Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia by Edmond Cohen, 2022
Ideal for clinicians at all levels of experience-from the resident to the subspecialist-Cohen's Comprehensive Thoracic Anesthesia compiles the many recent advances in thoracic anesthesiology into one convenient, easy-to-use reference. Concise, clinically focused chapters written by international authorities in the field cover all facets of anesthesia practice for thoracic procedures, logically organized by preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative considerations. Discusses new devices for lung isolation, new lung protection protocols, new information on post-operative complications, and new drugs; for modulating pulmonary circulation. Covers key procedures; including tracheal resection, esophagectomy, mediastinoscopy, mediastinal mass, SVC syndrome, and more. Describes complex surgeries; related to the lungs, pleura, diaphragm, and esophagus. Provides case studies and clinical vignettes to illustrate and support case management decisions. Offers highly practical guidance for quick reference from editor Dr. Edmond Cohen and a team of expert contributing authors from around the world. Features extensive illustrations throughout, including clinical photos and drawings, radiographic images, device images, charts, and graphs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 5th ed. by Carin A. Hagberg, 2023
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout. The only volume of its kind completely dedicated to airway management, this edition features: Well-illustrated and tightly focused coverage, with anatomical drawings, charts, algorithms, photos, and imaging studies for quick reference-many new to this edition. Key Points in every chapter, as well as up-to-date information on the latest ASA guidelines. Two new chapters covering Combination Techniques and Human Factors in Airway Management; all other chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect current thinking and practice. A significantly expanded video library, including intubating the COVID-19 patient and new videos on ultrasonography of the airway. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by Glenn P. Gravlee, 2019
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Renamed for this new edition, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition.
eBooks
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9th ed. by Andrew Lumb and Caroline Thomas, 2021
Now fully revised and updated, this ninth edition includes a larger page format for improved clarity, as well as full access to the complete, downloadable eBook version. This incorporates BONUS chapters, handy topic summaries, interactive self-assessment material and a NEW series of expert lectures on key topics. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before.
Enhancements to this edition include:
A new dedicated chapter on obesity – covering the effects of this global challenge on the physiology of the respiratory system in health and disease, in both adults and children
Expanded coverage of the adverse effects of hyperoxia - including the physiology of the now popular technique of high-flow nasal therapy
A revised section on air pollution – reflecting the growing importance and understanding of the impact of pollution on the lungs and other body systems, along with the latest worldwide guidelines
Detailed coverage of artificial ventilation during general anaesthesia – covering post-operative respiratory complications and the physiological basis of current best-practice for optimizing ventilation
Print comes with enhanced eBook - includes access to the complete, fully searchable text, PLUS:
bonus chapters
handy chapter summaries
interactive self-assessment material
a NEW series of 25 expert lectures focusing on the most essential topics in respiratory physiology.
Thoracic Anesthesia by Atilio Barbeito; Andrew Shaw; Katherine Grichnik, 2012
Thoracic Anesthesia is the definitive introduction for anesthesiologists in training and the must-have reference for anesthesiologists who do not practice thoracic anesthesia exclusively. Here, you'll find a current, detailed review of the basic, need-to-know concepts of thoracic anesthesia, along with clear, practical suggestions for handling commonly encountered scenarios. Written by top specialists in the field, the book is filled with high-yield insights into such pivotal topics as respiratory physiology, pulmonary pharmacology, imaging, one-lung ventilation, and postoperative care. FEATURES The ultimate thoracic anesthesia primer, designed for residents and experienced anesthesiologists/nurse anesthetists who must meet the growing demand for skilled practitioners in the thoracic operating room Comprehensive, yet concise presentation and compact format make the text a perfect at-a-glance reference in the OR Acknowledged experts in each topic area review key concepts that clarify a given condition--and summarize the best management strategies for delivering safe and effective perioperative care to thoracic surgical patients Focus on the major principles of thoracic anesthesia covers chest physiology, mechanisms of pain, biology of chest malignancies, and lung separation techniques Chapter on practice improvement and patient safety highlights the delivery of modern, high-quality perioperative thoracic care through a multi-disciplinary, team approach Top-to-bottom coverage of the latest thoracic anesthesia techniques and procedures: Preoperative risk stratification, Closed thorax procedures, Lung resections for cancer and benign chest tumors, Extrapleural pneumonectomy, Pericardial window procedures, Esophageal cancer operations, Bronchopleural fistula, Lung transplantation, Thoracic trauma management Special chapter on anesthesia for pediatric thoracic surgery presents the most current clinical perspectives that help you achieve positive outcomes even in the most challenging pediatric cases Section on postoperative management of thoracic surgical patients thoroughly reviews routine postoperative care as well as how to handle respiratory, renal, and cardiovascular complications, and both acute and chronic post thoracotomy pain.
