Pediatrics: Laboratory Medicine / Pathology

Biochemical and Molecular Basis of Pediatric Disease, 5th ed. by Edward C. C. Wong; Dennis J. Dietzen; Michael J. Bennett et al, 2021 Biochemical and Molecular Basis of Pediatric Disease, Fifth Edition has been a well-respected reference in the field for decades. This revision continues the strong focus on understanding the pathogenesis of pediatric disease, emphasizing not only the important role of the clinical laboratory in defining parameters that change with the disease process, but also the molecular basis of many pediatric diseases.

Diagnostic Pathology: Placenta, 3rd ed. by Amy Heerema-McKenney; Edwina J. Popek; Monique E. De Paepe, 2024 This expert volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for practitioners at all levels of experience and training. Covering all aspects of placental pathology and the critical role the placenta plays in the unique interface between mother and fetus, this volume incorporates the most up-to-date scientific and technical knowledge to provide a comprehensive overview of all key issues relevant to today's practice. Richly illustrated and easy to use, the third edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Placenta is a visually stunning, one-stop resource for every practicing pathologist, fellow, resident, or student as an ideal day-to-day reference or as a reliable training resource, and is useful to even the most experienced placental pathologist for diagnostic criteria, grading, and relevance of placental tissue samples. Covers all areas of placental pathology, with clear and concise information on gross and microscopic changes of the placenta, common diagnoses, and placental evaluation in special circumstances Provides expert guidance on key topics, such as maternal mortality, gestational trophoblastic disease, placental pathology constellations, and typical clinical correlates; pregnancy complications, such as preeclampsia, intrauterine growth restriction, and multiple gestation; and the pathology of disorders of placental implantation and the postpartum hysterectomy Features detailed, up-to-date information on maternal COVID-19 and placental pathology, including SARS-CoV-2 placentitis, and new chapters on fetal hydrops, common placental associations with stillbirth, second-trimester demise, and more Contains significantly updated information throughout, including new content, images, and references to reflect the most current diagnoses and provide ease for daily case sign-out Features more than 1,850 print and online images, including histology and gross pathology images, full-color medical illustrations, clinical photographs, radiology images, and online video content (including quick tutorials on key pathologic diagnoses) to help practicing and in-training pathologists reach a confident diagnosis Employs consistently templated chapters, bulleted content, key facts, annotated images, reference tables for placental evaluation, sample templates for gross and microscopic placental description, and an extensive index for quick, expert reference at the point of care Includes an eBook version that provides you access to all text, figures, and references with the ability to search and customize your content, have it read aloud, and make notes and highlights

Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 9th ed. by James D. Cherry; Sheldon L. Kaplan; Gail J. Harrison et al, 2025 Throughout the 43 years and nine-edition history of the Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, a number of classic chapters exist (e.g., measles, rubella, enteroviruses, and mycoplasma infections). The data in these chapters are unavailable in any other single-source publication. The entire text of this ninth edition has been revised extensively. The eighth edition contained over 4000 pages, even though we included only new references in the print edition, which is close to the maximum that can be included in a two-volume book. Therefore, with this ninth edition, we were faced with a major dilemma: specifically, how to include new important material that had become available since the eighth edition but not to substantially increase the size of the book. We approached this dilemma in two ways. One problem in previous editions was redundancy, which we have addressed by combining information in some previous separate chapters into more concise single presentations and by shortening some chapters. The second way, which we introduced in the seventh edition, is to print only new references. The electronic version of the text contains all references. This edition continues the format that was initiated in the fourth edition, in that infections with specific microorganisms have been organized to provide appropriate emphasis on the common features that may relate specific microorganisms to one another. Thus, all gram-positive coccal organisms are presented sequentially and are followed by gram-negative cocci, gram-positive bacilli, Enterobacteriaceae, gram-negative coccobacilli, Treponemataceae, anaerobic bacteria, and so forth. In addition, special sections of the text have been devoted to discussions of each of the following: molecular determinants of microbial pathogenesis; immunologic and phagocytic responses to infection; metabolic response of the host to infections; interaction of infection and nutrition; pathogenesis and treatment of fever; the human microbiome; epidemiology and biostatistics of infectious diseases; infections of the compromised host; Kawasaki disease; chronic fatigue syndrome; international travel issues for children; infectious disease problems of international adoptees and refugees; nosocomial infections; prevention and control of infections in hospitalized children; pharmacology and pharmacokinetics of antibacterial, antiviral, antifungal, and antiparasitic agents; immunomodulating agents; active and passive immunizing agents; public health considerations; infections in daycare environments; and use of the bacteriology, mycology, parasitology, virology, and serology laboratories. The section on infections in the compromised host has again been expanded. This expansion has been necessitated by the large number of children, particularly transplant recipients, who have many infectious disease problems and constitute a large part of the consulting practice of many pediatric infectious disease physicians. With some sadness, we have retained a section on bioterrorism, which is necessitated by the current state of world affairs. The section on immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases has been expanded because information on this subject has become more extensive since the publication of the last edition.

Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology by Enid Gilbert-Barness; Diane E. Spicer; Thora S. Steffensen, 2013 Pathologists have long recognized that pediatric autopsy requires great care in technique and dissection to ensure that easily overlooked malformations are recognized and accurate diagnoses are made. The highly experienced authors have created a new edition of Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, a comprehensive reference guide to the actual performance of the pediatric autopsy and the optimal recognition and interpretation of pathologic findings. The Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition covers the spectrum of pediatric pathology with particular reference to those conditions that can be identified at autopsy. New and updated material includes microbiological studies, particularly with the advent of newly described micro-organisms causing disease. The volume also addresses new developments in metabolic diseases, new techniques of ultrasound imaging, and specialized laboratory testing.  Furthermore, the book provides a wealth of practical information and bibliographic citations throughout, new copious illustrations and line drawings, numerous standard reference tables, and appendices at the end of multiple chapters. Authored by authorities in the field, Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition is a valuable resource that will assist general and pediatric pathologists, neonatologists, interns and residents in training, as well as specialists in cytogenetics and ultrasound technicians in understanding the manner and cause of death in its broadest and comprehensive sense.

Hematology, Immunology and Genetics by Robin K. Ohls; Akhil Maheshwari, 2019 Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Hematology, Immunology and Genetics, 3rd Edition. The most current clinical information, including new coverage of exome sequencing, properties of donor milk, necrotizing enterocolitis and nutrition, thrombocytopenia in neonates with necrotizing enterocolitis, early diagnosis of severe combined immunodeficiency, and newborn screening. New content on the genetic basis for neonatal disorders, new strategies for genetic diagnosis (such as whole exome sequencing and microarrays), antenatal genetic testing, and ethical dilemmas and genetic counselling. Current coverage of using new complete blood count (CBC) parameters to help guide neonatal care, neonatal neuroprotection, and differentiating hemolytic from non-hemolytic neonatal jaundice. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology Neurology The Newborn Lung

Lanzkowsky's Manual of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, 7th ed. by Jonathan D. Fish; Jeffrey M. Lipton; Philip Lanzkowsky, 2022 Lanzkowsky's Manual of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, Seventh Edition remains the go-to clinical manual for the treatment and management of childhood cancers and blood disorders. It is a comprehensive book on patient management, replete with algorithms and flow diagrams, and includes a new section on vascular anomalies. Reflecting the considerable advances in the treatment and management of hematologic and oncologic diseases in children, the seventh edition of this successful clinical manual is entirely updated to incorporate all current treatment protocols, new drugs, and management approaches. Its concise and easy-to-read format, again, enables readers to make accurate diagnoses and treatment decisions without having to reference larger medical textbooks.

Nathan and Oski's Hematology and Oncology of Infancy and Childhood, 8th ed. by Stuart H. Orkin; David G. Nathan; David Ginsburg et al, 2015 Written by the leading names in pediatric oncology and hematology, Nathan and Oski's Hematology and Oncology of Infancy and Childhood offers you the essential tools you need to overcome the unique challenges and complexities of childhood cancers and hematologic disorders. Meticulously updated, this exciting full-color, two-volume set brings together the pathophysiology of disease with detailed clinical guidance to provide you with the most comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-date information for diagnosing and treating children. Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible with comprehensive coverage of all pediatric cancers, including less-common tumors, as well as all hematologic disorders, including newly recognized ones. Develop a thorough, understanding of the underlying science of diseases through summaries of relevant pathophysiology balanced with clear, practical clinical guidance. Nathan and Oski's is the only comprehensive product on the market that relates pathophysiology in such depth to hematologic and oncologic diseases affecting children. Quickly and effortlessly access the key information you need with the help of a consistent organization from chapter to chapter and from volume to volume. Stay at the forefront of your field thanks to new and revised chapters covering topics such as paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria, lysosomal storage diseases, childhood genetic predisposition to cancer, and oncology informatics. Learn about the latest breakthroughs in diagnosis and management, making this the most complete guide in pediatric hematology and oncology. Discover the latest in focused molecularly targeted therapies derived from the exponential growth of knowledge about basic biology and genetics underlying the field. Rely on it anytime, anywhere! Access the full text, images, and more at Expert Consult.

Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets, 2nd ed. by Michael A. Weiner; Darrell J. Yamashiro; Prakash Satwani et al, 2024 For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more.Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Pediatric Laboratory Medicine by Patricia M. Jones; Dennis J. Dietzen; Shannon Haymon et al, 2017 A complete full-color guide to medical laboratory test selection and test result interpretation for disorders and diagnoses specific to pediatric and neonatal populations Laboratory medicine practiced at a pediatric institution has unique characteristics specific to infants and children, who differ both metabolically and biochemically from adults. Many aspects of laboratory medicine are affected by these differences, from basic, day-to-day operational issues through test selection for pediatric-specific disorders. However, most references in laboratory medicine merely touch upon pediatrics - and offer little if any coverage of variations in testing and results for different age groups, or the many diseases and disorders most common in infants and children. Pediatric Laboratory Medicine is specifically written to fill this critical void in the literature. Now, for the first time, all important reference material concerning pediatric laboratory medicine is available in one convenient, up-to-date resource. Pediatric Laboratory Medicine teaches the effective operation of a pediatric clinical operation, and also provides guidelines for teaching trainees. This unique text delivers the how-to instruction necessary to ensure proper handling and testing of pediatric specimens to ensure accurate diagnosis. Valuable learning aids include learning objectives, end-of-chapter review questions, and references for further study. Written by experienced clinicians, the book's seventeen chapters cover virtually every important topic - from daily issues in the practice of pediatric laboratory medicine to common tests and considerations to inborn errors of metabolism and therapeutic drug monitoring. Enhanced by numerous tables and high-quality full-color images, this authoritative resource delivers everything necessary for effective pediatric laboratory medicine training and practice.  

Pediatric Reference Intervals, 8th ed. by Mark Kellogg; Khosrow Adeli; Edward C. C. Wong et al, 2021 Pediatric Reference Intervals, Eighth Edition, is a must-have for clinical chemists, hematologists, pathologists, endocrinologists and pediatricians. This trusted source enhances interpretation of patient results, allows comparison of test results using different methods, and helps optimize patient care. This updated edition is a valuable reference, providing instant and accurate reference intervals for over 250 chemistry and hematology analytes in an alphabetized, user-friendly format. Changes to this edition include Age- and Sex-Related Reference Ranges, Methodologies, Type of Specimen, References, Statistical Basis and Population Sources.

Quick Guide to Endocrinology: The Pediatric Version, Second Edition by William Winter E; Brittany Bruggeman S; Laura Michelle Jacobsen, 2024 Quick Guide to Endocrinology, The Pediatric Version, Second Edition, continues to be an essential resource which focuses on the physiology, diagnostics, and laboratory testing of endocrine (hormone-mediated) disorders encountered in the field of endocrinology with expanded coverage of pediatric endocrinology. The guide is for laboratory scientists and technicians, as well as trainees and clinicians in the field of pediatrics and pediatric endocrinology including fellows, residents, medical students, nursing students, and advance practice providers and students. It is presented in an easy to read, quick format, the physiology and method of measurement for hormones essential to many bodily processes and how their dysregulation results in disease. The characteristics of such diseases and diagnostic testing including up-to-date molecular testing is addressed.