eBooks
Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis by
Improve your imaging interpretation skills for the most commonly encountered surgical conditions A Doody's Core Title for 2021! The goal of Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis is to help acute care surgeons, general surgeons, and surgical trainees develop the skills necessary to efficiently work up and diagnose critical surgical disease. This unique text opens with practical guidelines for understanding and interpreting the key imaging modalities employed in acute care surgery. In-depth discussions of acute surgical conditions follow, with emphasis on workup, diagnosis, and imaging pattern recognition. Each clinical chapter opens with a case scenario, followed by detailed discussion of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management, and includes multiple annotated examples of ultrasound, plain film, CT, and MRI findings. Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis follows a logical systems-based organization, consisting of: Radiology Basics Abdomen Chest Soft Tissue Trauma Acute Care Surgery: Imaging Essentials for Rapid Diagnosis also provides expert guidance on how to select the correct imaging modality for the most efficient diagnosis and treatment. This text will aid trainees and surgeons to hone the skills they need to manage acute surgical patients when expediency matters most.
ERCP, 4th ed. by
Some say that the field of endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP) is completely mature and there are no more roads (or ducts) to explore. However, as we introduce this textbook, ERCP, 4th edition, one will see that indeed, the evolution continues. ERCP continues to offer both incremental and completely new avenues of diagnosis and therapy for pancreaticobiliary disease. Moreover, we continue to see the fusion of ERCP and endoscopic ultrasonography (EUS), as was predicted to occur almost two decades ago. Finally, with the introduction of single-use endoscopes, shifts are occurring from infectious to economic and environmental perspectives. These topics are covered in detail in this edition of the text.
ERCP , 4th edition, continues the work of the three initial editors of the first three editions, Drs. Todd H. Baron, David Leslie Carr-Locke, and Richard A. Kozarek, with a new editor, Dr. D. Nageshwar Reddy. Dr. Reddy augments the international experience of the original editors with his immense experience in endoscopy, particularly ERCP.
ISBN: 9780323933629
Handbook of Robotic and Image-Guided Surgery by
Handbook of Robotic and Image-Guided Surgery provides state-of-the-art systems and methods for robotic and computer-assisted surgeries. In this masterpiece, contributions of 169 researchers from 19 countries have been gathered to provide 38 chapters. This handbook is 744 pages, includes 659 figures and 61 videos. It also provides basic medical knowledge for engineers and basic engineering principles for surgeons. A key strength of this text is the fusion of engineering, radiology, and surgical principles into one book.
ISBN: 9780128142455Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Image-Guided Interventions by
Completely revised to reflect recent, rapid changes in the field of interventional radiology (IR), Image-Guided Interventions, 3rd Edition, offers comprehensive, narrative coverage of vascular and nonvascular interventional imaging-ideal for IR subspecialists as well as residents and fellows in IR. This award-winning title provides clear guidance from global experts, helping you formulate effective treatment strategies, communicate with patients, avoid complications, and put today's newest technology to work in your practice. Offers step-by-step instructions on a comprehensive range of image-guided intervention techniques, including discussions of equipment, contrast agents, pharmacologic agents, antiplatelet agents, and classic signs, as well as detailed protocols, algorithms, and SIR guidelines. Includes new chapters on Patient Preparation, Prostate Artery Embolization, Management of Acute Aortic Syndrome, Percutaneous Arterial Venous Fistula Creation, Lymphatic Interventions, Spinal and Paraspinal Nerve Blocks, and more. Employs a newly streamlined format with shorter, more digestible chapters for quicker reference. Integrates new patient care and communication tips throughout to address recent changes in practice. Highlights indications and contraindications for interventional procedures, and provides tables listing the materials and instruments required for each. Features more than 2,300 state-of-the-art images demonstrating IR procedures, full-color illustrations of anatomical structures and landmarks, and video demonstrations online. 2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Radiology category! Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Imaging in Abdominal Surgery by
Authored by experienced radiologists and surgeons, Imaging in Abdominal Surgery, by Drs. Michael P. Federle and James Lau, is a unique reference specially tailored to meet the needs of today's general surgeons. This one-stop resource provides high-quality visual information to help guide clinical diagnosis, surgical planning, and postoperative evaluation. Ideal for surgeons at all levels of expertise, it contains pertinent cross-sectional imaging anatomy as well as the principles underlying the optimal selection of imaging modalities and protocols. Provides thorough coverage of abdominal radiology especially relevant to general surgeons, including important diagnoses, radiology background and terminology, normal imaging anatomy, and easy-to-understand captions with just the right amount of detail Covers key topics such as imaging evaluation of blunt and penetrating trauma, imaging evaluation of the "acute abdomen," and optimal pre- and postoperative evaluation for esophageal cancer, bariatric, and antireflux surgery Features a consistent, bulleted format highlighted by abundant multi-modality images of the adult GI tract, all designed for quick reference at the point of care Details how to choose among different imaging tests in evaluating specific clinical situations, including the strengths and weaknesses of those tests Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical and Interventional Ultrasound by
All the guidance you need to enhance your understanding and clinical application of ultrasound Includes DVD with video of key techniques Surgical and Interventional Ultrasound offers a thorough survey of image-guided treatments in the OR, in the endoscopy suite, and at the bedside. This one-stop clinical companion spans virtually every kind of surgical and interventional specialty that utilizes ultrasound and delivers high-yield perspectives on using these techniques to ensure accurate clinical decision making. FEATURES: An all-in-one primer for ultrasound--packed with valuable how-to's and insights that take you through the basic exam and the full scope of interventions Essential content for residents that supplements training in surgery residency programs--from the Focused Assessment with Sonography for Trauma (FAST) exam, to intraoperative ultrasound and ultrasound-guided procedures such as breast biopsy or radiofrequency ablation Up-to-date, multidisciplinary focus on surgical and interventional ultrasound covers the array of procedures for which ultrasound is increasingly utilized Full-color illustrations with hundreds of ultrasound images Valuable opening chapter on the physics of ultrasound, which enables better quality images and a better understanding of image interpretation Important chapter on advanced technologies highlights 3D ultrasound imaging and contrast ultrasound, drawing attention to their safe and effective implementation in surgical practice Emphasis on ultrasound-guided anesthesia explains how ultrasound can enhance the precision of regional anesthetic procedures Instructive companion DVD features clips of key diagnostic and interventional techniques
