Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: the research-practice connectionBrown's Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection continues to be a popular choice for graduate and upper level undergraduate students in an updated fifth edition. In an accessible and easy-to-read style, it introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. Students will understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. The unique Why-How-What format along with the exemplar studies throughout provide rich context for learning how EBP progresses from research results.The Fifth Edition was revised to feature LGBTQIA+ inclusive language and features a greater focus on information technology as it relates to EBP. Additionally, clear exemplars and appendices help fully explain key concepts while minimizing the potential for students to feel overwhelmed by the intricacies of scientific research jargon. Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fifth Edition is the clear choice for instructors seeking an application-focused resource for their students.
Call Number: RT81.5 .B82 2024
Called to CareHow do you find the courage to take the next step-- when you're thinking you can't look at this shattered body? when you realize that your choice may have cost a human life? when you watch the person you love drift away? "Called to Care" follows four nurses whose lives are connected by a simple, unassuming pendant as they confront the timeless pull to be of service. The stigma of illness, both physical and mental, and the centuries-old issues of substance use and addiction are woven throughout their stories. At the start of America's bloody Civil War, Sarah Dunlap is pressed, unprepared, to help injured and dying men in eastern Tennessee's Battle of Shiloh. She is determined to become a "real nurse" at a time when nursing schools are in their infancy. Charlotte Kolb, orphaned at nine, seeks to care for tuberculars like her mother and finds herself in the newly emerging sanitarium movement in the 1880s Western frontier. Baby boomers and psychiatric nurses Will Swain and Ella Swensen yearn to use their skills and relationship to help fellow nurses face down the career-ending effects of substance use. One hundred fifty years after this tale begins, the practice of nursing-- founded on compassion, commitment to healing, and the continued pursuit of knowledge and skill-- stands proudly today as a noble and trusted profession. "Called to Care" tells this story.
Call Number: PS3601.A34 C36 2023x
Communication in NursingImmerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 10th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today’s nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings. Using a conversational tone, this relatable text takes you beyond theory to show you how to understand important concepts and use communication as a tool to limit stress in your nursing practice. The 10th edition includes an emphasis on holistic self-care of the nurse, a new Confronting Bullying and Incivility with Honesty and Respect chapter, a new appendix mapping the AACN® Essentials domains to the text objectives, and case studies for the Next-Generation NCLEX® (NGN). In addition, the latest information on the topics of mindfulness, resilience, and interprofessional communication highlight the importance of implementing these tools in practice.
REVISED! Chapter updates include practical strategies to convey and sustain caring in digital settings in the Navigating the Expanding World of Digital Communication chapter and discussions on Watson’s Caring Theory in the Caring Communications with Clients and Colleagues whose Behaviors are Challenging chapter.
Moments of Connection boxes highlight beneficial outcomes of successful communication and provide concrete examples of how communication techniques work.
Wit & Wisdom boxes present selected verses and quotations relevant to chapter topics, providing moments of relief from serious topics and revealing "a-ha" moments when theory becomes linked to practice.
Discussion of the importance of interprofessional education and communication in the healthcare environment has been included.
Exercises in each chapter, including reflective journaling, remediation, online and group activities, discussion topics, and more, help facilitate various learning types.
"Active Learning" feature in every chapter promotes active, goal-directed reading.
End-of-chapter exercises titled Practicing (followed by the title of the chapter) provide specific opportunities for you to master techniques discussed in the chapter and hone your communication skills.
NEW! Emphasis on the holistic self-care of the nurse includes Self-Care Nudge content in the narrative and new Simplify and Deepen boxes.
NEW! Case studies for the Next-Generation NCLEX® in relevant chapters challenge you to apply clinical judgment to nursing communication scenarios.
NEW! Confronting Bullying and Incivility with Honesty and Respect chapter helps you learn how to approach these difficult situations and respond in an honest and respectful manner.
NEW! Three new appendices provide mapping of the AACN® Essentials to the text, a holistic self-care assessment, and the answer key for Next-Generation NCLEX® case studies.
Call Number: RT23 .B35 2023x
Courageous Well-Being for Nurses: strategies for renewalProvides nurses with the tools, practices, and strategies to enhance their well-being and protect against burnout. Exhausting schedules and a tumultuous work environment have left many nurses feeling burned out. The COVID-19 pandemic only compounded problems that have been plaguing nurses for decades. How can you take care of others when you don't have the time or energy to take care of yourself? In Courageous Well-Being for Nurses, Advanced Practice Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse, psychotherapist, and educator Donna Gaffney and National Board-certified health and wellness coach Nicole Foster provide essential strategies and resources. Learn about the research underpinning the science of well-being and discover practices that can reduce stress, rejuvenate your capacity for caring, and improve the quality of your own life. Informed by inspirational stories and real-life guidance from nurses around the world, this book provides you with the steps to thrive personally and professionally. Gaffney and Foster research and describe * How to cope with stress, burnout, grief, and empathic distress * The power of self-compassion and mindfulness * Current findings on eating, sleeping, and exercising well * Science-based practices for alleviating stress through nature * The benefits of professional mental health support * The profoundly healing effects of advocacy and activism * How to use the arts and creativity as sources of respite and joy Hundreds of suggested resources, including recommended books, websites, podcasts, videos, and webinars, round out this essential guide. Courageous Well-Being for Nursesis the ultimate journey to well-being: one that is essential, inclusive, deep-rooted, individual, and above all, courageous.
Call Number: RT41 .H363 2024x
Ethics and the Good Nurse- Brings together knowledge from academics, scholars and practitioners to address the influence of personal and professional character on nurses and the nursing profession; - Draws on the extensive and unparalleled research data collected by the Jubilee Centre for Character and Virtues at the University of Birmingham, UK to provide new insights for academics and pre- and in-service professionals; - Acts as an educational resource to inform future professional decision-making and practice.
Call Number: RT85 .P48 2022
Handbook for Registered Nurses: essential skillsThis handy resource provides a concise overview of some of the key elements of nursing practice, and is designed to create the foundations on which to build clinical competence.
The Handbook covers the rationales and knowledge that underpin activities performed by registered nurses in both the community and hospital. It includes clinical guidelines, an overview of the core components of care and the basics of key procedures.
Written by nurse educators and clinicians to reflect current nursing standards and competence, this book is an ideal reference guide for student nurses, newly qualified nurses and those who teach staff in practice.
Provides a firm basis for clinical competence
Aligned to the Nursing and Midwifery Council Competencies for Nurses
Designed to support continuing professional development and education
Can be used both for clinical practice and teaching
Call Number: RT41 .H363 2024x
The Innovation Handbook: a nurse leader's guide to transforming nursing"The ideal readers for this book are nurse leaders at all levels- including charge nurse managers, directors, and nurse executives-who are hoping to find inspiration, nuggets of insight, inspiration, or new ways of thinking about old problems. It doesnt matter if you have years of experience or are new to your role. Learning why we need to change, thinking about ways to change, and becoming a champion of change are all important, for all of us. Leading successful change is a numbers game. We need more trained leaders and direct care nurses with an innovative skill set to accomplish our goals. We are all students of change!"--
Call Number: RT89 .C556 2023x
Oncology: an introduction for nurses and healthcare professionalsThis new book covers the basics of oncology for all practitioners who are likely to provide health care to cancer patients, especially those who do not have an oncology or medical background.
Cancer educator David O’Halloran provides a unique insight by bridging the gap between normal anatomy and what happens when cancer develops. Information is provided using a layered approach, starting with simple concepts of general cancer biology and moving through to more complicated aspects of specific tumour sites and cancer treatment.
Easy to read and follow, Oncology: An Introduction for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is written in such a way that non-specialist readers will quickly understand complex terminology and concepts, making them relatable and understandable for experienced and junior nurses alike.
Logical and easy-to-follow approach
Accessible language throughout – does not assume a prior level of knowledge
Explains cancer terminology for non-experts
Takes a graded approach to information to help learning
Provides an understanding of cancer and how it progresses, how to link anatomy to the staging of cancer, and how to explain how modern cancer treatments work
Invaluable in helping explain conditions and treatment to patients and families
Self-assessment exercises throughout help test learning
Call Number: RC266 .O32 2024x
Population-Based Public Health Clinical ManualPopulation-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses has proven to be one of the most important public health texts for students and practitioners alike. Focused on developing evidence-based public health nursing practice in diverse settings and built on the framework of the Henry Street Consortium's 12 competencies for population-based, entry-level public health nursing, this full-color, new fourth edition is fully revised and updated to support readers' exploration of the field of public health nursing and the unique responsibilities and challenges that come with being a public health nurse. ﻿﻿A new competency promoting, assessing, and coordinating population healthExplanation of population health relevance of each competencySARs-CoV-2 (COVID-19) pandemic examples/lessons learnedUpdated reference to UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in each chapterStrengthened content for diversity, equity, and inclusion
Call Number: RT97 .S33 2024
Preparing for Doctoral Study in Nursing: making the most of the year before you beginAre you ready to take your nursing career to the next level? Preparing for Doctoral Study in Nursing: Making the Most of the Year Before You Begin helps you make an informed decision about entering doctoral studies and choosing the nursing credential that helps you reach your career goals. Noted educators and doctoral mentors Laura A. Taylor and Mary F. Terhaar ― along with a team of nursing leaders and scholars ― describe the big picture for nurses educated at the highest level of scholarship, including the rising demand for advanced practice nurses and the future of nursing. The first and only comprehensive guide to preparing for a doctorate in nursing, this book helps you choose your path, make your decision, and develop a plan for success in doctoral study.
Grounded in more than a decade of experience in preparing nurses for doctoral study, this one-of-a-kind text is the first comprehensive guide to the year before you apply.
Fifteen chapters provide practical information and guidance to help you navigate the challenges on your journey.
Historical overview of doctoral education in nursing creates a clear picture of present and future demand.
Clear explanation of the different degrees and the careers they support helps to build confidence in your decision about which to pursue.
Sixteen personal narratives describe a broad range of career paths open to nurses who earn doctoral degrees and introduce the nurse leaders who have walked them.
Online Evolve Resources include podcasts that bring the experiences of contributing authors to life.
Additional Evolve Resources include practical forms, worksheets, planners, and representations of models referenced in the text.
Illustrations clarify complex content, helping to make it more memorable and useful, and links to additional online resources serve as a springboard for additional learning.
The diversity of the contributors, backgrounds, interests, and accomplishments gives you a sense that you belong and that your authentic self will add value to our discipline and to global health.
At once scholarly and warm, the style of this book makes it a must-read for nurses who aspire to careers of importance and leadership
Call Number: RT75 .P74 2024x
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice: caring for populationsHow do you solve population-level health problems, develop nursing inventions, and apply them to clinical practice? This problem-solving, case-based approach shows you how to apply public health knowledge across all settings and populations. You'll encounter different case studies in every chapter as you explore concepts such as community assessments, public health policy, and surveillance. Step by step, you'll develop the knowledge and skills you need to apply public health principles across a variety of health care settings, special populations, and scenarios, and to evaluate their effectiveness. New!Healthy People 2030 boxes that present its goals and objectives and discuss how to apply them to everyday work settings New & Expanded! Content on communicable diseases and pandemics and how they affect the structure of public health, plus updated coverage of the social determinants of health and vulnerable populations New! "Why It Matters" boxes exploring the clinical nurse's role in public and community health and illustrating the application of theory to practice Three case studies in each chapter, "Solving the Mystery," "Applying Public Health Science," and one at the end of the chapter to provide examples of the step-by-step processes that enable you to apply public health principles in the real world Four simulation scenarios (facilitator and participant versions) that cover hot topics tied to problem-based learning as well as a new simulation scenario covering social determinants of health Coverage of public health nursing competencies and roles that highlights national standards in public health "Evidence-Based Practice" boxes illustrating how research and its resulting evidence support and inform public health nursing practice Callout boxes in each chapter highlighting relevant Healthy People 2030 information, evidence-based practice, and rate calculations Problem-based learning approach featuring exercises such as critical-thinking and end-of-chapter questions to enhance your skills and enable you to apply what you're learning
Call Number: RT97 .S28 2024
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach.Nurses are leveraging new technologies to interpret and analyze clinical data. Understanding how to use that information and make appropriate clinical decisions are vital to their role and proper patient care. Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach, Fourth Edition presents the complicated topic of statistics in an understandable manner, so students are prepared to start their career no matter the setting. Relevant clinical examples followed by end of chapter application exercises, provide students the opportunity to practice statistics while learning.The Fourth Edition introduces Intellectus Statistics, a web-based statistical software program designed to help non-statisticians learn to conduct research and complete statistical analyses appropriately. Often, computer applications are the most stressful part of learning statistics. This program simplifies the process of learning the software while helping students produce and understand the actual statistics content. This holistic course package will prepare nursing students to efficiently read, understand, and interpret public health data to improve patient care.
Call Number: RT68 .H43 2024
Basic immunology : functions and disorders of the immune systemMeticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases―all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible.
Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application.
Contains new and expanded content on pandemics, COVID-19, and herd immunity; resistance and susceptibility to COVID-19; RNA vaccines and hybrid viral vaccines; tumor immunotherapy; innate immune responses to viruses; mechanisms of immunologic tolerance; and immunotherapy for autoimmune, allergic, and other inflammatory diseases, and cancer.
Provides unrivalled instruction from an expert author team, all of whom are experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers.
Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to cover new information and improve reader understanding of complex concepts.
Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions and self-assessment questions.
Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers of medicine, allied health fields, and biology.
Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review.
Call Number: E-book
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and GynecologyBeckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th Edition, provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice. Highly respected for its authoritative expertise and preferred by students for its concise, consistent approach, the text is fully aligned with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based. The 9th Edition is updated throughout and enhanced with engaging new features that encourage reflection, strengthen retention, and deliver critical preparation for exams and clinical practice. UPDATED! New and revised content throughout reflects the latest perspectives on lactation, hypertensive disorders, alloimmunization, postpartum infection, anxiety and depression, obstetrics procedures, family planning, and violence against women. NEW! Case Vignettes provide critical practice applying knowledge for shelf exams and the USMLE. NEW! Pause, Think, and Apply practice questions foster reflection and test students' comprehension. Concise, digestible chapters rich with helpful pedagogy and dynamic full-color imagery simplify key clinical concepts for easier understanding and retention. Clinical "pearls" alert students to specific issues encountered in gynecologic and obstetric practice.
Call Number: RG101 .O24 2024
Clinical Microbiology Procedures HandbookGold Standard consensus-based procedures from the experts.
The Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, 5th edition, provides those engaged in microbial analysis of clinical specimens with procedures for the detection, identification, and characterization of microorganisms involved in human infections. This unique and valuable collection of step-by-step descriptions of the numerous testing modalities used in the clinical microbiology laboratory was written and edited by highly knowledgeable laboratorians. The 5th edition features two new sections, one on blood cultures and one on MALDI-TOF MS, and the sections on molecular diagnostics, virology, and serology were extensively revised and updated. Presented over multiple volumes, this handbook enables laboratory staff to perform all analyses, including appropriate quality control recommendations, from the receipt of the specimen through processing, testing, interpretation, presentation of the final report, and subsequent consultation.
Call Number: E-book
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric NeurologyGet the latest evidence-based methods for diagnosing and treating neurologic disorders in infants, children, and adolescents
A practical, up-to-date, well-referenced guide to the wide range of neurological diseases that impact infants, children, and adolescents—with detailed descriptions and safe, effective diagnostic procedures and treatments
Nearly 50 chapters covering the full spectrum of pediatric neurologic conditions, including cardinal manifestations of neurologic disease, developmental disorders, pain and other disorders of somatic sensation, epilepsy and disorders of consciousness, major categories of neurologic disease, and diseases of the spinal cord, peripheral nerve and muscle
Summaries of the latest guidelines and treatment recommendations for all pediatric neurology diseases and disorders
Invaluable for rotations and board exam preparation
Addresses many of the new advances in pediatric neurology, while also remaining relevant to trainees and general practitioners to be used as a quick reference guide on treating patients
Each chapter is written by experts in their own subspecialty
A wealth of tables and figures provides quick access to important information
Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow, time-saving CURRENT format: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis
Ideal for medical students, residents, pediatricians, and neurologists
Brief overviews, highlighted areas of importance, and multiple choice questions for better board prep review
Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and depth
Call Number: RJ486 .C877 2023 & E-book
ECG Core CurriculumA reader-friendly, how-to guide for reading EKGs - from basic to advanced EKG Core Curriculum is a basic, easy-to-understand introduction to interpreting EKGs. Written by a physician who is experienced in teaching EKG classes to students and residents, the book begins with basic concepts and progresses to more advanced lessons. Unlike competitive titles, this unique learning tool features fresh new approach to teaching EKGs, references for further reading, clinical vignettes, clinical tips, ladder diagrams, and self-tests at the end of each chapter. *Diagnostic Criteria appendix not found anywhere else *The author has taught the basics of EKGs for more than thirty years *Uses the popular "vector approach" to teaching
Call Number: E-book
Economic Evaluation in Genomic and Precision MedicineEconomic Evaluation in Genomic and Precision Medicine provides an in-depth examination of essential concepts, protocols and applications of economic evaluation in genomic and precision medicine. Contributions from leading international medical geneticists and health economists compile new ways to effectively assess the costs and outcomes of different genomic care pathways, implement cost-effective medical interventions, and enhance the value of genomic and precision healthcare. Foundational chapters and discipline-specific case studies cover topics ranging from the economic analysis of genomic trial design, to health technology assessment of next-generation sequencing, ethical aspects, economic policy in genomic medicine, and pricing and reimbursement in clinical genomics.
Call Number: E-book
Evidence-Based Care for Breastfeeding MothersMapped to the UNICEF Baby Friendly Learning Outcomes, this new edition of Pollard’s essential textbook ensures readers are equipped with the essential knowledge and skills to eff ectively promote and support breastfeeding mothers.
Breastfeeding is a major public health issue. Not only does breastmilk provide all the nutrients a baby needs for their fi rst six months, but research shows it also helps to protect infants from infection and reduce obesity, as well as helping to protect mothers from some diseases in later life. Although many women want to breastfeed, rates drop rapidly in the fi rst days and weeks after giving birth. Women need the support of their midwives and health visitors when establishing breastfeeding and throughout their children’s infancy. This comprehensive and accessible text covers:
anatomy and physiology
essential skills and good practice guidance
dealing with common problems
public health considerations
mothers needing additional support
babies with special needs; and
complementary feeding and weaning.
Suitable for midwifery and nursing students, as well as practitioners undertaking continuing professional development, Evidence-based Care for Breastfeeding Mothers is designed to aid learning. Each chapter begins with specific learning outcomes linked to the Baby Friendly Learning Outcomes, key fact boxes, clinical scenarios and activities
Call Number: RJ216 .P65 2024
Heptinstall's Pathology of the KidneySelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! For nearly 60 years, Heptinstall's Pathology of the Kidney has been the reference of choice for both pathologists and nephrologists for expert, authoritative coverage of kidney disease. The fully revised and reorganized Eighth Edition, edited by Drs. J. Charles Jennette, Vivette D. D'Agati, Agnes B. Fogo, Volker Nickeleit and Michael Barry Stokes offers thorough pathologic descriptions, important clinical correlations, and up-to-date discussions of causes and pathogenesis to improve understanding of kidney disease and to facilitate accurate diagnosis and optimum care of patients with kidney disease. Now in a single volume, this image-rich text conveys the unique challenges and intricacies of renal disease, offering powerful diagnostic and treatment recommendations from decades of clinical research. Features a completely reorganized, single volume format, with more than 60 concise chapters covering all kidney diseases Provides comprehensive yet concise information on pathology, differential diagnosis and clinicopathologic correlations, as well as useful overviews of pathogenesis, demographics/epidemiology, and relevant clinical presentation, treatment, and outcomes Contains numerous diagnostic algorithms throughout Offers clinically oriented, quick-reference content on patterns of injury and classification Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC903.9 .H47 2024
Rapid Review PathologyThrough five best-selling editions, Dr. Edward Goljan’s Rapid Review Pathology has been a trusted resource by students both for USMLE preparation and course study. In this fully revised 6th Edition, Dr. Goljan’s handpicked successor, Dr. Anthony Alfrey, provides a core pathology review and focus on USMLE preparation with a simplified, streamlined format for high-yield review. User-friendly features include an outline format, full-color layout, key points, and a strong clinical correlation throughout.
Provides an integrated approach to learning in a concise, outline format, with an even greater focus on high-yield information for efficient study.
Features full-color photographs, two-color schematics, and numerous summary tables that enhance your understanding of disease processes and improve your study experience.
Contains completely revised and refocused content throughout, perfect for preparing for the USMLE Step 1, Step 2, or course exams.
Provides 500 USMLE-style questions online, as well as Integration Links that provide access to additional images and schematics for further visual supplementation to key areas of the text.
Call Number: RB120 .G654 2024
Thoracic Imaging: case reviewMaster the critical imaging content you need to know with this thoroughly updated title in the popular Case Review series. Thoracic Imaging offers a highly illustrated, case-based preparation for board review to help residents and recertifying radiologists succeed on exams, demonstrate a clinical understanding of thoracic imaging, and improve imaging accuracy and interpretation. Cases include both common and difficult-to-diagnose disorders spanning the range of diseases impacting the thorax, including sarcoidosis, lymphoma, traumatic aortic injury, small airway disease, idiopathic interstitial pneumonias, developmental lung disease, and lung cancer.
Presents more than 145 high-yield case studies organized by level of difficulty, helping you build your knowledge and confidence in stages. All cases have been refreshed and rewritten to capture the latest clinical implications and diagnostic pearls on thoracic conditions that you will be tested on.
Includes multiple-choice questions, answers, and rationales that mimic the format of certification exams.
Uses short, easily digestible chapters covering the full range of thoracic imaging for efficient, effective learning and exam preparation.
Features hundreds of high-quality, full-color images (many new to this edition) representing a wide range of clinical situations encountered in thoracic imaging. Images include chest radiographs, CT, PET-CT, and MRI to help you expand your visual identification and diagnostic skills.
Clearly see and interpret 400 high-quality, state-of-the-art images representing a wide range of clinical situations encountered in thoracic imaging.
Get fresh perspectives from 200 updated or new cases reflecting the most recent changes in thoracic imaging, including PET-CT, emerging pulmonary infections, smoking-related lung diseases, Fleischner guidelines for management of incidentally detected lung nodules, and ground glass and part-solid lung nodules.
Call Number: RC734.I43 S75 2024x
Weedon's Skin Pathology EssentialsComprehensive, concise, and superbly illustrated, Weedon's Skin Pathology Essentials, 3rd Edition, provides expert, easy-to-read guidance on key diagnoses in dermatopathology for pathologists and dermatologists in practice and training. This clearly written, well-structured text/atlas is ideal for quickly looking up practical problems in the recognition and diagnosis of skin lesions both clinically and histologically. Cross-referenced to the encyclopedic and authoritative Weedon's Skin Pathology, 5th Edition, it enables you to avoid pitfalls and make the most accurate diagnoses with confidence. Covers more than 1,300 dermatopathological entities, both common and rare, including additional entries in every section of the text. Provides more than 3,000 color histopathologic and clinical images for complete visual coverage of key diagnostic points for any given entity, and features new illustrations of rare conditions and unusual manifestations. Includes numerous summary tables and diagnostic algorithms that guide you to the most likely diagnosis and set of differential diagnoses for numerous inflammatory and neoplastic skin conditions. Discusses the latest immunohistochemical staining techniques and molecular genetic techniques. Uses a highly templated, bulleted, outline format throughout, facilitating quick and easy retrieval of key information. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-book
Yamada's Atlas of GastroenterologyYAMADA'S Atlas of Gastroenterology Gastroenterology and Hepatology remain highly visual specialties, in part because of the tremendous accessibility of the luminal gastrointestinal tract to endoscopic examination and biopsy, and other internal digestive organs to advanced imaging modalities and sampling. Thus, in addition to standard views of cross-sectional imaging and histopathologic analysis used in many disorders, the field encompasses multimodal endoscopic imaging, which has continued to advance over the last decade. This sixth edition of Yamada's Atlas of Gastroenterology continues to offer diverse images that provide an overview of the field of digestive diseases, and aims to provide a synopsis through pictures and illustrations rather than through text. Consequently, this Atlas is designed to complement and accompany the primary textbook in the field, the seventh edition of Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology. This newest edition of the Atlas presents a wealth of pictorial material designed to provide a highly informative snapshot of major gastrointestinal, pancreatic and hepatobiliary diseases. Every GI disorder from liver abscesses, endocrine neoplasms of the pancreas, to motility disorders of the esophagus are fully illustrated through the use of endoscopic and transabdominal ultrasonographs, computed tomography scans, magnetic resonance images, radionuclide images, angiograms, and high resolution manometry, in addition to histopathology and cytology. The Atlas includes over 2000 exceptional images, organized by disease entity and therapeutic modality, including histopathology slides, MRI and CT scans, endoscopy, EUS, and open surgery images. Boasting an outstanding editorial team and 200 chapter authors, who are internationally renowned experts in their fields of expertise, Yamada's Atlas of Gastroenterology is designed for a wide spectrum of readers, including students, residents, fellows and other trainees, practicing clinicians, professors and related specialists. For a busy trainee or clinician seeking a quick introduction to the spectrum of GI diseases, Yamada's Atlas of Gastroenterology represents a practical and useful introduction to important disorders, and brings to life the salient points of the topic accurately and comprehensively.
Call Number: RC801 .T496 2022
Management/Employee Development Books
Becoming Coachable: unleashing the power of executive coaching to transform your leadership and lifeGood leaders maintain steady teams, achieve reasonable growth, and are comfortable in their authority. But great leaders recognize that unparalleled success comes from always seeking to improve. The stakes of leadership are higher than ever, and operating with maximum effectiveness is not only desirable but also imperative.What the world's most influential leaders know is that the secret to achieving that effectiveness is becoming coachable. And in order to do so, one must be ready to engage in the process of betterment, starting with investing in yourself in order to give the most back to your organization, team, and the world.That's where executive coaching comes in. Imbued with decades of experience at the highest echelons of the industry, Becoming Coachable guides readers through the ins and outs of a successful coaching experience. The authors-two veteran coaching experts and the world's #1 executive coach-identify key leadership archetypes and unpack the intricacies of a typical engagement. They demystify the coaching relationship and outline a framework that hinges on the openness integral to reaping the most from such an experience.Most important, however, is the invitation this book contains to propel a leader's impact far beyond themselves. Illuminating the road to wielding leadership powers in a way that lights the path for all, Becoming Coachable is an ultimately revelatory read that will inspire you to take steps toward becoming a better leader, collaborator, and human.
Call Number: HD57.7 .O86 2023x
Breaking Through: communicating to open minds, move hearts, and change the worldA Wall Street Journal Bestseller Pfizer's trailblazing communications leader, Sally Susman, reveals how we can break through the noise to get our message across and make positive change. A global pandemic. A roller-coaster economy. Political tensions ready to ignite, and common civility at an all-time low. For leaders, the pressures and the stakes could not be higher. And in such a stormy, often dangerous world, communications can no longer be considered a soft skill. The ability to reach people and drive public conversation is a rock-hard competency. In this wise and inspiring book, Sally Susman, the renowned head of corporate affairs at global biopharmaceutical giant Pfizer, tells the fascinating story of how the company managed the massive communications challenge that came with Covid-19 and the race to produce an effective vaccine. Just as crucial as creating the vaccine itself was the task of winning people's hearts and minds, and Susman highlights the principles that enabled her to break through, connect, and help move people forward, not only at Pfizer but over a long and stellar career. She shows how clarifying and channeling your intention is an essential first step: What are you trying to say? She illustrates how leaders need to muster the courage to be candid in order to be effective and how, in order to connect, they must both disarm with humility and delight with humor. As a gay, married woman, she talks forthrightly about the challenges and opportunities of embracing who you are, both at home and in the workplace. Susman's stories will draw you in with their warmth and humanity, and enlighten and motivate you with their insight and passion. Breaking Through is essential reading for any leader who faces the daunting challenge of communicating in our noisy, turbulent world.
Call Number: HF5718 .S874 2023
Credible: the power of expert leadersA leading business expert shows why expertise really matters, and how leaders who deeply understand the nuts and bolts of their industry and organization-- from businesses, to hospitals, to universities, to sports-- make all the difference for its success and the happiness of people who work there. Amanda Goodall has spent a decade researching what makes organizations tick, everywhere from the business world to hospitals and healthcare systems, football and basketball teams, and Formula 1 organizations. By debunking the cult of managerialism (the notion that smart people can run anything and the emphasis on leadership personality), Goodall reshapes our understanding of bosses and the traits necessary for organizational success. She identifies the key characteristics of expert leaders and provides a real and grossly underappreciated model for career success: "go deep into a business, work hard, pay attention, and know your stuff." Those who run hospitals and healthcare systems, for example, should be physicians with deep clinical expertise, not financiers or people parachuted in from other industries. Those who run school systems and universities need to understand from experience the stress of balancing teaching, research, and student welfare Credible demonstrates categorically that expertise matters more than ever and that we need our leaders to be experts with a deep, understanding of their organizations from many years spent learning the business and working their way up the ladder. The people who work for them are happier because they feel better understood and the organizations they lead are more successful.
Call Number: HD57.7 .G6646 2023x
HQ Solutions: resource for the healthcare quality professionalWritten by Healthcare Quality experts and applicable to all practice settings across the continuum of care, HQ Solutions: Resource for the Healthcare Quality Professional, Fifth Edition is an essential resource that offers healthcare quality professionals the theoretical and practical basis for safe, reliable, cost-effective care, including the use of state-of-the-art tools for measuring, monitoring, selecting, and managing data. Offering comprehensive guidance on creating quality structures that support patient/provider collaboration, cost-effective solutions, and safe, efficient care, this official publication of the National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ), is an invaluable resource for preparing for the Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality® (CPHQ) certification exam.- Comprehensive CPHQ exam prep resource, covering critical topics for healthcare quality, practice, skill development, and knowledge growth. - New sections speak to important and evolving topics in health care quality, including quality review and accountability, regulatory and accreditation, and population health and care transitions.- Key points summarize important content in each section, while suggested readings and online resources point the learner to helpful resources for daily practice.- Numerous tables and figures illustrate and clarify models, frameworks, concepts, and principles.- Extensive glossary and list of acronyms that provide a brief dictionary for important terms.HQ Solutions, Fifth Edition can be used for CPHQ exam preparation, which is critical to earning the credential. For other learners, this resource is designed to serve as a source of information about leadership, organizational strategy for healthcare quality, data analytics, performance improvement approaches, patient safety principles and more. Those who will benefit from this body of knowledge include but are not limited to: - Undergraduate and graduate students in academic programs focusing on areas such as healthcare quality, patient safety, health data analytics, public health, and administration.- Healthcare professionals including college instructors, policy and practice researchers, leaders and managers in healthcare organizations, Board of Directors, and clinicians in a wide range of practice settings (including home care, hospices, skilled nursing facilities, rehab, and ambulatory care).
Call Number: RA399.A3 Q25 2024
The Interprofessional Health Care Team: Leadership and DevelopmentThe Interprofessional Health Care Team: Leadership and Development, Third Edition is designed to help future health professionals realize their capacity for leadership and develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes that are requisite to becoming a positive agent of change and growth in themselves and in others at the organizations within which they work. It describes possibilities and options, theories, exercises, rich references, and stimulating questions that will inspire both novices and experts to think differently about their roles and styles as leaders or members of a team. The authors provide many tools to empower readers and facilitate the fostering of productive teamwork. It is an inspiring book with easily operational principles. It is written for many audiences and to achieve many goals all centered on best practices to attain quality care, particularly during this time of reinventing and transforming health care.In response to increasingly complex healthcare challenges, models for interprofessional practice and education have received global acceptance as prerequisites for improving population health, improving per capita costs and improving the health care experience. This book is comprised of three primary modules or parts: Teamwork and Group Development, Relationship Centered Leadership and Building & Sustaining Collaborative Interdisciplinary Teams. Each module is divided into chapters which introduce theoretical concepts and provide case studies and active teaching/learning experiences that are appropriate for in-class, on-line, or personal, reflective learning environments.
Call Number: RA971 .W454 2024
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United StatesNewly revised and significantly updated, Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States, 13th Edition continues to be a highly acclaimed and trusted resource covering all aspects of health care in the United States. This comprehensive textbook contains information on a wide array of topics, including the organization of care, population health, the fundamental challenges of health disparities, health care financing and economics, and health information technology's role in improving care and protecting privacy. New chapters on public health preparedness and its role in mitigating effects on health and the health system, and the medical and social challenges of caring for older adults provide insight into important, ongoing challenges and what those challenges reflect about our system of care. With an increased emphasis on health disparities, population health, and health equity, this textbook includes a timely focus on how social and behavioral determinants influence health outcomes. Students will gain a deeper understanding of public health systems and their societal role and of the economic perspectives that drive health care managers and the system. Thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system, in addition to an evaluation of our nation's achievement of health care value, will equip students with the critical knowledge they need to enter this dynamic and complex field. The book also includes cutting-edge, evidence-based information on preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more from prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within health care management, public health, population health, health policy, medical care, and nursing. Key Features: New chapters on Public Health Preparedness and Caring for Older Adults Expanded coverage on health disparities and health equity, public health systems and their societal role, and the economic perspectives driving health care managers and the system Careers in Focus sections provide perspectives from a range of career paths in the health sector and how they contribute to the health care workforce Case Exercises and Discussion Questions have been expanded for all chapters Digital access to the entire text, including four supplementary eChapters that provide an engaging visual overview of trends in health care and detail the Affordable Care Ave--including its history and implementation, updates to the law, and changes as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers, and qualified instructors also have access to a full suite of instructor resources
Call Number: RA395.A3 J656 2024
Leadership in Healthcare: essential values and skillsLeadership in Healthcare examines leadership through the lens of values and explores how they play a major role in leaders effective performance. Author Carson Dye shares the key values that influence a leader's behaviors, priorities, thought processes, and actions. Dye also offers guidance for assessing team values and effectiveness at all career stages. The book is divided into five parts: Leadership in Healthcare, Personal Values, Team Values, Evaluation, and Additional Perspectives on Leadership. New content includes chapters on inclusivity, the role of physicians, and the role of leaders in supporting workers. In addition, a new chapter looks at the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on leadership and the special challenges healthcare leaders have faced-and continue to face-in a very different healthcare environment. The book's special features include opening vignettes reflecting on workplace situations; sidebars, cases, and exercises to support discussions and stimulate reader response; and additional readings that provide an expanded understanding of chapter content. In addition, the book's appendices share tools for evaluating leaders and teams and driving self evaluation.
Call Number: RA971 .D94 2023
Managing a Global WorkforceManaging a Global Workforce examines important human resource management issues and practices in today's global marketplace, helping current and future managers and leaders, regardless of nationality, in making effective human talent management decisions for optimal organizational performance. This fourth edition includes significant updates to reflect recent global developments affecting the management of global HRM, including the following: - The COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on new work expectations/arrangements; - The Great Resignation; - AI and automation; - Managing diversity, equity, and inclusion; - Climate change; - Emerging economies; and - CSR/ethics/sustainability The new edition also includes several new opening and closing brief cases to promote applied reflection and discussion, as well as updated references to important research. With its practical, real-world emphasis, including frequent use of current examples, the text also serves as a useful resource for guiding the global workforce management and decision-making of current and future general managers and human resource practitioners. This book is essential reading for general graduate and undergraduate business students, as well as those in specialty programs in International Business and Human Resources.
Call Number: HF5549.5.E45 V36 2023
Reflective Leadership in HealthcareThis practical and positive guide shows how good, effective reflection can help people to stay on track, as well as understand what is working well and what might be improved - essential skills for leaders at all levels of practice from newly qualified staff to senior managers. Supporting readers to link theory and action with reflection, the authors illustrate how practitioners can exercise their own kinds of leadership to strengthen, improve and thrive. Taking a realistic and achievable view of leadership, the book: reviews the different leadership approaches and styles that help to inform us about what makes a good leader; explores the role of emotional intelligence, appreciative intelligence and narrative intelligence in leadership, especially in complex, challenging and continually changing healthcare settings; and uses case studies and practice examples to ensure the book is relevant, current and helpful. Reflective leadership is fundamental to providing safe, effective healthcare to all patients, as well as enhancing resilience for individuals, teams and organisations. This guide is an essential read for healthcare students and practitioners, no matter at what stage or level they are at as a leader.
Call Number: RA971 .L323 2024
Stress, Health, and BehaviorExposure to stressful life experiences can disrupt key regulatory systems in the body and contribute to a variety of negative health outcomes. This authoritative text takes a biopsychosocial approach to understanding the role of stress in alcohol use disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, depression, cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes, cancer, and other chronic diseases. It presents cutting-edge knowledge about how stressors are conceptualized and measured; connections to disease processes; systemic racism as a significant, ongoing stressor for people of color; and factors that promote resilience. For each of the disorders discussed, proven and promising stress-targeted clinical interventions are reviewed. Student-friendly features include an end-of-book glossary and an extensive bibliography to facilitate in-depth study of selected topics of interest.
Call Number: QP82.2.S8 M334 2023
See All New Resources
Click hereto review more materials added to all of the Mayo Clinic Libraries,
New book notification
To recommend a book or to be notified of these new resources e-mail: