Librarian Picks
Not sure where to start? These sites are the librarian's "top picks"!
Printable Handout of Websites
- Online Health ResourcesPrintable list of health websites - Updated May 2023
Find a Doctor
Places to search for physicians or find out more about your physician
- AMA DoctorfinderThe American Medical Association's Doctorfinder provides professional information about virtually every licensed physician in the U.S.
- Arizona Medical BoardFind the AZ medical license for your MD/DO/PA
- Mayo Clinic - Doctors & Medical StaffSearch for Mayo Clinic physician profiles by name, department, or condition treated
- Mayo Clinic - Medical Departments & CentersFind information about the departments and specialty centers at Mayo Clinic (English & Spanishl)
Videos & Audio Recordings
Websites with health videos and audio recordings (podcasts)
- CDC PodcastsAudio recordings from the Centers for Disease Control
- Mayo Clinic Press PodcastsPodcasts from Mayo Clinic on a variety of topics including women's health and health-related books
- Mayo Clinic Q & A PodcastsAudio recordings from Mayo Clinic on a variety of health topics & health news
- NPR HealthAudio recordings of health news stories from National Public Radio (NPR)
- Videos & Tools - MedlinePlusWatch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
- YouTube - Mayo ClinicWatch and share hundreds of videos about Mayo Clinic's research, treatments, and patient stories
Mayo Clinic patient education videos are available on Mayo Clinic Television in most hospital patient bedrooms.
About & Disclaimer
Disclaimer
Unless otherwise stated, these websites are not affiliated with Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of information contained on or available through any of these websites and such information is subject to change without notice. You are encouraged to confirm any information obtained through these websites with other sources, and review all information regarding any medical condition or treatment with your physician.
Can I trust this information?
How do you know when you can trust the health information you find on the internet or social media? What about health info you read in a newspaper, magazine, book, or advertisement? Learn about evaluating sources at:
Does something sound too good to be true? Learn about scams and miracle claims at:
Navigation
Scroll down to find links to health information websites sorted by topic or by patient population, find a doctor or look for video & audio recordings.
Consumer Health Sites by Topic
- Mayo Clinic - Patient Care and Health InformationPatient care and health information from the Mayo Clinic - diseases & conditions, drugs & supplements, tests & procedures (English & Spanish)
- MedlinePlusHealth topics, drugs & supplements, videos, medical dictionary, foreign language materials & more from the National Library of Medicine (English & Spanish)
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)Diseases & conditions, healthy living, immunizations, travelers' health, emergency preparedness (English & Spanish)
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)Consumer health information and parent site of the 27 NIH centers that focus on health care research (English & Español)
- National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)Database of more than 1200 rare diseases, genetic disorders, and support groups
- World Health Organization (WHO)A-Z Health Topics (site available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish)
- MedlinePlus - medical encyclopediaEncyclopedia articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries
- MedlinePlus - videos & toolsVideos, interactive tutorials, games, calculators, and quizzes
- Merriam-Webster Medical DictionarySearch medical terms and abbreviations
- National Cancer Institute DictionariesFind definitions of cancer words
- Understanding Medical WordsAn interactive tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
- What Did My Doctor Say?Helpful guide to understanding health words from the Medical Library Association
- American Academy of Orthopaedic SurgeonsOver 400 articles about fractures, sports injuries, joint replacement and other orthopaedic topics written specially for patients and families
- American Chronic Pain AssociationConditions, treatments, pain management, support
- American College of RheumatologyJoint conditions, resources, treatments, find a rheumatologist
- Arthritis FoundationArthritis types, treatments, tools, and tips
- Bone Health & Osteoporosis FoundationDiagnosis, treatment, fall prevention
- Bones, Joints, & Muscles issues - MedlinePlusNational Library of Medicine
- Know Your BackBack conditions, treatments, resources, find a specialist
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)A to Z glossary of terms and conditions from the National Institutes of Health
- Alzheimer's AssociationAlzheimer's diagnosis, treatment options, types of dementia, caregiver support, legal issues
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) AssociationALS health info, research, services, support
- Brain & Nerves topics - MedlinePlusNational Library of Medicine
- Brain Injury Association of AmericaAll about traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- CHADD - The National Resource on ADHDAbout ADHD, different types, support, local resources
- Epilepsy FoundationAll about epilepsy, living with epilepsy, find a specialist
- The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's ResearchAbout Parkinson's, living with, treatments, research
- National Headache FoundationAbout headaches, treatments, find a provider
- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and StrokeA-Z list of neurological disorders from the National Institutes of Health
- National Multiple Sclerosis SocietyMultiple Sclerosis (MS) symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, support, research
- Parkinson's Foundationdiagnosis, treatment options, support for family members, legal issues, current research
See Cancer Education Resources on the Mayo Clinic Stephen and Barbara Slaggie Family Cancer Education Center webpage.
- CenterWatch Clinical Trials Listing ServiceListing of clinical trials on diseases and conditions, new drugs under review by the Federal Drug Administration
- ClinicalTrials.govNational Institutes of Health database of public and private trials being conducted on diseases, conditions, and new drugs. Includes locations, recruitment information, connection to principle investigators, and results
- Discovery's Edge - Mayo Clinic's Research MagazineOffering insight into the process and progress of medical science at the world’s largest group medical practice
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
- About Herbs, Botanicals, & Other ProductsMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center tool can help you figure out the value of using common herbs and other dietary supplements
- Complementary and Alternative Therapies - MedlinePlusOverview of complementary therapies, massage, yoga, tai chi, aromatherapy, etc. from the National Library of Medicine
- Consumer LabIndependent testing of vitamin & supplement products - some information requires paid subscription
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseNational Library of Medicine database that contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
- Herbal SafetyInformation about herb safety in both English and Spanish from the University of Texas El Paso.
- HerbList AppMobile App from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health that provides access to science-based summaries on common herbs
- Mayo Clinic - Drugs, Herbs, SupplementsInformation about drugs, herbs & supplements from Mayo Clinic
- Mayo Clinic Integrative Medicine & HealthInformation about integrative medicine at Mayo Clinic and services available
- Medicinal Herb GardenUniversity of Washington - Seattle - Find photos of medicinal plants by common name or botanical name
- MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, & SupplementsInformation on drugs, herbs, & supplements from the National Library of Medicine
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)A-Z list of info about integrative health, definitions, herbs, find a provider, & research from the National Institutes of Health
- Natural MedicinesDatabase of supplements and herbs with scientific information on complementary, alternative and integrative treatment options, efficacy, alerts
- Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine (OCCAM)Guide for complementary and alternative therapies for those with cancer
- Office of Dietary SupplementsNational Institutes of Health information on vitamins and supplements
- COVID-19 - CDCInformation on COVID-19 from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (English, Español, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean)
- Covid.govResource for COVID-19 information from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (English, Español & Chinese)
- COVID-19 - Arizona Department of Health ServicesArizona's government resource for COVID-19 information (English & Español)
- Vaccines.govFind COVID-19 & Flu Vaccines near you
- Coronavirus Resource Center - Johns Hopkins UniversityTracking information and maps of Coronavirus data from Johns Hopkins University
- Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsHealthy weight and food and nutrition topics, dietary guidelines, vitamins and minerals, find a registered dietician
- American Diabetes AssociationInformation about diabetes, food choices, meal planning, recipes, & more
- American Heart Association - Eating HealthyHeart healthy eating, nutrition, recipes, tips
- Choose My PlateUnited States Department of Agriculture (USDA) recommended dietary guidelines, tracking tools, sample recipes and menus
- Food & Drug Administration (FDA)Information on food safety, nutrition labels, recalls & more from the FDA
- Food & Nutrition issues - MedlinePlusFood & nutrition topics from the National Library of Medicine.
- Mayo Clinic DietThe Mayo Clinic Diet helps people from all walks of life make simple, healthy, pleasurable changes that can help them achieve a weight they can maintain for the rest of their lives.
- Weight ManagementWeight control, obesity, physical activity, and related nutritional issues in English and Spanish
- American Kidney FundAbout kidney problems, treatments, & transplant
- American Liver FoundationAbout liver diseases, support, find a specialist
- American Society of Colon & Rectal SurgeonsCommon conditions, treatments, screenings, find a surgeon
- Celiac Disease FoundationOverview, symptoms, treatment options, dietary information, recipes for gluten free foods
- Crohn's & Colitis FoundationInflammatory bowel diseases overview, webcasts, research
- Digestive System issues - MedlinePlusDigestive system topics from the National Library of Medicine
- International Foundation for Functional Gastrointestinal Disordersfunctional bowel disorders overview, treatments, research, support groups
- Kidneys and Urinary System issues - MedlinePlusKidney and urinary system topics from the National Library of Medicine
- National Celiac AssociationAbout celiac disease and resources for gluten-free living
- National Institute for Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)Resource on diabetes and other endocrine related disorders, statistics, info in English and Spanish from the National Institutes of Health
- National Kidney FoundationAbout kidney issues, transplant, & research
- Urology Care FoundationAbout urologic conditions, living health, find a urologist
- American Association of Poison Control Centers1-800-222-1212 phone number for accidental poisonings or adverse drug reactions, current topics
- Be Med WiseInformation about medication safety. Includes prescription and over-the-counter medication tips and example questions to ask your doctor or pharmacist.
- Consumer LabIndependent testing of vitamin & supplement products - some information requires paid subscription
- Consumer Reports Best Buy DrugsFree information from Consumer Reports to help you make smart drug choices based on scientific evidence and expert medical advice.
- DailyMedNational Library of Medicine database of drug labels (package inserts) from the FDA
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseNational Library of Medicine database that contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
- Drug Information PortalNational Library of Medicine portal to quality drug information
- Food & Drug Administration (FDA)Consumer drug information from the FDA
- Herbal SafetyInformation about herb safety in both English and Spanish from the University of Texas El Paso.
- HerbList AppMobile App from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health that provides access to science-based summaries on common herbs
- Herbs, Botanicals, & Other ProductsMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center tool for the public as well as healthcare professionals, can help you figure out the value of using common herbs and other dietary supplements
- LactMedThe LactMed® database, from the National Library of Medicine, contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
- Mayo Clinic - Drugs, Herbs, SupplementsInformation about drugs, herbs & supplements from Mayo Clinic
- Medicinal Herb GardenUniversity of Washington - Seattle - Find photos of medicinal plants by common name or botanical name
- MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, & SupplementsInformation on drugs, herbs, and supplements including dosage, side effects and special precautions
- Merck Manuals Drug InformationDrug names, information, & interaction checker
- Natural MedicinesDatabase of supplements and herbs with scientific information on complementary, alternative and integrative treatment options, efficacy, alerts
- NeedyMedsFind help with the cost of medicine
- Office of Dietary SupplementsNational Institutes of Health information on vitamins and supplements
- PDR+ (Physicians Desk Reference) - Patient Drug InformationDrug information for patients from Physician's Desk Reference
- RxListDrug information, pill identifier, drug interaction checker
- American Academy of AudiologyInformation on hearing loss, hearing conditions and audiologist finder
- American Laryngological AssocitionList of links to websites about laryngology (throat and voice) issues
- Deaf HealthHealth Education presented in American Sign Language (ASL) videos
- Ear, Nose, & Throat issues - MedlinePlusEar, nose, & throat topics from the National Library of Medicine
- ENT HealthConditions, physician finder, info in English and Spanish from the American Academy of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)Hearing, tasting, voice, and balance disorders in English and Spanish from the National Institutes of Health
- Vestibular Disorders Association (VEDA)Vertigo, imbalance, vision & hearing changes, and more
- American Red CrossEmergency preparation, find help after a disaster, or contribute to relief efforts
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)Diseases & conditions, healthy living, immunizations, travelers' health, emergency preparedness (English & Spanish)
- Disaster Information Management Research CenterInformation on health effects of different types of disasters, preparedness, & recovery from the National Library of Medicine
- Disasters - MedlinePlusInformation related to disasters from the National Library of Medicine
- EmergencyPhysicans.orgFirst aid, safety tips, emergency preparedness from the American College of Emergency Physicians
- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)Safety info, preparedness, and recovery information
- Ready.govHow to prepare for different types of disasters
- Special Populations - Emergency & Disaster PreparednessInformation on disaster and emergency preparedness for special populations from the National Library of Medicine
- American Association of Poison Control Centers1-800-222-1212 phone number for accidental poisonings or adverse drug reactions, current topics
- Consumer Product Information DatabaseHealth effects of household products like cleaning supplies, personal care products, and more
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)List of environmental pollutants and irritants (mold, lead, bed bugs, etc.) and safety and health info for each.
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)Environmental topics A-Z, fact sheets, kids activities
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)U. S Department of Labor site with regulation and enforcement information for workplace exposures
- Poisoning, Toxicology, Environmental Health - MedlinePlusIssues related to poisoning, toxicity, and environmental health from the National Library of Medicine
- World Health Organization (WHO)Information on issues of environmental health around the globe
- American Academy of Ophthalmology - Eye HealthReview of eye conditions and treatment options, research articles, find an ophthalmologist
- American Foundation for the BlindLiving with vision loss, programs and services, assistive technologies
- American Optometric AssociationCommon eye symptoms, caring for your vision, find an optometrist
- Eye Know AZEYEKNOWAZ is a directory of services available in Arizona for individuals with vision loss or combined hearing and vision loss and for the community
- Eyes & Vision issues - MedlinePlusEyes and vision topics from the National Library of Medicine
- Glaucoma Research FoundationAbout glaucoma, treatments, & research
- National Eye Institute (NEI)A-Z list of eye diseases, eye anatomy, eye health resources from the National Institutes of Health
- American College of RheumatologyJoint conditions, resources, treatments, find a rheumatologist
- American Fibromyalgia Syndrome AssociationAbout, resources, research
- Arthritis FoundationAbout Fibromyalgia, symptoms, treatments, self-care
- Clinical Trials for FibromyalgiaClinicaltrials.gov search for open trials for patients with fibromyalgia
- Fibromyalgia & Sleep - National Sleep FoundationAbout sleep problems in fibromyalgia
- Fibromyalgia - National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)Complementary and integrative health approaches to fibromyalgia and chronic pain
- National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain AssociationAbout, resources, advocacy
- National Fibromyalgia AssociationAbout fibromyalgia, resources, awareness & outreach
- About Genetic CounselorsAbout genetic counseling, find a genetic counselor, FAQs and more from the National Society of Genetic Counselors
- DNA from the BeginningAn animated primer of experiments that made modern genetics
- Family Health History - Knowing is not enoughInformation on creating a family health history from the U.S. Surgeon General
- GeneCards - The Human Gene DatabaseDatabase of information on all annotated and predicted human genes - look up a known gene to find scientific information for that gene (BRCA2, JAK2, etc.)
- Genetics/Birth Defects - MedlinePlusInformation on issues related to genetics and birth defects from the National Library of Medicine
- MedlinePlus - GeneticsInformation on genetic conditions and the effects of genetic variations on human health from the National Library of Medicine
- Genetic Testing RegistryRegistry of different genetic tests submitted by test providers - includes info on their purpose, validity, usefulness, etc.
- Issues in GeneticsPolicy, legal and ethical issues in genetic research from the National Human Genome Research Institute
- National Human Genome Research InstituteFrequently asked questions about genetic testing, genetic counseling, genetic diseases, pharmacogenomics and other resources for patients and the public about genomics
- National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)Database of more than 1200 rare diseases, genetic disorders, and support groups
- American Heart AssociationHeart health information, research, diet, prevention, early detection and warning signs of heart attack and stroke
- Blood, Heart, & Circulation - MedlinePlusIssues related to the heart, blood, and circulation from the National Library of Medicine
- Heart Disease - CDCAbout heart disease, risk factors, statistics, prevention
- National Blood Clot AllianceAbout blood clots, prevention, find a doctor
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)A-Z Health issues, educational campaigns, resources from the National Institutes of Health
- American Stroke AssociationUnderstanding and preventing stroke, resources, support
- Society for Vascular SurgeryVascular conditions, treatments, surgeries, find a specialist
- Vein ForumInformation on vein and lymphatic conditions from the American Venous Forum (AVF)
- Veins - American College of PhlebologyInformation on vein diseases from the American College of Phlebology (phlebology is the study of veins), find a provider
- Women's Heart Disease & StrokeInformation for women on heart disease and stroke from the Office on Women's Health
- American Diabetes AssociationType 1 and Type 2 diabetes, pre-diabetes, gestational diabetes, nutrition, research
- American Thyroid AssociationThyroid information, find a specialist, support
- Endocrine System issues - MedlinePlusIssues related to the endocrine system from the National Library of Medicine
- Endocrine WebEndocrine disorders, physician search, research, support
- Hormone Health NetworkHormones & health, diseases & conditions, find an endocrinologist
- Metabolic Problems - MedlinePlusIssues related to metabolism from the National Library of Medicine
- National Institute for Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)Resource on diabetes and other endocrine related disorders, statistics, info in English and Spanish from the National Institutes of Health
- American Association of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI)Allergy & immune conditions, treatment, research, find an immunologist
- American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association (AARDA)Autoimmune conditions, advocacy, research
- American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI)About allergies & asthma, resources, find an allergist
- Arthritis FoundationArthritis types, treatments, tools, and tips
- Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA)Overviews, treatments, symptoms, research
- Celiac Disease FoundationOverview, symptoms, treatment options, dietary information, recipes for gluten free foods
- Crohn's & Colitis FoundationInflammatory bowel diseases overview, webcasts, research
- HIV.govAbout HIV, prevention, testing, treatment
- HIV SourceBasics of HIV/AIDS, prevention, treatment, resources, research, statistics from the National Library of Medicine
- Immune System issues - MedlinePlusImmune system issues from the National Library of Medicine
- Influenza (Flu) - CDCAbout the flu, prevention, symptoms, treatment, and vaccine info
- Lupus Foundation of AmericaDiagnosis, treatment, living with, support, research
- National Celiac AssociationAbout celiac disease and resources for gluten-free living
- National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease (NIAID)Diseases & conditions, research, news from the National Institutes of Health
- National Multiple Sclerosis SocietyMultiple Sclerosis (MS) symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, support, research
- Understanding Autoimmune DiseasesAutoimmune disease info from the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
- Vaccines & Immunizations - CDCInformation on vaccination & immunization from the Centers for Disease Control
- Vaccines & Immunizations - WHOInformation on vaccines from the World Health Organization
- Vaccines.govFind COVID-19 & Flu Vaccines near you
- American Association of Allergy Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI)Allergy & immune conditions, treatment, research, find an immunologist
- American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI)About allergies & asthma, resources, find an allergist
- American Lung AssociationLung disease information, support, quit smoking help
- ASHLine - Arizona Smokers HelplineFree help to quit tobacco
- Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA)Overviews, treatments, symptoms, research
- Be Tobacco FreeInformation about tobacco use & resources for quitting from the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
- CHEST FoundationA-Z list of lung-related issues
- COPD FoundationChronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) information, treatment, living well, research
- Lungs & Breathing - MedlinePlusIssues related to lungs and breathing from the National Library of Medicine
- National Emphysema FoundationInformation about living with COPD/Emphysema, prevention, treatments
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)A-Z Health issues, educational campaigns, resources from the National Institutes of Health
- Pulmonary Fibrosis FoundationAbout pulmonary fibrosis, awareness & outreach, research
- SmokeFree.govHelp with quitting tobacco from the National Cancer Institute
- 988 Suicide & Crisis LifelineCall or text 988 or chat online at 988lifeline.org/chat - Helpline for anyone having a mental health crisis - specific resources, local help
- American Psychiatric AssociationInformation on various psychiatric disorders, find a psychiatrist
- American Psychological AssociationPsychology topics, how to choose a psychologist
- Anxiety and Depression Association of America (AADA)Understanding anxiety & depression, finding help
- CHADD - The National Resource on ADHDAbout ADHD, different types, support, local resources
- International OCD FoundationAbout obsessive compulsive disorders (OCD), advocacy, finding help
- Mental Health & Behavior issues - MedlinePlusIssues related to mental health and behavior problems from the National Library of Medicine
- MentalHealth.govMental health topics, resources, signs & symptoms, support
- National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)About, warning signs, treatment, find help
- National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders (ANAD)About eating disorders & body image, find help (support groups, mentors, specialists, & more)
- National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)Helpline, information, support, & advocacy for eating disorders
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)Information on mental health topics, statistics, publications, finding help from the National Institutes of Health
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)Information on drinking and its impact on health from the National Institutes of Health
- National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)Scientific information on drug abuse and related issues from the National Institutes of Health
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)Treatment locator, find help for substance abuse and mental health issues
- Substance Abuse Problems - MedlinePlusInformation on substance abuse issues from the National Library of Medicine
- Tips on Finding a Mental Health Provider - Mayo ClinicAbout the different types of mental health providers, where to look for recommendations, and issues to consider
- American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial SurgeonsInformation on face, mouth, and jaw surgery, find a surgeon
- Mouth and Teeth issues - MedlinePlusMouth and teeth topics from the National Library of Medicine
- Mouth Healthy - ADAOral health information from the American Dental Association, find a dentist, A-Z topics, symptom checker
- My Children's TeethOral health info for kids from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, find a pediatric dentist, kid-friendly activities to promote oral health & learn about teeth
- National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)Oral health topics and publications from the National Institutes of Health
- American Academy of DermatologyInfo on skin disease, skin care, skin cancer, find a dermatologist
- American Hair Loss CouncilUnderstanding hair loss, find an expert
- British Skin FoundationA-Z of skin disease
- DermNet New ZealandExtensive A-Z list of dermatology issues from New Zealand dermatologists
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)A to Z glossary of terms and conditions from the National Institutes of Health
- Skin, Hair, & Nails issues - MedlinePlusSkin, hair, and nail issues from the National Library of Medicine
- American Academy of Orthopaedic SurgeonsInformation on orthopaedic surgical procedures
- BeTheMatch.orgInformation on bone marrow and cord blood transplant
- Blood & Marrow Transplant Information NetworkInfo about blood & marrow transplant, find help
- Bone Marrow and Cord Blood Donation & TransplantInformation about bone marrow and cord blood transplant from the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration
- Bone Marrow FoundationFinancial assistance for bone marrow/stem cell transplant
- Donate LifeUnderstand organ, eye, and tissue donation, register to be a donor
- Help Hope LiveTransplant fundraising
- Help in Healing Home at Mayo ClinicAccommodations located on-site at Mayo Clinic in Phoenix. Available for some long-term patients.
- Living Donor AssistanceProviding financial assistance for those who want to donate an organ
- National Foundation for TransplantsInfo about transplants and fundraising
- OrganDonor.govU.S. Government information on organ donation and transplant
- BroadcastMedVideos of surgeries (explicit) from various health care organizations
- Surgery and Rehabilitation - MedlinePlusInformation on surgery and rehabilitation issues from the National Library of Medicine
- Transplantation and Donation - MedlinePlusTransplant and donation information from the National Library of Medicine
- Transplant LivingInformation on transplant procedures, life after transplant, support groups from the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS)
- United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS)Information on transplantation and donation, data, & policy
- United Ostomy Associations of AmericaColostomy, ileostomy, urostomy and continent diversion information, supplies and suppliers, support groups
Consumer Health Sites by Patient Population
Every population group has specific health concerns. Differences in the health of groups can result from
- Genetics
- Sex
- Age
- Environmental factors
- Access to care
- Cultural factors
The resources on these tabs address some of those specific concerns. The racial and ethnic groups listed include information on health concerns specific to those populations as well as health information in languages from that region.
For the purposes of this guide, "Asian & Asian-American" includes populations from all countries within the Asian continent including those in South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Middle East.
- American Indian & Alaska Native Health - MedlinePlusInformation on Native American health issues from the National Library of Medicine
- Arctic HealthA central source for information on diverse aspects of the Arctic environment and the health of northern peoples from the National Library of Medicine
- Honoring HealthE-Newsletter featuring health topics for American Indians and Alaska Natives
- Indian Health ServiceHealth topics, find health care, FAQs
- Indiginous Studies Portal - Health - Univ. of SaskatchewanInformation on health topics for indigenous people
- National Indian Council on AgingHeath information for Native elders and their caregivers
- National Resource Center on Native American AgingInformation for Native elders and their caregivers
- Native American Cancer InitiativesCancer information explained through storytelling
- Native American Ethnobotany DatabaseUniversity of Michigan database of herbs and botanicals used by Native American tribes, search by tribe, by plant species, or by use (medicinal, food, fiber, dye, other)
- Native Health Database - Univ. of New MexicoDatabase of health information for Native Americans
- Native Health PhoenixHealthcare organization serving urban Natives in the Phoenix area. Provides health services as well as emergency assistance and food assistance.
- Native VoicesNative Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness - travelling exhibition and video storytelling from the National Library of Medicine
- We R Native - For Native Youth by Native YouthResources and community for Native teens - includes articles on issues of health & mental health
- About Kids HealthChildren's health info from a Canadian Children's hospital (site available in 12 different languages)
- Black and African American Health - MedlinePlusInformation on health issues that effect African Americans from the National Library of Medicine (English & Español)
- BlackDoctor.orgHealth conditions, healthy living, weight loss, food, find a doctor
- Black Health Resources & OrganizationsListings of African American health web sites and organizations from BlackNews.com
- EthnoMedMedical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, printable patient education materials available in multiple languages (website in English)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- About Kids HealthChildren's health info from a Canadian Children's hospital (site available in 12 different languages)
- Asian American Health - MedlinePlusInformation on health issues that effect Asian Americans from the National Library of Medicine (English & Español)
- Asian American Health InitiativeHealth information for Asian Americans in English and a variety of Asian languages (site available in English, Chinese, Hindi, Korean, & Vietnamese)
- Asian Health Websites - SPIRALListing of websites with health information for Asian & Pacific Islander populations and/or in Asian languages (site in English)
- Cancer Information in Other Languages - ACSCancer information in several languages (site in English & Spanish)
- Chinese Community Health Resource CenterHealth materials available in English, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese (entire website also available in all three languages)
- EthnoMedMedical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, printable patient education materials available in multiple languages (website in English)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- National Asian Pacific Center on AgingInformation on healthy aging in multiple Asian languages (site available in multiple languages)
- Selected Patient Information in Asian Languages (SPIRAL)Health information in a variety of Asian languages - search by topic or language (site in English)
- World Health Organization (WHO)A-Z Health Topics (site available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish)
- AARP CaregivingPlanning, benefits, caring for yourself, housing, end of life
- Arizona Caregiver CoalitionRespite rebate program, caregiver resource line, support groups
- Caregiver Action NetworkToolbox, support groups, forums
- Caring.comFind senior care, housing reviews, support groups
- The Conversation ProjectResources to help start a discussion about end-of-life wishes. Materials available in many languages.
- Eldercare LocatorLocate eldercare, tools, resources, online chat - from the U.S. Administration on Aging
- Family Caregiver AllianceCaregiver education, support, local resources
- Family Caregiver CouncilInfo on common caregiving issues: hiring help, housing, finances, transportation, resources
- Health in AgingFind a geriatric healthcare professional, tips for caregivers, medication and older adults from the American Geriatrics Society
- MedlinePlus - CaregiversInformation for caregivers and topics related to caregiving from the National Library of Medicine.
- National Alliance on CaregivingList of links to caregiver organization and websites
- Parent 2 Parent USAProvides emotional & informational support for families of children who have special needs
- The Rosalyn Carter Institute for CaregiversResearch, programs, education, resources
- About Kids HealthChildren's health info from a Canadian Children's hospital (site available in 12 different languages)
- American Academy of Child and Adolescent PsychiatrySeparate sets of resources for families and for youth with information about mental health conditions in kids and teens (English)
- Children & Teenagers - MedlinePlusHealth issues related to children and teens from the National Library of Medicine
- Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)A-Z list of health and human development topics
- HealthyChildren.orgChild & Teen health info from the American Academy of Pediatrics, find a pediatrician
- KidsHealth - NemoursSeparate sections of health information for parents, kids, teens, and educators (English & Spanish)
- St. Jude's Children's Research HospitalEducational resources for family and friends of sick children
- SuperKids NutritionNutrition and food information for kids - information for parents as well as kid-friendly pages to educate on healthy eating
- American Foundation for the BlindLiving with vision loss, programs and services, assistive technologies
- Americans with Disabilities ActADA laws, standards, file a complaint, resources
- Austistic Self Advocacy NetworkInformation about autism and autism advocacy organization run by people with autism
- Autism SpeaksAbout autism, research, find resources, support, advocacy
- Cerebral Palsy FoundationAbout CP, news, products, fact sheets
- Devleopmental Disabilities - MedlinePlusInformation on developmental disabilities from the National Library of Medicine
- Disabilities - MedlinePlusInformation on disability issues from the National Library of Medicine
- Disability and Health - CDCHealthy living, safety, emergency preparedness, finding support
- Disability Resources - U.S. Dept. of LaborListing of links to government sites for disability employment resources
- EastersealsDisability information across the age-span, support, find resources
- Genetics/Birth Defects - MedlinePlusInformation on issues related to genetics and birth defects from the National Library of Medicine
- March of DimesInformation on premature birth and birth defects, research, advocacy
- MedlinePlus - GeneticsInformation on genetic conditions and the effects of genetic variations on human health from the National Library of Medicine
- Muscular Dystrophy AssociationAbout neuromuscular diseases, research, services
- National Down Syndrome SocietyAbout down syndrome, resources, advocacy, support
- Service Animals FAQ - ADADefinitions of service animals, service animals vs. emotional support animals, laws regarding service animals
- United Cerebral PalsyResources, advocacy, news
- Asian Health Websites - SPIRALListing of websites with health information for Asian & Pacific Islander populations and/or in Asian languages (site in English)
- Ha Kupuna - National Resource Center for Native Hawaiian EldersInformation for Native Hawaiian elders and their caregivers (English)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- Imi Hale - Native Hawaiian Cancer NetworkCancer and cancer prevention information for Native Hawaiians (English)
- Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health - MedlinePlusInformation on heath issues for Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders from the National Library of Medicine (English and Español)
- National Asian Pacific Center on AgingInformation on healthy aging in multiple Asian languages (site available in multiple languages)
- Selected Patient Information in Asian Languages (SPIRAL)Health information in a variety of Asian languages - search by topic or language (site in English)
- About Kids HealthChildren's health info from a Canadian Children's hospital (site available in 12 different languages)
- Cancer Information in Other Languages - ACSCancer information in several languages (site in English & Spanish)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- World Health Organization (WHO)A-Z Health Topics (site available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish)
- About Kids HealthChildren's health info from a Canadian Children's hospital (site available in 12 different languages)
- American Academy of Family PhysiciansDiseases & conditions, prevention & wellness, family health, symptom checker, resources (English & Español)
- American Cancer Society (ACS)Cancer A-Z, treatment, support, research, support (English & Spanish)
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)Diseases & conditions, healthy living, immunizations, travelers' health, emergency preparedness (English & Spanish)
- EthnoMedMedical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, printable patient education materials available in multiple languages (website in English)
- Healthfinder.govSource for reliable health information and locating health services near you (English & Spanish)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- Hispanic American Health - MedlinePlusInformation on health issues that effect Hispanic Americans from the National Library of Medicine (English & Español)
- KidsHealth - NemoursSeparate sections of health information for parents, kids, teens, and educators (English & Spanish)
- Mayo Clinic - Patient Care and Health InformationPatient care and health information from the Mayo Clinic - diseases & conditions, drugs & supplements, tests & procedures (English & Spanish)
- MedlinePlusHealth topics, drugs & supplements, videos, medical dictionary, foreign language materials & more from the National Library of Medicine (English & Spanish)
- Merck Manual - Consumer VersionSymptom checker, medical topics, and drug information (English & Spanish)
- National Alliance for Hispanic HealthHealth information, resources, recalls, helpline (English & Español)
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)About cancer, cancer types, treatment, research from the National Institutes of Health (English & Spanish)
- Office on Women's HealthA-Z health topics for women, printables, blog from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (English & Spanish)
- Planned ParenthoodLearn about women's health & reproduction topics (sections for teens, parents, & educators), find a health center (English & Spanish)
- Salud - National Institutes of HealthSpanish language information on health conditions from the National Institutes of Health (Español)
- U.S. Food & Drug AdministrationApprovals of new drugs and medical devices, vaccines, and cosmetics, recent product alerts (English & Español)
- World Health Organization (WHO)A-Z Health Topics (site available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish)
- GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing LGBT EqualityFind a provider, things to discuss with your doctor, resources
- GMHC - Gay Men's Health CrisisInformation on gay men's health, HIV/AIDS, services, testing/prevention
- HIV.govAbout HIV, prevention, testing, treatment
- Human Rights Campaign - Health & AgingTopics related to health care rights for LGBTQ+ people
- LGBT Health - CDCInformation on LGBT health from the Centers for Disease Control
- LGBTQIA+ Health - MedlinePlusInformation on health concerns that effect LGBTQIA+ people from the National Library of Medicine
- National LGBT Cancer ProjectInfo about cancer for LGBT people, talking to your doctor, support groups
- National Resource Center on LGBT AgingHealth information on issues related to aging for LGBT people, resources, local resources, training
- Out2EnrollInformation about getting health insurance for LGBTQ+ people
- Male Reproductive System issues - MedlinePlusInformation on reproductive system issues effecting men from the National Library of Medicine
- Men - MedlinePlusTopics related to men's health from the National Library of Medicine
- Urology Care FoundationAbout urologic conditions, living health, find a urologist
- EthnoMedMedical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups, printable patient education materials available in multiple languages (website in English)
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlusHealth information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Health Information TranslationsHealth education information in many languages (site in English)
- Immigrant & Refugee Resources - CDCHealth information in multiple languages for refugees (site in English)
- Migrant & Refugee Health - WHOInformation about health topics for migrant workers and refugees from the World Health Organization (site available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Español)
- Migrant Clinician's NetworkHealth education information for migrant workers - some items are multilingual (site in English & Español)
- National Center for Farmworker HealthHealth education resources & information about health care for farmworkers (English & Español)
- Refugee Health PortalsListing of sites about refugee health - click on section titled "refugee health portals" (site in English)
- Rural Health Concerns - MedlinePlusInformation on health concerns effecting people who live and work in rural places from the National Library of Medicine
- 988 Suicide & Crisis LifelineCall or text 988 or chat online at 988lifeline.org/chat - Helpline for anyone having a mental health crisis - specific resources, local help
- Brainline - Military & VeteransTraumatic brain injury (TBI) & PTSD information for military & vets
- Make the ConnectionSupport & connection with other veterans, information for family and friends of veterans
- Mental Health Issues - VAGet help & find information about issues like anxiety, depression, PTSD, substance abuse, and suicide prevention from the VA
- Military Exposures - VAInformation about health effects of military exposure to chemicals, radiation, pollutants, etc. from the VA
- PTSD - VANational Center for PTSD information on PTSD, research, treatment, find help from the VA
- U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs (VA)Health topics A-Z for veterans, wellness programs, benefits info, resources
- Women Veterans Health Care - VAHealth information for female veterans from the VA
For information on providing care to older adults, see the "Caregivers" tab
- Alzheimer's Disease and Healthy Aging - CDCInformation on Alzheimer's disease and healthy aging from the Centers for Disease Control
- Benefits Check UpLearn more about senior benefits for healthcare, medication, and more - from the National Council on Aging
- The Conversation ProjectResources to help start a discussion about end-of-life wishes. Materials available in many languages.
- Eldercare LocatorLocate eldercare, tools, resources, online chat - from the U.S. Administration on Aging
- Health in AgingFind a geriatric healthcare professional, tips for caregivers, medication and older adults from the American Geriatrics Society
- National Council on AgingResources for older adults & caregivers on healthy aging
- National Institue on Aging (NIA)Health information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health
- Older Adults - MedlinePlusTopics related to senior health from the National Library of Medicine
- American Congress of Obstetricians & GynecologistsInformation on gynecology & reproduction issues
- Female Reproductive System issues - MedlinePlusInformation on issues related to the female reproductive system from the National Library of Medicine
- The North American Menopause SocietyInformation about menopause
- Office on Women's HealthA-Z health topics for women, printables, blog from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services (English & Spanish)
- Planned ParenthoodLearn about women's health & reproduction topics (sections for teens, parents, & educators), find a health center (English & Spanish)
- Women's Health - CDCInformation on women's health issues from the Centers for Disease Control
- Women - MedlinePlusInformation on women's health issues from the National Library of Medicine