eBooks
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 8th ed. by
Offering unparalleled coverage of infectious diseases in children and adolescents, Feigin & Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases 8th Edition, continues to provide the information you need on epidemiology, public health, preventive medicine, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and much more. This extensively revised edition by Drs. James Cherry, Gail J. Demmler-Harrison, Sheldon L. Kaplan, William J. Steinbach, and Peter J. Hotez, offers a brand-new full-color design, new color images, new guidelines, and new content, reflecting today's more aggressive infectious and resistant strains as well as emerging and re-emerging diseases Discusses infectious diseases according to organ system, as well as individually by microorganisms, placing emphasis on the clinical manifestations that may be related to the organism causing the disease. Provides detailed information regarding the best means to establish a diagnosis, explicit recommendations for therapy, and the most appropriate uses of diagnostic imaging. Features expanded information on infections in the compromised host; immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases; and Ebola virus. Contains hundreds of new color images throughout, as well as new guidelines, new resistance epidemiology, and new Global Health Milestones. Includes new chapters on Zika virus and Guillain-Barré syndrome. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Managing Infectious Diseases in Child Care and Schools, 6th ed. by
This guide provides child care directors, teachers, and caregivers with essential information on infectious diseases in group care settings. It includes a robust section of more than 55 quick reference fact sheets on common infectious diseases and symptoms. Additionally, it includes forms that can be photocopied and used with families. As always, the reference is easy to use, providing clear, authoritative information on infectious diseases.
ISBN: 9781610026604Publication Date: 2023-03-15
Moffet's Pediatric Infectious Diseases: A Problem-Oriented Approach, 5th ed. by
Staying true to the unique, problem-oriented approach of Dr. Hugh Moffet's previous editions, the fifth edition of Moffet's Pediatric Infectious Diseases walks the reader step by step through diagnosis and management using a signs and symptoms approach. This patient-oriented structure leads to a logical development of a differential diagnosis and evaluation and treatment plan, offering clear steps to confirm the diagnosis and provide appropriate therapy. Key Features: A patient-focused, problem-oriented approach helps you develop the thought process that leads to more accurate diagnoses and better patient care - no matter how complex the patient presentation. Greatly revised content throughout, including new medications, new names of known pathogens, new practice guidelines, and extensive revisions to chapters on urinary syndromes, hepatitis syndromes, and HIV infection and AIDS. Newly streamlined format features the most notable suggested readings, more boxes and tables, new clinical pearls, and new key points that summarize must-know information in each chapter. New two-color design and updated and expanded illustrations bring the text visually up to date and facilitate faster and easier mastery of the material. An experienced author team now includes Dr. Armando Correa, a pediatric infectious diseases physician who practices general pediatrics. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496305541Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and Their Mimics, 2nd ed. by
Patients don't present with a disease; they present with symptoms. Using a practical, symptom-based organization Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis: Common Diseases and their Mimics, 2nd Edition, authoritative guidance on differential diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders in children and adolescents, and covers the symptoms you're likely to see in practice their mimics, and common disorders.
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: Infectious Disease, Immunology, and Pharmacology, 2nd ed. by
Dr. Richard Polin’s Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today’s practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
The thoroughly updated, full-color, 2nd Edition of Infectious Disease, Immunology, and Pharmacology:
Provides a clear management strategy for common and rare neonatal infectious diseases, offering guidance based on the most up-to-date understanding of underlying pathophysiology.
Places emphasis on controversial areas that can entail different approaches.
Features the most current clinical information throughout, including a new immunology section that covers inborn errors of immunity presenting in the newborn period and clinical and molecular markers for diagnosis of neonatal sepsis.
Includes new chapters on COVID-19; congenital syphilis; gonococcal eye prophylaxis; organ dysfunction in sepsis and necrotizing enterocolitis; and drug-associated acute kidney injury.
Utilizes a consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily, and contains numerous charts, graphs, radiographic images, and photographs throughout.
Offers the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care.
Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, 2nd Edition by
The most practice-oriented guide to diagnosing and managing infectious diseases in children. Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, Second Edition is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance for successful infectious disease management. The care of the patient forms the core of this indispensable resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric hospitalist, and pediatric nurse practitioner needs to know. The book's high-yield coverage includes detailed, yet precise overviews of specific infections and their etiology, along with proven diagnostic and management strategies that readers can incorporate into their practice right away.
eBooks
Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases by
As the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases offers up-to-date, targeted coverage of this complex field, compiled by world-renowned editors and authors into one convenient volume. Covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others. Offers well-referenced, evidence-based content throughout, with targeted suggested readings provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th ed. by
From the latest vaccination evidence, recommendations, and protocols . . . to new vaccine development and the use of vaccines in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th Edition, covers every aspect of vaccination. Now completely revised and updated from cover to cover, this award-winning text continues to provide reliable information from global authorities, offering a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Contains all-new chapters on COVID-19, vaccine hesitancy, and non-specific effects of vaccines, as well as significantly revised content on new vaccine technologies such as mRNA vaccines, emerging vaccines, and technologies to improve immunization. Presents exciting new data on evolution of adjuvants across the centuries, dengue vaccines, human papillomavirus vaccines, respiratory syncytial virus vaccines, tuberculosis vaccines, and zoster vaccines. Provides up-to-date, authoritative information on vaccine production, available preparations, efficacy and safety, and recommendations for vaccine use, with rationales and data on the impact of vaccination programs on morbidity and mortality. Provides complete coverage of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues. Keeps you up to date with information on each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Covers vaccine-preventable diseases, vaccine science, and licensed vaccine products, as well as product technologies and global regulatory and public health issues. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 6th ed. by
Comprehensive in scope, yet concise and easy to manage, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 6th Edition, by Drs. Sarah S. Long, Charles G. Prober, Marc Fischer, and new editor David Kimberlin, is your go-to resource for authoritative information on infectious diseases in children and adolescents. A veritable "who's who" of global authorities provides the practical knowledge you need to understand, diagnose, and manage almost any pediatric infectious disease you may encounter. Covers the latest aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic, including manifestations, diagnosis, management, and prevention of SARS-CoV-2 infection. Features an easy-access format with high-yield information boxes, highlighted key points, and an abundance of detailed illustrations and at-a-glance tables. Allows quick look-up by clinical presentation, pathogen, or type of host. Highlights expanding antimicrobial resistance patterns and new therapies for viral and fungal infections and resistant bacterial infections. Includes coverage of the latest vaccine products, recommendations, and effectiveness. Reviews emerging healthcare-associated infections, their management, control, and prevention. Contains a new chapter on Chorioamnionitis and Neonatal Consequences.
Red Book®: 2024-2027 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, by
For more than 85 years health care professionals have "referred to the Red Book" for trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control. The new 33rd edition continues this tradition of distinction with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. Find the latest information about vaccines, emerging novel diseases, diagnostic modalities, and treatment recommendations from the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA, the NIH, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book guidance spans far beyond the pediatric practice to include family medicine, emergency medicine, public health, school health, and other medical specialties. New in the 2024 Red Book All chapters were assessed for relevance in the dynamic environment that is the practice of pediatric medicine today, and every chapter has been modified since the last edition. The chapter Discussing Vaccines With Patients and Parents has been significantly revised. Two new chapters on COVID-19 and Mpox have been added. Greatly expanded tables, figures, and algorithms enable quick access to essential information. The System-Based Treatment Table has been moved to the beginning of the book and has been reordered so that the grouped recommendations by body system are more easily and quickly accessed. Standardized approaches to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection-control practices have been updated throughout the Red Book. Reference to evidence-based policy recommendations have been updated throughout the Red Book. Appropriate chapters throughout the Red Book have been updated to be consistent with 2024 AAP and CDC vaccine recommendations, CDC recommendations for immunization of health care personnel, and drug recommendations from 2024 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy. The Breastfeeding and Human Milk chapter was updated to align with information in the 2022 AAP policy statement on breastfeeding. The listing of Codes for Commonly Administered Pediatric Vaccines, Toxoids, and Immune Globulins has been expanded.
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th ed. by
The fifth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 165 pediatric infectious diseases.
Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 1,350 finely detailed color images, combined with step-by-step guidance.
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant, 9th ed. by
Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant, written and edited by Drs. Remington, Klein, Wilson, Nizet, and Maldonado, remains the definitive source of information in this field.
ISBN: 9780323795258
