Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck SurgeryPosition Statements
- American Association of Clinical EndocrinologyClinical Guidance
- American Association of Endocrine SurgeonsPractice Guidelines & Tools
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Endocrine and Neuroendocrine Cancer
- International Association of Endocrine Surgeons Links to guidelines from professional associations
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
- AMA EdHubEndocrine Surgery
- American Association of Clinical Endocrinology Select Education and Events option to view educational opportunities.
- Pediatric Endocrine SocietyEducation & Events
Core eBooks
Advances in Treatment and Management in Surgical Endocrinology by
Up-to-date and evidence-based, Advances in Treatment and Management in Surgical Endocrinology provides an overview of recent developments regarding the most prevalent endocrine disorders. A concise, easy-to-read reference for endocrinologists and endocrine surgeons, this timely reference includes an overview of each disorder as well as diagnosis, management, treatment, prognosis, and a summary by a renowned expert who has contributed to the most current literature. Addresses endocrine diseases of the thyroid, parathyroid, and adrenal glands as well as familial endocrine syndromes: multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 and 2 (MEN). Includes both surgical and nonsurgical treatments. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323661959Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Head and Neck Endocrine Surgery: A Comprehensive Textbook, Surgical, and Video Atlas by
The quintessential reference on surgical and medical management of thyroid and parathyroid Head & Neck Endocrine Surgery: A Comprehensive Textbook, Surgical, and Video Atlas by renowned head and neck surgical oncologist David Goldenberg, with chapters by esteemed contributors from various fields, is the most comprehensive textbook written on this topic to date. It covers all aspects of medical and surgical management of thyroid and parathyroid disease. In addition to classic and cutting-edge surgical procedures, the text discusses novel topics such as molecular testing, radiofrequency ablation of thyroid nodules, risk stratification, pathology, and remote access surgical techniques. The book is organized in seven sections and 62 succinct chapters featuring a unique layout conducive to modern learning. Five sections on the thyroid gland start with historical perspectives and basic science, concluding with postoperative management and therapies including ethical and medicolegal concerns. The last two sections focus on historical perspectives, basic science, and surgical management of parathyroid diseases. Key Highlights Well-illustrated high-yield case studies, key points, pearls, points to ponder, and annotated bibliographies noting the top references enhance acquisition of knowledge The text encompasses a full spectrum of thyroid and parathyroid diseases 29 narrated high-quality videos provide nuanced insights about physical appearance not realized solely from intraoperative photographs or illustrations This is an essential resource for otolaryngologists-head and neck surgeons, endocrine surgeons, general surgeons, endocrinologists, residents, fellows, and allied health personnel. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
IAES Textbook of Endocrine Surgery by
This book is a guide to endocrine surgery for practising and trainee endocrinologists. Divided into 45 chapters, the text begins with an overview of applied embryology, physiology, and surgical anatomy of the endocrine glands. The next section explains thyroid function tests and their interpretation. Each of the following chapters covers the surgical management of a different thyroid-related disorder. The final sections discuss allied topics including endocrine radiology, pathology, the role of nuclear medicine in endocrine surgery, and radiotherapy. Each chapter concludes with clinical pearls to assist learning. With an internationally recognised editor and author team, the comprehensive text is highly illustrated with photographs, radiographic images, flow charts, and diagrams.
ISBN: 9789390595051Publication Date: 2022-09-30
Jatin Shah's Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology, 5th ed. by
Providing practical, multidisciplinary coverage of the latest diagnostic and multidisciplinary therapeutic approaches for head and neck cancer, the 5th Edition of this award-winning text helps you achieve the best possible surgical outcomes and preserve and restore form and function. Internationally renowned surgeon Dr. Jatin P. Shah, joined by colleagues Snehal G. Patel, Bhuvanesh Singh, and Richard Wong, guides you step by step through every aspect of this challenging field, helping you take advantage of every multidisciplinary management approach available for your patients. Offers complete coverage of the scalp, skull base, paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, cervical lymph nodes, thyroid, salivary glands, and soft tissue and bone tumors - from incidence, diagnosis, and work up through treatment planning, operative techniques, rehabilitation, and outcomes. Features new diagnostic approaches, staging, algorithmic thought processes for therapy selection, and outcomes of treatment for head and neck tumors, allowing for a better overall understanding of head and neck oncology. Includes new information on multimodal management of head and neck cancer; a new Radiation Therapy Glossary; and hundreds of new surgical photographs presented in sequential order from the surgeon's point of view. Provides outcomes of therapy data from the NCDB, institutional data from MSKCC, and evidence-based information throughout. Covers key topics such as radiation oncology, medical oncology including targeted therapies, and maxillofacial prosthodontics and dental oncology. Addresses the day-to-day, practical care of patients with basic operating room techniques and technology, intraoperative decisions, and post-operative care for patients undergoing head and neck surgery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
McGraw-Hill Manual Endocrine Surgery by
The endocrine system is a complex group of glands that make hormones. The endocrine glands include the thyroid, parathyroid, pituatary, adrenal, and hypothalamus, as well as the pancreas, ovaries, and testes.
The endocrine system is a complex group of glands that make hormones. The endocrine glands include the thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal, pituitary, and hypothalamus, as well as the pancreas, ovaries, and testes.
While there are a few thorough textbooks on the topic of endocrine surgery, there are no small handbooks that allow quick reference of key information, including diagnostic tables and management algorithms. Every general surgeon needs to be able to perform endocrine surgery since the endocrine system travels throughout the body. This handy guide fills the gap in our surgery list by providing ready, detailed, and accessible information on endocrine surgical procedures.
Operative Otolaryngology, 3rd ed. by
Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 2 - Esophagus, Melanoma, Rectum, Stomach, Thyroid by
First presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology in 2015, the comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and procedures that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature; gathered here to create the highest quality standards in cancers of the esophagus, stomach, thyroid, rectum, and melanoma. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups, including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these five cancer types. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 3 - Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary - by
TThe Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery manuals provide evidence-based recommendations for the proper technical conduct of cancer surgery. Presented by the American College of Surgeons, Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary helps surgeons distill the latest evidence into best practices and techniques that lead to improved outcomes. Focused on the steps between skin incision and skin closure, this manual is an invaluable resource for surgical oncologists and general surgeons alike.
Quickly grasp the proper technical conduct of cancer operations through clear, practical text and more than 150 illustrations.
Benefit from expert analysis of the best-available evidence
Gain insight into areas of controversy in surgical oncology
Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, and multiple national surgical and oncology societies.
Surgery of the Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands, 3rd ed. by
Bringing together more than over 120 expert contributors from otolaryngology, general surgery, endocrinology, and pathology, Surgery of the Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands, 3rd Edition, presents an interdisciplinary approach to surgical management and treatment of benign and malignant disease. This renowned text/atlas is an ideal resource at all levels of surgical experience: for residents and junior surgeons, it clearly provides all relevant anatomy, surgical procedures, and workup; for experienced surgeons, it details the management of difficult cases, including revision surgery. Highly illustrated and accompanied by dozens of videos, this edition brings you up to date with the full continuum of care in thyroid and parathyroid surgery. Easy-to-follow, templated chapters cover preoperative evaluation, surgical anatomy, intraoperative techniques, and postoperative management, for a full range of disorders of the thyroid and parathyroid glands. More than 30 procedural videos walk you step by step through minimally invasive thyroid surgery, surgical anatomy and monitoring of the recurrent laryngeal nerve, surgery for locally advanced thyroid cancer and nodal disease, and more; plus 23 chapter guide videos from the authors with Surgical Text Video Editor-in-Chief Gregory W. Randolph, Jr . Coverage of cutting-edge topics includes recurrent laryngeal nerve monitoring, minimally invasive surgery and the role of PET in staging and surgical planning. Expert guidance on thyroid cancer, including multiple chapters on PTC, MTC and HCC, ATC and NIFTP. New chapters cover medical oncology and TKI therapy. Extensive coverage of key topics such as FNA mutational analysis, transoral and minimally invasive surgery, recurrent laryngeal nerve monitoring, management of RLN paralysis, all aspects of parathyroid disease, ethics, malpractice, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th ed. by
Balancing basic science with information on everyday clinical practice, Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th Edition, provides you with expert guidance and advances in the field so you can offer patients the most optimal diagnostic and surgical care. In two convenient volumes, Dr. William Jarnagin and his team of internationally recognized surgeons cover exactly what you need to know, including advances in diagnostic and surgical techniques, minimally invasive surgeries, new interventional diagnostic techniques, and all relevant diseases. This comprehensive, practical reference is designed to help you choose and perform the most appropriate procedures that will minimize inpatient hospital time, curtail costs, and reduce overall recovery time for your patients. Presents cutting-edge guidance on pathology, diagnostics, surgery and non-operative intervention of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas in one highly regarded, authoritative reference. Covers all surgical approaches, both open and minimally invasive. Considers all worldwide opinions and approaches to management, and includes key data on surgical outcomes to better inform clinical decision-making. Contains 161 chapters with updated references and additional figures-more than 1,500 illustrations in all. The imaging section has been reorganized to reflect a disease-based approach. Includes new and expanded sections on advances in molecular characterization of benign and malignant HPB diseases, perioperative management, interventional techniques, minimally invasive surgery and robotics, and therapeutic advances for malignant disease. Features a section dedicated entirely to operative technique, plus a new historical chapter authored by Professor Jacques Belghitti: "Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery: Historical Perspective." Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary and Pancreatic Surgery, 2nd ed. by
During his years at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Dr. Leslie H. Blumgart developed an extensive video library of high-quality, narrated and captioned video of his personal techniques used to train surgeons worldwide. These videos present history, radiologic evidence, and operative procedures - from major and minor resectional procedures to biliary and pancreatic anastomotic techniques. Blumgart's Video Atlas: Liver, Biliary & Pancreatic Surgery, 2nd Edition, compiles these outstanding videos, along with laparoscopic alternatives to these landmark surgeries from Dr. Carlos U. Corvera, into one outstanding multimedia resource that brings you fully up to date with innovative and advanced techniques in hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery. Covers diseases of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas, both in print and on more than 120 videos. Offers step-by-step discussion of open surgical procedures by world renowned surgeon Dr. Les Blumgart, allowing you to see clearly how an expert handles a difficult case. Includes an expanded number of minimally invasive laparoscopic techniques for the management of liver disease and pancreatic tumors, contributed by Dr. Carlos Corvera. Features a new chapter on laparoscopic hepatectomy techniques, as well as several new videos that showcase totally laparoscopic approaches to major hepatectomy, and the benefits of a hand-assisted laparoscopic approach. Details recent advances in laparoscopic liver and pancreatic surgery, modifications to open right hepatectomy (a "bottom-up" approach), right hepatectomy for donor liver transplant, and management of rare complications of gallstones disease. Includes both conceptual and imaging anatomy in print, including new cadaver dissections, allowing you to better understand surgeries preoperatively and consider the impact of anatomy and disease on the surgical procedure. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
DeGroot's Endocrinology: Basic Science and Clinical Practice , 8th ed. by
Thoroughly updated to reflect today's recent advances in adult and pediatric endocrinology, DeGroot's Endocrinology, 8th Edition, remains the comprehensive, international reference of choice for today's endocrinologists and fellows. A full peer review of the previous edition, conducted by a largely new group of renowned editors, was used to update this trusted, two-volume resource. In-depth coverage of both basic and clinical aspects of endocrinology and up-to-date information on the treatment and management of endocrine disorders are provided by a diverse group of expert contributors from six continents. A full-color format and helpful algorithms summarize clinical decision-making and practical approaches to patient management. Organizes content by all the glands that regulate the endocrine system while integrating basic science and clinical presentations of disease. Includes new chapters: Anatomy and Physiology of the Hypothalmus and Pituitary, Differentiated Thyroid Cancer, Medullary Thyroid Cancer, Drugs that Affect Thyroid Function, Genetic Disorders of the Adrenal Cortex, Adrenal Pathology, Primary Aldosteronism, Transgender Healthcare, Erectile Dysfunction, Prevalence and Causes of Male Infertility, Sexual Dysfunction in the Female, Glucose Toxicity and Oxidative Stress. Emphasizes basic science and evidence-based practice throughout. Features extensive updates to content on thyroid and adrenal disfunction, endocrine-disrupting chemicals and human disease, clinical management of diabetes, and advances in genetics. Includes algorithms to outline effective treatment protocols. Contains new emphasis boxes that highlight key points in each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323694124Publication Date: 2022-12-26
Diabetes Management in Hospitalized Patients by
As the diabetes epidemic continues to burden the healthcare system, and with the literature supporting enhanced patient outcomes with improved glycemic control, the need for expertise in the clinical management of inpatient diabetes is an increasingly important and timely matter. While some books have been published on inpatient diabetes, this guide serves as a comprehensive but clinically relevant review of the available literature and recommended management for the key areas surrounding hospital diabetes management. This book is designed to provide practical guidance on diabetes management for hospitalized patients. The number of topics covered is meant to be comprehensive and include discussion on many potential scenarios encountered on the inpatient service, but in a concise and user-friendly manner. This book is intended to be a valuable resource for fellows, residents, students, and existing providers looking to improve their knowledge and skills in evidence-based inpatient diabetes management. The enclosed chapters were written by many globally renowned physicians, researchers, and clinicians. Diabetes Management in Hospitalized Patients: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide is a valuable resource for endocrinologists, hospitalists, pharmacists, PAs and NPs, and all staff responsible for clinical care of these patients.
ISBN: 9783031446474Publication Date: 2024-01-19
The Diabetic Foot : Medical and Surgical Management, 5th ed. by
The fifth addition of this classic text that focuses on the diabetic foot continues the tradition of the previous four editions. More specifically, it includes contributions from a distinguished panel of clinicians and researchers, who have either participated in previous editions or are new, who provide up-to-date information on the pathophysiology and management of diabetic foot ulceration. As with the previous editions, it is divided into three sections: the first part focuses on clinical features and diagnosis; the second on pathophysiology; and the third on the management of diabetic foot problems. The main emphasis of the clinical part is on the multidisciplinary approach that has been mainly developed by the world-renowned Joslin-Beth Israel Deaconess Foot Center, which pioneered the management of diabetic lower extremity problems. Also like previous editions, the author panel includes diabetologists, podiatrists, vascular surgeons, infectious disease specialists, orthotists, plastic and orthopedic surgeons, the majority of whom work at the Joslin-Beth Israel Deaconess Foot Center. In addition, the fifth edition not only describes the state-of-the-art current methods in clinical practice but also includes a thorough update of all research progress during the last five years. This updated edition of this timely text will be of significant value to all physicians and researchers with interest in a comprehensive understanding of the diabetic foot.
ISBN: 9783031557156- Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Volume 3 - Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary - by
TThe Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery manuals provide evidence-based recommendations for the proper technical conduct of cancer surgery. Presented by the American College of Surgeons, Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery: Sarcoma, Adrenal, Neuroendocrine, Peritoneal Malignancies, Urothelial, Hepatobiliary helps surgeons distill the latest evidence into best practices and techniques that lead to improved outcomes. Focused on the steps between skin incision and skin closure, this manual is an invaluable resource for surgical oncologists and general surgeons alike.
Quickly grasp the proper technical conduct of cancer operations through clear, practical text and more than 150 illustrations.
Benefit from expert analysis of the best-available evidence
Gain insight into areas of controversy in surgical oncology
Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, and multiple national surgical and oncology societies.
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 15th ed. by
We are delighted to present to you the 70th anniversary and 15th edition of Williams Textbook of Endocrinology . In this new edition we have strived to maintain Robert Williams’ original 1950 mandate to publish “a condensed and authoritative discussion of the management of clinical endocrinopathies based upon the application of fundamental information obtained from chemical and physiological investigation.” With the passing of the decades, our scholarly goal has been enriched by the addition of information on genetic, molecular, cellular, and population sciences, as well as newly emerging infectious agents, together forming the basis of multiple new insights into both the pathogenesis and management of endocrine disorders. As with past editions, we continue striving to provide a cogent navigation through the wealth of information emanating from novel medical discoveries that advance the field and bring newer and more hopeful therapeutic approaches to patients with endocrine disorders. We are mindful of remaining both concise and didactic, while comprehensively presenting relevant translational and clinical endocrine science in an optimally accessible fashion.
With these goals in mind, we have once again assembled a team of outstanding authorities who each contribute their unique expertise to synthesize current knowledge in their respective topic area. For this edition, we have added new chapters on endocrine functions of the skeleton and on endocrine disorders associated with critical illness. The section on diabetes mellitus has been expanded with new dedicated chapters on digitized approaches to diabetes diagnostics, novel therapeutics, and descriptors of MODY and atypical diabetes. These new contributions reflect the changing emphasis of endocrine practice today, as well as the emergence of a wealth of new knowledge and therapeutic options that together impact clinical care. Each section has undergone significant revision and updating to bring the most current information to our readers.
We are deeply appreciative of the valued co-workers in our respective offices, especially Shira Berman, for their dedicated efforts in producing this textbook. We also thank our colleagues at Elsevier for shepherding the production process so professionally. The quality product of this exemplary text is in no small measure attributed to their skilled and professional navigation of medical publishing. We are confident that our combined energies have achieved the highest standards set by previous editions that have established Williams as the classic “go-to” book for all those interested in endocrinology.
ISBN: 9780323932301
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: