eBooks
Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology, 2nd ed. by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the second edition of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, pathologic features (gross and microscopic), ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Review of normal histology before examining abnormal findings, enabling you to conveniently compare their characteristics in one place at one time. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editor Dr. Gunnlaugur Pétur Nielsen of Harvard Medical School joins Dr. Andrew L. Folpe and expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
Comparative Management of Spine Pathology by
Unique in the field, Comparative Management of Spine Pathology presents commonly encountered spinal cases with side-by-side, case-by-case comparisons that clearly show how various experts would handle the same case. This second volume in the Neurosurgery: Case Management Comparison Series offers multiple opinions from international experts in both neurosurgery and orthopaedics, each of whom explains their preferred approach and management style for the same case. This format allows for quick and helpful comparisons of different ways to approach a lesion, advantages and disadvantages of each approach, and what each expert is looking for in how they would manage a particular case. Offers 4 expert opinions on each case in a templated format designed to help you quickly make side-by-side comparisons-an ideal learning tool for both trainee and practicing neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons for board review and case preparation. Helps you easily grasp different approaches to spine management with different expert approaches to the same case and summaries from the editors on the advantages and disadvantages to each approach. Features a wide variety of management decisions, from preoperative studies to surgical approach, surgical adjuncts, and postoperative care, from experts in the field who specialize in different aspects of spine surgery. Presents 70 cases in the areas of degenerative spine, traumatic spine, spinal deformity, spinal oncology, and miscellaneous topics such as epidural abscess, osteomyelitis, and post-instrumentation infection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Enzinger and Weiss's Soft Tissue Tumors by
Since its first publication more than 35 years ago, Enzinger and Weiss's Soft Tissue Tumors has established itself as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference available on soft tissue pathology. The 7th Edition from Drs. John R. Goldblum, Andrew L. Folpe, and Sharon W. Weiss, continues this tradition with detailed, well-written, logically organized coverage of the full spectrum of these often difficult and challenging tumors. It offers clear guidance to practicing and trainee pathologists on diagnosis of tumors by microscopy, immunohistochemistry, and molecular genetics, as well as a significant amount of clinically significant information of interest to the clinicians who most frequently see these diseases - dermatologists, orthopaedists, and oncologists. Offers practical information on differential diagnosis of tumors of the skeletal muscles, connective tissue, fat, and related structures, helping you accurately diagnose and confidently sign out pathology reports on even the most challenging cases. Provides unsurpassed scope and depth in this complex area with microscopic findings correlated with the latest developments in molecular biology, cytogenetics, and immunohistochemistry, for a comprehensive and integrated approach to evaluation and diagnosis. Incorporates new knowledge on recently identified entities, next-generation sequencing (NGS), molecular diagnostic techniques, and immunohistochemical and genetic features of soft tissue tumors, providing up-to-date diagnostic and prognostic information that will inform day-to-day therapeutic decisions. Features nearly 2,000 high-quality images that clearly capture the clinical, macroscopic and microscopic features of benign and malignant conditions, helping you relate these characteristics to their specific classifications. Utilizes a logical, well-structured format including summary outlines at the beginning of each chapter, a color-coded page design, and a consistent approach to every entity, enabling you to navigate the text quickly, improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen, and clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options. Includes abundant algorithms, tables, and graphs to facilitate rapid decision making. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Muscle Biopsy by
For more than 45 years, Muscle Biopsy: A Practical Approach has offered, comprehensive, clinically-focused coverage of the acquisition, interpretation, and assessment of muscle biopsies - an area often only lightly covered in pathology texts. Taking an integrated approach that includes clinical, genetic, biochemical, and pathological features, the 5th Edition covers the full range of muscle disease in both adults and children. This highly illustrated, easy-to-use volume helps you navigate this challenging area, bridging the gap between clinical syndromes/disorders and their underlying pathologies. Fully updated 5th edition of this internationally acclaimed classic in muscle pathology. Written by internationally recognized world leaders in the field of muscle pathology. Comprehensive coverage of histology, histochemistry, immunocytochemistry and electron microscopy in parallel with clinical and genetic advances. Lavishly illustrated with over 600 full colour images. Fully updated literature review. Comprehensive update on the rapidly expanding field of neuromuscular disorders. 4th edition Highly Commended in Pathology category of the prestigious 2014 BMA Medical Book Awards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pathology of Melanocytic Tumors by
Constituting a large percentage of everyday diagnostic practice, melanocytic pathology is a complex and challenging area with many difficult-to-diagnose lesions. This highly illustrated reference, written by three of the world's leading dermatopathologists, provides authoritative guidance in the accurate diagnosis of even the most challenging pigmented skin tumors, helping you avoid pitfalls and recognize mimics. Covers nearly every variant of melanocytic tumors you're likely to see. Emphasizes how to arrive at an efficient, accurate diagnosis, and includes dermoscopic findings for optimal diagnostic precision. Discusses modern analytic techniques (cytogenetics, molecular studies) and how to use them for diagnosis. Includes numerous case examples to illustrate the differential diagnoses and work-up; how to use ancillary techniques, along with their pros, cons, and limitations; and clinical follow-up. Presents the knowledge and experience of Klaus Busam, Pedram Gerami, and Richard Scolyer, - three dermatopathologists who are globally renowned for their expertise in melanoma pathology and analysis of melanocytic tumors by modern ancillary diagnostic techniques. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Practical Orthopedic Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach by
Apply a systematic pattern recognition approach to achieve more accurate diagnoses of both neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the musculoskeletal system. Andrea Deyrup, MD, PhD and Gene P. Siegal, MD, PhD use a practical, pattern-based organization that helps you efficiently and confidently evaluate even the most challenging histologic specimens. Compare specimens to commonly seen patterns, categorize them accordingly, and turn directly to in-depth diagnostic guidance using the unique, pattern-based Visual Index at the beginning of the book. Includes guidance on both pathologic and radiologic diagnostic patterns. Assess key pathologic and clinical aspects of neoplastic and non-neoplastic conditions with 800 high-quality, full-color images that help you evaluate and interpret both common and rare diseases. Find complete coverage of the musculoskeletal system from Normal Bone Anatomy through discussions of all major classifications of disease, both neoplastic and non-neoplastic. Progress logically from the histologic pattern, through the appropriate workup, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Soft Tissue Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach by
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Surgical Soft Tissue Pathology, 2nd Edition, helps you arrive at an accurate diagnosis by using a proven pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians guide you through the most common patterns seen in soft tissue pathology, applying appropriate immunohistochemistry and molecular testing, avoiding pitfalls, and making the best diagnosis. High-quality illustrations capture key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare tumor types, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. A consistent chapter organization by histologic pattern considers soft tissue tumors the way you approach them in daily practice, helping you arrive at a quick and accurate diagnosis. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables and text boxes, so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the soft tissues. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sagittal Balance of the Spine: From Normal to Pathology: A Key for Treatment Strategy, 1st ed. by
Unique resource from internationally renowned experts details the key role of sagittal spine balance Through evolution, human verticality became associated with a wide range of normal pelvic shapes and associated pelvic incidence angles (PIs). While all types of sagittal alignment generally provide adequate support to young adults, age, stress, and related degeneration can progressively lead to sagittal imbalance and contribute to various spinal pathologies. Sagittal Balance of the Spine by Pierre Roussouly, João Luiz Pinheiro-Franco, Hubert Labelle, Martin Gehrchen, and a cadre of esteemed international contributors focuses on the importance of sagittal alignment and spino-pelvic shape identification in clinical practice. Offering the most comprehensive text on sagittal balance to date, this state-of-the-art, richly illustrated book fills a void in the literature, offering clinical pearls throughout seven sections and 24 chapters. Key Highlights The biomechanics of sagittal balance including spine modeling, primary parameters, spinal curves segmentation, and lumbar lordosis classification The role of sagittal balance in low back pain and degeneration, with discussion of spinal orientation and the contact forces theory, spinal degeneration associated with spinopelvic morphotypes, and compensatory mechanisms Comprehensive analysis of the relationship between sagittal imbalance and isthmic lysis spondylolisthesis, degenerative spondylolisthesis, Scheuermann's kyphosis, adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, and adult scoliosis Posterior and anterior treatment approaches - from spinal fixation and spinal fusion - to spinal osteotomy techniques and management of surgical failure This text is essential reading for every neurosurgical and orthopaedic resident, as well as veteran surgeons who evaluate and treat patients with spine conditions. Clinicians will learn why incorporating sagittal balance evaluations into spinal exams is integral to devising more effective treatment strategies and achieving improved outcomes. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626237322Publication Date: 2019-08-26
