Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Medicine Organizations
American Association for the History of Medicine
"The AAHM is a scholarly association dedicated to the study of the history of health, healing and disease. It is the longest continuously functioning academic society of this kind in North America." (Quoted from the website.)
American Association for the History of Nursing, Inc.
"The American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) is a professional organization open to everyone interested in the history of nursing." (Quoted from the website.)
American Osler Society
"The American Osler Society was founded for the purpose of bringing together members of the medical and allied professions who are, by their common inspiration, dedicated to memorialize and perpetuate the just and charitable life, the intellectual resourcefulness, and the ethical example of Sir William Osler (1849-1919)." (Quoted from the website.)
Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences
"This Association is established exclusively for educational purposes to serve the professional interests of librarians, archivists, and other specialists actively engaged in the librarianship of the history of the health sciences by promoting the exchange of information and by improving standards of service." (Quoted from the website.)
History of the Health Sciences Section of the Medical Library Association
"The purpose of the section is to stimulate and support interest in the history of the health sciences among libraries and librarians." (Quoted from the website.)
History of Science Society
"The History of Science Society is the world's largest society dedicated to understanding science, technology, medicine, and their interactions with society in historical context." (Quoted from the website.)
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
The Center acquires, preserves and makes available published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present.
The Eleanor Crowder Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry
Allows users to search the Center's history of nursing books and manuscript collections and provides links to other history of nursing websites
National Museum of Civil War Medicine
"The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the preservation and research of the legacy of Civil War Medical innovation and humanitarianism. As a living institution, we utilize artifacts, storytelling and the historic lessons derived from that era to educate the public and define the impact on today’s society." (Quoted from the website.)
McGill University: History of Medicine: Digital Collections
An impressive, comprehensive research guide about the history of medicine freely available to researchers around the world.
Medical Services and Warfare
This digital collection provides multiple perspectives on the history of medical treatment and rehabilitation during wartime from 1850 to 1927. Patrons can access the collection from within the Academy Library for free.
Digital Projects of NLM
This site offers quick links to an outstanding collection of online resources, including digital collections of anatomical atlases, significant medical texts, profiles of leaders in biomedical research and public health, and early American medical books.
Seeing is Believing
New York Public Library's digital exhibit showcases 700 years of scientific and medical illustration. With hundreds of images from the 13th to the early 20th century.