eBooks
AAP Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, 2nd ed. by
Expanded and fully updated, the second edition of this popular resource provides essential information to help primary pediatric care providers to more confidently evaluate and care for children with developmental and behavioral concerns. New chapters cover: Environmental and biological influences on child development and behavior Development and disorders of feeding, sleep, and elimination Assimilation of developmental-behavioral screening/surveillance/evaluation/diagnosis, referral, and management into primary care pediatric practice Topics with updated information include: The role of early childhood adversity and toxic stress and the impact on child development and behavior How to appropriately bill and code for care Evidence-based interventions, including psychopharmacology Developmental screening and surveillance, autism spectrum disorder, and ADHD Other topics include counseling children and families, anxiety and mood disorders, and transitioning to adult medical care.
ISBN: 9781610021340Publication Date: 2018-05-30
Adolescent Addiction: Epidemiology, Assessment, and Treatment, 2nd ed. by
Adolescent Addiction, Second Edition, offers researchers and clinicians a single-volume resource on the nature, extent and treatment of addictive problems in adolescents. The book is divided into three main parts. Part one addresses the foundations of addictive problems, including developmental, social, and neurobiologicl factors. Part two addresses common addictions among adolescents. New chapters include e-cigarette, smartphone, social networking, and exercise addiction. Part three discusses challenges and recommendations for future research in adolescent addiction. All chapters in part two follow a similar format to introduction and clinical characteristics, screening and clinical assessment methods, epidemiology, cormorbidity, course and outcome, protective and risk factors, evidence-based clinical strategies for prevention and treatment, and a concise summary of key clinical points.
Adolescent Psychosis by
Adolescent Psychosis: Clinical and Scientific Perspectives presents new methodologies and novel scientific findings, with a comprehensive orientation into the genetics, phenomenology, nosology, and long-term outcome of adolescent early-onset psychosis research. This volume discusses recent epidemiological studies, along with co-morbid aspects associated with other neurodevelopmental syndromes and somatic diseases. The book also provides suggestions for future research using a translational perspective, from genes to the clinic to and relevant phenotypes, biomarkers, treatment options and etiological aspects. Topics discussed bring together expert researchers in the field to represent different perspectives and future possibilities.
Adolescent Suicide and Self-Injury by
This volume presents a comprehensive and practical approach to the treatment of suicide and NSSI for adolescents utilizing a mentalizing framework. The beginning of the text provides up-to-date information on the theory of a mentalizing therapy in order to ground the readers in the neuroscientific underpinnings of a mentalizing approach. Next chapters provide information on the fundamental building blocks of a mentalizing therapy at the individual and family level. These chapters provide step-by-step approaches in order to provide examples of the techniques involved in mentalizing treatment that can be employed to address suicidality and NSSI. The next chapter builds on these concepts as the reader learns about mentalizing failures involved in common co-morbidities in adolescents who are experiencing suicidality and/or employing NSSI. The next several chapters cover practical issues related to working within this patient population including the key concept of social systems and connections for both providers and adolescents, the ability of mentalizing theory and therapy to integrate with other effective therapies, how to approach sessions after a suicide attempt, resiliency for patient, family and the provider, along with important self-care for a therapist if a patient commits suicide. The final chapter brings all of the aforementioned elements together in order for the reader to conceptualize employing a mentalizing approach to adolescents and their families when suicide and NSSI concerns are a predominate focus of care. Illustrations of specific therapeutic approaches and a list of resources and guidelines where available are also included. Adolescent Suicide and Self-Injury is an excellent resource for all clinicians working with youths at risk for suicide and/or self-injury, including psychiatrists, psychologists, pediatricians, family medicine physicians, emergency medicine specialists, social workers, and all others.
Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this book examines the numerous research and practice advances with regard to adolescents and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Expert contributors offer cogent reviews of complex issues, from education to employment, leisure activities to illegal behaviors, mental health issues to medical health concerns. The volume explores the latest findings in key areas, such as psychosocial and residential treatments, social skills programs, epidemiology, the impact of ASD on families. The book focuses on areas of research and practice that require improved models of assessment, current data, new interventions, and increased support services. Key areas of coverage include: Transition from high school to adulthood for adolescents and young adults with ASD. Innovative programming to support college students with ASD. Romantic relationships, sexuality and ASD. Treatment of mental health comorbidities. Assessment and treatment planning in adults with ASD. The range of outcomes and challenges in middle and later life for individuals with autism. The second edition of Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other practitioners in clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, special education, and general practice/family medicine.
ISBN: 9783031464638
Adverse Childhood Experiences by
Adverse Childhood Experiences: Using Evidence to Advance Research, Practice, Policy, and Prevention defines ACEs, provides a summary of the past 20 years of ACEs research, as well as provides guidance for the future directions for the field. It includes a review of the original ACEs Study, definitions of ACEs, and how ACEs are typically assessed. Other content includes a review of how ACEs are related to mental and physical health outcome, the neurodevelopmental mechanisms linking ACEs to psychopathology, sexual violence and sexual health outcomes, and violence across the lifespan. Important and contemporary issues in the field, like reconsidering how ACEs should be defined and assessed, the appropriateness of routine ACEs screening, thinking about ACEs from a public health and global perspective, strategies for preventing ACEs, understanding ACEs and trauma-informed care and resilience, and the importance of safe stable and nurturing environments for children are discussed. Adverse Childhood Experiences is a useful evidence-based resource for professionals working with children and families, including physicians, nurses, social workers, psychologists, lawyers, judges, as well as public health leaders, policy makers, and government delegates.
Anxiety and Related Disorders Interview Schedule for DSM-5, Child and Parent Version: Clinician Manual by
The Anxiety Disorders Interview Schedule for DSM-5, Child and Parent Versions, are the gold standard semi-structured interviews used in clinical research and services to assess and diagnose the major mental health conditions affecting children, adolescents and young adults. These interviews cover the range of conditions identified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), while also providing information for careful case formulation in treatment planning and evaluation of outcomes. Evaluators are able to quantify the severity of illness using a Clinician Severity Rating (CSR), as well as level of severity of symptoms and associated avoidance behavior. Decision rules for combining parent and youth reports, examples of CSR levels for the child anxiety triad of separation anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, and generalized anxiety disorder are included in the Clinician Guide, as well as detailed information on use of the Autism Supplement. This item is a Clinician Manual.
ISBN: 9780199348350
Behavioral Sleep Medicine : A Practical Guide for Adult and Pediatric Providers by
This practical book provides evidence-based and safe techniques for behavioral sleep disorders. It follows a streamlined approach to delivery of care and offers tools to partner with a new provider, ensuring solutions are presented in a structured manner. Each chapter focuses on behavioral approaches to a specific sleep disorder and features key points and resources for additional insights. Practical and easy-to-read, this book is the ideal companion for sleep medicine and behavioral sleep medicine (BSM) fellows, and newly board-certified sleep medicine and BSM specialists. This book is also ideal for primary care physicians and residents. Furthermore, those studying for board-certification, and in training, can utilize the book's tools to follow the clinical approach to the concepts they are learning about.
ISBN: 9783031125744
Brief Interventions for Adolescent Alcohol and Substance Abuse by
Bringing together leading experts, this book demonstrates the unique value of brief motivational interventions for addressing adolescent alcohol and other substance use in a range of clinical contexts. It presents cutting-edge knowledge on the etiology and developmental context of adolescent addictive behaviors and reviews exemplary treatment approaches. Effective strategies are described for intervening with diverse populations, such as college students, youth in the justice system and in foster care, those with co-occurring substance abuse and psychiatric problems, LGBT youth, and Latino and American Indian adolescents. This book replaces the editors' influential earlier work, Adolescents, Alcohol, and Substance Abuse, with an expanded focus on practical applications. Most of the chapters are completely new.
ISBN: 9781462535002Publication Date: 2018-05-18
Childhood Depression by
An evidence-based guide to the assessment and treatment of childhood depression with a focus on a family-based approach Up-to-date overview of the evidence-base Step-by-step guidance of a family-focused treatment Downloadable handouts for clinical practice This volume in the Advances in Psychotherapy series provides the reader with an up-to-date, evidence-based introduction to the assessment and treatment of childhood depression, including major depressive disorder, persistent depressive disorder, disruptive mood dysregulation, and adjustment disorders. After exploring the latest knowledge on the diagnosis, course, theories, and contributing factors of childhood depression, the author presents a step-by-step description of family-focused treatment for childhood depression (FFT-CD), which integrates CBT and family therapy goals. Treatments for depression that work well for adolescents and adults cannot simply be extended to children as their cognitive capabilities are not as fully developed nor stable. FFT-CD focuses on positive and supportive parent-child interactions that support the development of a positive self, helping parents provide the child with additional positive feedback on their developmentally appropriate achievements, and enhancing child and family coping. Downloadable resources include numerous FFT-CD handouts for children and parents. This text should be particularly useful to child or school psychologists, marriage and family therapists, child psychiatrists and anyone workingwith depressed youth and their families.
ISBN: 9780889375185Publication Date: 2024-06-10
The Clinical Guide to Assessment and Treatment of Childhood Learning and Attention Problems by
The Clinical Guide to Assessment and Treatment of Childhood Learning and Attention Problems provides assessment and treatment recommendations for learning disorders (LD) and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Brimming with case studies and other practical guidance, the book reviews etiology of LD and ADHD, outlines the diagnostic criteria per DSM-5, and includes clinical insights for assessment and intervention. Evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies are emphasized, linking assessment to treatment selection and evaluation. Techniques for improving treatment outcomes and supplemental intervention planning are presented, including common modifications and accommodations for learning disorders and attention problems. In addition, tutoring techniques, strategies for specific types of learning problems, and recommendations for Individualized Education Plans are all explored.
The Clinician's Guide to Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Childhood Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder by
The Clinician's Guide to Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Childhood Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder brings together a wealth of experts on pediatric and adolescent OCD, providing novel cognitive behavioral strategies and considerations that therapists can immediately put into practice. The book provides case studies and example metaphors on how to explain exposure models to children in a developmentally appropriate manner. The book also instructs clinicians on how to use symptom information and rating scales to develop an appropriate exposure hierarchy. The book is arranged into two major sections: assessment and treatment of childhood OCD and special considerations in treating childhood OCD. Each chapter is structured to include relevant background and empirical support for the topic at hand, practical discussion of the nature and implementation of the core component (such as exposure and response prevention, cognitive therapy, psychoeducation and more), and a case illustration that highlights the use of a particular technique.
Clinician's Toolkit for Children's Behavioral Health by
Clinician's Toolkit for Children's Behavioral Health provides a wealth of clinical tools, best practices, and research-based recommendations on the behavioral health of children. Based on the current perspectives on behaviorism, social-cognitive theory and attachment theory, the book reviews the evidence-base on developmentally appropriate methods to promote and reinforce positive, prosocial behaviors in children. Each chapter covers the most recent evidence base on normal and atypical development treatment parameters, best practices, and how to most effectively address issues with families, providing guidance on verbal or physical aggression, punishment spirals, and other ineffective or potentially harmful methods. Evidence-based best practices are outlined for addressing bedtime problems, toilet training, bullying behavior and victimization, the relationship between somatic complaints, anxiety, and school refusal, problematic use of screen media, and more. Provides a wealth of clinical guidance on treating behavioral problems in children Addresses toilet training, bullying, aggressive behavior, sexual behavior, and more Outlines how to deliver parent-focused education and interventions Reviews best practices in interviewing about, and reporting on, child maltreatment Looks at teaching methods, learning settings and children's academic/social outcomes
Complex Disorders in Pediatric Psychiatry: A Clinician's Guide by
Get a quick, expert overview of complex childhood psychiatric disorders from Drs. David I. Driver and Shari Thomas of Healthy Foundations Group. This practical resource presents a summary of today's current knowledge and best approaches to topics from gender dysphoria to childhood onset schizophrenia and other complex psychiatric disorders. Comprehensive guide for any professional working with children. Consolidates today's evidence-based information on complex childhood psychiatric disorders into one convenient resource. Provides must-know information on evaluation and management. Covers a range of psychiatric disorders of children including psychosis, autoimmune encephalitides, delirium, concussions, ADHD, irritability, sleep disorders, and eating disorders.
eBooks
Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime: a Practical Guide by
This book is a practical and thoughtful guide for the forensic interview of children, presenting a synthesis of the empirical and theoretical knowledge necessary to understand the account of child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime. It is a complex task to interview children who are suspected of being abused in order to gather their stories, requiring the mastery of many skills and knowledge. This book is a practical one in that constant links are made between the results of the research and their relevance for the interventions made when interviewing child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime and in understanding their accounts. This book also presents in a detailed and concrete way the revised version of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD-R) Protocol, a forensic structured interview guide empirically supported by numerous studies carried out in different countries. The step-by-step explanations are illustrated with a verbatim interview with a child, as well as other tools to help the interviewer to prepare and handle an efficient and supportive interview. Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime is essential reading for stakeholders in the justice, social and health systems as well as anyone likely to receive allegations from children such as educators or daycare staff. Although the NICHD-R Protocol is intended for forensic interviewers, the science behind its development and application is relevant to all professionals working with children.
ISBN: 9781000562200Publication Date: 2022-02-13
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry, 4th Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will encounter in clinical practice CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry offers instant access to relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information. Designed in the time-saving outline style that makes LANGE® CURRENT titles so popular, the book covers need-to-know information on interviewing techniques, emergency psychiatry, treatment strategies, psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, and evaluating infants. This authoritative resource reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches, and provides evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria. Renowned authorities on the subject, the editors have a cumulative 100+ years treating patients and teaching residents. Covers both adult and pediatric disorders. Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches. Provides evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria.
ISBN: 9781265411091Publication Date: 2024-12-02
The Development of Children's Happiness and Success by
This engaging book is a comprehensive exploration of children's happiness and success covering a wide range of factors influencing positive functioning. It offers a holistic view of children's well-being, identifying both threats and catalysts to happiness and success, as well as evidence-based strategies that promote optimal functioning. The first section of the book delves into the science of happiness, discussing the role of early social relationships, the importance of experiencing positive emotions and flow, spirituality, and physical health. The second section focuses on the science of success, exploring topics such as mindsets, self-control, and executive functions. Finally, the book explores individual and contextual factors explaining why character matters, the influence of media and technology, and the critical role of disadvantaged environments. Presenting happiness as an ongoing journey, intertwined with the pursuit and achievement of personal goals, the book concludes by proposing a new conceptual framework which identifies pivotal contributors to children's happiness and success such as relationships, self-regulation, and competence. Suited to upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in child development, family studies, education, and positive psychology, this book is also an invaluable resource for caregivers, educators, and child practitioners. It is a must-read for anyone interested in cultivating a fulfilling, well-lived life for children and adolescents.
ISBN: 9781003817253Publication Date: 2023-12-06
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics, 5th ed. by
Addressing the major advances in biomedical, psychological, social, and environmental sciences over the past decade, Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics, 5th Edition, remains the reference of choice for professionals in a wide range of fields, including medicine and health care, education, social service, advocacy, and public policy. This foundational, pioneering resource emphasizes children's assets and liabilities, not just categorical labels; Comprehensive in scope, it offers information and guidance on normal development and behavior, psychosocial, and biologic influences on development, developmental disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, and mental health conditions. It also discusses tools and strategies for diagnosis and management, including new assessments that can be used in telehealth encounters. Offers highly practical focus, emphasizing clinical approaches to evaluation, counseling, treatment, and ongoing care. Provides new or expanded information on theoretical foundations of human development and behavior; trauma, adverse childhood events, and resilience across the life span; mechanisms of genetic, epigenetic, and neurological conditions; and principles of psychological assessment, including a broad array of evaluation approaches. Discusses management and treatment for developmental and behavioral conditions, spanning common factors, cognitive behavior therapies, rehabilitative services, integrative medicine, and psychopharmacology. Contains up-to-date chapters on celebrating socio-cultural diversity and addressing racism and bias, acute stress and post-traumatic stress disorder in youth, sexuality and variation, and alternatives to restrictive guardianship. Begins each chapter with a colorful vignette that demonstrates the importance of the human dimensions of developmental-behavioral pediatrics. Offers viewpoints from an interdisciplinary team of editors and contributors, representing developmental-behavioral pediatrics, general pediatrics, psychiatry, psychology, occupational and physical therapy, speech-language pathology, and law. Provides the latest drug information in the updated and revised chapters on psychopharmacology.
DSM-5-TR: Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision by
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the first published revision to DSM-5. This revised manual integrates the original published DSM-5 diagnostic criteria with modifications (mostly for clarity) for over 70 disorders, comprehensively updated descriptive text accompanying each of the DSM disorders based on reviews of the literature since the publication of DSM-5, and the addition of a new diagnosis, prolonged grief disorder, and symptom codes for reporting suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injurious behavior. These changes differ from the scope of the prior text revision, DSM-IV-TR, in which the updates were confined almost exclusively to the text, leaving the diagnostic criteria virtually unchanged. This edition also integrates all prior online updates made to DSM-5 after its publication in 2013, in response to usage, specific scientific advances, and ICD-10-CM coding adjustments through an iterative revision process. Consequently, DSM-5-TR is the product of three separate revision processes, each one overseen by separate (but overlapping) groups of experts: the development of the original DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and text by the DSM-5 Task Force, published in 2013; updates to the DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and text by the DSM Steering Committee, which has overseen the iterative revision process; and fully updated text overseen by the Revision Subcommittee.
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 3rd ed. by
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.
Eating Disorders and Obesity in Children and Adolescents by
Get a quick, expert overview of best practices for diagnosis and treatment of eating disorders in children and adolescents. This concise resource by Drs. Johannes Hebebrand and Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann provides psychiatrists and pediatricians with current information in this increasingly important field, including practical sections on developmental aspects of eating disorders, symptomology, epidemiology, etiology and pathyphysiology, treatment and outcomes, and prevention. Discusses general concepts for feeding, eating, and weight disorders; body weight and composition, appetite regulation, and the emergence of body perception and image. Covers genetics of eating and weight disorders, influence of hormones, intergenerational effects, and food addiction. Includes information on cognitive behavioral therapy, family-based therapies, early intervention, pharmacotherapy, bariatric surgery, and other treatments. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323548526Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Emerging Adulthood: A Psychodynamic Approach to the New Developmental Phase of the 21st Century by
What makes an adult? Is it living independently, having a stable career path, getting married, or becoming a parent? In the digital age, particularly in Western societies, such traditional markers have been increasingly postponed and redefined. Thus, the concept of emerging adulthood, first described by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett, Ph.D., is a period between adolescence and adulthood properly characterized by identity exploration, instability, self-focus, feeling in-between, and a sense of wide-open possibilities. Many contemporary researchers have defined emerging adulthood as the period between ages 18 and 29 years, but this new volume argues that it is more useful to look at early emerging adulthood, or late adolescence (ages 18-23), and later emerging adulthood (ages 24-29) separately. Although certain broad trends characterize the entire decade in question (role experimentation, focus on self-discovery), the developmental capacities and tasks of the earlier years are distinct from those of the mid- to late 20s. In accessible chapters made even more applicable by the use of illustrative vignettes and videos that provide an individualized depiction of the broader concepts addressed more abstractly within the book, Emerging Adulthood: A Psychodynamic Approach to the New Developmental Phase of the 21st Century examines the overarching similarities and developmental distinctions between these two periods and subsequently delves into * The identity process in contemporary society, and its inevitable intersection with the digital world, focusing on domains such as race/ethnicity, gender and sexuality, values, and professional roles * The centrality of youth culture in aiding the individuation from family of origin, particularly through the lens of technology, connection to peers, and trends in music and fashion * How to distinguish between typical emotional experiences and behaviors in the years leading up to adulthood and psychopathologies that require mental health interventions * Treatment modalities for individuals in this phase of life, including cognitive-behavioral therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, digital enhancements, and peer involvement Key points for each chapter will help readers reference the most salient takeaways as they gain a deepened understanding of the interface of culture and society, family, development, and individual psychology during these dynamic life phases.
ISBN: 9781615374205Publication Date: 2023-10-04
Emerging Programs for Autism Spectrum Disorder by
Emerging Programs for Autism Spectrum Disorder: Improving Communication, Behavior, and Family Dynamics brings forward a hybrid and a transdisciplinary methodology to identify methods used to diagnose, treat, and manage those with autism within personal and social constructs and values building exemplary international experiences from across the globe. Luminary experts offer their superb level of expertise through their research, experience, and clinical work. The book addresses all the aspects of care, lifespan, and lifestyle issues from treatment to living. It will emphasize issues related to neurodiversity, individuality, best practices, and support of people on the Autism Spectrum and their families. In addition, this book includes specific case studies, highlighting family experiences and the application of best practices by therapists thereof.
Emotional, Physical and Sexual Abuse: Impact in Children and Social Minorities, 2nd ed. by
This new edition aims to examine the impacts of maltreatment of both children and social minorities, such as homosexuals and gender dysphoric individuals or those affected by disabilities, in women, in patients, and describes skills that are of value in supporting victims of maltreatment and preventing discrimination. On this purpose, the new book is not only an update of the current literature on the topic, but will be also enriched by chapters dealing with the subtle border between courtship and harassment, with the responsibilities of the health professionals, with the role of internet and pornography in the "economy" of abuses and sexual slavery, with forensic aspects of the abuses and with therapy of both suffered and operated sexual violence starting from prevention as social education until medical approaches. This new edition will be particularly useful to sexual medicine specialists, medical doctors, psychologists and psychiatrists, as well as graduate students in these disciplines, but also to sociologists, educators and law professionals. By fostering a better understanding of discrimination triggers and effects, this new edition will help clinicians and mentors to provide improved support through the tailoring of therapies to the needs of maltreated and abused individuals.
ISBN: 9783031478918Publication Date: 2024-02-25
Evaluation and Treatment of Neuropsychologically Compromised Children by
Evaluation and Treatment of Neuropsychologically Compromised Children: Understanding Clinical Applications Post Luria and Reitan defines what executive functions are, discusses differences in executive functioning between normative children and those with special education needs, identifies how best to perform neuropsychological assessments of executive function using both qualitative and quantitative measures, and presents the best treatment interventions for improvement. The book makes special note of the contributions of A.R. Luria, from Russia, and Ralph M. Reitan, from the US as the "fathers" of modern neuropsychology to help readers understand current advances in theory and clinical applications relating to executive function. Describes executive functioning in normative and special needs children Outlines the contributions of Luria and Reitan, relating them to current developments in executive function Integrates qualitative and quantitative assessment measures Covers ADHD and executive functioning Includes children of all ages through teens
Exposure Therapy for Children with Anxiety and OCD by
Many providers have difficulty implementing exposure-based cognitive behavioral therapy for youth with anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), despite it being the leading treatment for this condition. Exposure Therapy for Children with Anxiety and OCD: Clinician's Guide to Integrated Treatment provides a step-by-step framework for how providers apply exposure therapy in practice. The book begins with empirical support for the treatment followed by suggested implementation of exposures for specific conditions and ages. Tables of sample exposures and case illustrations are provided throughout the book and common challenges that may complicate implementation are addressed. Intended for busy providers to implement directly into practice, chapters provide clinical excerpts and illustrate techniques in an easy "how-to" format.
Giftedness and Talent: What Educators and Psychologists Need to Know by
Answers common questions of professionals and trainees / Presents the state-of-art of theory, research, and practice / Explores the characteristics of gifted students / Understanding and supporting gifted and talented children and adolescentsWhat is giftedness? How do talents develop? Are gifted people "different"? How can gifted children be recognized and supported in their development? Based on the authors' many years of expertise in giftedness research and education practice, this book answers these and many other questions about giftedness and talent development in a scientifically sound and at the same time application-oriented way. This new volume offers an up-to-date overview of the theoretical foundations, pioneering studies, and research findings on gifted childrenand adolescents, and explores evidence-based options for diagnostics and support. The development of giftedness as well as the characteristics of gifted students, such as performance-related attributes and temperament traits, are also examined. This book is of interest to child psychologists and psychiatrists, educational and school psychologists, educators, and students, and is an ideal textbook for self-study or for those training to become a professional.
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychology Treatment Modules: Personalized Care in Behavior and Emotion by
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychology Treatment Modules: Personalized Care in Behavior and Emotion provides clinicians with modularized treatment strategies for commonly occurring child and youth mental health disorders. Divided into two sections, the first part of the book translates basic science into clinical practice, reviewing predictors, mediators and moderators of change, and an overview of evidence for best practices in treating disorders. The second section guides clinicians on how to implement treatment strategies. Chapters instruct what therapy is, how to introduce it to clients, step-by-step implementation, worksheets for use in practice, homework to send home with clients, and more.
Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity, 3rd ed. by
This book covers the entire spectrum of eating disorders, including obesity, in a psychotherapy procedure-independent manner and is based on the latest treatment guidelines. All disorders are presented on the basis of current evidence and treatment guidelines that combine psychotherapeutic and pharmacological interventions to provide therapists with clear recommendations for treatment. The 3rd edition has been completely revised to include important current topics and chapters, such as the inclusion of eating disorders in ICD 11/DSM 5, the role of the microbiome and the role of modern media e.g. ehealth in prevention and treatment. In addition, the editors and authors address, among other topics, systemic therapy as a new evidence-based psychotherapy and the discussion of addiction mechanisms in eating and weight disorders, and provide an outlook on the role of neurostimulation procedures to address current developments in obesity and eating disorders. The book is suitable as a reference for physicians in training, educators, and psychologists, especially colleagues from the field of psychosomatics, psychiatrists, and psychotherapists in research, clinic and practice.
ISBN: 9783662676622
eBooks
Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care, 3rd ed. by
In its third edition, Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care details the relevant updates in the field behavioral health care practitioners and offers targeted clinical assessment and intervention strategies that will the future needs of educators, students, and clinicians. Drawing on comprehensive research evidence and the authors' decades of clinical experience, this book offers practical guidance for behavioral health care practitioners who want to work more effectively in the fast-paced and complex setting of primary care. Chapters provide an overview of the key foundational concepts and applications of behavioral health within the primary care setting, and detail the competencies required for optimal assessment and intervention outcomes. The authors give detailed, practical advice for addressing common behavioral health concerns including depression, anxiety, health behaviors, pain disorders, substance misuse, and other pertinent problems, as well as special issues such as managing suicidal risk. Key updates to this third edition include: An expanded exploration of core competencies and clinical practice management skills; A review of the neuromatrix theory of pain model, as well as additional important considerations for assessing and treating fibromyalgia and other pain disorders, and; Assessment and intervention guidelines for opioid misuse.
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence: Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing, and Communicating, 5th ed. by
Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention
ISBN: 9780323442343Publication Date: 2017-12-08
Managing Self-Harm Using Psychological Treatment ATMAN : A Guide for Counsellors by
The book presents the session wise details of ATMAN psychological treatment for managing self-harm in youth in low- and middle- income countries. Based on global evidence, ATMAN treatment has been designed using a systematic, sequential approach and has been co-designed by the self-harm patients and mental health professionals in Mumbai, India. The word ATMAN in Sanskrit refers to the "eternal self' that functions in harmony with the Universe. Suicide is a leading cause of premature mortality across the world. Three quarters of global suicides occur in low- and middle-income countries. Most of the psychotherapies available to reduce the recurrence of self-harm have been developed and tested in high-income countries. Far less attention has been given to develop and evaluate context specific psychotherapeutic programmes for self-harm in low- and middle income countries. The book includes contextually appropriate treatment elements; age appropriate and culturally relevant case vignettes and scripts; and is easy to understand for non-specialist providers. It is based on problem solving therapy integrated with emotion regulation and social network strengthening skills. Available treatments for self-harm are sub-optimal globally and this book might become an extremely useful resource for mental health professionals in high-income countries due to its easy to use format, brief structure, and utility for culturally diverse populations. From the systems perspective, the possibility of scaling it up and training non-specialist counsellors to deliver this treatment in the community setting makes Managing Self-Harm Using Psychological Treatment ATMAN a very useful addition to the limited resources available to address the global health challenge of self-harm.
ISBN: 9783031564062Publication Date: 2024-06-19
Pediatric Anxiety Disorders by
Pediatric Anxiety Disorders provides a critical, updated and comprehensive overview of anxiety disorders in children and adolescents based on the current state of empirical research. The book provides specific clinical recommendations which integrate new knowledge from neuroscience and innovative delivery formats for interventions. This is the first reference to examine anxiety diagnoses in accordance with the latest edition of the DSM-5, including childhood onset disorders, such as Separation Anxiety Disorder, Selective Mutism, Specific Phobia, Social Anxiety Disorder, Panic Disorder, Agoraphobia and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. The book assists clinicians in critically appraising the certainty of the evidence-base and the strength of clinical recommendations.
Pediatric Psychopharmacology for Primary Care, 4th ed. by
Completely updated and revised, the fourth edition provides practice-tested, condition-specific treatment recommendations for various childhood mental disorders. Obtain clear evidence-based guidance on dosing, monitoring, and potential adverse reactions of psychotropic medications for treatment of common psychiatric disorders and mental health or behavioral problems in children and adolescents. The book is designed not only for the pediatric primary care clinician but also for specialists such as developmental-behavioral pediatricians, psychiatric nurse practitioners, and allied mental health professionals among others. TOPICS INCLUDE Core pediatric principles and conceptual framework for prescribing psychotropics Medications for specific diagnoses--ADHD, anxiety, and depression Food and Drug Administration approved antipsychotics and mood stabilizers and all other medications Midcourse medication corrections and managing treatment impasses
ISBN: 9781610027663Publication Date: 2024-09-09
Providing Affirming Care to Transgender and Gender-Diverse Youth by
This book aids clinicians in supporting and caring for transgender and gender-diverse children and adolescents - youth who are born into an incongruent body. A recent study using data from 19 states reported that 1.8% of American youth identified as transgender. Many people who are transgender will experience gender dysphoria, the intense emotional distress that is caused by a discrepancy between a person's gender identity and their sex assigned at birth. In this compact volume, the authors discuss the variety of domains involved in addressing gender dysmorphia: social, psychological, medical, and legislative/advocacy. They provide clear and concise information on the types and timing of gender-affirming medications and surgical interventions and offer useful suggestions for making interactions in the clinic and the clinical space inclusive for transgender and gender-diverse youth. Among the topics covered include: identity development and gender nonconformity in early childhood and puberty the importance of access to mental health professionals with expertise in gender nonconformity the responsible use of developmentally appropriate gender-affirming medications and surgical interventions related clinical issues such as nutrition counselling for youth receiving gender-affirming treatments creating a safe and inclusive healthcare environment for transgender and gender-diverse youth advocating for transgender and gender-diverse patients by working with local and national policy makers. Providing Affirming Care to Transgender and Gender-Diverse Youth is essential reading for pediatric healthcare professionals including physicians in pediatrics and family medicine, plastic surgeons, nurses, dietitians, psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and other practitioners.
Psychological Approaches to the Treatment of Pediatric Obesity by
This book offers a comprehensive review of current research and theoretical approaches​ to pediatric obesity. Pediatric obesity is a significant public health concern that currently affects 1 in 5 children and adolescents. Prevention and treatment of this complex health condition requires a multifaceted approach that acknowledges the intersecting roles of gender, race and ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and other factors that play key roles in the onset and maintenance of pediatric obesity. Written for mental health clinicians, as well as medical practitioners such as physicians, nurses, dietitians, and exercise physiologists who care for children and adolescents, this helpful resource offers a comprehensive review of current research and theoretical approaches, as well as clear descriptions of effective strategies to prevent and treat pediatric obesity. Through a lens of diversity, equity, and inclusion, the authors incorporate cutting edge research and their extensive clinical experience and expertise as they review evidence-based treatments that can be incorporated into various settings, including primary care, mental health, and specialty medical care clinics as well as schools and community organizations. With a special focus on psychological factors, including mental health conditions that frequently co-occur with pediatric obesity, this book incorporates case examples, treatment guidelines, and reproducible handouts to make addressing pediatric obesity more accessible to clinicians and practitioners.
Psychologist's Guide to Adolescents and Social Media by
The internet has become a principal venue for social interaction. Young people are growing up in a world surrounded by technology that could have only been imagined a generation ago. Social media have crafted a landscape that has made connection with others easy. Yet this rise has become a concern. So, what is happening here? Why is it so compelling to use social media? Why is it difficult to quit social media? What impact can social media have on teenagers, their education, and their well-being? Should we be worried? What can be done to help? Psychologist's Guide to Adolescents and Social Media aims to deliver a deeper understanding regarding the psychology of social media, both positive and negative. This guide is divided into four parts. The reader will be guided through the purposes and merits of social media, the unintended consequences of using social media, author conducted research exploring the experiences of adolescent-aged school children, and what can be done to help those struggling with the overuse of social media, including assessment resources. Examines the consequences of using social media, including cyberbullying and internet addiction Explores what can be done to help those who need support with their social media use Features relevant real-life examples and interviews with adolescents
Shaping the Future of Child and Adolescent Mental Health by
Shaping the Future of Child and Adolescent Mental Health: Towards Technological Advances and Service Innovations coincides with the 25th International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAP) Congress in Dubai from December 5-9, 2022. There are three overarching themes of this book. Firstly, the impact of the Internet and digital technologies on the mental health and well-being of children and adolescents, including computerized therapies, and the fundamental role of technologies to advance knowledge in the field. Secondly, a theme on harnessing the expansion of knowledge on psychiatric disorders and their treatment for children and adolescents, exemplified by chapters on different kinds of adversity in child and adolescent mental health and a chapter on precision therapeutics. Given the location of the IACAPAP Congress, the third theme focuses on aspects of child and adolescent mental health in the Eastern Mediterranean Region. Chapters provide insights into a broad range of contemporary technology- and service innovation-related topics in child and adolescent psychiatry and mental health. These include growing up in the digital age, cyberbullying, clinical applications of big data and machine learning, computerized cognitive behavioral therapy, technology- enhanced learning, lessons from COVID-19, new understanding of the consequences of psychological trauma, autoimmune encephalitis, and precision therapeutics in depression. Acknowledging the global challenge of child and adolescent psychiatry and mental health, readers will find an emphasis on contextual challenges in the field, including innovations for scaling up of mental health intervention in low- and middle-income countries, and research and training in the Eastern Mediterranean Region.
Social Media and Adolescent Health by
Social media has been fully integrated into the lives of most adolescents in the U.S., raising concerns among parents, physicians, public health officials, and others about its effect on mental and physical health. Over the past year, an ad hoc committee of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine examined the research and produced this detailed report exploring that effect and laying out recommendations for policymakers, regulators, industry, and others in an effort to maximize the good and minimize the bad. Focus areas include platform design, transparency and accountability, digital media literacy among young people and adults, online harassment, and supporting researchers.
ISBN: 9780309713177Publication Date: 2024-03-25
WAIMH Handbook of Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Biopsychosocial Factors, Volume 1 by
This book examines basic knowledge in the field of infant and early childhood mental health. It focuses on cognitive, social, and emotional development of infants and toddlers and examines different aspects of neurobiological development, including genes and epigenetics as well as biobehavioral synchrony. In addition, the book addresses parenting and caregiving issues, including attachment, parent-infant relationships, and high-risk factors (e.g., the effects of trauma on the infant-caregiver relationship, adolescent parenting, and parents with substance abuse disorders). Key areas of coverage include: Social-emotional and cognitive development during infancy and early childhood. Temperament in infants and toddlers. Neurobiological influences from infancy through early childhood. Parenting and caregiving of infants and toddlers. Reflective functioning, mentalization, and infant development. The WAIMH Handbook of Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health, Volume One, is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians and all related therapists and professionals in infancy and early child development, developmental psychology, pediatrics, child and adolescent psychiatry, clinical social work, public health and all related disciplines.
ISBN: 9783031486265Publication Date: 2024-02-20
Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care, 4th ed. by
This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly. New chapters on behavioral health integration, social emotional screening, and gender and sexual identification, growth mindset New high-profile contributors who bring expertise from their practices Ideal for primary care clinicians but also helpful for all level clinicians who are new to pediatrics Covers a range of critical issues, from common behaviors such as biting and toilet training to exposure to violence and child abuse, as well as strategies to prevent problems Features an extensive bibliography for professionals and parents Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496397393Publication Date: 2018-10-09
