Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists by Get all the essential information you need to effectively treat and manage patients in a complex acute care setting with Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists, 5th Edition. This easy-to-follow guide is the perfect resource to help any rehabilitation professional better understand and interpret hospital protocol, safety, medical-surgical "lingo," and the many aspects of patient care in the hospital setting - from the emergency department to the intensive care unit to the general ward. And with extensively updated content reflecting the latest evidence-based information, this new fifth edition contains everything you need to succeed in today's fast-paced acute care environment. Evidenced-based information is woven throughout the guide to ensure you are equipped with the proven knowledge needed to manage the acuity of patients in the hospital environment. Up-to-date content on medications, laboratory tests, diagnostics, and intervention methods that is relevant to patients in the acute care environment helps you gain insight on how these aspects are affected by the acute care setting. Easy-to-read algorithms, tables, boxes, and clinical tips highlight key information and makes finding and understanding information easier. NEW! Revised content throughout the text reflects the latest information on the complex and fast-paced acute care setting. NEW! Expanded chapters on outcome measures, mechanical circulatory support, and chest pain. NEW! Redesigned airway clearance chapter. NEW! Reformatted nervous system chapter to enhance clinical integration of content. NEW! Enhanced access to information on lines and tubes.
Call Number: RC55 .P375 2020
Biomechanics: A Case-Based Approach by The second edition of Biomechanics: A Case-Based Approach focuses on the comprehension, retention, and application of the core concepts of biomechanics using problem-based learning strategies. The book features a broad range of case studies and examples to illustrate key content throughout the text. Relevant and realistic problems provide students with the opportunity to associate what they're learning in class to real-life applications in the field.Biomechanics: A Case-Based Approach, Second Edition offers a unique approach to understanding biomechanical concepts through the use of mathematical problems. The conversational writing style engages students' attention while not sacrificing the rigor of the content. Case studies and real-world examples illustrate key content areas while competency checks, located at the conclusion of each major section, correspond to the first three areas of Bloom's Taxonomy: remember, understand, and apply.Each new print copy includes the Navigate Companion Website which includes a variety of study aids and learning tools .
Call Number: QP301 .F593 2019
Burns by Burn injuries are recognised as a major health problem worldwide, causing morbidity and mortality in individuals of all ages. The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Burns is a concise, easy-to-navigate reference text that outlines the assessment, management, and rehabilitation of burns patients.With contributions from international experts, this handbook covers all aspects of burn-patient care, from first aid to reconstructive techniques and physiotherapy.This new, pocket-sized title is an invaluable resource for all those who come into contact with burns patients, from accident and emergency doctors to allied health professionals, as well as specialists and trainees in burns units. Filling an important niche in the market for an accessiblequick-access guide for those first on the scene, The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Burns is a comprehensive and detailed new resource.
Call Number: RD96.4 .B87 2019x
Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: A Practical Guide by Musculoskeletal ultrasound has seen a considerable surge in usage in recent years. Its advantages are manifold. Given adequate training of the examiner, it is very cost-effective; there is no ionizing radiation to contend with; the scanners are normally highly portable; and it enables certain interventional procedures to be performed with great accuracy (therapeutic injections of local anesthetics and/or corticosteroids into areas of complex anatomy, e.g., the shoulder). In this book, the anatomic areas are organized in chapter pairs, of which the first part of the pair summarizes the diagnostic imaging of that area from various angles so as to obtain the standard images necessary for reliable evaluation. The second part covers the image-guided injection techniques themselves, including requisite equipment. Key Features: Concise texts accompanied by typical US scans, brilliant anatomic illustrations, and many photographs showing proper scanner placement Juxtaposes normal and pathologic anatomy for maximum understanding Detailed and lucid description of all common injection procedures, appropriately illustrated Resteghini's Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: A Practical Guide is an essential introductory reference for physical therapists, sports medicine physicians, orthopaedic practitioners new to the method, radiographers, and allied health professionals involved in the diagnosis and therapy of musculoskeletal conditions.
Call Number: RC925.7 .R477 2018x
Dr. Vodder's Manual Lymph Drainage: A Practical Guide by Fully updated guide to the theory and practice of Dr. Vodder's Manual Lymph Drainage Written by the world's leading authorities on Dr. Emil Vodder's techniques for manual lymph drainage (MLD), this lavishly illustrated guide provides step-by-step descriptions of how to massage the lymph vessels to stimulate smooth lymphatic flow. A concise text describing the basic anatomy and physiology of the circulatory and lymphatic systems is supplemented by full-color photographs and revelatory schematic drawings. The authors discuss indications and contraindications for the treatment techniques, based on the various types of swelling caused by lymphedema, as well as the ways in which Dr. Vodder's method affects different regions of the body. Key Features: The latest information on complete decongestive therapy (CDT), including coverage of compression therapy, taping, respiratory treatment, and other complementary methods More than 200 color photographs demonstrate the therapist's application of manual pressure and movement patterns Each chapter includes numerous practical tips and sufficient space for personal notes 56 review questions enable self-study Dr. Vodder's Manual Lymph Drainage: A Practical Guide is a comprehensive, one-stop reference for students, therapists, and practitioners of lymphology, manual medicine, or physical therapy. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RM723.L96 M3613 2019
Handbook of Fractures by With practical coverage of both adult and pediatric fractures, Handbook of Fractures, Sixth Edition is the must-have reference for residents and anyone--nurse practitioners and physician assistants, for example--in either the orthopaedic or emergency medicine setting. The book's easy-to-read review provides fast access to information on all aspects of fracture management and classification--from anatomy and mechanism of injury to clinical and radiologic evaluation and treatment. Includes all major fracture classifications systems, and covers special topics such as multiple trauma, gunshot wounds, pathologic and periprosthetic fractures, and orthopaedic analgesia. Features a concise, bulleted structure for efficient review of fractures throughout the body. Packed with illustrations, quick-reference charts, tables, diagrams, and bulleted lists. Widely used by orthopaedic residents and surgeons, orthopaedic trauma fellows, primary care and emergency medicine physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD101 .K685 2020
An Introduction to Human Movement and Biomechanics by Now in its seventh edition, this reputable textbook is an ideal introduction to the study of human movement and an excellent reference encouraging and directing further study. For the first time there is a chapter dedicated to measuring and understanding physical activity, recognising the importance of this area to many health and sports professionals. More time is spent explaining the basic principles of biomechanics and the way they can be used to improve practice,including tissue mechanics and movement analysis techniques. An Introduction to Human Movement and Biomechanics is the perfect guide for students and professionals all around the world to consolidate learning and apply to real clinical/sports situation. Information is given in a clear and accessible way, with case studies, illustrations, textboxes and practical examples. . A chapter on physical (in)activity. . More chapters explaining basic biomechanics and its application to understanding human movement. . A new section dedicated to measuring human movement including movement analysis techniques. . A whole chapter of case studies with real patient and athlete data . Scientific theory related to re-learning movement and movement control. . Problems posed to help students work through the theory and apply it to clinical scenarios . Written by well-known and multi-disciplinary researchers with extensive experience in the field It includes access to the Evolve online resources: . Log on to evolve.elsevier.com/Kerr/movement/ and test out your learning . Case studies, including videoclips and animations . Hundreds of self-assessment questions
Call Number: QP303 .H865 2019
Neuromuscular Disorders in Childre: A Multidisciplinary Approach to Management by This book is the first to provide comprehensive information in one place on the management of neuromuscular disorders (NMDs) in children. Written by experts from the international NMD community, this volume describes the natural history of the most frequent NMDs, such as Duchenne muscular dystrophy spinal muscular atrophy, hereditary neuropathies, congenital and metabolic neuropathies and myasthenic syndromes. Best practice management of key functions typically affected by NMDs, such as, cognition and mental health, respiratory function, gastrointestinal, nutritional and cardiology management is provided. Sexual issues and transition to adulthood are also discussed. The final part of the book provides a critical review of new evidenced-based management approaches to NMDs. The large number of healthcare professionals involved in managing children with NMDs will find this a useful one-stop reference resource
Call Number: RJ496.N49 N48 2019x
Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide by Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide is a pedagogical manual and video library that provides a thorough review of key characteristics of normal gait that are important for observational clinical gait analysis. This visual guide by Drs. Jan Adams and Kay Cerny has unique features to further the understanding of examination and evaluation of the subject's gait, such as: Normal and pathological gait are described using figures and graphs, along with gait videos and 3D graphs to show the kinematics and kinetics described Functional tools used as outcome measures to evaluate gait performance in the community environment including Dynamic Gait Test, Six Minute Walk Test, Ten Meter Walk Test, to name a few In addition to the unique features, the pathological gait section presents descriptions of gait deviations included in a new clinical Observational Gait Analysis (OGA) tool, along with probable causes for each of the deviations. Case studies are presented using this new tool for examining and evaluating the subject's gait. Bonus! Students will be able to watch antero-posterior and lateral videos of individuals with gait deviations, complete the OGA tool to document their gait examination, and evaluate their examination results. They will then validate their observational skills by comparing their results to the text's case study OGA results and the skeletal model and motion and moment graphs completed by 3D instrumented analysis of the same individual. The student will then compare their evaluation of causes of deviations to that included in the case study. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide will be the go-to resource for clinical tools to analyze gait for physical therapy and prosthetic and orthotic students and clinicians, as well as other professionals interested in the clinical analysis of persons with gait disability.
Call Number: QP303 .A33 2018
Strength Band Training by The top resource for strength band training is now expanded, updated, and better than ever! Strength Band Training shows you how to maximize strength, speed, and flexibility in the gym, at home, or on the road. With more than 160 exercises and predesigned workouts for fitness and sport-specific training, you will discover why strength bands are the ultimate tool for targeting, isolating, rehabilitating, and developing every major muscle group. The third edition includes a strength assessment index to measure progress, new chapters addressing training for older adults and rehabilitation, training tips connecting research to specific exercises, and injury prevention guidelines throughout. The book is organized to group exercises by upper and lower body strengthening, joint and muscle isolation, core stability, flexibility, and total body fitness. The full-color photos throughout the book showcase both flat bands and tubing. The elastic resistance exercises allow you to add resistance in multiple directions--something free weights and machines cannot do--for resistance routines that can simulate sport-specific demands, strengthen your core, or help you prevent or recover from common injuries. The book has a total of 27 different programs designed for optimal fitness, team sport training, individual sport training, or rehabilitation. Portable and easy to adjust, strength bands provide resistance for any level of strength, fitness, or ability. If you're an athlete, fitness enthusiast, older adult, or someone recovering from injury, you will find the exercises and programs you need to improve strength, shape your physique, and regain movement. CE exam available! For certified professionals, a companion continuing education exam can be completed after reading this book. Strength Band Training, Third Edition Online CE Exam, may be purchased separately or as part of the Strength Band Training, Third Edition With CE Exam, package that includes both the book and the exam.
Call Number: RA781.2 .P34 2020
Therapy of Movement Disorders: A Case-Based Approach by This case-based text provides treatment approaches to common and uncommon movement disorders. The first two parts of the book are devoted to the wide spectrum of motor and non-motor problems encountered in caring for people with Parkinson's disease, as well as Parkinsonian syndromes. Next are parts with chapters addressing essential and other tremor disorders followed by management of the various dystonic syndromes and other hyperkinetic disorders including chorea, tics, and myoclonus. Other disorders covered are drug-induced movement disorders, psychogenic movement disorders, Wilson's disease, hemifacial spasm and more. Authored by experts globally, this practical guide will help physicians, other healthcare professionals and trainees care for patients with a wide spectrum of movement disorder related problems.
Call Number: RC376.5 .T44 2019
Total Burn Care by Recent advances in research have resulted in tremendous changes in burn management. Stay fully up to date with the new edition of Total Burn Care, by leading authority Dr. David N. Herndon. Detailed procedural guidelines and video clips walk you through every step of the process, from resuscitation through reconstruction and rehabilitation. Everyone on the burn care team, including general and plastic surgeons, intensivists, anesthestists, and nurses, will benefit from this integrated, multidisciplinary guide to safe and effective burn management. Discusses infection control, early burn coverage, occupational physical exercise, respiratory therapy, and ventilator management. Summarizes key points at the beginning of each chapter for quick reference. Uses an integrated, team approach to help you meet the clinical, physical, psychological, and social needs of every patient. Offers expert guidance on early reconstructive surgery and rehabilitation, with new content on improved surgical techniques. Provides access to 15+ procedural operative videos and PowerPoint presentations on topics ranging from alopecia and anesthesia to radiation and treatment of infection - ideal for teaching and presenting. Covers special populations such as elderly and pediatric patients, and includes a new chapter on burns in pregnancy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD96.4 .T68 2018x
Trigger Points and Muscle Chains by Relief for your patients with musculoskeletal pain... This unique guide takes an in-depth look at trigger point therapy. Divided into two sections - Functional Muscle Chains and Trigger Points and Their Treatment - this book combines detailed theory with tried and practical techniques. The text covers the basics of functional muscle chains and the origin of myofascial pain arising from the musculoskeletal system, for example, due to poor posture. The reader will learn how various stretching exercises augment the myofascial therapy methods. Anatomic drawings and liberal use of photographs in this book will help the reader to localize the trigger points and the associated pain areas. Praise for the first edition: "The information is brief but to the point; there is little wasted space so that the book is packed with information that can immediately be put into action." Doody's Review Key Features: Various models of muscle chains introduced and described Detailed explanations of trigger points and their treatment New chapters about posture and influence of gravity, as well 46 new and redrawn illustrations, now totaling approximately 300, included in this new edition "Ticklish" and erogenous zones mapped out to help prevent unintended side effects of treatment Trigger Points and Muscle Chains, second edition, is an essential tool for osteopaths, physical therapists, and all practitioners involved in pain therapy. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RZ341 .R5213 2019