the Mayo Libraries home page.

To request viewing of a book in the collection ahead of time, please use the same form (Item Loan Request) on the Mayo Libraries home page.   (Please note that the item will be available for in-library use only.)

Need to arrange a
Media Support Services
project using a
Mayo Medicine Collection item?

Let us know what is needed from the collection and we will take it to Media Support Services in the Plummer building subway for you!  Just fill out a MSS job request online and then forward the email receipt along with the title of the item needed to library.plummer@mayo.edu.

Mayo Medicine Collection

The Mayo Medicine Collection consists of over 3,300 books covering all medical specialties. Each text has been edited, co-edited, authored or co-authored by a Mayo Clinic physician or staff member.  Among the holdings are many familiar  titles representing the finest scholarship and most authoritative resources in medicine.  The collection is kept in locked cabinets in the stately reading room known as Plummer Hall on the 14th floor.  While items from the Mayo Medicine Collection do not circulate, they can be viewed in the library upon request.  Inquire at the Plummer 12 Circulation Desk, call 507-284-2061, or e-mail library.plummer@mayo.edu for assistance.

Interesting facts about publications from Mayo authors:

The earliest scholarly article "A case of tubular pregnancy, with remarks upon the difficulties attending a correct diagnosis of abdominal tumors" was published in 1871 in the Transactions of the Minnesota State Medical Society, and written by Dr. William W. Mayo, father of William and Charles, founders of Mayo Clinic.

The first book chapter "Surgery of the Liver, the Gallbladder and the Biliary Ducts" was published in the classic monograph Surgery, Its Principles and Practice. This chapter was written by Doctors Charles and William Mayo and was published in 1908.

In the first book, A Collection of Papers, editor Maud Mellish was "influenced by the desire to collect and preserve a complete file of the writings of William James Mayo and Charles Horace Mayo from the time of their graduation from Medical College to February, 1909." In this two-volume set, readers will see the Mayo Brothers’ early commitment to medical progress through surgical technique and extensive case reporting.

The first clinical textbook by Mayo staff is entitled The Roentgen Diagnosis of Diseases of the Alimentary Canal, written by Doctors Russell Carman and Albert Miller and published in 1917.

Scholarly writing at Mayo spans the past 148 years and continues to broaden in scope. In 2010, Mayo staff published 4798 articles, 1039 meeting abstracts, 6190 reviews, 523 book chapters, 202 editorials, 168 letters, 37 books, 55 patents, 62 comments, and 311 Technical Reports.

Mayo Clinic’s publications from 1871 to date can be identified in our Mayo Authors Database. This database is available from any Mayo Clinic intranet computer or VPN connection.

About Plummer Library

Medicine, Research, Nursing, & Business Management
Phone: 507-284-2061
Fax: 507-266-4910
library.plummer@mayo.edu
Location: Plummer Building, Main Entrance 12th Floor

Available computers 

More Libraries 
 

Hours

  REDUCED HOURS DUE TO COVID  
  Mon-Fri 8:00am-6:00pm  

Mon-Thur 7:30am-11:00pm
Friday 7:30am - 7:00pm
Saturday 10:00am - 6:00pm
Sunday Noon - 8:00pm

Visiting Health Care Professionals Restricted Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00am-6:00pm
Please bring picture identification and register on Plummer 12.  Please note, visitors do not have access to Mayo Clinic licensed resources or study rooms. 

______
Plummer Hall - Room 1400 on Plummer 14
Mon-Fri 7:30am-5:30pm
Closed on Weekends
 

Names on the Ceiling of Mayo Hall on Plummer 12

 

 

Click here to view the online exhibit to find information on the design of the ceiling and the names displayed.