Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acute Pain Medicine by Acute Pain Medicine is the first comprehensive, case-based text of its kind that explores the essential topics of acute pain medicine, including interventional, pharmacologic, and diagnostic considerations. Written and edited under the auspices of the American Academy of Pain Medicine bymembers of the Academy's Shared Interest Group for Acute Pain Medicine, the text includes an introduction to acute pain medicine and an easily referenced interventional section. Chapters focus on patients experiencing acute pain from either surgery or other medical conditions and include detailedinformation on the diagnosis and treatment of specific cases in acute pain medicine. The text is rounded out by the complete content of the thoroughly revised Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA II). Although the MARAA handbook gained its reputation as a usefulresource for managing the pain associated with battlefield trauma, its beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance is useful for providing vital acute pain services in all settings.Acute Pain Medicine is an ideal, complete resource for physicians, fellows, and residents managing acute pain patients.
Call Number: RB127 .A38 2019x
Advanced Practice Nursing: Essential Knowledge for the Profession by Advanced Practice Nursing: Essential Knowledge for the Profession, Fourth Edition is a core advanced practice text used in both Master's Level and DNP programs. This text is centered around a compilation of existing chapters from a variety of high-level Jones & Bartlett Learning works creating a comprehensive and well-rounded resource for the advanced practice nursing student. Similar to the previous edition, the Fourth Edition is framed around the AACN's Master's Essentials as well as the Essentials for Doctoral Education featuring the most up-to-date content on each set of Essentials. This text is unique in that to aligns the Common APRN Doctoral Level Competencies with the DNP Essentials. Throughout the Fourth Edition the authors address the rapid changes in the health care environment with a special focus on health care finance, electronic health records, quality and safety as well as emerging roles for the advanced practice nurse. Patient care in the context of the advanced nursing role is also discussed.
Call Number: RT41 .A363 2021
Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy: A Practical Guide by Now in its fourth edition, Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy is a concise guide to obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia. This essential text reviews every topic and clinical challenge faced during delivery and focuses on pre-empting problems and maximising quality of care. It also covers acute emergencies related to pregnancy. This new edition features eleven new chapters that cover the significant updates in the field over the last few years. Presented in a clearly structured format, this practical guide will be an invaluable source of key information for any anaesthetist encountering obstetric patients, whether they are a practised consultant or still in training. Obstetricians, neonatologists, midwives, nurses, and anaesthetic assistants in obstetric analgesia and anaesthesia who wish to extend or update their knowledge will also benefit from reading this book.
Call Number: RG732 .A535 2019
Anesthesia: a Comprehensive Review by Offering complete, up-to-date coverage of everything from basic science through current clinical practice, Hall Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review, 6th Edition, provides 1,000 review questions that help you improve your mastery of anesthesiology. You'll reinforce your current knowledge, identify areas that require more study, and improve your long-term retention of the material - all while preparing for certification and re-certification examinations as well as clinical practice. Provides 1,000 completely updated review questions (more than 100 are brand-new) with explanations in the answers. Every question has been reviewed by at least one additional author and vetted by Mayo residents to ensure a consistent level of difficulty. Familiarizes you with the current ABA exam content and format, with challenging board review questions and answers covering the latest discoveries and techniques in physics, biochemistry, and anesthesia equipment; the newest drugs and drug categories; and the most recent information on all anesthesia subspecialties. Allows you to test interactively online with a scoreboard and notes field. Offers discussions after each question, along with corresponding page references to major anesthesia texts so it's easy to find more information on any subject. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD82.3 .H35 2020
Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors by The full-color Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, significantly updated for this second edition, combines patient safety information and evidence-based guidance for over 300 commonly encountered clinical situations. With a format that suggests conversations between an attending and a trainee, the book helps you identify potential problems and develop a treatment plan to minimize the problem. Brief, easy-to-read chapters cover basic and advanced topics and help you digest information in minutes! Coverage spans the entire field of Anesthesiology--including subspecialties such as airway management, critical care and pain medicine. Now with 30% more topics than the first edition. Contributors now include more international authors and Certified Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs). Features critical updates to popular chapters and sections related to legal issues, professional practice topics and coding and payment. Part of the Avoiding Common Errors series, which presents hard-earned clinical wisdom in an informal, easy-to-read style. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD81 .A96 2020
Basic Physiology for Anaesthetists by Every trainee in anaesthesia requires a thorough understanding of basic physiology and its application to clinical practice. Now in its second edition, this comprehensively illustrated textbook bridges the gap between medical school and reference scientific texts. It covers the physiology requirements of the Primary FRCA examination syllabus. Chapters are organised by organ system, with particular emphasis given to the respiratory, cardiovascular and nervous systems. The practical question-and-answer format helps the reader prepare for oral examinations, while 'clinical relevance' boxes translate the physiological concepts to clinical practice. This new edition has been thoroughly updated and revised throughout, and includes six new chapters, including the physiology of the eye, upper airway and exercise testing. It provides junior anaesthetists with an essential 'one stop' physiology resource.
Call Number: RD82 .C52 2019
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach provides a comprehensive review of the dynamic and ever-changing field of cardiac anesthesia. Its problem-based format incorporates a pool of multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Each of its 36 case-based chapters is accompanied by questions and answers, accessible online in a full practice exam. The cases presented are also unique, as each chapter starts with a case description, usually a compilation of several actual cases; it then branches out through case-based questions, to increasingly complex situations. This structure is designed to create an authentic experience that mirrors that of working through the nuances of a complicated clinical scenario. The discussion sections that follow offer a comprehensive approach to the chapter's subject matter, thus creating a modern, complete, and up-to-date medical review of that topic.
Call Number: RD87.3.C37 C3735 2019
Cardiac Anesthesia and Transesophageal Echocardiography by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The acclaimed "must read" for anesthesiologists new to the cardiac operating room Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition is a fast, proven effective way for anesthesiology trainees to acquire the essential skills and knowledge necessary to successfully navigate the cardiac operating room. Enhanced by more than 100 photographs, nearly 200 carefully rendered line drawings, and illustrative case scenarios, this unique guide imparts the basic principles of both cardiac anesthesia and echocardiography in a way that reflects the realities of clinical anesthesia practice. Included with the book is online access to nearly 100 narrated, labeled TEE clips that introduce you to both normal and abnormal echocardiographic views. Each clip is keyed to a specific passage in the text, which provides you with a true multimedia learning experience. Whether you are looking for a concise, easy-to-read introduction to cardiac anesthesiology, or a primer on incorporating the basic principles of cardiac anesthesiology and perioperative echocardiography into real-world practice, Cardiac Anesthesia & Transesophageal Echocardiography, Second Edition should be your first place to turn.
Call Number: RD87.3.H43 C347 2019
Catastrophic Perioperative Complications and Management: A Comprehensive Textbook by For years the administrative of anesthesia was extremely dangerous and risky. Because of this the surgeon and anesthesiologist had to balance the risks and benefits for each patient before proceeding with surgery. In the last two decades the care of the surgical patient has changed dramatically. New equipment, monitors and pharmacologic agents have transformed surgical technique and improved outcomes. Patients once deemed "too sick" for the operating room are found frequently on operating room schedules nationwide. Today, anesthesiology for the healthy patient in most developed countries is extremely safe. However, perioperative complications still occur. These events can be catastrophic for patients and may have serious implications for residents, surgical and anesthesiology staff and nurses. Prompt recognition and management of these incidents may reduce or negate complications. This is based on a fundamental base of knowledge acquired through several avenues and practiced with other team members to maximize outcomes. Engagement of all caregivers impacts outcomes. Many organizations do not have the structural components or education to recognize or manage these catastrophic events. This textbook will provide educational material for the many students, as well as nurses, residents or attending physicians who participate in perioperative medicine. It will focus on the most serious perioperative complications and include a discussion of the pathophysiologic and pharmacologic implications unique to each. Additionally, it will provide medicolegal information pertinent to those providing care to these patients. All chapters will be written with the most current and relevant information by leading experts in each field.The layout and format is designed to be purposeful, logical and visually effective. Other features include review questions and answers, chapter summaries and shaded call-out boxes to facilitate learning. Catastrophic Perioperative Complications and Management will be of great utility for medical and nursing students, anesthesiology residents, student nurse anesthestists, surgical residents, nurses involved in perioperative medicine as well as surgical and anesthesiology attending physicians.
Call Number: RD49 .C38 2019
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials: : A New Model for Advanced Practice Nursing by The Doctor of Nursing Practice Essentials: A New Model for Advanced Practice Nursing continues to be the only complete textbook for all eight American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Practice Nursing. With DNP programs now found in every state and the number of programs increasing on a yearly basis, having a textbook dedicated to the DNP Essentials is imperative as faculty and students will use it as a template for future and existing programs. This Fourth Edition provides the infrastructure for students, faculty, and practicing DNP's to achieve and sustain the highest level of practice. The newly revised Fourth Edition features updates and revisions to all chapters and expands on information relating to the current and future changes in today's complex healthcare environment. Each essential is covered in detail to frame the foundation of the DNP educational program. The text features the addition of new DNP project resources, with supplemental case studies highlighting DNP projects and the impact of this work.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access. This Access includes interactive lectures, competency mapping for DNP Essentials, case studies, assessment quizzes, a syllabus, discussion questions, assignments, and PowerPoint presentations.
Call Number: RT75 .D56 2021
Functional MRI: Basic Principles and Emerging Clinical Applications in Anesthesiology and the Neurological Sciences by Functional MRI: Basic Principles and Emerging Clinical Applications provides an overview of the basic principles of fMRI for clinicians with minimal knowledge of the imaging technique and its research potential and clinical applications. The text is divided into two parts, with Section Icovering the primary signal measured in fMRI (BOLD), the correlation between neuronal activity and the BOLD signal, and how the data is analyzed and interpreted in fMRI. Section II explores applications of fMRI in cognitive neuroscience and common psychiatric disorders, surgical planning inneurosurgery, anesthesia and the intensive care unit, and more. Timely and highly accessible, this book is a valuable resource for researchers and clinicians interested in understanding what fMRI is, how it works, and its applications.
Call Number: RC386.6.M34 F86 2019
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. ● More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators ● Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM ● Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition ● Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls ● Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications ● Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia ● In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound te
Call Number: RD84 .R4224 2017
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by Questions and answers for thorough understanding of the latest advances in regional anesthesia and pain management Regional anesthesia and acute pain management protocols are rapidly changing. The introduction of ultrasound in international pain management and regional anesthesia has resulted in significant changes in the practice, management, protocols, techniques applications, and their effects on patient safety and efficacy. This evolution of the practice and expansion of new knowledge demands a reliable, up-to-date resource designed to assess understanding of this ever-changing subspecialty. Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management Self-Assessment and Review is designed to do just that. Filling a gap in the medical literature This innovative review is the first question-and-answer book that focuses on the subspecialty of regional anesthesia and acute pain management and point-of-care ultrasound-guided interventional analgesia and anesthesia. In creating this book, the contributors have selected an international team of opinion leaders and paired them with senior anesthesiology residents to prepare the most pertinent questions and provide the best answers to them. Formatted for Efficiency Each of the 75 chapters consists of multiple-choice questions, answers and explanations, suggested readings, and references. Answers to the questions are derived from the NYSORA's prestigious textbooks, which are the gold standard educational material in universities worldwide. An Essential Resource Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management Self-Assessment and Review will prove valuable to anesthesiology students and to fellows in regional anesthesiology, as well as applicants for the diploma in regional anesthesia.
Call Number: RD84 .R42245 2019x
Miller's Anesthesia by Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos.
Call Number: RD81 .M646 2020
The New Science of Learning: How to Learn in Harmony With Your Brain by Learning to learn is the key skill for tomorrow. This breakthrough book builds the foundation every student needs, from freshman orientation to graduate school. The second edition of this bestselling student text has been considerably updated with the latest findings from cognitive science that further illuminate learning for students, and help them understand what's involved in retaining new information. Beyond updating every chapter with insights from new research, this edition introduces a range of additional topics - such as cognitive load, learned helplessness, and persistence - all of which provide students with immediately usable information on how to regulate their lives to maximize learning and fulfillment in college. The premise of this book remains that brain science shows that most students' learning strategies are highly inefficient, ineffective or just plain wrong; and that while all learning requires effort, better learning does not require more effort, but rather effectively aligning how the brain naturally learns with the demands of intellectual work. This book explicates for students what is involved in learning new material, how the human brain processes new information, and what it takes for that information to stick, even after the test. This succinct book explains straightforward strategies for changing how to prepare to learn, engage with course material, and set about improving recall of newly learned material at will. This is not another book about study skills and time management strategies, but instead an easy-to-read description of the research about how the human brain learns in a way that students can put into practice right away.
Call Number: LB1134 .D68 2019
Pediatric Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by Linking existing knowledge to new knowledge by presenting it in the form of a case or a problem is a popular and effective educational approach resulting in better retention of the knowledge and improved ability to apply that knowledge to solve real problems. This problem-based learning (PBL)method was introduced into medical education at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada, in 1969. Since then it has been widely incorporated into secondary, undergraduate, and graduate education in a variety of disciplines worldwide.This new volume for the Anesthesiology Problem-Based Learning series reviews pediatric anesthesia utilizing the PBL approach. Each chapter deals with conditions and problems in pediatric anesthesia practice presented as a case stem with questions to encourage critical thinking, followed by anevidence-based discussion and multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Cases were carefully selected to present a broad systems-based tour of commonly encountered clinical cases in pediatric anesthesia.The book can be used to review an upcoming clinical case or as a PBL tool. The "Stem Case and Key Questions" and "Discussion" sections can serve as the basis for interactive learning experiences for study groups or as a broad yet in-depth clinical review of the subspecialty for the individuallearner. Self-assessment questions can be used as a measure of knowledge acquisition or simply as a question bank to prepare for examinations.
Call Number: RD139 .P417 2018
Spinal Injection Techniques by Written by a multidisciplinary team of experts, Spinal Injection Techniques presents the most effective methods for injecting pharmaceuticals to address acute and chronic pain originating from the cervical spine to the sacrum. This new, second edition has been extensively revised and updated with replacement of many images and addition of an extended chapter with tips and tricks on diagnostic and clinical examination. The authors' emphasis is on techniques that represent viable alternatives to spine surgery and do not rely on diagnostic imaging. The first section of the book provides a general overview of the basic principles, diagnostics, and causal as well as symptomatic pain therapy for the spine. The second section, created in an atlas format, includes chapters on spinal anatomy and pain signaling, techniques for injection therapy of the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, management of potential complications and side effects, and multimodal spine therapy. Illustrated using real-life photographs from the authors' practice, each technique-related chapter guides the reader step-by-step and with great confidence through the injection procedures. Highlights: Provides detailed coverage of injection therapy using anatomic landmarks, without the use of image guidance Features minimally invasive spine therapy for inpatient and outpatient settings, with concomitant pharmaceutical treatments Includes essential information on contraindications and patient consent More than 500 color illustrations and photographs demonstrating the relevant anatomy, patient positioning, and accurate needle placement Conceived as a practical guide and useful compendium, Spinal Injection Techniques is invaluable for orthopedists and practitioners in physical medicine and rehabilitation. It is also a handy reference for anesthesiologists, neurologists, and rheumatologists with a specific interest in pain therapy for the spine. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RD771.B217 T5413 2019
Total Burn Care by Recent advances in research have resulted in tremendous changes in burn management. Stay fully up to date with the new edition of Total Burn Care, by leading authority Dr. David N. Herndon. Detailed procedural guidelines and video clips walk you through every step of the process, from resuscitation through reconstruction and rehabilitation. Everyone on the burn care team, including general and plastic surgeons, intensivists, anesthestists, and nurses, will benefit from this integrated, multidisciplinary guide to safe and effective burn management. Discusses infection control, early burn coverage, occupational physical exercise, respiratory therapy, and ventilator management. Summarizes key points at the beginning of each chapter for quick reference. Uses an integrated, team approach to help you meet the clinical, physical, psychological, and social needs of every patient. Offers expert guidance on early reconstructive surgery and rehabilitation, with new content on improved surgical techniques. Provides access to 15+ procedural operative videos and PowerPoint presentations on topics ranging from alopecia and anesthesia to radiation and treatment of infection - ideal for teaching and presenting. Covers special populations such as elderly and pediatric patients, and includes a new chapter on burns in pregnancy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD96.4 .T68 2018x