Pediatrics: Emergency Medicine / Trauma

Atlas of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 3rd ed. by Binita R. Shah; Michael Lucchesi, 2019 Publisher's Note: Products purchased from More than 2,000 photographs facilitate rapid visual diagnosis and management of common and rare pediatric emergencies Atlas of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Third Edition is written to assist the busy clinician in the evaluation, management, and disposition of acutely ill or injured pediatric patients. Enhanced by more than 2,000 photographs and nearly 100 line illustrations, this unique visual resource has been acclaimed as the finest collection of pediatric emergency medicine images available anywhere. The Atlas features a clear, consistent format, with concise text detailing Clinical Summary, Emergency Department Treatment and Disposition, and Pearls. Positioned next to this easy-to-read text is a wealth of images that illustrate how these clinical problems actually present in a real-life emergency setting.  Features: * More than 2,000 high-quality clinical photographs and images (many in full color and many new to this edition)* Content that spans infancy through adolescence* Comprehensive coverage of disorders (including trauma) organized by body systems* Updated throughout, including important new content on PoCUS (Point-of-Care Ultrasound) If you are in need of a highly accessible, well-illustrated resource designed to assist you in making an accurate and timely diagnosis, your search ends here.

Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatric Emergency Medicine by C. Keith Stone; Roger L. Humphries; Dorian Drigalla et al, 2015 Deliver faster diagnosis, more effective treatments, and improved outcomes with this concise guide to pediatric emergency medicine Provides immediate access to life-saving and routine information through consistent chapter outlines Begins with a section on emergency procedures and child-safety issues Presents information the way an emergency medicine provider thinks and acts: by symptomatic presentation, including cardiac arrest, respiratory distress, shock,fever, abdominal pain, seizures, trauma Details evaluation and management of disorders routinely seen in Pediatric Emergency Medicine such as foreign bodies, respiratory infections, asthma, heart defects, dehydration, rashes, sickle-cell disease, sports-injuries and more Enhanced by numerous tables, and more than 400 illustrations and photographs to clarify concepts and improve understanding LANGE Valuable to all practitioners of emergency medicine, from prehospital care providers to nurses and physicians Designed for use in a busy, fastpaced emergency department Focuses on the practical aspects of emergency care Covers a wide spectrum of pediatric conditions

Fleisher and Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 7th ed. by Richard G. Bachur; Kathy N. Shaw, 2016 Overcome the latest clinical challenges in the emergency care of pediatric patients! Fleisher & Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine has long been acknowledged as the indispensible comprehensive clinical reference on diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children. Now, a new editorial team and an all-star collection of contributing authorities have meticulously updated this essential work, bringing you all of the most recent approaches to virtually any pediatric emergency you are likely to encounter in practice. A multitude of new chapters and comprehensive updates put the latest know-how at your fingertips, helping you to optimally manage young patients. A reorganized, streamlined table of contents and refined chapter template for medical emergencies, trauma, surgical emergencies, and behavioral health emergencies approaches pediatric emergencies the way you engage with them in practice. New clinical pathways section provide key steps for managing critical patients New related chapters feature in most chapters enables you to easily cross-reference content across chapters. New colorful design Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Online-only content includes e-figures, e-tables and additional resources See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!

Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children, 6th ed. by Gregory A. Mencio, 2020 Long considered the "go-to" reference for orthopaedic trauma surgeons and pediatric orthopaedic trauma surgeons, Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children provides comprehensive, practical guidance on the management of traumatic musculoskeletal injuries in children and adolescents. The fully revised 6th Edition covers the latest techniques, procedures, outcomes measures, pearls and pitfalls, and rehabilitation advice for the modern management and understanding of skeletal trauma in children - all provided by "who's who" list of pediatric orthopaedic trauma experts. Includes updated, evidence-based information on the impact of trauma to the immature and growing skeleton with comprehensive coverage of incidence, mechanisms of injury, classifications, and treatment options and complications for fractures in all major anatomical regions. Employs a new succinct and clear format that emphasizes need-to-know material. Features practical, step-by-step videos online. Includes hundreds of high-quality line drawings, diagnostic images, and full-color clinical photos that facilitate learning and understanding of complex material. Includes separate chapters on key topics such as Nerve Injury and Repair in Children, Skeletal Trauma in Young Athletes, Nonaccidental Trauma, Anesthesia and Analgesia, and Rehabilitation of the Child with Multiple Injuries. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

On Call Pediatrics, 4th ed. by James J. Nocton; Rainer Gedeit, 2019 Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Pediatrics, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Reviews the indications for, and complications of, common neurodiagnostic tests. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4th ed. by Steven M. Selbst; Jillian Stevens Savage, 2025 The world is very different since the last edition of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets . The COVID-19 pandemic changed us forever. Our priorities were rearranged, and we, perhaps, have a greater appreciation for health care providers on the front lines. However, what never changed is our desire to provide the highest quality emergency care to children across the country. Perhaps even more than ever, clinicians in emergency medicine need rapid access to reliable sources of information to assist in the care of children in the emergency department (ED). Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets is a unique textbook because of its question-and-answer format. Some questions focus on “fun trivia.” Most questions are clinically relevant and provide valuable information about common and unusual pediatric conditions seen in the ED. Those who care for children in the ED know they will be challenged on every shift. Clinical questions arise with each patient and inquisitive trainees often bring interesting, stimulating queries to bedside discussions of pediatric patients. Physicians rarely have time to sort through lengthy texts or volumes of information to get their answers. This book highlights the difficult questions that arise daily in the ED. It offers succinct, up-to-date answers. The fourth edition of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets is divided into seven sections. The first section addresses life-threatening conditions and immediate stabilization of children. The second section features common chief complaints that are often managed in the ED. Later sections focus on important medical emergencies, surgical emergencies, major and minor trauma, and environmental emergencies. Finally, questions relating to special topics in pediatric emergency medicine (procedural sedation, bio-terrorism, ultrasound, risk management, and the transport of children to specialized centers) are included. This fourth edition features several new chapters such as Sexual Assault, High-Altitude Illness, Disaster Preparedness, Point-of-Care Ultrasound, and Patient Safety and Quality Improvement. All other chapters have been revised and revamped with new questions and current references. Many chapters have classic photographs and radiographs to enhance learning. Each chapter features Key Points that highlight essential tips and pearls. The Top 100 Secrets have been collated and updated for rapid review and summary. We recognize how demanding and rewarding it is to care for ill and injured children. We sincerely hope Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets fourth edition will be very useful to meet the challenges we all face on every shift. We believe the questions and answers in this book will inform and motivate the reader, as do our patients and our trainees.

Pediatric Emergent/Urgent and Ambulatory Care: The Pocket NP, 3rd ed. by Sheila Sanning Shea; Karen Sue Hoyt; Kathleen Sanders Jordan, 2025 Now in its third edition, this quick reference for nurse practitioners and other health care providers continues to provide rapid access to key assessment and management information for pediatric patients. With its concise format, the resource provides current, evidence-based guidelines for the most-commonly encountered problems found in this population in urgent and emergent settings. The pocket guide is arranged in a logical head-to-toe format, and includes the history, physical examination, and essential medical decision-making considerations needed to walk the clinician step-by-step through a typical patient encounter. A variety of templates for dictation/documentation can be mixed and matched as needed to assist the clinician with the development of patient records. The book also contains frequently used anatomical illustrations and templates to assist in identification of normal and abnormal presentations. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Updates crucial evidence-based clinical guidelines Delivers ultrasound figures and tables Key Features: Provides at-a-glance access to patient treatment information Offers templates assisting in identification of normal and abnormal presentations Contains a rapid review of systems Unfolds content in a head-to-toe format Includes figures and anatomic information assisting in management/diagnosis of conditions Contains information about billing

The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: Office and Emergency Room Procedures by Lily Zhu-Tam; Ida Chung, 2022 There is a need for comprehensive books that provide crucial information in a clear and direct manner, particularly in the medical field. Currently, there are limited resources available to students and clinicians that provide step-by-step procedures with pictures on how to examine the eye in the pediatric population. The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: Office and Emergency Room Procedures is a clinical procedure book to provide step-by-step pediatric eye care examination techniques and is an important addition to the field of eye care. The chapters are written by leading pediatric optometrists and ophthalmologists in the field. Years of academic and clinical experiences from schools of optometry, hospital-based eye care, and private practice are all presented in a user-friendly format with clinical pearls and insights that will help any clinician perform a pediatric eye exam easily and efficiently. Covering a range of critical topics such as pupil examination, visual field testing, refraction, and ocular emergencies and providing pictures, it is ideal for all students, residents, academicians, trainers, and novel and seasoned clinicians who are interested in learning how to examine a pediatric patient and staying on top of the latest pediatric eye care procedures.

Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by Robert Vezzetti; Jestin Carlson; Debra Pennington, 2022 Children and infants comprise up to 20% of emergency department visits, and emergency physicians must be knowledgeable in choosing the most appropriate imaging modality to arrive at an accurate diagnosis and provide optimal patient care. Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited pediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of pediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI. Identifies key radiographic findings for various pediatric conditions including congenital heart lesions, surgical entities, infectious disease processes, and traumatic injuries. Accompanies images with clear, concise text that makes it easy to grasp the most clinically significant points of each case. Provides expert guidance on best practices in important areas of pediatric imaging such as sedation, ionizing radiation exposure reduction, and imaging modality selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Rapid Access Guide for Pediatric Emergencies : Providing Expert Nursing Care by Deb Jeffries; Lynn Sayre Visser, 2022 This resource for nurses confronting pediatric emergencies provides immediate access to vital, life-saving information. Ideal for a variety of settings, this guide distills the wisdom of expert pediatric emergency clinicians who provide a wealth of critical information from basic foundational knowledge through red flag presentations and triage. After describing how to best incorporate the guide into practice, the nursing book conveys important contextual information about pediatric developmental stages, anatomy and physiology, and how to communicate effectively with patients and caregivers. This emergency nurse essential resource provides comprehensive triage content; a combination of concept-based learning, disease pathology, and recognition according to body system; and psychosocial considerations. Additionally, behavioral health issues, congenital cardiac anomalies, and children with unique needs, along with assessments, interventions, critical medications, and selected components of resuscitation are covered. This text provides emergency, urgent care, clinic, school nurses and others, both experienced and inexperienced, with a pocket reference when caring for the pediatric patient. A quick-reference section highlights emergency pediatric procedures and medication administration for at-a-glance information. Chapters contain space for taking notes, inscribing important phone numbers, or pasting facility-specific policies and procedures.

Strange and Schafermeyer's Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 5th ed. by Robert W. Schafermeyer; Milton Tenenbein; Charles G. Macias et al, 2019 Concise, current, need-to-know coverage of emergency medicine in children - presented in full color Endorsed by the American College of Emergency Physicians "...a comprehensive and current resource for anyone who cares for children in an acute setting, from the office to the emergency department. Its presentation is straightforward, and the information is easy to read and assimilate. It will be a valuable resource for those in the field of pediatric emergency medicine as well as other practitioners who occasionally care for sick children."--JAMA (reviewing an earlier edition) This clinically-focused guide covers the entire field of pediatric emergency medicine. Featuring a strong focus on practical need-to-know information Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition is bolstered by numerous full-color images, bulleted High-Yield Facts at the beginning of each chapter, nearly 100 diagnostic and treatment algorithms, and treatment tables with drug dosages. Endorsed by the American College of Emergency Physicians, this book is perfect for use in the emergency department or the pediatric clinic. FEATURES * Chapters open with bulleted High-Yield Facts, followed by just enough pathophysiology for understanding, and continue with a focus on what needs to be done to protect and save the child* Broad scope spans the full spectrum of pediatric emergencies -- from trauma care to psychosocial emergencies* NEW CHAPTER on Brief Resolved Unexplained Events (BRUE)* Opens with an important symptom-based section of Cardinal Presentations that familiarizes you with crucial life- saving protocols* Covers all major categories of disease that present in children on an urgent or emergent basis If you are in need of a very readable and easily accessible, evidence-based text written to help you provide high quality emergency medical care to children, your search ends here.

Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine, 4th ed. by Peter Cameron; Gary Browne; Biswadev Mitra et al, 2024