eBooks
Aesthetic Surgery Techniques by
Changing trends, ethnic and regional preferences, and a hands-on teaching method make cosmetic surgery uniquely challenging for novice and experienced surgeons alike. Aesthetic Surgery Techniques: A Case-Based Approach offers expert, real-world instruction by presenting chapters and patients in a classical fashion, providing a clinical perspective as you work through case after case, honing your knowledge and skills. A diverse, international group of highly reputable faculty takes you step by step through each case. Covers a wide range of the most common cosmetic procedures in a templated, atlas-style format, highlighting case presentations with superb illustrations, clinical photographs, and procedural videos. Presents each case using easy-to-understand text that highlights potential risks and tips and tricks to avoid them. Conveys the real-world knowledge and expertise of a multidisciplinary team of editors including oral and maxillofacial surgeons and plastic surgeons. Uses a chapter format based on the 14 Cosmetic Surgery Competencies used to train Consultant Plastic Surgeons at the Anglia Ruskin University, UK. Offers global coverage of specific techniques to help you refine your skills and expand your surgical repertoire: Abdominoplasty (Modified Brazilian Technique in the UK and Middle East) Open Rhinoplasty (European approach) Surgical correction of the Neck (New Zealand and U.S.) Advanced Medical Aesthetics (UK and Dubai) Facelift Made Easy (U.S.) Asian Blepharolasty Ethics in Aesthetic Surgery (UK and U.S.) Breasts, Buttocks, and Thighs (Brazil) Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323417457Publication Date: 2018-02-16
The Art of Aesthetic Surgery, 3rd ed. by
The ultimate guide to aesthetic surgery from world famous aesthetic surgeon Foad Nahai The Art of Aesthetic Surgery, Principles and Techniques, Third Edition by internationally revered aesthetic surgeon Foad Nahai, five distinguished co-editors, and more than 100 new contributors is an encyclopedic, three-volume masterwork. Considered the quintessential resource on cosmetic surgery since its inception, the new edition features an e-book and access to online videos for the first time. The updated text and videos reflect significant and numerous exciting developments in aesthetic medicine and surgery. An impressive group of renowned global experts contribute valuable insights, pearls, and considerable expertise. Twenty new chapters feature a wealth of diverse state-of-the-art topics, while other chapters have been updated and greatly expanded. New areas of focus include practice management, volume enhancement in periorbital and facial rejuvenation, minimally invasive neck techniques, and body contouring procedures such as umbilicoplasty. Patient safety is prominent, with a major chapter on safety considerations in aesthetic surgery, as well as discussion of complications in different anatomic regions. Key Highlights A state-of-the-art review of facial aesthetic surgery, with detailed coverage of all the key techniques needed to achieve facial rejuvenation The latest primary and revision breast surgery techniques for augmentation, reduction, mastopexy, fat grafting, and asymmetry management Significant new chapters on minimally invasive treatments reflect enormous changes in this field since the last edition The addition of two new dedicated sections on genital rejuvenation and gender affirming surgery About 6,000 beautiful illustrations enhance understanding of state-of-the-art approaches An expanded video library featuring 14 new clips and the addition of pre- and post-op patient images provides expert procedural guidance This quintessential resource provides trainees and experienced practitioners with a solid foundation for learning basic principles and techniques in aesthetic surgery, with the ultimate goal of improving patient outcomes, developing innovations, and advancing the specialty. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781684200344Publication Date: 2020-08-17
The Art of Combining Surgical and Nonsurgical Techniques in Aesthetic Medicine, 1st ed. by
Innovative strategies for artfully blending aesthetic techniques to maximize results The Art of Combining Surgical and Nonsurgical Techniques in Aesthetic Medicine by Julius W. Few Jr. reflects multidisciplinary contributions from renowned practitioners in plastic surgery, dermatology, oculoplastics, and facial plastic surgery. This is the first book to specifically discuss minimally-invasive aesthetic techniques for the face and body and how to strategically combine them, both with and without surgery. The text is rooted in evidence-based scientific principles and sound clinical applications, with the goal of helping aesthetic practitioners attain more favorable and longer-lasting results. Fifteen comprehensive chapters reflect the visionary beliefs of top experts in cosmetic medicine. Each topic is discussed by clinicians who have developed innovative approaches that will revolutionize the field. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on concepts of beauty and nonsurgical facial rejuvenation in traditional surgical candidates. Subsequent chapters discuss innovative, combined approaches for both the face and body. Key Features Blending and sequencing of techniques, and diverse skin type considerations A wide array of modalities -- from noninvasive devices, microneedling and platelet-rich plasma, and light- and energy-based therapies -- to surgical interventions Practical, real-life case studies throughout More than 200 detailed photos and colorful illustrations detail anatomy and approaches Technical videos available online demonstrate techniques in depth Special emphasis on how to avoid and treat complications This must-have resource masterfully guides novice and veteran clinicians alike on the thoughtful use of combined state-of-the-art techniques to achieve optimal outcomes. It will help plastic surgeons, facial plastic surgeons, dermatologists, and dermatologic surgeons reduce recovery time and enhance results in their patients.
ISBN: 9781626236820Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Core Techniques in Flap Reconstructive Microsurgery: A Stepwise Guide, 1st ed. by
This book provides a practical, step-by-step guidance on modern workhorse flaps for plastic and reconstructive surgeons in training or in their early career. The 50 chapters cover everything from surgical fundamentals to preconditions of microsurgical techniques, but also covers pre-operative planning, steps of microsurgical dissection and management of complications in a straightforward, explanatory style, and are supplemented by over 600 clinical illustrations and cadaveric images. Further videos demonstrations with pertinent steps in flap dissection, anatomical nomenclature and long-term outcomes are also demonstrated. For each flap a detailed discussion of key papers concerning its origin, pitfalls, technical refinements and tips for success are also included. Thanks to specific notes on common reconstructive challenges and complications, this book offers a valuable reference tool and would be unquestionably an integral reference guide for every surgeon interested in reconstructive microsurgical techniques, especially during their early microsurgical career.
ISBN: 9783031076770Publication Date: 2023-04-26
Essential Surgery: Problems, Diagnosis and Management, 6th ed. by
Essential Surgery is well-established as one of the leading textbooks of surgery for medical students, core surgical trainees and those in professions allied to medicine. Covering general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, vascular surgery, urology, paediatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial surgery and ENT, it also incorporates appropriate levels of basic science throughout. The book is ideal to accompany clinical courses, as well as being a practical manual for readers at more advanced levels requiring a revision aid for exams. Its main aim is to stimulate the reader to a greater enjoyment and understanding of the practice of surgery. The uniformity of the writing style and the clarity of elucidation will encourage continued reading, while the emphasis on the principles of surgery will enable a real understanding of the subject matter. The book incorporates a problem-solving approach wherever possible, emphasising how diagnoses are made and why particular treatments are used. The pathophysiological basis of surgical diseases is discussed in relation to their management, acting as a bridge between basic medical sciences and clinical problems. The book's extensive use of original illustrations, colour photographs, radiology images, boxes and tables emphasises important concepts and will promote easy revision of topics. The principles of operative surgery and pre-, peri- and postoperative care are explained together with outlines of common operations, enabling students and trainee surgeons to properly understand procedures and to participate intelligently in the operating department. A major and comprehensive revision of the text has taken full account of the progressive evolution of surgery and includes new scientific and clinical concepts that have advanced medical understanding. Ensuring the book's contents are aligned to the curriculum of the UK Intercollegiate MRCS examination has resulted in the addition of new topics including an emphasis on peri-operative care optimisation, enhanced recovery programmes, antibiotic use and resistance, updated cancer staging, minimally invasive surgery, and the evolving role of interventional radiology. Additional essential governance and management topics are covered, including patient safety, surgical ethics, communication, consent, clinical audit and principles of research. The broad experience of surgical teaching and training of two new editors and many new contributors, all with sub-specialist expertise, have brought a contemporary perspective on the book's contents and its presentation. New national and international guidelines for managing common disorders have been incorporated where appropriate, including major haemorrhage management pathways and trauma. There are new dedicated chapters on major trauma management and elective orthopaedics.
eBooks
Global Reconstructive Surgery by
As the surgical community steps up to tackle the global burden of surgical disease in developing countries, Global Reconstructive Surgery is the first reference of its kind to offer focused, pertinent coverage of key areas surgeons need to understand to fully participate in this endeavor. It provides authoritative, real-world guidance on common surgeries performed around the world to help optimize outcomes in difficult environments and for a variety of conditions. Offers practical wisdom and experience from surgeons who have lived and worked in challenging global settings. The clear, organized format is based on the way clinicians examine, prepare for, and treat patients in resource-limited circumstances. Each chapter matches the clinical pathway and thought processes of care delivery, from the clinical problem and pre-operative assessment to operative intervention, post-operative care, and possible complications and options for management. Covers perioperative management, cleft and craniofacial surgery, hand surgery, burns, trauma, and key techniques commonly performed by surgeons across the globe. Includes the surgical steps of each procedure, photographs of clinical cases, and surgical pearls for resource-poor settings. Discusses alternative approaches related to cultural considerations and unavailability of state-of-the-art equipment. Ideal for plastic surgeons, otolaryngologists, craniofacial surgeons. oral and maxillofacial surgeons, general surgeons - both those who volunteer for surgical trips and those training in local communities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323523776Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Handbook of Burns Volume 2: Reconstruction and Rehabilitation, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this volume has been updated with chapters on scar treatment using laser, microneedling, tissue engineering, adipose tissue and lipofilling. It compiles the perspectives of a multi-author team, examining the entire spectrum of burn reconstruction and long-term treatment. Individual updated chapters cover basic aspects of wound healing and scarring, and plastic surgery relating to tissue rearrangement and the use of flaps, as well as the long-term use of skin and skin substitutes. Furthermore, it addresses topics such as rehabilitation and scar management in detail. It provides comprehensive reconstruction guidelines organized by anatomic region (e.g. face, hands, ...) as well as future trends and prospects in burn reconstruction, such as allotransplantation and bionics. Please also have a look at the volume "Handbook of Burns Volume 1 - Acute Burn Care 2nd edition"
ISBN: 9783030345105Publication Date: 2020-07-23
Male Aesthetic Plastic Surgery, 1st ed. by
The quintessential book on the rapidly expanding field of male aesthetic surgery from renowned experts! During the past decade, there has been an exponential increase in the number of men undergoing aesthetic surgery in the U.S., with an estimated 1.3 million procedures performed annually. Male Aesthetic Plastic Surgery by Douglas Steinbrech reflects expertise and insights from one of the most-sought-after pioneers in male surgery, along with a Who's Who of contributing authors. While many texts have been written on female aesthetic surgery, this generously illustrated resource fills a void in the literature. Divided into four sections and 45 chapters, the book reflects the background history and male-centric perspective that sets male aesthetic surgery apart from its female counterpart. Essential steps are detailed for each procedure including the physical exam, anatomical variations, patient selection, preoperative preparations, postoperative care, and invaluable pearls and pitfalls to maximize results and avoid complications. Of special interest, each chapter features bullet steps for quick and easy reference before entering the OR. From innovative, never-before published techniques, such as a sub-fascial abdominal silicone six-pack to the rapidly changing world of male body contouring, the textbook covers a broad range of cutting-edge and emerging techniques. High quality illustrations, bulleted text, and superb videos enhance the ability to understand and perform each procedure A full spectrum of facial approaches including male blepharoplasty, facelift in men, chin augmentation, facial fat grafting, cheek shaping, male rhinoplasty, and hair restoration State-of-the-art body techniques including diverse methods to correct gynecomastia, high abdominal definition, gluteal sculpting, abdominal contouring, chest sculpting, and muscular augmentation with implants The latest injectable, laser, and men's skincare procedures, including the use of neurotoxins, Kybella, and energy-based techniques A comprehensive glossary of surgical terms provides a quick reference for daily practice This is a must-have resource for all plastic surgeons, dermatologic surgeons, and aesthetic doctors who treat male patients. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626236851Publication Date: 2020-08-17
Minimally Invasive Aesthetic Plastic Surgery by
Minimally invasive, office-based aesthetic surgeries are performed millions of times per year all across the globe. In this highly visual, practical reference, Dr. Donald W. Buck II and a team of expert contributing authors bring you fully up to date with today’s most sought-after procedures. Minimally Invasive Aesthetic Surgery is a must-have reference for plastic and aesthetic surgeons, both in practice and in training, who currently have or want to establish a minimally invasive aesthetic procedure practice.
Offers authoritative guidance on the minimally invasive procedures you are most likely to perform, including chemodenervation, vaginal rejuvenation, soft tissue filler and Botox, non-invasive liposculpting, laser hair removal and vein ablation, hair transplantation, and more.
Includes practical chapters on how to establish a minimally-invasive aesthetic procedure practice and the basics of skincare.
Provides fundamental information such as product descriptions and background, the science behind the technology, indications for procedures, and contraindications.
Contains technical, “how-to” pearls from key aesthetic opinion leaders worldwide, including tips on post-procedural care, outcomes, and managing complications.
Features procedural videos of chemical peels, laser hair removal and laser vein ablation, redraping and setting sutures, treatment of suprapatellar wrinkled skin under local infiltration anesthesia, and more.
ISBN: 9780323681032
The Scar Book: Formation, Mitigation, Rehabilitation and Prevention by
Scarring and fibrosis affect millions of people worldwide, and can be devastating both physically and psychologically, whether they result from major trauma such as burns or common conditions such as acne. Put today's most advanced clinical approaches to work for your patients with The Scar Book: Formation, Mitigation, Rehabilitation, and Prevention! A multidisciplinary team of leading world experts presents the state of the art in scar pathophysiology and treatment, breaking down the barriers between medical disciplines to provide unprecedented holistic guidance. Key Features: Grasp the full scope of the problem with a section on "Perspectives," which presents insights into the history and current state of trauma rehabilitation, reconstruction, and scar management, and examines some of the ethical principles that serve to guide decision making. Understand scar pathophysiology with a section on "Formation" that covers the development of normotrophic, hypertrophic, and atrophic scars after cutaneous injury. Apply interventions that expedite wound healing and minimize scarring after injury with a section on "Mitigation." Reduce the impact of existing scars, both large and small, with a comprehensive section on "Rehabilitation" that encompasses a wide range of treatment options including medical management, surgical revision, lasers and light devices, fat grafting, multimodal scar management, physical measures, scar camouflage, mental health support, and considerations in special populations such as children and patients with skin of color. Explore scar-related research and future advances with a section on "Prevention." Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click x
eBooks
Treatment of Scars from Burns and Trauma by
From a team of pioneers in dermatology and laser medicine, Treatment of Scars from Burns and Trauma provides the latest, most innovative methods for treating scars. It provides the essential information you need to know about how scarring occurs, how it affects patients, and how to design and implement the best possible treatment plan. This unparalleled resource covers every angle of scar treatment. First, it explains the fundamentals, including all the clinically relevant elements of wound care, pain, range of motion, and patient selection, along with treatment. It then focuses on treatment--both new and traditional techniques. Finally, it provides best practices for pain, infection, and ulceration management.
TULUA Abdominoplasty: Transverse Plication Technique, 1st ed. by
Renowned globally for its effectiveness and innovation in abdominal contour surgery, discover the pioneering TULUA Abdominoplasty technique, developed by Dr. Francisco Javier Villegas-Alzate. Offering first-of-its-kind coverage of this effective, alternative surgical technique, TULUA Abdominoplasty: Transverse Plication Technique provides expert, up-to-date guidance from international leaders in abdominoplasty. This comprehensive guide offers unparalleled insights and detailed, step-by-step instructions essential for modern plastic surgeons. Ideal for plastic surgeons seeking advanced techniques and unparalleled results, TULUA Abdominoplasty sets a new standard in surgical excellence and patient care.
Provides complete, authoritative coverage, including technical tips and personal approaches from international leading experts in abdominoplasty.
Richly illustrated with clinical case photos and diagrams, providing visual clarity on procedural techniques.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Any additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
ISBN: 9780443118821
The Unfavorable Result in Plastic Surgery: Avoidance and Treatment, 4th ed. by
The Unfavorable Result in Plastic Surgery has been lauded as a classic text in plastic surgery, described by reviewers as "an unforgettable masterpiece," "an invaluable companion text," and "a vast resource." Mimis Cohen co-authored the widely acclaimed third edition with the late Robert Goldwyn. Along with his esteemed coeditors and a cadre of prominent plastic surgeons, Dr. Cohen has produced an illuminating fourth edition. Embracing the book's original philosophy, "Mistakes are often the best teachers," the updated text and videos are remarkable in their candor, yielding a vast number of lessons typically not shared in the literature. In the first three sections, top experts discuss topics connected with plastic surgery complications including patient dissatisfaction, psychological aspects of cosmetic plastic surgery, legal/safety issues, the management of scars/redo surgery, infections, and wound management. Sections four through nine detail the treatment of specific procedural complications, challenges, secondary surgery, and avoidance of suboptimal outcomes. Experts in their respective subspecialties discuss alternative approaches and considerations in aesthetic plastic surgery, breast surgery, pediatric & craniofacial surgery, reconstructive plastic surgery for head & neck, body & lower extremity, hand & upper extremity, and burns. Key Highlights Concise, easy-to-cross-reference text, evidence-based clinical pearls, and case presentations provide in-depth understanding on the prevention, recognition, and management of unfavorable results Preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative surgical complications and risks Updated in full color with more than 3,200 illustrations, including a bespoke outstanding artwork program More than 100 technical video clips posted in the Thieme MediaCenter deliver additional educational insights The Unfavorable Result in Plastic Surgery: Avoidance and Management, Fourth Edition, is an essential reference for all plastic, aesthetic, and reconstructive surgeons and residents. It expands on the masterful legacy of the original and is certain to become a go-to, indispensable source of learning for future generations of plastic surgeons.
ISBN: 9781626236745Publication Date: 2018-03-02
