Want a book delivered to your work location? Contact the Library!
Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrityWound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity is a contemporary ANZ resource designed to assist students and clinicians in applying evidence-based wound care to practice. Written by expert wound care clinicians and academics, the text offers a range of clinical scenarios to test wound care knowledge and skills within the context of real-world settings. It presents a problem-solving approach to encourage students and practising nurses to critically think about how to deliver wound care to individuals with a range of acute and chronic wounds. Including the most recent local dressings and wound care products, Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity reinforces the principles of wound care and provides the necessary tools for students and clinicians to determine how best to deliver effective nursing care. Each chapter provides an overview of specific wound types, followed by five case studies and related multiple-choice questions to test your knowledge and skills Case studies include an assessment and management approach to assist you in developing effective clinical application of wound care theory Full colour illustrations to help familiarise yourself with a variety of wound types A nursing focus with a multidisciplinary approach helps to enhance the 'real-world' experience of wound care Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Instructor/and Student Resources: Answers to Case Study questions Quick reference list of local wound care products/dressings Self-assessment quizzes Image bank
Call Number: RD94 .C65 2020x
Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual!Provide effective wound care with skill and confidence, with the expert direction and real-life images of the fully updated Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual!®, 3rd Edition. Let this colorfully illustrated text guide you through the fundamental concepts, skills, and treatments needed for positive wound care outcomes, including the latest products and procedures. Prepare to succeed in both the classroom and on the unit the enjoyable Incredibly Visual (tm) way, as clear explanations and plentiful images guide you through the vital steps of effective wound care. Grasp the basic concepts, skills, phases, and complications of wound care ... NEW and updated photos and graphics NEW and updated content on the latest wound care techniques and interventions Hundreds of colorful images that make the complexities of wound care easy to understand --detailed photos, charts, and drawings that explain and reinforce key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Clear, concise text that explains the fundamentals and latest advancements in wound care in clear, understandable terms Perfect for visual learners --numerous images that demonstrate skills and interventions, including: Skin anatomy and physiology--skin layers and their functions Wound healing--types of wound healing, healing phases, and complications Wound assessment--including recognizing failure to heal Effects of aging on wound healing Acute versus chronic wounds Pressure injuries Vascular ulcers Diabetic foot ulcers Malignant wounds Atypical wounds Wound care products Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and other healthcare practitioners Excellent teaching aid--seasoned, step-by-step guidance backed by images that demonstrate everyday patient care situations Chapter features: Chapter content summary at the start of each chapter Q&A --End-of-chapter games and quizzes that reinforce learning points--multiple-choice or fill-in-the-blank questions, word games, and matching images to wound care concepts "Nurse Joy and Jake" --Expert insights and encouraging advice offered throughout Take note --illustrated interventions that demonstrate real-life patient scenarios About the Clinical Editor Patricia Albano Slachta, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, CWOCN, is President of the Nursing Educational Programs and Services in Ridgeland, South Carolina.
Call Number: RD93.95 .W69 2019
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, Second EditionA unique combination foundational textbook and full-color atlas of wound healing - offering the benefits of both type of reference Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Utilizing more than 700 full-color illustrations and easy-to-follow, concise text, this unique learning text also includes complete discussion of evidence-based concepts of wound treatment, making it perfect for board preparation. Each chapter follows a similar design with consistent headings; brief bulleted text; and numerous, high-quality illustrations. Learning aids include case studies, chapter objectives, assessment guidelines, chapter references, chapter summaries, end-of-chapter board-style review questions. Entry-level students in all medical professions (doctors, podiatrists, physician assistants, nurses, physical therapists, and occupational therapists) will find this an essential text for understanding the multi-disciplinary approach to caring for patients with wounds. *Extremely detailed captions accompany each illustration *Unique foundational textbook approach enhanced by outstanding full-color illustrations *NEW! NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter and case studies
Call Number: RD94 .T49 2019
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum: Wound Management by Wound Ostomy and Continence Nurses SocietyⓇ Staff; Dorothy Doughty; Laurie McNicholasThis volume in the new Core Curriculum series from WOCN® covers Wound Management , and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying wound care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Skin anatomy and physiology o Physiology of wound healing o Principles of wound assessment and management o Nutritional assessment and support. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including oncology-related skin and wound care, and palliative care. o End-of-chapter Q&As help you remember all vital points o Clinical pearls highlight important takeaways o Numerous full-color photos, diagrams, and tables aid understanding of vital topics. Practical directions cover: o Wound cleansing and dressing selection o Skin and soft tissue injury caused by mechanical factors o Pressure ulcer prevention o Venous, arterial, and neuropathic wounds o Wounds due to lower-extremity arterial disease and neuropathic disease o Surgical wounds o Management of patients with percutaneous tubes; fistula management o Skin and wound care for neonatal, pediatric, geriatric, and bariatric populations, and the spinal cord-injured patient. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management is essential for nursing students in wound care programs; nurses involved in wound care; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers
Call Number: RD93 .W68 2016
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society® Core Curriculum: Continence Management by Wound Ostomy and Continence Nurses SocietyⓇ Staff; Dorothy Doughty; Katherine MooreThis volume in the new Core Curriculum series from WOCN® covers Continence Management , and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying fecal and urinary continence care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Continence Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Urinary incontinence and voiding dysfunction o Physiology of normal defecation and voiding o Motility disorders, fecal incontinence, and bowel dysfunction in pediatric patients. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including management of voiding dysfunction and urinary incontinence in both men and women. o End-of-chapter Q&As help you remember all vital points o Clinical pearls highlight important takeaways o Numerous full-color photos, diagrams, and tables aid understanding of vital topics. Practical directions cover: o Assessment of UI and lower urinary tract symptoms o Appropriate use of containment devices, absorbent products, and indwelling catheters o Basic and advanced assessments of patients with urinary incontinence and voiding dysfunction o Overactive bladder/urgency UI and fecal incontinence - pathology, presentation, diagnosis, and management o Assessment and management of the neurogenic bladder o Caring for older patients. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Continence Management is essential for nursing students in continence care programs; nurses caring involved in continence care; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers.
Call Number: RC866.D43 W68 2016
Acute and Chronic Wounds: current management conceptsPrevent and manage wounds with this expert, all-inclusive resource! Acute & Chronic Wounds: Current Management Concepts, 5th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help you provide quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, vulnerable patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development. Written by respected nursing educators Ruth Bryant and Denise Nix, this bestselling reference also provides excellent preparation for all wound certification exams. A comprehensive approach to the care of patients with acute and chronic wounds guides students and health care providers to design, deliver and evaluate quality skin and wound care in a systematic fashion; the comprehensive approach includes the latest advances in diagnosis, differentiation of wound types, nutrition, prevention, treatment, and pharmacology. Self-assessment questions and answers in each chapter help you assess your knowledge and prepare for all wound certification exams. Checklists offer a concise, easy-to-read summary of the steps needed to achieve the best patient care outcomes. Risk assessment scales help in determining a patient's risk for developing a wound, and wound classification tools identify the proper terminology to be used in documentation. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter focus your study on the most important content. Principles for practice development boost outcomes and productivity in agencies and institutions, home care, acute care, long-term care, and long-term acute care settings. NEW coverage includes the latest guidelines from WOCN, AAWC, NPUAP, EPUAP, and PPPIA, and the American College of Physicians. New sections cover the prevention and management of biofilm, the new skin tear classification system, MASD and MARCI, CTP terminology and classification scheme, and integration of the Health Belief Model. NEW! Additional full-color photographs show the differential diagnosis of types of skin damage, management of fistulas, and NPWT procedures. NEW! Clinical Consult features help in applying concepts to clinical practice, showing students and health care professionals how to assess, manage, and document real-life patient and staff encounters using the ADPIE framework. NEW two-color illustrations and design make the book more visually appealing.
Call Number: RD98.3 .A38 2016
Wound Care Essentials: practice principlesAwarded first place in the '2016 AJN Book of the Year Award' in the Medical Surgical Nursing category. The newly expanded and updated Wound Care Essentials: Practice Principles, 4th edition is your go-to clinical guide to assessing and treating the full range of skin and wound conditions--from common to less common, simple to complex, and acute to chronic. This comprehensive, easy-read handbook provides practical guidance on the many aspects of wound care, including the legal, ethical, psychological, and social aspects. This is an essential guide for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, nursing students, physician's assistants, dermatology physicians, family physicians, and physical therapists. Tap into these evidence-based skills and care strategies, and handle the complexities of wound care with confidence. Adopt wound care best practices with this fully illustrated, on-the-spot clinical guide ... · NEW more than 350 full-color photos and illustrations · NEW content on areas including: Chronic wound quality-of-life and self-management care models; wound care regulations; skin assessment and skin tears; fistula management; wound bioburden; adjunctant therapies; pressure ulcers; support surfaces; nutrition; palliative care guideline updates · NEW chapter featuring 36 photos of wounds with test questions, offering: o An essential visual aid for students o Crucial training aid for staff at wound centers and in every health care setting o Vital preparation for Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse (WOCN) certification exam · Step-by-step directions and guidance on wound assessment, healing stages, treatment options, dressings, pain management, legal and ethical issues, coping patterns, medical documentation · Patient management strategies for all wound types, including: palliative wound care, sickle cell wounds, pressure ulcers, diabetic foot ulcers, surgical wounds, and more · Chapter features include: o Assessment Guidelines o Pre-Chapter Objectives; Post-Chapter Summaries o Practice Point boxes o Show What You Know - Chapter review questions (with answers at end of book) o Patient Teaching boxes
Call Number: RD94 .B374 2016
Wound Care at a GlanceWound Care at a Glance combines superb illustrations with accessible and informative text to make the key concepts of wound care easy to understand. Providing practical guidance for all healthcare professionals who care for people with wounds, or who have an interest in this complex area of healthcare, it succinctly addresses a wide range of issues including relevant anatomy and physiology, psychological issues, physical care considerations, patient safety issues, legal and ethical issues, and various treatment and management options.
Call Number: RD93 .P43 2015
Wound Diagnosis and TreatmentA UNIQUE COMBINATION TEXT AND FULL-COLOR ATLAS OF WOUND MANAGEMENT Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Utilizing more than 700 full-color illustrations and clear, concise text, this unique learning text also includes complete discussion of evidence-based concepts of wound treatment. Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment is logically divided into four sections: Integumentary Basics which covers fundamental topics such as anatomy and physiology of the integumentary system and acute and chronic wound healing Wound Diagnosis which discusses specific disorders such as vascular wounds, lymphedema, pressure ulcers, diabetes, burns, and more Wound Bed Preparation which details debridement and dressings Biophysical Technologies which includes electrical stimulation, negative pressure, pulsed lavage with suction, hyperbaric oxygen, ultraviolet, and low level laser therapy Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment is enhanced by learning aids such as chapter objectives, NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter, and case studies which give real-world application to the principles and techniques discussed in the book. Entry-level students in all medical professions (doctors, podiatrists, physician assistants, nurses, physical therapists, and occupational therapists) will find this an essential text for understanding the multi-disciplinary approach to caring for patients with wounds.
Call Number: RT120.R4 E95 2013x
Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care by Cathy Thomas HessAccelerate your skin and wound care with the Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care, Seventh Edition. Thisnbsp;compact andnbsp;sensibly organized guide is vital to providing optimal care. Look forward to: * Updated advice on skin care products helps you make the right choices. * Current documentation regulations, so that you can properly illustrate wound healing. *nbsp;New chapters on lymphedema and best practices. * Profiles of more than 300 products, in A to Z organization for easy identification. * Benchmark outcomesnbsp;help you take your care to the next level... and more. nbsp; You''ll accurately assess, plan, and monitor wound care using the most current, best nursing practices. This useful resource will help both clinicians and institutions deliver wound care that''s both appropriate for patient needs and cost-effective for the institution. nbsp; Featuring important new information on documentation regulations, including helpful checklists, and offering take-away highlights in every chapter, this useful resource also provides new content on lymphedema management guidelines, negative pressure wound therapy, and capturing data using today''s media capabilities. nbsp; Part 1 covers the fundamentals of skin and wound care, including assessment, treatment, prevention, nutrition, and documentation. nbsp;From identifying patients at risk for wounds to achieving compliance for self-care, this is the companion you''ll rely on day after day. You''ll gain a deeper understanding of chronic wounds, accurately interpret lab values and adapt your care, develop a proper skin and wound care formulary, expertly manage tissue load, and understand and apply the wound care regulatory process. nbsp; Part 2 offers profiles and photos of hundreds of skin and wound care products, all categorized and alphabetized for easy reference. nbsp;You''ll find a wealth of NEW advice on the skin care products you use most, including cleansers, moisture barriers, antifungal and antimicrobial treatments, therapeutic moisturizers, liquid skin protectants, and others. nbsp; nbsp; The Seventh edition of Clinical Guide to Skin and Wound Care also includes a full-color wound photo section, wound checklists, and much more.
Publication Date: 2013
Fast Facts for the Wound Care Nurse by Zelia Kifer"This book is a user-friendly, real-world guide to assessing and managing any type of wound. The author presents vital information for nurses and nursing students who provide wound care in any setting...a wonderful resource for nurses."--The AORN Journal (Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses) "Wound care is arguably the single most difficult topic in medicine. It has no defined solution like insulin for the diabetic...no easy strategy that covers all wounds...we are so tremendously blessed when a wound care specialist] like Zelia carves out time to capture a career of experiences in text so that it can be shared with others. We are indebted to her for making this important contribution to the clinician's armament for dealing with the] difficult-to-heal wounds of their patients." Bruce Gibbins, PhD Founder, Chief Technical Officer and Chairman of the Board of AcryMed, Inc. Former faculty at the University of Otago Medical School Using the concise, compact" Fast Facts" format, this guide encompasses the multitude of new healing technologies and presents important breakthroughs in understanding why some wounds don't heal. Each chapter builds, step-by-step, on the essential principles of wound care including wound assessment and documentation, the spectrum of wounds from simple to complex, wound treatment guidelines and protocols, and the legal aspects and regulations surrounding wound care. This user-friendly guide organizes the vast amount of information relating to wound care products and eases the complexity of wound management. A ""Fast Facts in a Nutshell"" section in each chapter provides quick access to important wound care principles, and bullet-point information and tables enable readers to quickly locate relevant information. This guide will be a useful companion in the day-to-day care of wound patients, reinforcing knowledge needed in all practice settings, including acute care, critical care, long-term care, home care, operating room, and outpatient settings. Key Features: Organizes and simplifies a vast amount of wound care information into a compact, user-friendly format Addresses wound care assessment, protocol, and treatment of the spectrum of wounds from simple to complex for all levels of practitioners Encompasses new healing technologies and information regarding difficult-to-heal wounds Presents comprehensive wound care algorithms, dressings, debridement procedures, ostomy care, optimal surface and equipment for wound patients, and adjunctive therapies
Quick Reference to Wound Care by Pamela BrownQuick Reference to Wound Care: Palliative, Home, and Clinical Practices, Fourth Edition provides healthcare professionals with the essentials necessary to deliver the best wound care in a cost-effective manner. Updated to reflect current wound care treatments and products, it includes wound assessment, the healing process, the basics of wound management, topical treatments, and management of the major wound types. * New chapter on palliative wound care* New contributors discuss long-term care and federal changes in documentation and assessment for patients in long-term care facilitates* Home care chapter outlines several significant Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) changes