EndNote

EndNote: Converting a ProCite database to EndNote

1. In EndNote™ select File / Open / Open Library.
2. Under "Files of Type" select "All Files (*.*)".
3. Find the ProCite database that you wish to convert, and select it as the library to open.
4. Click Open and a dialog box will appear. Click Convert to begin the creating an EndNote library without customizing the field and reference type mappings. If you click Customize you can select the destination Reference Types for the ProCite workforms, as well as set the destination EndNote fields for the fields in the ProCite database.
5. After clicking Convert enter a name for the EndNote library and click Save.

1. Open ProCite and open the database. Go to the File menu and select Print Bibliography and choose the Output Style "RIS-EndNote.pos". If you do not have this style, you can download it from the attachments section on the right-hand side of this page.
2. On the Print Bibliography window select the "Configure" button and go to the "Fields" tab. In the "Fields" window check all optional fields.
3. Click OK, then the "Save" button and save as a text file (with a file extension of .txt).
4. Transfer the file to the computer with EndNote.
5. Open EndNote.
6. Open or create a library to import the references into (Note: if you have more than one library open, the data you import will go into the active library).
7. Go to the File menu, and choose "Import"
8. Select the text file you exported from ProCite.
9. Click on the arrow beside Import Option, select "Other Filters" and chose "RefMan RIS" as the import option. Anyone using EndNote 7 or earlier for macOS should use "Reference Manager (RIS)" as the import option.
10. Import the file.

1. Download RIS_SORT.zip (you can download it from the attachments section on the right-hand side of this page). Extract the contents of the .zip file by double-clicking on the file and then drag the RIS_Sort folder onto your Desktop. (Note: Windows 2000 and older users will need to download a special program such as WinZip to access this file.)
2. Open the database in ProCite.
3. Go to "File > Print Bibliography."
4. Click on the "Configure Button."
5. Click on the arrow between the output style and the "Reset" button and select Browse.
6. Navigate to your Desktop where you extracted the RIS_SORT folder, go in to "Output Styles" and select the "RIS-ID" output style.
7. Click on the "Fields" tab and check all of the "Optional Fields" and click "OK."
8. Click on the "Save" button, save the file on your Desktop, leave the "Save as type" set to "Text Only."
9. Go into the RIS_SORT folder on your Desktop and double click on "RIS_Sort.exe."
10. Click on the "Browse" button next to "Input File:" and select the file you saved in step 7.
11. Click Run.
12. Click "OK" to the Done message and click "Exit."
13. Start EndNote and create a new EndNote Library "File > New."
14. Go to "File > Import."
15. Set "Import Option" to "Reference Manager (RIS)."
16. Set "Duplicates" to "Import All."
17. Click "Choose File" and select the "–SORTED" version of the file you exported.
18. Click on the "Import" button.
19. Press CTRL+F to search your new library, search for the title "PLACE HOLDER DELETE."
20. If there are any matching references press CTRL+A to highlight all of these temporary references and then press CTRL+D to delete the references.
21. Press CTRL+M to display all of the references again.

1. Make a backup copy of your Word document.
2. Go to "Tools > ProCite > Generate Bibliography."
3. Click on the "..." button and go into the RIS_SORT folder on your Desktop, then go into the "Output Styles" folder and select the "ProCite to EndNote" output style and click "OK" to format the document.
4. Press CTRL+A to highlight all of the text in the document.
5. Press CTRL+6 to remove the ProCite field codes.
6. Go to "File > Save As" and give the file a new name.
7. With the EndNote tools installed in Word, and the converted database open in EndNote you should now be able to format the document using EndNote.

EndNote: Converting a Reference Manager database to EndNote
 

• Quick instructions that do not maintain Word document compatibility or RefIDs here.
• In-depth instructions that maintain both Word document compatibility and RefIDs here.

 You can directly convert a Reference Manager 11.X/12.X database to EndNote for Windows version X5.0.1 and later as follows:

1. From the File menu, select Open > Open Library to display a Select a Reference Library dialog.
2. At the bottom of the dialog, select Reference Manager Databases (*.RMD) from the "Files of type" menu.
3. Use the file dialog to navigate to the folder that contains the Reference Manager database that you want to convert to EndNote. Highlight the database name, and then click the Open button.
   A "Convert Reference Manager Database" dialog will appear that lets you know that the database must be converted for use.
4. You can either:
   • Click Convert to proceed with the conversion. This option allows EndNote to automatically convert Reference Manager reference types and fields to EndNote. It also leaves all file attachments stored in Reference Manager references in their original location.
   • Click Customize if you want to modify the mapping of individual Reference Manager reference types to EndNote reference types and Reference Manager fields to EndNote fields. This option is useful if you have created customized reference types in Reference Manager.
   • Use the top panel of the dialog to map each reference type to a corresponding EndNote reference type. When you highlight a setting in the top panel of the dialog, you can change the field mapping for that reference type in the bottom panel of the dialog. Click OK to save changes to the mapping.
   • Click the Reset to Default Map button if you want to discard your changes and return to the default mapping set.
   • Click OK to save your changes when you are finished using the Field Mapping tool.
5. Click the Convert button if you do not have any additional changes to make.
6. On the "Save Converted Library as" dialog, give the new EndNote library name (the default file name is the same as the old Reference Manager file name).

After the conversion completes, EndNote displays a "Convert Reference Manager Database" dialog. Click Yes if you want to convert your file attachments to relative links. Click No to retain your file attachments as absolute links.

 Notes About the Conversion:

• This feature is available to users of Reference Manager, versions 11 and 12.
• While every effort has been made to map Reference Manager reference types to corresponding EndNote reference types and Reference Manager fields to corresponding EndNote fields, you may want to make some adjustments by using the Field Mapping tool during the conversion process. Alternatively, you can make changes to reference types in a Reference Manager database before converting the database to EndNote.
• Items in the File Attachments or Link to PDF field will be converted to the File Attachments field in EndNote and you will be prompted to convert to Relative Links.
• Items in the Link to Full-Text, Related Links, or Web/URL field will be converted to the URL field in EndNote.
• Items in the Images field will be converted to the Figure field in EndNote and can be moved to the File Attachments field. This would be done in EndNote using the References menu > Figures > Convert to File Attachments option.
• Reference Manager Ref ID numbers will be copied to the Label field in EndNote.

 Converting a Reference Manager 11.x/12.x Word 2007 and later document to be used with EndNote X5.0.1 and later:

Note: Make sure you have first converted your Reference Manager database to EndNote.

1. Open the converted database in EndNote X5.0.1 and later along with your Word 2007 and later document.
2. From the EndNote tab in Word 2007 and later, click the Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert Reference Manager Citations to EndNote command to Convert any Word 2007 and later Reference Manager 11/12 citations in this document to EndNote Cite While You Write citations.
3. Click the Update Citations and Bibliography button on the EndNote toolbar in Word.

Please note that in certain cases, the original Reference Manager reference list may not be replaced, resulting in a duplicate reference list. If this should happen, please follow these easy steps to correct the issue:

1. Save a backup copy of your document with a new name.
2. On the EndNote toolbar in Word, click Convert Citations and Bibliography>Convert to Unformatted Citations. This will temporarily remove the EndNote reference list, leaving only the old Reference Manager version
3. Press Ctrl-A on your keyboard, then Ctrl-6.
4. Highlight and delete the old reference list that remains in the document.
5. Click Update Citations and Bibliography to reformat your citations and generate a new EndNote reference list.

EndNote 8 to X4 for Windows and all macOS versions cannot convert any Reference Manager database directly. EndNote 4, 5, 6 or 7 cannot directly convert a Reference Manager version 10 or higher database. To convert, do the following:
 

1. In Reference Manager go to the Export option in the menu and Export your data in the RIS format, which gives you a text file.
2. Transfer the file to the computer with EndNote.
3. Open EndNote.
4. Open or create a library to import the references into (Note: if you have more than one library open, the data you import will go into the active library).
5. Go to the File menu, and choose "import"
6. Select the text file you exported from Reference Manager.
7. In EndNote 7 or earlier select "Reference Manager (RIS)" as the import option. In EndNote 8 or later click on Other Filters and choose "RefMan RIS" as the import option.
8. Select "United States (OEM)" as the Text Translation option. Note: This is available with EndNote 9 and later.
9. Import the file.

You can directly convert a Reference Manager 8.x/9.x database to EndNote for Windows version 4.01, 5.x, 6.x, or 7 as follows:

1. In EndNote select File / Open / Open Library.
2. Under "Files of Type" select "All Files (*.*)".
3. Find the Reference Manager database that you wish to convert and select it as the Library to open.
4. Click Open and a dialog box will appear. Click Convert to begin the creating an EndNote library without customizing the field and reference type mappings. If you click Customize you can select the destination Reference Types for the Reference Manager reference types, as well as set the destination EndNote fields for the fields in the Reference Manager database.
5. After clicking Convert, enter a name for the EndNote library and click Save.

Note that this process creates a new EndNote library from your Reference Manager database; your original Reference Manager database files will not be affected.

If you follow these steps, you should be able to retain your RefIDs and be able to convert your Word documents.

1. Download "RIS_SORT.zip" from bottom of this page. Extract the contents of the .zip file by double-clicking on the file and then drag the RIS_Sort folder onto your Desktop. (Note: Windows 2000 and older users will need to download a special program such as WinZip to access this file.)
2. Open the database in Reference Manager.
3. In Reference Manager 11 Go to "File > Export." In Reference Manager 9 and 10, go to the "References > Export."
4. Set the "Output Format" to RIS.
5. Click on the "..." button and select a name for the file and save the file onto your Desktop.
6. Make sure that "References options" is set to "All references in list" and click "Export" When the export is complete close Reference Manager.
7. Go into the RIS_Sort folder on your Desktop and double click on RIS_Sort.exe.
8. Click on the "Browse" button next to "Input File:" and select the file you saved in step 4.
9. Click Run.
10. Click OK to the Done message and click Exit.
11. Start EndNote and create a new EndNote Library "File > New Library."
12. Go to "File > Import."
13. Set "Import Option" to "Reference Manager (RIS)."
14. Select "United States (OEM)" as the Text Translation option. Note: This is available with EndNote 9 and later.
15. Set "Duplicates" to "Import All."
16. Click "Choose File" and select the "–SORTED" version of the file you exported.
17. Click on the "Import" button.
18. Press CTRL+F to search your new library, search for the title
    "PLACE HOLDER DELETE"
19. If there are any matching references press CTRL+A to highlight all of these temporary references and then press CTRL+D to delete the references.
20. Press CTRL+M to display all of the references again

Converting a Reference Manager Word document to be used with EndNote

1. Copy the output style "RefMan to EndNote.os" from the Output Styles folder to your "C:\Program Files\Reference Manager #\Styles" folder, where # is the version of Reference Manager you are using.
2. Make a backup copy of your Word document.
3. If you are using Word 2000, 2002(XP), or 2003:
   
   Go to "Tools > Reference Manager > Generate Bibliography."
   Select the "RefMan to EndNote.os" output style and click "OK."
   Go to "Tools > Reference Manager > Remove Field Codes."
   Go to "File > Save As" and give the file a new name.
   
   If you are using Word 2007 with Reference Manager 10/11:
   
   Click on the "Add-ins" tab and click on the "Generate Bibliography" button.
   Select the "RefMan to EndNote.os" output style and click "OK."
   On the "Add-ins" tab click on the "Remove Field Codes" button.
   Click on the Office button in the upper left corner and select "Save As" and give the file a new name.
   
   If you are using Word 2007/2010 with Reference Manager 12:
   
   Click on the "Reference Manager 12" tab and change the style to "RefMan to EndNote.os".
   Click the "Update Citations and Bibliography" command.
   Click the "Convert Citations and Bibliography" command and select "Convert to Plain Text.
   In Word 2007: Click the Office button in the upper left corner and select "Save As" and give the file a new name. In Word 2010: Click the File menu and select "Save As" and give the file a new name.
4. With the EndNote tools installed in Word, and the converted database open in EndNote you should now be able to format the document using EndNote.