Guides: W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library: Images

Finding Historical Images

Wellcome Images
Launched on 15 June 2007, 'Wellcome Images' is the world's leading source of images on the history of medicine, modern biomedical science and clinical medicine. All content has been made available under a Creative Commons Licence, which allows users to copy, distribute and display the image, provided the source is fully attributed and it is used for non-commercial purposes.
Images from the History of Medicine
Indexed database of nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U. S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Keyword and browse searching available by subject, title and/or author.
Burns Medical Collection of Medical/Dental Photographs
"The Burns Medical Collection is generally recognized as America's largest and most comprehensive accumulation of early medical and dental photography." (Quote from the website.)
Historical Anatomies on the Web
from the National Library of Medicine
Anatomia 1522-1867
This collection is comprised of more than 4,500 full-page plates and other important illustrations of human anatomy from the University of Toronto's Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.
The Osler Library Prints Collection
McGill University Library's collection of 2,500 images provides a look at the history of medicine through the lens of popular imagery.
Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library is a "digital curation collaborative" between numerous leading medical libraries. These libraries are working together on this remarkable collection that provides insight into the history of medicine in the United States and Great Britain.
more...less...
Through the website's Content tab, visitors can browse hundreds of medical journals, pamphlets, and books dating back to the sixteenth century. Researchers can also conduct a keyword Search in order to find relevant material within this extensive (and still growing) collection. Educators or the more casually interested visitors may want to simply start with the homepage, which highlights a variety of material from this collection as well as current exhibits and projects at participating libraries
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
With their rich representation of medieval life and thought, illuminated manuscripts serve as primary sources for scholars in any number of fields: history, literature, art history, women’s studies, religious studies, philosophy, the history of science, and more.
more...less...
But you needn’t be conducting research to immerse yourself in the world of medieval
manuscripts. The beauty, pathos, and earthy humor of illuminated manuscripts make them a delight for all. Thanks to digitization efforts by libraries and museums worldwide, the colorful creations of the medieval imagination—dreadful demons, armies of Amazons, gardens, gems, bugs, birds, celestial vistas, and simple scenes of everyday life—are easily accessible online.
Duke University Medical Center Library & Archive
The Duke University Medical Center Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to materials documenting the history of the medical center community, from the 1930s to the present.
This guide provides a brief overview of the Archives, including information about our collections, how to find items, as well as suggestions of other helpful resources.