Mayo Clinic Health Library
MedlinePlus
- MedlinePlusChildren and Teenagers
- Drugs, Herbs and Supplements Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
- Genetics Find consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
- Medical Tests Learn about medical tests, including what the tests are used for, why a doctor may order a test, how a test will feel, and what the results may mean. Medical tests can help detect a condition, determine a diagnosis, plan treatment, check to see if treatment is working, or monitor the condition over time. A doctor may order these tests as part of a routine checkup, to check for certain diseases and disorders, or to monitor your health.
Other Resources
- HealthyChildren.org This is the Parenting website sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
My Child Is Sick!, 3rd ed. by
Published by the American Academy of Pediatrics, this book is like a pediatric phone consultation in book form! Parents of sick or injured children will find clear, evidence-based answers for what to do when their child is sick or injured, allowing them to save time and money while providing the best care for their child. My Child Is Sick features the most common childhood illnesses and injuries with guidance based on the same criteria used by pediatric call centers to determine if a child is best treated at home, the pediatrician's office, or the emergency department. From pink eye to ear infections and bee stings to vomiting, conditions are explained in easy-to-understand terms, clearly laying out next steps for parents to follow. This new third edition is fully revised and updated and includes COVID-19 information as well as helpful tools like an over-the-counter medication dosing chart.
Patient Education
- Mayo Patient Education This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 7000 Mayo patient education resources. Database is searchable by keyword, material type, language and audience.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, drug information, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries.
- DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements
- Genetics/Birth Defects - MedlinePlus Information on issues related to genetics and birth defects from the National Library of Medicine
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlus Health information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials for Patients and Families The ClinicalTrials.gov Web site provides current information about clinical research studies to patients, their families and caregivers, health care professionals, and the public. Each study record includes a summary of the study protocol, including the purpose, recruitment status, and eligibility criteria. Study locations and specific contact information are listed to assist with enrollment.
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.