E-Books
Atlas of Pediatric Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy, 2nd ed. by
Learn the nuances of successful minimally invasive pediatric surgery from international experts in this fast-changing field. Atlas of Pediatric Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy, 2nd Edition, brings you up to date with the latest approaches, including gastrointestinal, intra-abdominal, and urologic procedures, as well as robotic operations and a variety of thoracoscopic procedures. Comprehensive, step-by-step instructions are highlighted with outstanding illustrations and more than 50 surgical videos that show you exactly how to proceed, making this an ideal resource for surgeons at all levels of experience. Offers comprehensive instruction from global experts on the nuances of minimally invasive pediatric surgery, helping you successfully perform even the most challenging procedures. Provides superb visual guidance with 350 full-color endoscopic views, 200 corresponding line drawings that illuminate every concept and highlight important anatomical details, and 55 high-quality procedural videos performed by the physicians who pioneered them. Contains new chapters and updated information on laparoscopic intestinal operations in the neonate, laparoscopic fundoplication, endoscopic fundoplication, and minimally invasive pectus carinatum repair. Focuses on minimizing recovery times and post-operative complications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essential Paediatric Surgery by
With this timely practical textbook encompassing the full range of clinical conditions within paediatric surgery, surgeons-in-training will be delighted to discover that the book offers them a concise outline of paediatric surgical practice, thus ensuring that they are wholly familiar with a wide range of clinical scenarios. Key topics are included within sections on neonatal surgical conditions, surgical disorders of infancy, surgical conditions in childhood and adolescence, head and neck, hepatobiliary and pancreatic disorders, preparation of the child for surgery, malignant disorders, urology, neurosurgery and trauma. Short chapters complemented by clinical photography, schematic figures and tables splendidly enable the reader to understand key concepts with confidence. Author-experts throughout the world have generously contributed to this textbook, ensuring that the contents reflect 'real world' practice. A wide range of readers, notably surgeons-in-training, members of the paediatric surgery care team including nursing staff, postgraduates seeking core knowledge of paediatric surgery for board examinations, and surgeons planning to specialise in paediatric surgery, will benefit greatly from this practical guide.
ISBN: 9781003847502Publication Date: 2024-06-03
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient by
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient provides knowledge on the emerging area of pediatric hemostasis and its management. It discusses aspects of perioperative blood management in the pediatric population, including how to accurately estimate and monitor bleeding and determine optimal treatment regimens for bleeding in pediatric surgical patients. It also provides information on the implementation of intraoperative blood conservation strategies, goal-directed transfusion therapy, and postoperative estimation of bleeding and thrombotic risks. This book is a valuable resource to pediatric practitioners and researchers who need comprehensive information on pediatric hematology, from basic physiology to pre-, intra- and postoperative care of pediatric patients. The coagulation system of children evolves with age as evidenced by marked physiological differences in the concentration of hemostatic proteins between children of different age groups and adults. Consequently, there are distinct differences in hemostatic management between adult and pediatric patients.
ISBN: 9780323904599Publication Date: 2023-10-24
Holcomb and Ashcraft's Pediatric Surgery, 7th ed. by
Known for its readability, portability, and global perspectives, Holcomb and Ashcraft's Pediatric Surgery remains the most comprehensive, up-to-date, single-volume text in its field. As technology and techniques continue to evolve, the 7th Edition provides state-of-the-art coverage-both in print and on video-of the full range of general surgical and urological problems in infants, children, and adolescents, equipping you to achieve optimal outcomes for every patient. Provides authoritative, practical coverage to help you implement today's best evidence-based open and minimally invasive techniques, with guidance from internationally recognized experts in the field. Features more than 1,000 high-quality images depicting the visual nuances of surgery for the full range of pediatric and urologic conditions you're likely to see. Delivers comprehensive updates throughout including the latest advances in managing Inguinal Hernias and Hydroceles; Imperforate Anus and Cloacal Malformations; Hirschsprung Disease; Duodenal and Intestinal Atresia and Stenosis; Esophageal Atresia; and more. Offers access to more than 50 videos that help you improve and refine your surgical skills. New videos cover Fetal Endoluminal Tracheal Occlusion (FETO); Laparoscopic Inguinal Hernia Repair; Robotic Extravesical Ureteral Reimplantation; Laparoscopic Management of Ovarian Torsion; and Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Operative Pediatric Surgery by
The definitive illustrated resource on the surgical management of infants and children -- with an emphasis on operative technique A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Operative Pediatric Surgery, Second Edition is a comprehensive, well-illustrated text that delivers expert coverage of the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of pediatric surgical disease. This detailed single-volume resource is enhanced by numerous drawings, radiographs, and photographs that illustrate the authors' preferred operative techniques. Wherever appropriate, diagnostic and care guidelines are also included. Operative Pediatric Surgery, Second Edition is divided into 11 sections that include a total of 100 chapters. The book opens with an informative General Principles section that provides important background information on topics such as the history of pediatric surgery, ethical considerations, pediatric surgical critical care, and office-based ambulatory surgery. The rest of the text is organized primarily by organ, enhanced by a timely section on solid organ transplantation. In this Second Edition, each chapter author has thoroughly updated and refreshed their topic, and in many instances, minimally invasive operative techniques are included with open approaches. There are also exciting new chapters on: Hypospadias Vesicoureteral reflux Non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcomas Gastrointestinal polyps and cancer Adolescent bariatric surgery Operative Pediatric Surgery will prove to be an essential reference for pediatric surgeons seeking optimal diagnosis and treatment approaches for their patients.
Pediatric Colorectal Surgery by
Based on 30 years of experience as a surgeon working in the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstructive surgery, author Marc Levitt shares the tips and tricks that he has developed to make operations and patient management easier and reproducible. This book teaches these skills to achieve positive results. Patients with anorectal malformations (ARMs), Hirschsprung disease (HD), fecal incontinence from a variety of conditions, colonic motility disorders, and a myriad of other conditions comprise the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstruction. Such patients require care throughout their lives from specialists across numerous fields, which may include colorectal surgery, urology, gynecology, and GI motility, as well as specialized nursing, orthopedics, neurosurgery, anesthesia, pathology, radiology, psychology, social work, and nutrition. Sometimes the field can seem chaotic and unpredictable. Reconstruction requires creativity and at times it feels that artwork is being created during the actual operation with no pre-plan in mind. Marc Levitt and his colleagues have worked very hard to counter that feeling, to be fully prepared, and to develop protocols, techniques, and processes that can be adopted by other clinicians, so that optimal results for patients can be achieved. This book reflects both this experience and this approach.
ISBN: 9781000553352Publication Date: 2022-09-14
Pediatric Neurovascular Disease: Surgical, Endovascular and Medical Management, 1st ed. by
The standard model and numerous variations of the cerebrovascular system all stem from its complicated embryogenesis. This chapter reviews the formation of the arterial and venous systems of the head and neck through five main sections: early embryogenesis, vascu-logenesis, formation of the aortic arches, the cerebral arterial system, and the cerebral venous system. The description relies on the pioneering work of Streeter,1 Padget, 2–4 and Congdon,5 as well as more recent work by many others.
eBooks
Pediatric Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 1st ed. by
Focuses on Craniofacial Disorders
Pediatric Surgery: Diagnosis and Treatment, 2nd ed. by
The heavily revised second edition of this essential textbook describes how to utilize a range of surgical techniques applicable to pediatrics. Chapters contain flowcharts to facilitate rapid assessment and decision-making. In addition, learning objectives and review questions are contained within each chapter to reinforce the key points covered. Topics covered include routinely encountered adolescent problems and neoplasms in children. Pediatric Surgery: Diagnosis and Treatment concisely describes how to apply a range of diagnostic and treatment techniques that are applicable to the pediatric patient in a variety of surgical scenarios for a range of diseases. Furthermore, it is an ideal resource for trainees and active practitioners taking board examinations.
ISBN: 9783030965419Publication Date: 2022-09-29
Pediatric Surgical Oncology by
A new, definitive, state-of-the-art reference in the specialist field of paediatric surgical oncology. Key points and informative guidance on all aspects of cancer surgery for children make this a vital textbook for the surgery resident, surgical oncology specialist, nursing staff and cancer health care teams. The editorial team of world experts and international guest authorship listings guarantees that the textbook content provides a definitive treatise for a global audience of pediatric surgeons. Textbook coverage includes chapters on pediatric cancer epidemiology, chemotherapy, immunotherapy, radiotherapy, pathology, radiology and vascular access, following which the main theme sections feature all of the major pediatric solid tumours in a system-based chronology. A section devoted to rare tumours provides useful and pragmatic information for the oncology surgeon. Minimally invasive surgery is covered highlighting current concepts and clinical outcome(s) by leading experts in the field. Nutritional considerations for the pediatric cancer patient undergoing surgery are all discussed. Management of surgical complications, fertility considerations and long-term outcomes are an invaluable vital resource for the reader. Final sections "look to the future" by focusing on surgical innovation, including key chapters on navigational surgery and surgical robotics. * Includes all the latest developments in pediatric surgical oncology ensuring the reader is kept fully up to date. * Multi-disciplinary content reflects current best practice. * Comprehensive coverage provides a definitive reference guide. An authoritative seminal reference work for surgical residents in training, surgeons working in the field of pediatric oncology, medical oncologists, intensive care specialists, nursing staff and allied health care professionals.
ISBN: 9781351166102Publication Date: 2022-02-17
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2nd ed. by
The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care. This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries..It is the most comprehensive reference on the subject. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is enhanced by 200 high-quality photographs, in addition to tables, classifications and clinical management considerations. The addition of color tabs, a new feature, improve consultation and speed information retrieval. Each syndrome, listed in alphabetical order.
