Emergency Medicine: Neurology

Critical Care Emergencies by Lillian Liang Emlet, 2023 Written for residents and practicing community emergency physicians, this volume on critical care emergencies in the What Do I Do Now: Emergency Medicine series uses a case-based approach to cover both common and unique scenarios in critical care emergencies. Featuring chapters written by critical care and emergency medicine trained physicians, this volume provides a unique perspective on the ongoing management of critical illness with a focus on guideline-based protocol care based on national and local recommendations for common presentations such as pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, or trauma. This volume reviews frequently-encountered diagnoses, procedures, clinical recommendations, and management problems. Brief summaries included at the end of each chapter supply the practicing clinician a quick point-of-care reference during a shift. Critical Care Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which provides relevant reading for on-clinical shift trainees and for practicing EM physicians who need a refresher. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"

Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound by Kristin A. Carmody; Christopher L. Moore; David Feller-Kopman, 2011 A quick-access practical handbook for the use of ultrasound in critical care and emergency department settings Point-of-care ultrasound offers a readily available, noninvasive, reproducible modality that can expedite and improve care in the critical care and the emergency setting. This handy guide clarifies basic concepts and provides the hands-on guidance necessary for clinicians to arrive at better therapeutic decisions and perform safer procedures with the use of ultrasound. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound opens with important chapters on ultrasound basics, ultrasound orientation, and probe selection, machine controls, and equipment. 22 additional chapters cover organ or system-specific procedural applications and approaches to the trauma patient. You will also find algorithms for the patient with undifferentiated chest pain, dyspnea, hypotension, and abdominal pain. 259 drawings and photographs support the text, illustrating patient positioning, basic views, anatomy, and common pathology. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound is the perfect resource for critical care and emergency providers who wish to deepen their knowledge of sonography and broaden their use of ultrasound in the care of their patient.

The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology, 3rd ed. by Eelco F. M. Wijdicks, 2025 Published in 1997 as the first single-authored book on critical care neurology, The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology serves as a comprehensive guide to managing all aspects of critically ill neurologic patients. Following patients from the moment they enter the emergency department, this textbook demonstrates how specialists in the neurosciences assume full responsibility for patient care. Edited succinctly for relevance, this book differs from conventional textbooks by following the time course of clinical complexities as they emerge and change, instead of focusing on just the theoretical aspects of the field. Great emphasis is placed on the management of unstable and deteriorating patients. As any patient presents a unique, complex problem, the book pays special care in describing the considerations behind the rapid-fire decisions that comprise the work environment of the neurointensivist.In this new third edition, all chapters have been revised with added information and, in some, new concepts and ideas. Key features of this new edition include:1. Additional chapters on the basics of neuroimaging and its interpretation; basic pharmacology issues in the intensive care setting (e.g., drug interactions and side effects); intoxications; the principles of critical care ultrasound and its relevance in the NeuroICU and the principles of neuro palliation including neuroethics2. Rich illustrations using color photos of patients and drawings of important basic concepts of mechanisms in diseases of neurocritical care3. Fully updated and comprehensive reference list 4. Narrated instruction video of the coma FOUR score