Complete List of ALL new items
Nursing/Allied Health
AANN Core Curriculum for Neuroscience Nursing, 7th Edition
The AANN Core Curriculum for Neuroscience Nursing, 7th edition, is the most comprehensive summary of neuroscience nursing evidence and is a great resource for nurses preparing for the Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse (CNRN) or Stroke Certified Registered Nurse (SCRN) exams.Updated content includes a synthesis of the latest research to guide all aspects of neuroscience nursing practice. This is the best and broadest reference for neuroscience nurses and is a vital tool for studying for the CNRN certification exam. The content in the 7th edition is organized in an easy-to-read format and includes new figures and images and a list of relevant tools and resources at the end of each chapter.
Call Number: RC350.5 .A25 2022x
Advanced Practice Provider Skills Made Easy: a Practice Guideline
Transitioning to an advanced practice provider and learning procedures that are performed in primary care can be challenging and daunting to students and new clinicians. That's where this book and the accompanying videos can help!Advanced Practice Provider Skills Made Easy: A Practice Guideline is an easy-to-follow procedural guide designed to prepare advanced practice providers to perform primary care procedures safely and competently within their scope of practice. Authored by a practicing nurse practitioner, academician, and entrepreneur who teaches clinical procedures and skills using simulation, this unique book offers hands-on clinical skills based on the latest evidence-based research. The clear step-by-step instructions and practical framework of the need-to-know information, make Advanced Practice Provider Skills Made Easy: A Practice Guideline a convenient and must-have resource for clinicians.
Call Number: RT82.8 .O55 2023
ATI TEAS: TEAS 7 Prep Book Secrets Study Guide: six full length practice tests (1,000+) questions, step-by-step video tutorials Secrets
6 Full-Length Practice Tests with detailed answer explanations.
Math practice question video solutions for two practice tests
Strategies for new question types that appear in the 7th edition
A complete review of all TEAS test sections
Online test simulations with detailed score reporting
End-of-chapter quizzes to test your comprehension of each chapter
TEAS® is a registered trademark of the Assessment Technologies Institute®, which is unaffiliated, not a sponsor, or associated with Mometrix Test Preparation.
Mometrix Test Preparation's ATI TEAS Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Test of Essential Academic Skills, 7th Edition. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your TEAS exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the Assessment Technologies Institute (ATI) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.
The Reading section covers:
Key Ideas and Details
Craft and Structure
Integration of Knowledge and Ideas
The Math section covers:
Numbers and Algebra
Measurement and Data
The Science section covers:
Human Anatomy and Physiology
Biology
Chemistry
Scientific Reasoning
The English and Language Usage section covers:
Conventions of Standard English
Knowledge of Language
Using Language and Vocabulary to Express Ideas in Writing
...and much more!
Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix TEAS study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language.
Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of TEAS practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.
Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do.
We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our ATI TEAS Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the TEAS review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T43 B6855 2022x
Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare
CLINICAL LEADERSHIP IN NURSING AND HEALTHCARE Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks, and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders. Lastly, each chapter has a range of reflective questions and self-assessments to help consolidate learning. The newly revised third edition has been updated in light of recent key changes in health service approaches to care and values. While it covers a wide spectrum of practical topics, Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare also includes information on: Theories of leadership and management, organisational culture, gender, generational issues and leaders, project management, quality initiatives, and working in teams Managing change, effective clinical decision making, how to network and delegate, how to deal with conflict, and implementing evidence-based practice Congruent leadership, the link between values and actions, authentic leadership, leaving behind control as an objective, and managing power Why decisions go wrong, techniques for developing creativity, barriers to creativity, conflict resolution and management, negotiation, self-talk, and leading in a crisis With expert input from a diverse collection of experienced contributors, Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for new leaders trying to establish themselves and existing leaders looking to perform at a higher level when it comes to quality and effective patient care.
Call Number: RA971.35 .S73 2023
Design and Development of Smart Surgical Assistant Technologies: a case study for translational sciences
"Are Amazon Alexa and Google Home limited to our bedrooms, or can they be used in hospitals? Do you envision a future where physicians work hand-in-hand with voice AI to revolutionize healthcare delivery? In the near future, clinical smart assistants will be able to automate many manual hospital tasks-and this will be only the beginning of the changes to come. Voice AI is the future of physician-machine interaction and this Focus book will provide invaluable insight on its next frontier. It begins with a brief history and current implementations of voice-activated assistants and illustrates why clinical voice AI is at its inflection point. Next, it describes how the authors built the worlds first smart surgical assistant using an off-the-shelf smart home device, outlining the implementation process in the operating room. From quantitative metrics to surgeons feedback, the authors discuss the feasibility of this technology in the surgical setting. The book then provides an in-depth development guideline for engineers and clinicians desiring to develop their own smart surgical assistants. Lastly, the authors delve into their experiences in translating voice AI into the clinical setting and reflect on the challenges and merits of this pursuit. The worlds first smart surgical assistant has not only reduced surgical time but eliminated major touch points in the operating room, resulting in positive, significant implications for patient outcomes and surgery costs. From clinicians eager for insight on the next digital health revolution to developers interested in building the next clinical voice AI, this book offers a guide for both audiences"--
Call Number: RD32.3 .K56 2023
ECG Workout: exercises in arrhythmia interpretation
Improve your ability to provide reliably accurate rhythm strip interpretation with the newly updated, fully interactive ECG Workout, 8th Edition. Written by an expert arrhythmia instructor, this definitive guide to electrocardiography basics identifies and explains the many types of arrhythmias seen in nursing practice, and describes the various rhythm groups, forms of equipment, and treatment protocols. A proven guide to ECG tracing interpretation methods, the text offers crucial support to nursing students; nurses practicing in cardiac care, critical care, or trauma settings; and those preparing for advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) certification. In this edition: NEW and updated figures, boxes, and tables, as well as additional practice strips NEW! Improved organization of anatomy and physiology content All content aligns to the most current ACLS guidelines Nearly 50 perforated, removable arrhythmia flashcards that provide added practice and interpretation content Perforated, removable arrhythmia summary tables to assist in differentiation between the four rhythm groups. Step-by-step directions for interpreting rhythm strips and understanding and interpreting ECGs More than 600 ECG practice strips for practice under expert guidance A final-chapter self-test with more than 100 waveform rhythm strips for practice on determining rhythm, rate, P wave, PR interval, QRS complex measurement, and on rhythm interpretation Pocket ECG conversion table on inside back cover supports precise heart rate calculation End-of-chapter strips from actual patient cases, with 3-second indicators for rapid-rate calculation Back-of-book answer keys that help you evaluate your skills and distinguish between various heart blocks Chapters address ECG concepts and skills in well-illustrated detail: Electrophysiology--The electrical basis of electrocardiology Arrhythmias--Examples, causes, clinical treatments, and practice strips for sinus, atrial, junctional, and AV blocks, and ventricular and bundle-branch block rhythms ECG tracing components--Waveforms, intervals, segments, complexes, and waveform identification Cardiac monitors--Lead systems, lead placement, ECG artifacts, and troubleshooting monitor problems Methods for precise rate calculation Cardiac pacemakers--Types, indications, function, pacemaker terminology, malfunctions, and pacemaker analysis, including practice tracings About the Clinical Editor Jane Huff, RN, CCRN, is Arrhythmia Instructor at Unity Health Systems, Unity Health White County Medical Center in Searcy, Arkansas.
Call Number: RC685.A65 H84 2023
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals
This long-standing textbook provides a clear overview of evidence-based practice. It explores the basic prinicples of knowledge, evidence and decision making and guides students through the process of crtitquing and using evidence in their day-to-day practice. The 5th edition has been updated to reflect contemporary approaches, drawing from lessons learned during the Covid-19 pandemic and includes a new chapter explaining the difference between evaluation, audit and research. Additional features: case studies, activities and end of chapter crossword puzzles help students consolidate their understanding provides a collection of practical appraisal tools and templates to use when reviewing differnet sources of research extensive glossary providing clear definitions of key terminology
Call Number: RT42 .B37 2022x
Gerontological Nursing: competencies for care
Gerontological nursing remains a critical specialty area for the profession of nursing, especially as the older adult population grows. The Fifth Edition of Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care takes a holistic approach and teaches students how to provide quality patient care for the older adult, preparing them to effectively care for this population. Students and faculty appreciate the practical approach as well as the author's logical organization of competency-based content both of which are a hallmark of this text. Following the framework outlined by the AACN's recommended baccalaureate competencies and curricular guidelines for the care of older adults, the text guides students through the core foundations of gerontological nursing as a specialty. The Fifth Edition emphasizes these essential competencies coupled with the management of geriatric syndromes that impact this population including falls, sleep disorders, depression/anxiety, and elder abuse. Key Features: * Practical information on dementia for nurses and caregivers * Expanded content on fall prevention * New content on COVID-19 and telehealth care * "Healthy Aging Tips" found throughout the text* Updated research highlights* Critical thinking and personal reflection exercises * Video case studies in the form of author-conducted interviews accessible via Navigate Premier Access
Call Number: RC954 .G4746 2023
The Health Care Professional's Guide to Cultural Competence
Build the skills you need to understand and care for a wide diversity of patients! The Health Care Professional's Guide to Cultural Competence, 2nd Edition provides a guide to safe and effective cross-cultural care. Applying theory to practice, the book begins with an overview of clinical cultural competence. This guide shows how to apply cultural competence across diverse populations, and then in working with specific populations. Using this approach, you will develop a set of behaviours, attitudes, and policies that help you work effectively in many settings. From an expert team of authors led by Rani H. Srivastava, this guide will enhance your care of Indigenous, LGBTQ2, Black and People of Colour, and immigrant and refugee populations. UNIQUE approach looks at populations the way health care workers encounter them, not by ethno-cultural/religious labels. Accessible writing style relays information in a balanced and concise manner for undergraduate and graduate students as well as health care professionals. Multidisciplinary perspective is provided by authors who represent a variety of health disciplines and cultural identities, who may be educators or practitioners, each presenting complex ideas in understandable ways and controversial ideas in a transparent way. Cultural Considerations in Care and Cultural Competence in Action boxes integrate theory into practice and invite critical self-reflection. Teaching and learning tools include learning objectives and key terms at the beginning of each chapter, plus end-of-chapter group activities, review questions, and more. NEW! New chapters on Indigenous health, sexual and gender diversity, immigrant and refugee health, and community health are added to this edition, and new topics include cultural safety, cultural humility, the impacts of racism, working with interpreters and the use of technology, palliative care, and more. NEW! UNIQUE! Cultural competence and safety perspectives throughout the text help you to be more responsive in delivering culturally safe care, and in reaching the goal of equity and culturally competent care. NEW! Discussion of cultural issues addresses power, privilege, intersectionality, equity, advocacy, and being an ally. NEW! Up-to-date content includes the latest statistics, guidelines, research, references, and resources. NEW! Evolve website enhances your understanding with review questions, unfolding case studies, and more.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 .H43 2023x
Lifestyle Nursing
Lifestyle medicine is an evidence-based approach to helping individuals and families adopt and sustain healthy behaviors in preventing, treating, and oftentimes, reversing chronic diseases. This fast-growing specialty operates off six main principles including nutrition, physical activity, stress resilience, cessation or risk reduction of substance use, quality sleep, and social connectivity. Nurses are the primary providers of hospital-based patient care and deliver most of the nation's long-term care. Within healthcare, nurses are often tasked with educating patients and families and are thereby well-positioned to address lifestyle intervention with patients. Lifestyle Nursing examines the concepts of lifestyle medicine and nursing practice, it is specifically designed to help nurses introduce the concepts of lifestyle medicine to readers while also encouraging them to focus on their own wellness. This book features nutritional guidelines and supplemental materials operationalizing this basic nutrition knowledge into personal and patient wellness. It addresses evidence-based findings of chronic diseases including heart diseases and stroke, type 2 diabetes, and cancers, which can often be prevented by lifestyle interventions. Drawing from nursing and medical literature, this volume in the Lifestyle Medicine series encourages incorporation of lifestyle principles into nursing practices professionally and personally which will lead to overall improved patient outcomes and happier, healthier nurses.
Call Number: RT90.7 .N89 2023
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators
To succeed as leaders of a diverse, multigenerational workforce, nurse managers and executives need to have both traditional management skills and a contemporary, creative mindset. Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators, Ninth Edition provides a comprehensive overview of key management and administrative concepts critical to leading modern healthcare organizations and ensuring patient safety and quality care. With this text, students will be prepared to lead a workplace that is rapidly evolving due to technology, culture, and changes in the U.S. healthcare system. The Ninth Edition features a new Introduction with a review of the current trends and patterns in nursing leadership, along with expanded discussions of translational science focused on implementation and dissemination, workforce well-being, resiliency, work-life balance, healthy work environments, and more timely topics. With this resource, students will have the foundational management and leadership concepts and the business theory knowledge to develop and advance their leadership capacity.
Call Number: RT89 .M3843 2023
Oncology Certified Nurse OCN Review
If you are studying for the ONCC Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN®) Examination,Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN®) Reviewis a must-have resource. This comprehensive print + digital resource is based on the latest ONCC content outline and authored by expert oncology nurses. Each chapter addresses exam topics with exam tips, quick-reference tables, useful illustrations, and end-of-chapter questions to assess knowledge retention. The OCN review concludes with a full 165-question practice test. With more than 300 exam-style practice questions in total, detailed review content and answer rationales, and a convenient print + digital package, Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN®) Review gives you the tools you need to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed!
Key Features:
Aligns with the latest ONCC OCN® exam blueprint
Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of everything needed to pass your exam
Features exam tips, key points, and clinical pearls to remember on exam day
Includes end-of-chapter assessment questions and a full 165-question practice test with robust remediating rationales
Content available digitally via ExamPrepConnect for study on the go
Publisher: Springer Publishing Company
ExamPrepConnect Features:
All the high-quality content from the book
Personalized study plan based on exam date
300+ questions and answers with rationales—study by topic to identify strengths and weaknesses
Timed practice test to accurately gauge exam preparedness
Discussion board to connect with your exam-prep community
Games to make studying fun!
OCN® is a registered trademark of the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC). The ONCC is the sole owner of its certification programs. ONCC does not endorse this exam preparation resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing Company.
Call Number: RC266 .M46 2022x
Practice Questions for NPD Review: questions answers and rationales for Nursing Professional Development Exam Review
Nurse Builders Practice Questions for NPD Review are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important Nursing Professional Development Review. This book contains almost 200 practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the NPD exam. This book contains detailed information about the exam content outline. Questions are organized by exam content area to promote an organized approach
Call Number: RT76 .J35 2022x
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: scope and standards of practice
The American Nurses Association, American Psychiatric Nurses Association and the International Society of Psychiatric Mental Health Nurses worked together with nurses from across the nursing profession to develop Psychiatric-Mental Health: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition. It is the definitive and up-to-date delineation of psychiatric-mental health nursing, articulating the competent level of nursing practice and professional performance of all PMH registered nurses, whatever their practice level or setting. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all psychiatric-mental health nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. The detailed discussion of that scope of practice provides the context needed to understand and use the standards, presenting the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of the specialty.
Call Number: RC440 .P7427 2022
Medicine
ABC of Wound Healing
ABC of Wound Healing, Second Edition ABC of Wound Healing is a practical, highly illustrated guide to assessment, diagnosis and management of all common types of acute and chronic wounds. This concise yet comprehensive reference covers all essential aspects of wound healing care, including epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment, treatment, long-term management, and prevention This revised second edition contains several new chapters on lymphoedema, nutrition, skin care, continence, and scarring. Updated and expanded chapters cover a wider range of devices and therapies, and discuss additional factors that impact wound healing processes, offering new clinical photographs as a visual guide. Applying a multidisciplinary approach to the provision of wound care, ABC of Wound Healing: Covers common wounds including traumatic wounds, surgical wounds, diabetic foot ulcers, pressure injuries, and venous and arterial leg ulcers Emphasises the importance of reaching a diagnosis, the fundamental step in managing any wound Provides up-to-date information on physical, chemical, biological and emerging therapies for patients with various types of wounds Contains hundreds of full-colour illustrations and clinical photographs of wounds and treatments ABC of Wound Healing, Second Edition, remains a must-have guide for junior doctors, specialist registrars in medicine and surgery, specialist nurses, general practitioners and medical students.
Call Number: RD94 .A23 2022
Cecil Essentials of MedicineCall Number: E-book
Comparative Management of Spine PathologyCall Number: E-book
Conn's Current Therapy 2022Call Number: E-book
Dermatology EssentialsCall Number: E-book
Essential NeuromodulationCall Number: E-book
Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics, Instrumentation, and Radiation BiologyCall Number: R895 .P69 2022
Febrile SeizuresCall Number: E-book
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory MethodsCall Number: E-book
Integrative Medicine
Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and complementary medicine, Integrative Medicine, 5th Edition, uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach to safely and effectively incorporate alternative therapies into primary care practice. Drawing on available scientific evidence and the authors' first-hand experiences, it covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and other integrative medicine modalities. This highly regarded reference offers practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Templated chapters make it quick and easy to find key information such as dosing, pearls, the Prevention Prescription, and Therapeutic Reviews that incorporates the Evidence vs Harm Icon. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Thoroughly updated, ensuring that you remain well informed regarding the latest evidence. Contains 10 new chapters covering clinician resilience, supporting immunity, NASH/fatty liver, hair loss, rethinking the movement prescription, compassion practices, prescribing low-dose naltrexone, psychedelics, tapering off PPIs and opioids, as well as an expanded osteopathy chapter. Covers timely topics aimed at reducing the epidemics of polypharmacy and opioid overuse, as well as supporting immunity in the face of infectious diseases. Provides online access to multiple-choice questions for every chapter-perfect for board exam review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: R733 .I5755 2023
Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical OphthalmologyCall Number: E-book
Neural Repair and Regeneration after Spinal Cord Injury and Spine TraumaCall Number: E-book
Perloff's Clinical Recognition of Congenital Heart DiseaseCall Number: E-book
Stress: Genetics, Epigenetics and GenomicsCall Number: E-book
Treatments, Mechanisms, and Adverse Reactions of Anesthetics and AnalgesicsCall Number: E-book
Zika Virus Biology, Transmission, and PathwaysCall Number: E-book
Management/Employee Development Books
Academic Libraries and Collaborative Research Services
Here's what you need to know to establish your library's place in the new collaborative research arena by adapting existing library services and practices as well as adding new support services.
Call Number: Z675.U5 A3313 2022
American Health Care: why it costs so much yet remains a beacon of growth and development
Selected by the Association of University Programs in Health Administration for the Bugbee-Falk Book Award Is the health sector a curse or a blessing? The American health sector now accounts for a fifth of the economy. American healthcare spending per capita far exceeds that of other developed countries. Yet our health, as measured by life expectancy and infant mortality, is poor by comparison with the developed world. Other measures of quality including hospital-acquired infection are too common. Healthcare costs financially cripple households despite advances associated with the Affordable Care Act. There is widespread dissatisfaction with the American healthcare system and support for more change. It is also the case that the health sector has been a leader in the evolution of the American economy. Economic development is driven by innovative technology. We tend to applaud new technology and the improvement it brings to our lives. Important recent technologies often grow rapidly and faster than the wider economy. This leads to larger shares of the economy. Yet there is considerable apprehension about costs and economic impact of health spending. This book details important health sector institutions and uniquely, explores linkages between healthcare and broader economic growth. The book addresses asymmetric information between providers and consumers as well as between insurers and beneficiaries. There is a focus on monopoly power in labor markets which contributes to inefficiencies in the system. The author also discusses cost-effectiveness and allocative efficiency as well as emphasizing productivity and its relationship to the wider economy.
Call Number: RA395.A3 H55 2022x
Burnout: the secret to unlocking the stress cycle
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "This book is a gift! I've been practicing their strategies, and it's a total game-changer."--Brené Brown, PhD, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dare to Lead This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men--and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions, and live a more joyful life. Burnout. Many women in America have experienced it. What's expected of women and what it's really like to be a woman in today's world are two very different things--and women exhaust themselves trying to close the gap between them. How can you "love your body" when every magazine cover has ten diet tips for becoming "your best self"? How do you "lean in" at work when you're already operating at 110 percent and aren't recognized for it? How can you live happily and healthily in a sexist world that is constantly telling you you're too fat, too needy, too noisy, and too selfish? Sisters Emily Nagoski, PhD, and Amelia Nagoski, DMA, are here to help end the cycle of feeling overwhelmed and exhausted. Instead of asking us to ignore the very real obstacles and societal pressures that stand between women and well-being, they explain with compassion and optimism what we're up against--and show us how to fight back. In these pages you'll learn * what you can do to complete the biological stress cycle--and return your body to a state of relaxation * how to manage the "monitor" in your brain that regulates the emotion of frustration * how the Bikini Industrial Complex makes it difficult for women to love their bodies--and how to defend yourself against it * why rest, human connection, and befriending your inner critic are keys to recovering and preventing burnout With the help of eye-opening science, prescriptive advice, and helpful worksheets and exercises, all women will find something transformative in these pages--and will be empowered to create positive change. Emily and Amelia aren't here to preach the broad platitudes of expensive self-care or insist that we strive for the impossible goal of "having it all." Instead, they tell us that we are enough, just as we are--and that wellness, true wellness, is within our reach. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKRIOT "Burnout is the gold standard of self-help books, delivering cutting-edge science with energy, empathy, and wit. The authors know exactly what's going on inside your frazzled brain and body, and exactly what you can do to fix it. . . . Truly life-changing."--Sarah Knight, New York Times bestselling author of Calm the F*ck Down
Call Number: RA785 .N35 2020
Energy + Motivation (HBR Emotional Intelligence Series)
Push through when procrastination calls. Some days you're on fire at work; other days you're burned out and easily distracted. How can you maintain your drive, make consistent progress, and expend your energy wisely? This book will help you identify what's behind your flagging engagement and productivity--and provide the expert research and advice on what to do about it. This volume includes the work of: Annie McKee Heidi Grant Shawn Achor Elizabeth Grace Saunders How to be human at work. The HBR Emotional Intelligence Series features smart, essential reading on the human side of professional life from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Each book in the series offers proven research showing how our emotions impact our work lives, practical advice for managing difficult people and situations, and inspiring essays on what it means to tend to our emotional well-being at work. Uplifting and practical, these books describe the social skills that are critical for ambitious professionals to master.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 H37 2022
The Extraordinary Gift of Being Ordinary: finding happiness right where you are
"Did I sound stupid?" "Should I have sent that email?" "How do I look?" Many of us spend a lot of time feeling self-conscious and comparing ourselves to others. Why do we judge ourselves so relentlessly? Why do we strive so hard to be special or successful, or to avoid feeling rejected? When psychologist and mindfulness expert Dr. Ronald Siegel realized that he, as well as most of his clients, was caught in a cycle of endless self-evaluation, he decided to do something about it. This engaging, empowering guide sheds light on this very human habit--and explains how to break it. Through illuminating stories and exercises, practical tools (which you can download and print for repeated use), and guided meditations with accompanying audio downloads, Dr. Siegel invites you to stop obsessing so much about how you measure up. Instead, by accepting the extraordinary gift of being ordinary, you can build stronger connections with others and get more joy out of life.
Call Number: BF575.S39 S54 2022x
Fundamentals of Health Care Improvement: a guide to improving your patient's care
"Across various health professions and medical specialties, a new focus on ensuring that race, ethnicity, gender, geography, and socioeconomic status do not affect the quality of care has emerged. To ensure that this focus remains, and this momentum continues, we need to firmly embed a new dual axiom: there is no quality without equity, and there is no equity without quality.”― Kedar Mate, MD, President and CEO, Institute for Healthcare Improvement, from the Foreword to the fourth edition.
Fundamentals of Health Care Improvement: A Guide to Improving Your Patient’s Care, 4th edition, is intended to help health professional learners diagnose, measure, analyze, change, and lead improvements in health care, with the aim to shape reliable, high-quality systems of care in partnership with patients. Copublished by Joint Commission Resources and the Institute of Healthcare Improvement, this fourth edition includes updated resources, including examples, figures, tables, and tools. New to this edition is a focus on health equity and disparities of care brought to light by the COVID-19 pandemic. This focus explores the relationship between social determinants of health and how improvement methods and skills can help identify and close disparity gaps in systems of care. Also new to this edition is an expanded discussion of effective teamwork and the importance of creating multidisciplinary health care teams that partner with patients and families.
Key Topics in the 4th edition
Identifying gaps in quality and working in teams to close those gaps
Finding scientific evidence for clinical improvement
Identifying a focus for improvement
Understanding process literacy, culture, content, and systems in health care
Analyzing data for decision making
Using measurement tools to gain insight
Understanding and implementing change
Spreading and sustaining the improvement
Publishing and presenting the improvement
Using Improvement tools
Key Features
Clinical problem-solving and teamwork vignettes
Chapter objectives and study questions to assess learning
Comparisons between types of measurement tools and ideas for practical applications
Updated SQUIRE publishing guidelines and presentation strategies
Downloadable tools, worksheets, and resources
Settings: Applicable to all health care settings, but most applicable to the hospital setting
Key Audience
Nursing and medical students
Resident physicians
Health professional educators
Nursing and medical leadership
Call Number: RA399.A1 O37 2022
Fundamentals of Project Management, Sixth Edition
For close to three decades, Fundamentals of Project Management has helped people tackle the complexities of the job. Succinct and easy to read, the book simplifies concepts, answers questions, and helps tame the chaos that can erupt as projects move from planning to completion. The Sixth Edition of this trusted bestseller offers the practical guidelines and tools project managers have come to expect, along with new information explaining changes to the PMBOK® Guide, 7th Edition. Updated tools, techniques, examples, and exercises clearly explain how to: Clarify project goals and objectives Manage stakeholders in the planning process Form a project risk plan Create a communication plan (NEW) Leverage current post-pandemic project trends (NEW) Identify challenges leading virtual project teams Use a work breakdown structure Develop solid estimates (NEW) Leverage different technologies to support virtual work (NEW) Maximize communication in the absence of visual clues Produce a workable schedule Improve procurement management Manage change requests Lead the project team effectively Control and evaluate progress at every stage Close the project and review lessons learned (NEW) Create and sustain trust in a virtual team (NEW) Manage project recovery when crises hit (NEW) Avoid the faulty fix (NEW) Execute the project reset (NEW) Manage the risk of project recovery And more Project mishaps are all too common, but often easy to avoid. With its practical, step-by-step approach, this book gets both new and experienced managers up to speed on the fundamentals--the first crucial step for completing projects on time and on budget.
Call Number: HD69.P75 L488 2022
Happy Work :-) : how to create a culture of happiness
It's fair to say that in the next decade, organizations large and small will be facing two great challenges.The first challenge is that we live in a time of hyper-competition. This level of competition requires that we operate lean organizations with a maximal return on assets and human capital. This cannot be done without great people doing great work. You cannot compete using employees who are "just putting in their time" and working from paycheck to paycheck. Increasingly, your competitor is trying to lure away your best employees and candidates by offering a happy workplace. The second challenge is the fact that there has been a multi-generational shift in the way in which we look at work. In the old days we were taught to exchange our time for a paycheck; in other words, "our lives for cash." The emphasis was on salary and benefits. You took your hard-earned money home and bought the stuff that made you happy. Today, employees across the generational spectrum are looking for work that is meaningful and that provides personal growth and advancement opportunities while serving others. You can only get that in a happy workplace. They're also focused on the promise of inclusion and diversity, and to achieve that we have to begin with a culture of happiness that loves and respects all employees and stakeholders equally. Correspondingly, we need to implement rapid organizational cultural transformation to meet the demands of a highly competitive marketplace and workforce.
Call Number: HD58.7 .W43 2022x
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care: helping patients change behavior
The definitive guide to motivational interviewing (MI) for health care practitioners has been completely revised to reflect important developments and make the approach even more accessible. When it comes to helping patients manage chronic and acute conditions and make healthier choices in such areas as medication adherence, smoking, diet, and preventive care, good advice alone is not enough. This indispensable book shows how to use MI techniques to transform conversations about change. Even the briefest clinical interaction can serve to build trust, clarify patients' goals as well as reasons for ambivalence, and guide them to take positive steps. Vivid sample dialogues, tips, and scripts illustrate ways to incorporate this evidence-based approach into diverse health care settings. New to This Edition *Restructured around the current four-process model of MI (engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning). *Incorporates lessons learned from the authors' ongoing clinical practice and practitioner training workshops. *Chapters on advice-giving, brief consultations, merging MI with assessment, MI in groups, and making telehealth consultations more effective. *Additional practical features--extended case examples, "Try This" activities, and boxed reflections from practitioners in a range of contexts. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Call Number: R727.4 .R65 2023
Promotions Are So Yesterday: redefine career development, help employees strive
The time-honored tradition of defining career development exclusively in terms of promotions, moves, and title changes is dead. Beyond, between, and besides the climb up the positional ladder, there are many other ways that employees can-and want to-grow. However, many organizations still operate under the notion that promotions are the only option for career development, leaving employees disengaged, managers frustrated, and the business disadvantaged in its efforts to retain talent. The good news is that career development is so much more than promotions alone, and managers are in a powerful position to redefine career development and create positive results for their employees and their organizations in this area. In Promotions Are So Yesterday, Julie Winkle Giulioni offers you a new approach for developing your employees' careers and helping them thrive in a company when promotions are not readily available. Discover an easy-to-apply framework of seven alternative dimensions of development (contribution, competence, confidence, connection, challenge, contentment, and choice) that will engage your employees-dynamic opportunities for growth that are completely within your control as a manager. Promotions Are So Yesterday is filled with practical advice, nearly 100 questions to spark reflection and productive dialogue, and actionable templates and tools that managers can use with employees. Help bring your employees and your organization to even greater achievement with a strategy that will increase your employees' job satisfaction, performance, knowledge, and skills, and strengthen your organization's workforce.
Call Number: HF5381 .G58 2022x
The Search for Meaning at Work: unleashing the hidden power of purpose to engage and fulfill your workforce
Offers a path to purpose and meaning at work to engage and support employees at every level. While recent studies have shown that companies with high levels of employee engagement have 40% less turnover, half the absenteeism rate, and double the net profit compared to companies with low engagement, many firms continue to struggle with engaging their employees, and a mass exodus in under way. Business leaders are unprepared to deliver the type of culture and leadership that infuses the work experience of their employees with purpose and meaning. No surprise that a recent Gallup survey showed that only 15% of employees consider themselves engaged in their work. In The Search for Meaning at Work Steve Van Valin, an organizational culture consultant and former long-time executive with QVC, provides talent leaders and managers at all levels with a focused awareness and a robust set of actionable tools to meet the talent challenge head-on. Building on the research of Harvard professor Dr. Teresa Amabile and others, Van Valin_s model is based on eleven _Amplifiers of Meaning_ that identify and describe the core purpose that gives work meaning. Without purpose, there is no meaning, Van Valin argues, and without meaning there is no true engagement. For many employees and their managers, the purpose that drives an employee_s motivation to work remains hidden; as a result, employees are disengaged, leaving managers and leaders frustrated as they search for answers. Van Valin_s approach is a confident and creative challenge to leaders to think differently _ with greater empathy for the power of purpose and meaning in people_s lives. Each chapter contains personal observations, revealing anecdotes, and a playbook, which provides specific and relevant actions/steps the reader can follow to amplify meaning in ways that inspire high-performance. 1. The book is anchored on providing specific actionable ideas to promote purpose and meaning. It is a practical guide, not just a philosophical work on a lofty subject. 2. No other book fully defines purpose and meaning and brings to light the dynamics between them. Doing so provides a high level of awareness for the reader that leads to the practical application of emotional intelligence when making the _everyday_ better choices. 3. The book research, model, and actionable ideas are directly transferable as content for teaching the Amplify concept via classroom, online, and webinar delivery.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 V33 2022
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
