Mayo Clinic and Professional Associations
- Infectious Diseases Society of AmericaProfessional Development
- International Society for Infectious DiseasesKnowledge Exchange
- National Foundation for Infectious DiseasesResource Library
eBooks
Mayo Clinic Infectious Diseases Case Review by
Mayo Clinic Infectious Disease Case Review is a comprehensive collection of case studies covering a wide array of infectious diseases. This volume addresses many common illnesses that primary care clinicians and infectious diseases specialists will see during their practice. With a focus on epidemiology, the investigative study of each case addresses laboratory tools to be used and how to interpret the results. This volume contains: · 54 unique case vignettes · Highlighted key takeaways for each case· Practice questions and answers for reviewMayo Clinic Infectious Disease Case Review collects some of the most experienced voices in the field. Coming from different areas of expertise in the specialty of epidemiology, the authors of this volume robustly investigate and examine specific infection syndromes. This book will be useful to busy clinicians for their treatment of different infectious diseases in their daily practice, as well as for those interested in evaluating their knowledge and familiarity with infectious diseases.
ISBN: 9780190052973Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Case Studies in Infectious Disease, 2nd ed. by
Fully updated, with new case examples of emergent diseases including those caused by coronaviruses and ebola Diseases listed alphabetically under the causative agent, with a separate tabular presentation of the pathogens as bacteria, viral, protozoal/worm/fungal as a guide to the relative involvement of each body system affected Each case answers five core questions and concludes with a bullet-point summary of these same key questions discussing causation, clinical presentation, diagnosis, management and complications and disease prevention strategies Multiple-choice questions with each case for self-testing plus full referencing, suggestions for further reading, a list of relevant websites, and additional resources online A comprehensive glossary allows rapid access to the microbiology and medical terms highlighted in bold in the text.
ISBN: 9780367696399Publication Date: 2023-05-17
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2nd ed. by
Using an easily accessible, highly templated format, Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine, 2nd Edition, provides more than 100 realistic scenarios for tropical infectious diseases. Full-color photographs and maps, a convenient question-and-answer presentation, and succinct summary boxes help you identify and understand the tropical diseases you're likely to encounter. This up-to-date 2nd Edition is an excellent resource and study tool for infectious diseases fellows, doctors preparing for exams in tropical medicine, primary care doctors with patients who are global travelers, and global health nurses and practitioners alike. Offers realistic scenarios for encountering patients in rural, resource-poor settings, presenting cases as "unknowns," just as in a real clinic or emergency situation. Covers newly emerging diseases such as Zika virus, severe fever with thrombocytopenia syndrome (SFTS), and knowlesi malaria. Features topics in migrant medicine of particular importance to clinicians in non-tropical countries, including louse-borne-relapsing fever, spinal brucellosis, and hyperreactive malarial splenomegaly. Includes "classic" tropical diseases such as African trypanosomiasis, chagas, leprosy, and yaws. Reflects the use of novel diagnostics used in resource-poor settings, as well as developing drug resistance in relevant cases. Serves as a companion to Manson's Tropical Diseases, with a reading list at the end of each case referring to the corresponding chapter in the larger text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702078798Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Infectious Diseases: a Clinical Short Course, 4th Edition by
Master the principles of clinical infectious disease in 30 days or less Infectious Diseases: A Clinical Short Course, Fourth Edition provides busy physicians, students, nurse practitioners, and PAs with the kind of concise overview they need to understand, diagnose, and treat common infectious diseases safely and effectively. Organized by system/region--as opposed to pathogens--to simulate the ways you encounter common pathogens and disorders in rounds or in practice, this new edition includes key updates and aligns content with information tested on the USMLE Step 2. By indicating the number of days you should spend on each chapter, the author has created a schedule for completion of each lesson. A wide array of tables summarizing the methods of clinical assessment, anti-infective agent doses, and drug toxicities--critical facts that do not require memorization, but need to be referred to when caring for patients--facilitate this condensed learning schedule. * Key Points summarize the most important facts you need to know when managing each infection and facilitate board review * Guiding Questions kick off each chapter * An estimate of the potential severity of each disease provides insight into how quickly you should initiate treatment * Case examples highlight real-world clinical application of the content * Dozens of color plates depict major pathogens * All chapters have been updated to reflect the most current treatment and diagnostic guidelines from the Infectious Diseases Society of America
Infectious Diseases: Smart Study Guide for Medical Students, Residents, Physicians and Clinical Pharmacists by
Infectious Diseases: Smart Study Guide for Medical Students, Residents, Physicians and Clinical Pharmacists attempts to consolidate knowledge and information into a step-by-step process that would be easy to understand, remember, and apply in a clinical setting. High-yield information presented in this book is necessary for medical students and residents. This book has provided information for all disciplines working in infectious diseases, whether students, residents, physicians, pharmacists, or nurses. The book is organized for quick and easy to retrieve information for all professionals.
ISBN: 9780443187421Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, 18th ed. by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
