Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Finding Full Text Articles Online: Is My Article Available Online?

Tools for finding full text articles at the Mayo Clinic Libraries

How do I use the "is my article available online" form?

Use the "is my article available online" form to download articles when you know the exact journal title (or its abbreviation), year published, volume number, issue number, and first page number of the article. The citation J Emerg Med 31(1) 41 2006 would look like this:

is my article available online form

Note: When entering the exact journal title use “and” (do not use &) 
Click sfx go button

What if I am missing some needed information?

The only required information is the journal name or abbreviation, but providing more information is better. See below for specifics.

Missing the Year?
Usually there is no problem if the Year, e.g., 1999,  is the only element missing.  We have found on rare occasions when the year is not available that this form will download an abstract instead of indicating the article is unavailable.  If you find you are accessing an abstract instead of the full text, please call the library (266-5185) for assistance.  (Using the PMID, UI or DOI number is an excellent alternative when available.)

Missing the Volume Number?
If you have most of the other information but not the Volume number your results will display a table page of issues by page number.  (See example  http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/archive/2005.dtl).  When this occurs, simply locate, then click on the range of numbers that includes your article’s start page, e.g., page 693 would be found in the May 4, 2005 issue.  (Using the PMID, UI or DOI number is an excellent alternative when available.)

Missing the Issue Number?
If you have most of the other information but not the Issue number, the article is still obtainable.  Some journals providers (e.g., Highwire) indicate a table page showing the year’s issues by page number.  (This is very similar to the above missing volume number, see example http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/archive/2005.dtl).  To use this table page simply locate the range of numbers that includes your article’s start page, e.g., page 693 would be found in the May 4, 2005 issue.  (Using the PMID, NLM, UI or DOI is an excellent alternative when the number available.)

Missing the Start Page number?
If you enter most of the other information but not the start page, you will get a table of contents page for that issue. (Seehttp://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/content/vol97/issue9/).  Simply scroll down and locate the article title, or author name to find the article.  (Using the PMID, NLM, UI or DOI is an excellent alternative when the number available.)

Missing the Journal name?
This form needs the journal name to work. Using the PMID, NLM, UI or DOI is an excellent alternative when the exact journal name is unavailable.  Otherwise,  if you have the author name, start page, volume and year please contact the Library (266-5185) or when the article is both less than 30 years old and in a health sciences subject area use PubMed’s citation matcher.

Missing the PMID, NLM, UI, or DOI? 
These numbers are “alternates” and if they are not available, just enter the journal name, volume, issue number and start page to find your article.

What will I see if the article is online?

If the article is online, the first line in the gray box will read:

full text available via <provider link>
Simply click on “provider link” and you will either get the full text immediately, or will need to click one or two connecting links, e.g., “Article Via…,” “PDF,” “download,” “view”, or similar wording.  These download links are often located at the top, bottom, left or right portions of the screen.

For example, use the form to enter: J Emerg Med  2006  Volume 31, Issue 1, and Page 41

  • Click Go
  • Click link  Full-text Available via (Elsevier)
  • Click article via Science Direct,
  • Click “PDF” and the article should download to your screen.

 

What you will see if the article is not online

If the article is not available online then the first line in the gray box will read:   

order via electronic document delivery

By clicking the Electronic Document Delivery link, the library will find, scan, and send the copy to you.  Be sure to add your name, address, and email before submitting the request.  Most requests take about one week if we own the print copy, and up to three weeks if we do not own the copy and you choose “Request from another source” on the request form. 

For example, use the form to enter The Journal of emergency medicine 1994 12(6) 779 and click Go.

sfx order via edd

Once you click on the Electronic Document Delivery option, you will see the prefilled form.

prefilled edd form

What if I have only the article title, the author name, or the start page?

If the  article was published both after 1950 and is in the health sciences field try entering the information on the Single Citation Matcher form. If you find your citation here, simply click on the light blue “get it!”  Icon for Mayo Clinic College of Medicinebutton on the right of the page to access the article.  If not, call (266-5185).

or...

To have the library find, scan, and deliver the article to you enter the information you have on a Request PDFs of articles / book chapters form and click SUBMIT.  The library will send you a copy.  If additional information is needed we will call you.

How do I use this form to find out if a journal is online?

To check if a journal is online, just enter the journal name or its abbreviation into the journal name box.  When you click GO, online access to the journal will be apparent via the provider link.  Just click on the provider link (e.g.,  Ebsco, Elsevier, Highwire, Synergy, etc.) to access the front page of the journal. Another tool to find online journals is our E-Journal list which includes our 3,000+ online journals.  If you are unable to find your journal online then try our comprehensive Library catalog, which includes all our 5,000+ journals including both print and online.

Can the Electronic Document Delivery form automatically fill in my name, email address, and library of choice?

Once you log into the Document Delivery system, library forms automatically filled with your name, email address and library of choice.  

What are the PMID, UI, or DOI numbers?

These numbers are the quickest way to uniquely identify individual articles using this form. PMID, NLM UI and UI numbers are often attached as identifiers in Pubmed, CINAHL and MEDLINE citations.  DOI numbers are unique identifiers attached to a variety of articles available online.  Not all articles will have these identifying numbers, but when they are available they make downloading an online article quick and easy.

  • The PMID number is attached only to PUBMED citations.  An example of a PUBMED citation with PMID # follows:

Proteomics in cardiovascular surgery.
J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2007 Jan;133(1):210-4. Review. 
PMID: 17198814 [PubMed - indexed for MEDLINE]]

 

  • The UI number is attached only to MEDLINE citations.  An example of a MEDLINE citation with a UI # follows:

Matt P. Carrel T. White M. Lefkovits I. Van Eyk J. Proteomics in cardiovascular surgery. [Review] [31 refs] [Journal Article. Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't. Review] Journal of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgery. 133(1):210-4, 2007 Jan.
UI: 17198814

 

  • The NLM UI number is often attached to CINAHL citations.  An example of a NLM citation in CINAHL follows:

Cox S. Consider this. Art imitates life -- especially in nursing. [Journal Article, Pictorial] Nursing Management. 2006 Oct; 37(10): 88. (4 ref) AN: 2009314735 NLM Unique Identifier: 17072158.

 

  • The DOI number is attached to various articles, often in Reference lists and web pages.  An example of a doi number follows:

Matt P. Carrel T. White M. Lefkovits I. Van Eyk J. Proteomics in cardiovascular surgery. [Review] [31 refs] [Journal Article. Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't. Review] Journal of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgery. 133(1):210-4, 2007 Jan. 
doi:10.1016/j.jtcvs.2006.09.007 

 

Need to know more?  Contact Dawn Littleton